EnerNOC Employee Reviews

Showing all 33 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits/culture but dodgy management
Business Development Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA25 October 2016
EnerNOC goes well out of its way to make the employees happy; whether that's free coffee/snacks, gym access, resources, benefits or just compensation. They pay well, come with a good reputation and the culture at OMP is great! Where they fall short is their mismanagement with company direction (i.e. we switched our corporate focus 3 times in my less than 1.5 years). I enjoyed my time there, but definitely felt there were some dodgy things happening in the background. I would definitely recommend the company, but don't get comfortable - things could change drastically, without any warning.
Pros
Free snacks, great location, amazing corporate culture, emerging markets & pioneers in their field
Cons
Poor management/communication, invested a LOT in a product when the market doesn't exist yet
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gross incompetence
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA28 September 2016
I gave only one star for each category based on the recent massive layoffs that completely exposed the gross incompetence of senior management and their crass disregard for the adverse effects on so many who were only hired in the last two months. There were many new employees hired since July to work within the company's EIS offering. Unfortunately sales were slow and costs were high so they decided to cut hundreds including those who they recently lured away from other jobs and opportunities. Those people are left with one week's notice, upon which their insurance benefits expire and truly pathetic severance packages. These people were victimized by the company. Was senior management so incompetent and out of touch with the numbers that they would continue a steady stream of new hires? Or are they really that crass that they simply did not care about what they were doing to individual lives? Take your pick because in either case, they are not to be trusted.
Pros
Pretty Boston office
Cons
Myopic, untrustworthy senior management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with intelligent young professionals
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MA6 March 2016
Great people and management. Very fast paced environment. Lots of opportunity to learn and grow your career. Small enough to make an impact and meet executives.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EnerNOC’s Evolving Business Strategy in Efficiency Software
Senior Database Engineer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MA8 November 2015
In Energy management company like Enernoc Demand Response does has tough challenges due to Government interference on rulings
Pros
Work Life bance
Cons
No carrer growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MA31 August 2015
Good place to work and reccommend it to one and all. No hassles with management, and environment is very peaceful & conducive to learning while working.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, fun place
Business Development Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA27 August 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop. This is expected to become a big company in the energy industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Systems Engineer/JAVA Tools Developer (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA11 August 2015
Great place to work. It was definitely a meritocracy. Good ideas were put into place.

I was able to have a good work/life balance while working there. I did notice other teams where work/life balance seemed to be strained.

I was able to work remotely quite a bit, but this seemed to be a team-by-team decision.
Pros
free snacks, good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment that might lack experience
Manager of Manufacturing Operations (Current Employee) –  Boise Idaho8 July 2015
EnerNOC is an extremely fast paced organization, but in some regards lacks critical experience. Most of the staff at EnerNOC are fresh college graduates which breeds a launching ground for these folks to the rest of their career (Not necessarily with EnerNOC long-term). This type of work force also lends itself to a lack of vested interest in objectives and goals and promotions to folks that may not be completely qualified.
Pros
Excellent benefits package
Cons
Juvenile sense of doing business.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture can vary by department
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MA27 May 2015
Culture between depts and floors can vary. Fast paced and stressful in Engineering, but outlets exist in fooball table, kayak, and paddle boards.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My non-review, review
G&A group - Middle Management (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA2 May 2015
An interesting place to work. Smart, younger workforce routinely being pulled in a million directions with varying results and varying levels of engagement.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing clean tech company well poised to lead in Energy Management
Business Development Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VA3 April 2015
EnerNOC provides first rate demand response, procurement and energy management software. The company has doubled in size in the last few years and had few competitors in terms of track record, focus and quality/breadth of offering.
Pros
Youthful, talented and dedicated workforce in a promising sector
Cons
Fast rate of change and management focus, employees can be left at a loss as to company direction
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intelligent coworkers
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco29 January 2015
Many intelligent folks in all areas of the company including engineering, operations, business development, marketing, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Insightful
Contract Management Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA31 October 2014
A very young, work-fun driven company, interested in their employees
Pros
Free Lunches, drinks
Cons
uncomfortable chairs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging intellectual environment in a fast paced market
Sales (Current Employee) –  Remote25 September 2014
A great collection of smart people who are motivated to contribute to a mission-driven organization and change the way the world uses energy.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ethusiastic
Marketing Data Analytics Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA25 August 2014
good to work, tasks assigned properly. co-workers were co-operative and helped learn a lot from this experience
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and good place to learn a lot
Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA4 June 2014
EnerNOC is a great place to work if you don't have a family and don't like to sleep. Whatever you do will never be enough.
Pros
A lot of sales reps make over $200K per year
Cons
Everyone in the company is treated like disposable trash
Was this review helpful?Yes13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Network Administrator Intern (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, California5 February 2014
Definitely work is #1 priority in life here, but I had a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Totally Fake Type 'A'
Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA5 December 2013
EnerNOC is by far the worst company I have ever seen.. Everyone is a phony, hard charging type of clown that would push you in front of a train for a buck. Turnover is relentless, the work is mundane and management is useless. Rumor is that the idea for the company was stolen from another student at business school, like all good ideas.
Pros
Everyone says free lunch and snacks. Big deal but I guess you have to eat.
Cons
The people, the boredom. Hardest part of my job was staying awake long enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, if you love an RND environment.
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA1 April 2013
It was a great place to work. Had an opportunity to research new and latest technologies. The co-workers are great and very supportive. I did not like though working alone, I am more of a team player. Management is great, and encourages new ideas.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ive learned more in 13 months at EnerNOC than I ever imagined possible!
BDA- Inside sales (Current Employee) –  Boston19 March 2013
I cant say enough about the great people! I cant speak to past but it appears the company has made a tremendous investment in ensuring the employees concerns were heard and working hard to create culture of people that are not ony challengd but rewarded and given the flexibilty to have the work life balance that was previously lacking. My goup in particular has a tremendous promotional rate- the inside sales team (BDA's) - truly a feeder pool for outside sales roles.
Pros
great coworkers, kitchens are filled with healthy drinks snacks, and almost always free lunch!
Cons
long hours, i was new to energy so ramp time longer than expected.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at EnerNOC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.8