Esso Gas Station Employee Reviews

Found 114 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and connect
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON2 February 2017
A normal day at work consists of dealing with customers and helping them with anything they require. There is also a daily set of work you have to do for each shift. A normal shift is 8 hours. The store has its normal customers and are fun to interact with.
Pros
Free slushes and coffee
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Gas Attendant (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS22 January 2017
everyone was pretty friendly the management was nice, the hardest part of the job was waiting for the check. learnt a lot about customer service and about working with every kind of customer from happy people to people that are fumingmad learnt how to defuse bad situations.
Pros
free coffe
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was able to learn how to work the till
Cashier/Gas Jockey (Former Employee) –  Balcarres, SK16 January 2017
i sit behind the till i made sure everything was organized and cleaned up the store and helped the coumsters and went out to pump the gas in the cars cleaned the windsheilds and did oil changes
Pros
learned how to close down the store and learned how to read the litres on how much gas we sold
Cons
not enough hours and not good enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly management, efficient team.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 January 2017
It was a good location, helped me gain more knowledge on how to be an efficient and friendly cashier.

A typical day at work involved fast paced money handling, dealing with more than a few difficult customers, and memorising the location of more then 50 different brands of cigarettes.
in short I counted small change fast, and worked with an effective team that were helpful and informative.

I left to study in college full time.
Pros
Free Coffee, Convenient location.
Cons
Outdated system, ESSO needs to update their Cash Registers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal part tome gig
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 December 2016
A job recommended for students or anyone looking for experience in retail. I felt like I wasn't compensated well for the duties I performed. Overwhelming responsibilities.
Pros
convenient location
Cons
long hours, poor compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
cashier/gasjockey (Former Employee) –  Valleyview, AB18 December 2016
everyone was pretty friendly the management was nice, the hardest part of the job was waiting for the check. learnt a lot about customer service and about working with every kind of customer from happy people to people that are fumingmad learnt how to defuse bad situations.
Pros
lots of fresh air meet and talk to alot of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I sharped my working skills
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Downtown Vancouver30 November 2016
The most busiest gas station among the area.I handeled cash and lottey system. Good environment but homeless people around make it messy . I worked on event days and nights that made me fluent in communication skills.
Pros
friendly and eduacated customers
Cons
everytime busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reproductive and Respectful
Cashier/Customer Services and Manager Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON21 November 2016
Its good enivornment, friendly, management, experienced, lovable and respectful. It all depends on trustworthly and experienced.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Environment
Operation Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 November 2016
Its a fun place to work.
Meeting new people, and get an opportunity to know and learn abut new things, new culture.
Getting a opportunity to interact with professional people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job easy to learn
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Sault-Sainte-Marie, ON14 November 2016
The job is easy after you learn everything. There is only a few things to learn. Where the smokes are and how to use the cash register
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Saint-leonard, QC10 November 2016
Its a good part time job for students or someone who just wants to work a couple days per week. Not suitable for someone who is looking to advance in their position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentor International Students
SUPERVISOR & IT PERSON (Current Employee) –  Lakefield, ON8 October 2016
Best Place to work with your studies going on. Teach students your own program so that it helps other as well as build up your own communication skills and better understanding of how different student face different kind of problems.
Pros
Meet Diversity of Students
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job summary
Customer Representative (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON1 October 2016
I liked everything about this organization, the shifts sometimes are long but are manageable. But the worst part is management of the location where i work. The management of the place is not so very good.
Pros
Salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Esso
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON1 October 2016
At first the job was going well, but probably 5 months into the job, the manager would always call me for work when they know i have school. THAT PLACE IS TERRIBLE
.
Pros
Close to Home
Cons
Terrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management
Night Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 September 2016
enjoyable, filled with good memories of clients and staff.
new ways to help enhance business
decent/reliable managers.
adaptation to online/computer
interactions with customers
Pros
self improvement
Cons
long night shirts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to Work and Study simultaneously
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON23 September 2016
It was an splendid experience to work there since I used to balance everything in life while working. No stress at all. Everyday was an enjoyment itself at work place. I loved to satisfy the customers and let them leave with a wide smile on face.
Pros
Work experience and reliability
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team and it was always fun to work with them
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON16 September 2016
I learnt many things while working at KFC, specially management.
Most enjoyable part of the job was that everyone used to help their co-workers and made it best place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON8 September 2016
Working with Esso was a great experience. Everyday i was meeting new people it help me to make new contacts. I learn many things here and i got Canadian work experience.
Pros
Making good contacts
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Social and friendly towards staff and customers (Former Employee) –  Don Mills, ON24 August 2016
on a typical day at work the first thing i would do after i arrive is check all the garbage's. then i would attend to costumers for the rest of my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Alberta23 August 2016
awesome day at work
patience
ability to work in a fast pace environment
compromising co workers
keeping drunk people out of the property
making fresh coffee in the morning for office going individuals/customers
Pros
free wifi
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 118 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
3.7