Find companies:
equinox
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

equinox Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fido Sales Representative
sales representative (Former Employee), Cote-De-Liesse QCJuly 8, 2014
I start off by turning on the computer at my desk. I prepare my script and get ready to answer calls. Everyday, the goal was to reach at least 15 sales a day.

I learned how to sympathize with customers and help them with their issues. I also learned how to come up with instant rebuttals to ensure that the customer does not get any negative feelings – more... towards the products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dorval, QCJune 17, 2014
long hours good people learnt to be patient with people over the phone learnt who to use a computer system management was nice and my co workers were alright.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun environment to work
call center (Former Employee), cote de lieseJune 24, 2013
Pros: coworkers were amazing
Cons: no benefits, employees work like slaves, no respect towards employees
employees were controlled like slaves,
always lied about benefits
never gave our rights in commissions
lied employees by telling we'd get 150$ in we recruted more employees. never got the $$$ promised
worked over 40 hours always seems to get less then what we were suppose to get as paychecks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Coach and agent support (Current Employee), Dorval, QCJune 21, 2012
Pros: flexability
Cons: salary
Equinox is second to none when it comes to staff and employee the management team are fantastic
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN place to work
Front Desk associate (Current Employee), Encino, CAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: meet many people
Cons: no benefits
Great place to work, meet many people who love being fit. Management team is very friendly and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PERSONAL TRAINER (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 12, 2014
Great group of employees, very supportive in regards to continuing education and/or skills. Flexible work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a health club allowed me to stay healthy
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 5, 2014
Pros: could workout for free and utilize specialty classes
Cons: very hard to get raises
A great work environment. Learned new fitness trades everyday. Great co-wokers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible!
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Roslyn Heights, NYJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free membership is awesome
Cons: they use it to their advantage
It was not enjoyable, I enjoyed the free membership though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero career growth despite major promises at time of hire.
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Paramus, NJJuly 13, 2014
Pros: free gym membership, health benefits
Cons: everything else
I worked at Equinox for 1 year and the turn over of employees is extremely high. Managers are rude and egotistical and will step on you to make their numbers look good. If you are a high performer like I was you will be promised the sun and the moon but will get nothing as the general manager (WHO BTW WAS CONVICTED FOR DWI) will make sure you stay in – more... your position so his club numbers look good. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS PLACE. It's all hype and marketing designed to pull members and employees. Just do a quick search and you'll figure out they are always hiring trainers, massage therapists etc. only good thing was the health benefits and free gym membership.
Spa is super slow and although you get paid higher commission compared to other places you won't be getting any business 80% of the time. I made a measly $300 paycheck every two weeks for working full time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-Energy, Competitive Environment
Pilates Teacher (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free gym membership!
Cons: instability associated with an appointment-based job
It is a fun, high-energy environment. They allow you to build your own business without the burden of overhead cost. By meeting so many of the members, you learn to rapidly assess each individual's needs. The hardest part of the job is the constantly changing schedule. The best part is that you get the gym membership for free!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Training in Upscale Gym
Certified Personal Trainer (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 10, 2014
Pros: co workers were easy to mesh with, all walks of life kept it entertaining
Cons: overturn, trainers were employed for short periods of time
A typical day. Clients in the morning 8-11, Clients in the evening 4-9. I learned the technical aspects of exercise as well as physiology. Management was strict and consistent, My co workers were my family here. The hardest part of the job was having clients who were unable to make appointments due to job related circumstances. The most enjoyable part – more... was having clients believe and see results when they were able to stay on track with nutrition and workouts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
House Keeping/Porter (Former Employee), 1633 broadwayJune 27, 2014
Pros: prizes on gettting recognized for work.
Cons: short breaks
busy day day working on assignments.
learned how to complete assignments during a short period of time.
the managers were discipline kind but good people all around.
my co-workers were helpful.
day before inspections.
anniversary of the club.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I use to enjoy working for this company but not anymore
Enhanced Housing Assessment Worker (Current Employee), Ealing Probation office, London, W13 9HHJune 17, 2014
Pros: was a great company to work for.
Cons: now cutting staff wages
Assessing High and low risk offenders some with substance misuse and mental health issues to establish suitable accommodation. Making referrals, looking for new landlords, sorting out benefit claims, housing issues. home visits, prison assessment, giving advice, attending meetings, training, case records, admin, liaising with voluntary and statutory – more... agencies.

I work in partnership with the Probation service and the Metropolitan Police, but mostly with probation officer.

The hardest part of my job is to find new accommodation.

The most enjoyable is when you have someone a place to live and they are progressing well with there life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no career growth
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), paramus njMay 26, 2014
make sales to members
train clients
keep client relationships
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place.
Administrative Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 16, 2014
Great place for a part-time. Very energetic and fun. Awesome if you're into health and keeping fit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A terrible place to work
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Irvine, CAMay 8, 2014
Cons: everything, salary, management
The management here focuses on one thing and one thing only, to keep the image of Equinox flowing. No matter if it upsets the members, staff and everyone else. The management is incredibly rude, the music in the club has been bothering members for years and they don't do anything about it. they switch the lower level management out regularly and they – more... don't hesitate to fire people that don't agree with their methods. Since I started working here 19 people were fired in 6 months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team, Facility and Environment.
Personal Trainer (Current Employee), PalosVerdeApril 29, 2014
Typical day I provide customer service for members, provide proper technique and knowledge of any fitness equipment or corrective exercise. I learned a lot about sales and customer service. Management is awesome, they have an open door policy and actually care about your success. Co-workers are really great, they know the meaning of teamwork and we – more... like to work together to solve any problems we might have. we also help each other if we need help. The hardest part about my job is schedule isn't really consistent, I tend be scheduled all over the day with different times every week. The best part of my job is I get to socialize with new members and even tend to turn them into potential clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Licensed Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Woodbury, NYApril 10, 2014
Pros: great clients
Cons: long hours
Clock in set up the spa check the books for what massages you have if no massage ,give out complementary chair massage for 5 minutes and assessments on gym members, or buddy up with a trainer and stretch there clients these were ways to help bold clientele. co works great, management ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start for a retail career
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), EquinoxApril 9, 2014
My first years with Nordstrom were key. They had us through a very detailed training program!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Recieving Clerk (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLMarch 24, 2014
Pros: 1 hr lunch, 401k, a/c, great co-workers
laid back come in and start pulling orders, how to build kits and do receiving, great management and co-workers, unloading a packed truck, the 1hr lunches.

1 2 3 4

About equinox

It’s not work. It’s life. Discover inspiring career opportunities and unlimited potential for growth at Equinox. – Read more