Find companies:
Electronic Arts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
126 reviews

Electronic Arts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Review
Contractor (Current Employee), Austin, TXJune 22, 2014
Pros: free and discounted games
Cons: heavy employee turnover
Its an interesting place to work, fun atmosphere with a laid back culture. A lot of work on a day to day basis but business partners are friendly and easy to work with. I believe the company is headed in the right direction for future growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
QA Tester / Embedded Tester (Former Employee), Playa del Vista, CAJune 19, 2014
Pros: working on games, great team
Cons: long hours, low pay
A lot of dedication to quality and providing the best product for the end user.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Associate Acquisition Marketing Manager (Current Employee), Redwood Shores, CAJune 16, 2014
I enjoy working at EA. The people are great and there is a definite work life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An OK place to work
French Advisor (Current Employee), Galway, GJune 12, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours - focused on numbers/stats
Hard place to work - working lots of hours, taking call after call. Customers are not very nice over the phone.
The company is alright, good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, Superb products, good work space.
Marketing Manager (Current Employee), Johannesburg North, GPJune 11, 2014
This is a great company to work for, you work with great products and brands. This is a global company which teaches you to be bold and think big.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Ok place to be
Director of Product Development (Current Employee), orlando, flJune 5, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: very political
Hard place to work You will work a lot of hours and ca be political.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Company to work
Software Test Engineer (Current Employee), Hyderabad, APMay 25, 2014
Pros: stress free environment, adaptable work shiift
Cons: payscales
As far i know a guy working at EA will never like to quit the organisation....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and fun culture
Corporate Senior Accountant (Current Employee), Redwood City, CAApril 30, 2014
Fund culture with great people to work with. Management are supportive and understanding. There are definitely room for growth within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Analyst (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 22, 2014
Management is strong and enjoyable to work with. They have a strong partnership with one another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop AAA production Video Games and make lifelong friends.
Producer, Public Relations Product Representative (Former Employee), San Francisco, MontrealApril 2, 2014
Pros: great culture and office locations throughout the world.
Cons: susceptible to an ever-changing market.
I spent many years with EA and enjoyed the experience of working on AAA video games immensely. Through 11 years of ups and downs in the market, EA always took care of their employees for the extra hours we were willing to work during crunch-time. I wore many hats in my years there from Designer, Lead Designer, and Producer and I can say it was fantastic – more... to be able to see the world, do numerous TV and Web interviews whie representing my team and the games we were developing. I believe my experience working for such a large corporation for so many years can compliment any project that comes my way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with co-workers who care about their work
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 31, 2014
Electronic Arts/PopCap Games was a rewarding place to work. I was really able to learn a lot about the video game industry during my two years here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electronic Arts
QA Tester/Contract work (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LaMarch 29, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: treats workers bad, contract
The discounts on EA games was the only thing worth this job.
All day on a computer, testing games, and keeping confidential information safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day of quality assurance testing
Quality Assurance Tester (Former Employee), Baton RougeMarch 18, 2014
Pros: 40 hours with over time, long breaks, great work environment and people
Cons: 7.50$
QA is an exellent job to start learning networking skills and the stages of development. Work as a team daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good palce to work at, but there would be no growth in the company
Delivery Associate (Current Employee), Hyderabad, APMarch 17, 2014
work can be managed well, learned how to meet the deadlines on/before time, time management,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experiance
Director of Marketing and Business Strategy (Former Employee), Redwood Shores, CAMarch 6, 2014
Enjoyed the people I worked with, it is a fast paced place with alot to learn.
The management was supportive and caring.

Hardest part of the job was trying to get stuff done amongst the constant re-orgs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment but stressful at deadlines
Senior Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTMarch 4, 2014
Pros: fun job, great team, fun environment, creative aspect, laid back environment
Cons: little job security, overtime expectations, stressful deadlines.
Working at Electronic Arts was a fun environment with a fun team that worked well together. There were a lot of fun perks such as Breakfast Fridays or a lot of Parties. The hardest part of the job was the stress of it, over-time was expected, there was less respect for the QA members from development, deadlines were always stressful and often had to – more... work until 3-4AM. The other difficult thing about working there is you never have job security, even when you become a regular full-time employee there is still the fear that your project can be canceled and you will get laid off. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to create something viewed worldwide and work in such a laid-back fun environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would have worked there longer if pay was better.
QA/Game Tester (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: video games and your co-workers.
Cons: advancement seems to be politically based rather than performance based.
I really enjoyed my time at EA. However, I could not support my family on minimum wage by working there. And advancing there is not as easy as the job description would lead you to believe. If I was still a student, or not supporting kids I would still be there. My star rating is what I will let speak for me concerning management. My experience with – more... one manager is what keeps it from being a 2 star rating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back, fun, challenging, and fulfilling work environment.
Developer (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits, discounted products, and fun environment.
Cons: location
Working at EA was a very fulfilling and exciting job. I was a part of a big team made up of great co workers. My typical work day consisted of collaborating with multiple team members and finishing my day to day tasks. I learned a lot about the inner workings of the video game industry and working with a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Challenge Everything" has turned into "Outsource Everything, Innovate Nothing"
Designer (Former Employee), Redwood City, CAFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: brilliant and talented engineers, artists and designers. on-site amenities. aaa game making experience
Cons: heavy reliance on outsourcing quotas, blind adherence to legacy practices, poor management, culture that rewards cya politics, lack of regular training opportunities especially for managers
While I worked remotely with other EA studios and partners on occasion throughout my tenure, this review is mainly about my nearly decade long experience with the Redwood City, CA HQ location.

The executive leadership is ham-fisted and the only training middle management seem to have is how to politic, finger point and backstab when the quality of – more... their products and processes are under strain. The company breeds horrible middle managers and supervisors. The true "leaders" who are interested in growth, opportunity, transparency, innovation and quality quickly find themselves at odds with the company culture due to heavy, cumbersome, legacy policies and clumsy executive meddling.

For many teams, their defacto problem solving tool is to keep adding managers, GM's, directors, executive whatevers - but never to try to work smarter or with more agility. I worked on a multi-year project that saw 2 reorgs, 3 GM's, 4 EP's, multiple redesigns - and yet when it's time to lay off people, it's always the talented ground level designers, engineers, producers or artists that have the best shot of making something great who are let go. The (extremely invested and well-trained) talent that they've let slip into the hands of competitors because of dart-board decisions and mismanagement is astounding. I've seen managers admit to accidentally laying off the wrong people and giving the wrong raises because they were oblivious to what their direct reports were doing! How there haven't been lawsuits over this, is sheer luck.

Finally, I know outsourcing is all the rage for international, publicly traded corporations with fiduciary responsibilities that need to demonstrate their efforts to tighten operational overhead. However, I've been witness to some of the outsourcing quota decisions that actually resulted in increased overall cost due to administrative and managerial overhead, lower quality and even opportunity loss due to scheduling and contract issues. If I were still a stock holder in EA (which I'm not anymore - it's like watching sausage be made), I would be very critical of HOW they report to save money because I can guarantee it's ALWAYS at the cost of quality, scheduling or human capital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College atmosphere social advancement of EA sports game titles
Internship (Former Employee), Champaign, ILFebruary 19, 2014
In a typical day you will talk to a lot of people and make a lot of connections. I learned how to effective plan and execute events. Management was very good. Made the internship program fun. Co-workers made the job easier with sharing ideas. The hardest part of the job was reaching out to every part of the campus. The most enjoyable part of the job – more... was people's reactions after they won prizes. – less

About Electronic Arts

To armchair quarterbacks and couch-potato commandos, Electronic Arts (EA) is their Picasso. EA is a top-three global video game – Read more

Electronic Arts Photos