Esso Gas Station Employee Reviews

Found 98 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy day got relaxing with the team work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCJune 23, 2016
it was a busy day and i was all alone at work and it was getting more and more busier. i was not even getting time to drink water and i was all alone there. But suddenly my co-worker or my supervisor called and asked about the store so i explained everything and he right away came after 10 mins and handled the situation with me. I was so glad by getting help from him and that day was best day for me at work.
Pros
long hours
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place taught me to work efficiently under pressure.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 16, 2016
On a typical day,I ensure safety at work, Check inventory and order required stuff at site. I like serving and helping people as a cashier as well as I like to keep site well maintained ensuring car wash is working properly, pumps and other machine are in good shape.
Pros
Good co- workers
Cons
lot of customer pressure as place is very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Responsibilities and managing
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Oak Bluff, MBApril 15, 2016
Normally its 8 hour shift
I have learnt a lot from my manager like how to complete task, how to set example for other employees, how to train them.
Management is excellent as every co worker and managers are approachable and helpful.
The hardest part is when some customer get angry and we do our best to resolve their problem.
Pros
Desirable shifts
Cons
less scope of advancement as there are limited number of posts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place
Clerk (Former Employee) –  AlbertaAugust 23, 2016
awesome day at work
patience
ability to work in a fast pace environment
compromising co workers
keeping drunk people out of the property
making fresh coffee in the morning for office going individuals/customers
Pros
free wifi
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mundare, ABJuly 31, 2016
It really relaxed, they've worked with my busy schedule, while I move. Kind owners and bosses. Employees are great.
Relaxed, Positive environment. Any problems that any one has are easily and quickly fixed
Pros
Free Drinks on Shift
Cons
Expensive Food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team and it was always fun to work with them
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ONSeptember 16, 2016
I learnt many things while working at KFC, specially management.
Most enjoyable part of the job was that everyone used to help their co-workers and made it best place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costumer service
work as cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 22, 2016
Well. i experience a lot of good and bad things on workplace. i communicate with all the different type of people, according to my point of view it's a great starter job for any young person to entering the work force.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONSeptember 8, 2016
Working with Esso was a great experience. Everyday i was meeting new people it help me to make new contacts. I learn many things here and i got Canadian work experience.
Pros
Making good contacts
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Esso gas station experience
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 19, 2016
It was a good learning stone but the management change so did the environment.
Did all extra positions for that people were getting fired so often.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
horrible manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging with new skills to learn everyday
Customer Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 1, 2016
Great day with new experience and things to learn from every customers walking in to the store. Learning from trail and error, the best suited example for my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work experience
Cashier\Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONJuly 10, 2016
I would assist customers by completing transactions of goods such as groceries, gas payments, lottery tickets and cigarettes etc.
Pros
relaxing, chill, not that busy
Cons
the day goes by slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Social and friendly towards staff and customers (Former Employee) –  Don Mills, ONAugust 24, 2016
on a typical day at work the first thing i would do after i arrive is check all the garbage's. then i would attend to costumers for the rest of my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Learning Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Langley, BCJune 30, 2016
I learned alot from this job. I always adopted a positive behaviour with everyone. Co workers and management were really supportive.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short term schedule changes quite often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibility
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONJuly 13, 2016
Cash Register, Costumer service, Merchandising
Cooperative coworkers
Fast pace environment
Meet and greet new people and get to know new amazing things.
Pros
Soft skills improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Experience and nice environment to work
Customer Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 17, 2016
I learned many things from this job such as customer service, manage the store, deal with co-workers nicely, most enjoyable thing is customer satisfaction and leave a store with smile.
Pros
Flexible shifts, salary, good management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace with generally friendly customers
Gas Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ardrossan, ABFebruary 10, 2016
A typical day at work included all my daily responsibilities as well as occasionally changing routine when new products or groceries came in.
I learned how to improve customer service through interaction with a variety of people as well as time management and efficiency.
The management was awesome there as I was able to get days off when I needed and was allowed to easily switch shifts with other co-workers.
The co-workers have a close bond there and are all very friendly and get along good!
The most difficult part of the job was when it was slow there at certain times of day and all my duties were finished .
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with so many customers and being around people all of the time.
Pros
working with people
Cons
Part time shifts take up majority of weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BCJuly 2, 2016
This is a good place to work and I am fully satisfied with this job, But I want to explore my potentials, That's why I am looking for new job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompentent managenment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 18, 2016
Long nights and staff was unfriendly always late pushy and just all around unhelpful. Shifts were unbearable, as i was doing night shift it was long and being the only female working at night was scary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 19, 2016
I found fantastic way of learning in fast environment about management team work and public dealing and how to upgrade yourself in future career .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place awesome co-workers
Car Washer (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BCJanuary 4, 2016
when i get to work i generally just wash cars for two hours then i go dig the mud out of the U-DO bays and then spray them down. i clean out all the vacuums and in the winter i do snow removal. the co-workers are all good people and im friends with all of them. the hardest part of the job is cleaning the U-DO bays otherwise its and easy job.
Pros
Free lunches and cool co-workers
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 102 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
3.7