Find companies:
Electronic Arts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
117 reviews

Electronic Arts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and productive, not enough pay for what they make you do
Tier 1 & 2 Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 17, 2013
Pros: the people i worked with, and some customers
Cons: not enough pay, poor management
I personally loved my job. they did not pay us whatsoever what we deserved. 9 an hr when others were making 12 for less the work i was doing.

but it didn't matter. the management there sucked, the policies sucked. i didn't get what was promised or this and that. but the relationships i had with my coworkers and some of the customers i had is what really – more... made my job.

i was there for a little longer than two years and had gotten everything down perfectly. I was on every type of support they had and was on all levels of support as well. wether it was phones, chat, or email i have done. intro support, tier 1, 2, escalation, warranty, terms of service.

the only thing that i did not like about the job was its security. you didn't know when you were going or who was going. they laid you off then acted like it didn't matter. I have seen so many people let go. And the pay. i was on so many teams, been higher level support, taken cases where i have to go fix someone elses mistake. I never got any raise or to know that someone who works for another ea campaign who strictly is chat, has no dress code, has less work than me, is making almost four more dollars than me. And im doing teir 1,2 phones and email?!? come on. thats what messed it up for me.

I will admit i have learned a lot from this job. I have taken skills with me that i may be able to use in other fields of work. I have become more professional, I have learned so much about computers, software, and video games. I have had such fun times with my coworkers. I have had some of the funniest conversations or have heard some of the funniest things while on the phones with these people. I loved it. Its just sad it is no longer here in austin, or at least the campaign i was on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and well managed staff
QA Tester (Former Employee), Hyderabad, APFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: nice workplace
Cons: low salary
Had a great time at EA. Nice workplace with multicultural environment.
Learned lot about Manual Testing of Mobile Application, Handset and Carrier Specific testing.
Management was good and cooperative and all the projects were completed before deadline.
Co-workers were like buddies you know for years.
Hardest part of the job was to work on too many – more... builds in a limited amount of time.
Enjoyable part of the job was field trips, team outing and many sports and cultural environments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on your manager
Contractor (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: newer technologies
Cons: no work-life balance
Worked for a IT team of a division which doesn't produce games.

There was no planning in execution of projects. Most of the senior management is really good but when it comes to a middle level management they all seem very unclear on what is required to get company ahead.

For some strange reason they treated contractors for this division very badly. – more... They don't expect you to provide any suggestions to improve IT solutions. Overall worked on newer technologies but the immediate manager I got was really bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making Games for a living? Awesome sounding..... Alas
Quality Assurance Tester (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: breakroom was epic, games and snacks
Cons: hours could get a little insane 65+ a week at times
The work was not quite what you would expect if you were never a game tester or in the industry yourself. Lots of building test cases, running test programs, and repetition of the same little section of a game, not actually playing it. But the office life was enjoyable and relaxed, Nerf seemed to be a sponsor of the building from the number of Nerf – more... weapons that abounded in that place... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management all around
Manager (Former Employee), Redwood City, CAJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: great work campus, amazing benefits and good pay
Cons: management, job security is non-existent
there are layoffs almost every year, and management is really terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management all around
Manager (Former Employee), Redwood City, CAJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: great work campus, amazing benefits and good pay
Cons: management, job security is non-existent
there are layoffs almost every year, and management is really terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace, low professionalism.
QA Tester (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: hour lunch, two breaks during the day, relaxed work atmosphere
Cons: low pay for the amount of work and responsibility that a tester could end up with, and not much recognition for guiding teammates.
I worked the day shift from 7-4. Testers arrive before the "Full Time" EA employees and would start and end the day with shift reports, emails from the game developers as well as keeping track of testing times. Each tester was assigned a specific area to test and would have a checklist from Pre-Alpha, Alpha, Beta, and Final testing stages during the – more... development process.

All testers were only working for a set time according to their contract. Either a tester worked full time for a year, or they worked part time for 18 months. After which they are put on a furlough, but are guaranteed their position back after 3 months. The "Full Time" EA employees did not have this same contract. The testers were paid by a company named PRO Unlimited, and the EA employees worked directly for EA. Needless to say the majority of the EA employees let the title of their position go their head and treated their co-workers as beneath them in social status. This does not apply to all of them just most of them.

Doing the checklists would be the most meticulous part of the job which wasn't hard at all. The checklists were Excel spreadsheets that for everything tested it was either marked as Pass, Fail, Not Applicable, Blocked, or Cannot Test. The main goal of tested was not to see if something worked, but if you could break it. Worked there gave a lot of insight as to the difference between playing a video game, and testing them.

Employees had to have at the very least a general computer knowledge. Knowing more than others didn't give an edge in the workplace for people to see, and would be just looked over. The IT staff there was comprised of only 3 people. Server Administrator, IT Head, and the third would mainly replace the hardware for a system to bring it up to minimum specifications for what it was needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work and great friends!
Assistant DBM/ Qa tester (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: great people, fun times, chances for advancement
Cons: minimum wage
I've been with EA for 5 months and it feels like I've been there a lifetime. The environment is amazing. We're all a big family who helpand support eachother in every way. Our lead is almost a father figure and we work efficiently while still having fun and enjoying our time at work. I've learned a lot and as long as you are willing to speak up for – more... it, advancement is easy. I highly recommend EA if you are looking to break into the industry! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good platform for learning for begineers
QA Tester (Former Employee), HyderabadJanuary 4, 2013
For beginners its a very good company for entering into mobile application testing arena. Though Pay is less for beginners, learning work should be satisfactory.

For Experienced its a job that gives you a handy pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it while I was there.(mostly)
customer support (Former Employee), austin tx.December 7, 2012
Pros: fun environment
I never had one performace review and was under the impression i was doing very well and then one day i was just fired and not given reason, i have been unable to get my belongings from my desk and they still use my xbox gamer tag that i pay for for troubleshooting purposes at work. great while i was there, but they have a black mask firing policy, – more... no ne sees it comming then you are gone. i worked there for over 8 months and then i got called when i got home one day and fired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what you'd expect
Credit & A/R Manager (Former Employee), Redwood City, CANovember 21, 2012
Cons: everyone is afraid to leave their desks for lunch, so bring yours!
This is an analyst job, lots of charts and graphs. Credit reviews are done 2x year and collections is done out of India. Lots of process issues that make for lots of manual double-checking and that slows everything down to a crawl. Better have a very thick skin if you plan on applying for this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting work
QA Tester (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAOctober 27, 2012
Learned to manage time and learned how to pay attention. The main goal was to make sure that games were published free of errors. Learned to be flexible as game play included PCs, and all types of handheld devices. Learned to remain focused in an environment with many people and lots of activity. The hardest part of the job was staying focused on playing – more... the game and finding errors in the company of lot of people, noise and potential distractions. The most enjoyable part was experimenting with new games and devices and assisting to identify problems and errors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
User Experience Designer (Current Employee), Montreal, QCOctober 24, 2012
Pros: working remotely, pay, the people
Cons: advancing in your career
I find EA to be a great place to work.

The environment is very relaxing and you are working on fund projects!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative environment
Senior Business Systems Project Manager (Former Employee), Redwood City, CAOctober 22, 2012
Pros: free parking
Video game industry is very exciting and leading edge. With the evolution of the video game industry it is necessary to always stay ahead of the trends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pool table limited to play any of the gaming console
Tier 1 Technical Support (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: one hour lunches, and 30 mintues of break time.
A typical work day was receiving phone calls about customers and their video games glitching or unable to register their Xbox Live Account or their Playstation ID to their EA ID or Origin ID. My co-workers were really helpful when they weren't busy with a call they were more than happy to assist me with whatever questions I had whenever I first started – more... the job. The hardest part of the job was the constant changes in policy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Lead QA SW Tester and QA Hardware Manager (Former Employee), Redwood City, CASeptember 17, 2012
Really takes good care of its employees. It was the best place i ever worked
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer job
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Redwood city, CASeptember 15, 2012
Pros: free lunch
I worked as a office assistant and help with anything my supervisor needed and did data entry.

Learned how to use a data base

Management was great no problems

Coworkers didn't get to know them to well but nice as far as i know.

Hardest part none really i caught on fast and didn't really have any complications.

Most enjoyable part was learning all – more... the different thing the job consisted of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EA is a good Company to work For...
Financial Analyst - EA Games (Current Employee), Hyderabad , IndiaSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: good entertainment at work
Cons: breaks
1)EA gives lot of opportunities to learn and Grow..
2) Good people to work with.
3) Understanding Management to resolve issues and help.
4) Motivating Culture.
5) Always thinking of new innovations.
6)Sometimes Hectic but like working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun work environment.
Quality Assurance (Former Employee), Vista, CAAugust 13, 2012
As part of the QA department I spend most of the day testing pre-release software and researching database for bugs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Testing video games
QA Tester (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 10, 2012
Pros: easy, hour lunch, company incentives
Cons: no room for advancement besides a position with a strict head count
Easy work for minimum wage, There is no room for advancement unless you are favored by superiors, and the only incentives to work harder are a position that has a strict head count to adhere by, you might have to compete with people on completely different projects to secure the position

About Electronic Arts

EA Canada is a video game developer located in Burnaby, British Columbia. The development studio opened in January 1983 and is – Read more

Electronic Arts Photos