Esso Gas Station Employee Reviews

Found 111 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal part tome gig
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 December 2016
A job recommended for students or anyone looking for experience in retail. I felt like I wasn't compensated well for the duties I performed. Overwhelming responsibilities.
Pros
convenient location
Cons
long hours, poor compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job summary
Customer Representative (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON1 October 2016
I liked everything about this organization, the shifts sometimes are long but are manageable. But the worst part is management of the location where i work. The management of the place is not so very good.
Pros
Salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Experience and nice environment to work
Customer Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2016
I learned many things from this job such as customer service, manage the store, deal with co-workers nicely, most enjoyable thing is customer satisfaction and leave a store with smile.
Pros
Flexible shifts, salary, good management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
cashier/gasjockey (Former Employee) –  Valleyview, AB18 December 2016
everyone was pretty friendly the management was nice, the hardest part of the job was waiting for the check. learnt a lot about customer service and about working with every kind of customer from happy people to people that are fumingmad learnt how to defuse bad situations.
Pros
lots of fresh air meet and talk to alot of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Esso gas station experience
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 August 2016
It was a good learning stone but the management change so did the environment.
Did all extra positions for that people were getting fired so often.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
horrible manager
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy day got relaxing with the team work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC23 June 2016
it was a busy day and i was all alone at work and it was getting more and more busier. i was not even getting time to drink water and i was all alone there. But suddenly my co-worker or my supervisor called and asked about the store so i explained everything and he right away came after 10 mins and handled the situation with me. I was so glad by getting help from him and that day was best day for me at work.
Pros
long hours
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reproductive and Respectful
Cashier/Customer Services and Manager Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON21 November 2016
Its good enivornment, friendly, management, experienced, lovable and respectful. It all depends on trustworthly and experienced.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place but low salary
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 February 2016
i was cashier , i want to do something different for more income ,
Esso gas station good place to work but low salary ,
every day new learning
my co-workers was good
there was not any hardest part
most enjoyable parts is that i was always busy in work
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was able to learn how to work the till
Cashier/Gas Jockey (Former Employee) –  Balcarres, SK16 January 2017
i sit behind the till i made sure everything was organized and cleaned up the store and helped the coumsters and went out to pump the gas in the cars cleaned the windsheilds and did oil changes
Pros
learned how to close down the store and learned how to read the litres on how much gas we sold
Cons
not enough hours and not good enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team and it was always fun to work with them
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON16 September 2016
I learnt many things while working at KFC, specially management.
Most enjoyable part of the job was that everyone used to help their co-workers and made it best place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Environment
Operation Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 November 2016
Its a fun place to work.
Meeting new people, and get an opportunity to know and learn abut new things, new culture.
Getting a opportunity to interact with professional people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Esso
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON1 October 2016
At first the job was going well, but probably 5 months into the job, the manager would always call me for work when they know i have school. THAT PLACE IS TERRIBLE
.
Pros
Close to Home
Cons
Terrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Responsibilities and managing
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Oak Bluff, MB15 April 2016
Normally its 8 hour shift
I have learnt a lot from my manager like how to complete task, how to set example for other employees, how to train them.
Management is excellent as every co worker and managers are approachable and helpful.
The hardest part is when some customer get angry and we do our best to resolve their problem.
Pros
Desirable shifts
Cons
less scope of advancement as there are limited number of posts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I sharped my working skills
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Downtown Vancouver30 November 2016
The most busiest gas station among the area.I handeled cash and lottey system. Good environment but homeless people around make it messy . I worked on event days and nights that made me fluent in communication skills.
Pros
friendly and eduacated customers
Cons
everytime busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to Work and Study simultaneously
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON23 September 2016
It was an splendid experience to work there since I used to balance everything in life while working. No stress at all. Everyday was an enjoyment itself at work place. I loved to satisfy the customers and let them leave with a wide smile on face.
Pros
Work experience and reliability
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentor International Students
SUPERVISOR & IT PERSON (Current Employee) –  Lakefield, ON8 October 2016
Best Place to work with your studies going on. Teach students your own program so that it helps other as well as build up your own communication skills and better understanding of how different student face different kind of problems.
Pros
Meet Diversity of Students
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 June 2016
I found fantastic way of learning in fast environment about management team work and public dealing and how to upgrade yourself in future career .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Learning Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC30 June 2016
I learned alot from this job. I always adopted a positive behaviour with everyone. Co workers and management were really supportive.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short term schedule changes quite often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and chance to advance my skills.
Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 April 2016
I absolutely valued my position at Cottonwood Esso. I would look forward to going to work ever day. A typical day at work for me would include lots of point-of-sale system usage, customer service and sales. The management was among the best I have ever encountered; my coworkers were equally as awesome. My favorite part of the job was the time I was able to spend interacting with my regular customers as well as new customers. I believe I was exceptional at my job because of my ability to engage the customers and suggest and recommend products based on my knowledge of the customers needs. The hardest aspect of working at a Gas Station is the potential for theft or danger; I needed to be alert at all times while maintaining the stores cleanliness and whilst talking with customers. I made close connections with many of my regular customers and brought many repeat shoppers into the store because of my upbeat attitude and kind demeanor.
Pros
Talking with lots of different people.
Cons
Chance of theft and health risks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Saint-leonard, QC10 November 2016
Its a good part time job for students or someone who just wants to work a couple days per week. Not suitable for someone who is looking to advance in their position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 115 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
3.7