Ensign Energy Services Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 61 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here if you enjoyed someone telling you stories daily.
Floorhand (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB1 August 2017
Would not recommend this working environment. Unless you enjoy working with outdated equipment, disorganized management personnel who have failed to keep up with the changing oil and gas industry. And if you don't mind getting shorted on pay this is an excellent place to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working there
Asset Manager (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB22 March 2017
People were great to work with, always enjoyed going to work, to bad economy tanked and caused such a down turn in opportunities. if they ever get going again I would say check them out,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gran ambiente laboral empresa de clase mundial
piso operario (Former Employee) –  grande prairie, alberta, canada1 March 2017
todos los dias aprendes algo nuevo, se presentas nuevos retos, tanto en lo personal como en lo laboral, independientemente de la categoria y sueldo que tenga cada uno de los trabajadores todos son tratados de la misma manera no importando antiguedad ni puesto.
la parte mas dificil trabajar a - 45 °c
Pros
seguro medico, comedor pago por horas laboradas
Cons
el frio
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Rig Manager (Former Employee) –  Ardmore, AB22 February 2017
Ensign like any company has there ups and downs but they are fair and a good company to work for . The rigs are up to date and work well . Great guy's to work with and to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch of people to work with.
rig electrician 1 (Former Employee) –  Oman10 January 2017
Very good food and accommodation. Usually a gym on site. Excellent pay. All PPE supplied. All safety training supplied. All travel paid. Very good interaction with management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to relax with this company
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 December 2016
Stressful place to work. No life / work balance. Supervisors that don't know the policies or HR related questions.
Too many hands in the processes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All around amazing company to work for
Special Projects Supervisor (Former Employee) –  alberta and british columbia12 December 2016
I would love to continue to work for ensign production testing but as markets change , so did the work ( reason for leaving lack of jobs)
Pros
benefits and competitive rates
Cons
zero
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but I hear there is better
Motorman (Former Employee) –  Alberta11 December 2016
I worked off and on for ensign for 7 yrs and even tho I had been set up motors on several rigs the office would never send me out as a motor man. The girls that were good in the office have all left as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was good to work for in the field
Motor hand (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB11 December 2016
This type of work isn't for everyone, unfortunately I felt that this company could have handles themselves better when things were coming to a close. Otherwise met some good people in the field and also had a great opportunity to learn some skills that are continuing to help me today.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great money...good people to work with.
Roughneck (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB1 December 2016
do your job well...good room for advancement.the pay is amazing..never had a problem with management..or authority personel.a great company to start your career with. They are committed to safety..so you will go home to your family.
Pros
good accomidations
Cons
long hours...hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working environment is very friendly and productive. We have free breakfast on Fridays.
Intermediate Accountant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 September 2016
It was fun working at my former employer. I had a conducive and safe workplace that helped me be effective and efficient. My co-workers were friendly.
Pros
Free Breakfast
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Driller (Current Employee) –  Alberta/BC/Sask15 July 2016
Spent 10 years working with Ensign during which I have been put through paid training and had a chance to work in Australia
Pros
Lots of time off during spring break up
Cons
Summers are a bit slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great learning experiece to work at Ensign.
HR Field Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB13 July 2016
Ensign was a great place to work. I was able to move up within the company and I had wonderful mentors within the company who were willing to teach me new jobs within the company. It was a fast paced environment and I learned to multi task and organize my work as per level of importance. I worked in the HR department and was a coordinator for finding employees to work on the rigs. It was a department that demanded excellent team work.The hardest part of the job was not being able to put our hands to work when there was no work, and the best part of the job was being able to send out our employees for work.
Pros
Working closely with the field hands.
Cons
On call on the weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working with them
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Alberta30 June 2016
good working with them.
good company and good people to work with
enjoy working in the field
work in oilfield and oilfield rigs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
QA Analyst Tester (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 May 2016
Great, Fun work, Many activities to conduct with Coworkers. Very Loyal company to their long term employees. I would recommended to my friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Crew Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB4 March 2016
Long hours and great pay. Too bad it's not year round.
Hopefully the oilpatch will make a comeback sooner than later.
I look forward to working here again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company who cares about their employees
Driller (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB3 March 2016
They do what they can to keep their guys busy in the slow times. Took me on from the international side and put me to work in the Canadian division without hesitation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run company
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB24 February 2016
Long days but well compensated. The office seemed to be very well run. The drilling industry is very up and down though. the worst part of the job was being away from civilization for long periods of time.
Pros
pay, benifits
Cons
long days, long hitches.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours but worth wild job
oil field technician (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB5 February 2016
if your single or have a very understanding love one its the job for you. 12 hour shifts. a lot of hands on work experience.
Pros
consistent work
Cons
long periods away from society
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
administrative (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB22 January 2016
You don't get too comfortable at Ensign because you don't know from one day to the next if you have a job. Management pretend to listen to concerns but you are pretty much left on your own. One thing I did practice a lot there was how to work independently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ensign Energy Services Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 100 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

Ensign Energy Services Inc. Reviews by Location