Find companies:
Electronic Arts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
103 reviews

Electronic Arts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EA Summary
Talent Coordinator (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCMarch 25, 2014
The environment at EA is great - very fast paced and demanding, but extremely rewarding.
I've learned a great deal about time management, recruiting, balancing priorities and overall HR.
The team dynamic is wonderful - coming into work knowing that I will have a long list of demanding things to take care of, but have an incredibly supportive team backing – more... me up is wonderful!
We work hard, and we play hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work with a good crew of people.
Quality Assurance Tester (Former Employee), 3 Pl Ville MarieFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: lots a breaks, easy work, quiet environment.
Cons: pay was mediocre
I'd start my day receiving a device (cell phone, tablet etc.) with a specific application to test. Once the app has been played through, we were required to complete checklists making sure they were fit to be released to the public. The atmosphere was nice and quiet, and my coworkers were also very helpful. We worked at our own paces, and we were able – more... to do some internet browsing in between tasks and on our breaks. Sadly the department closed down due to a lot bad decision making made by EA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Expectations of hard work yet FUN!
Development Director - FIFA Franchise (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: campus amenities, great people/team collaboration
Cons: very little room for "process improvement", structure already set in place, can be political at times.
Great place to work, amazing amenities (gym, pilates/yoga classes, cafeteria, arcades on-campus). Some of my best mentors are from EA, they have great managers and leaders there. Every year the franchised product needs to get out the door, so there is no room for "time wasting" which taught be a lot about failing fast and recovering quickly. Making – more... mistakes was encouraged as long as they were learned from. Amazing coworkers and team camaraderie and team building activities to ensure people were "gelling" throughout the project lifecycle. Work/life balanced has improved incredibly at EA, they're not given enough credit for this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wrong people in wrong positions
Producer \ Designer EA Sports (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCDecember 23, 2013
Pros: they have pinball machines in the lunch room
Cons: see review.
My workday was mostly herding cats. Trying to get a dozen people with a dozen different agendas to get in the same room at the same time to get them to agree on something so I could move the project forward. Impossible.

The wrong people are in management. When I worked there, the president of the company was, literally, a former ice cream salesman. – more... Zero background in the game industry.

And like him, one of my managers was a former lawyer. No background in gaming, No design experience. Do development experience. No knowledge of North American sports. Barely knew how to use a web browser. Every project he'd ever been put in charge of at EA was an unmitigated disaster. Yet he was a senior product for for 3 years. Now he's one of EA's Vice Presidents!!

Innovative ideas scare them. Don't go to any manager with an idea that might be risky. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great campus, lots of cool events. Company structure is overly complicated, individuals are often marginalised.
Member of the creative team (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCNovember 29, 2013
Pros: good atmosphere, great games, large teams, exciting subject matter
Cons: layoffs, poor advancement model
While it was fun to work at EAC on good days, bad days consisted of mass layoffs, rushed designs and inadequate staffing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and inspirational work place
QA for Artworks (Former Employee), Canada, BurnabyFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: fun environment, great people
Cons: selective security and salary distrubution
Work really had a balance between work hard and play fun. The Culture of EA really shines, as they reward their employees for hard work through fun times. The entire studio is basking with inspiration, surrounded by the video games and art of which cause us to be who we are. Really nothing but good things to say about this environment. However, the – more... job security and salary distribution is very selective. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes productive
Development Tester (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCOctober 26, 2012
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: not challenging enough
Most of the times there could be little to do in terms of task. People are generally pretty nice and time is flexible. I learned to what it is to work with different departments at once (programmers, testers, certification). The hardest part of the job is probably to get everyone together on the same page as some tasks require a lot of different people – more... and devices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop AAA production Video Games and make lifelong friends.
Producer, Public Relations Product Representative (Former Employee), San Francisco, MontrealApril 2, 2014
Pros: great culture and office locations throughout the world.
Cons: susceptible to an ever-changing market.
I spent many years with EA and enjoyed the experience of working on AAA video games immensely. Through 11 years of ups and downs in the market, EA always took care of their employees for the extra hours we were willing to work during crunch-time. I wore many hats in my years there from Designer, Lead Designer, and Producer and I can say it was fantastic – more... to be able to see the world, do numerous TV and Web interviews whie representing my team and the games we were developing. I believe my experience working for such a large corporation for so many years can compliment any project that comes my way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with co-workers who care about their work
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 31, 2014
Electronic Arts/PopCap Games was a rewarding place to work. I was really able to learn a lot about the video game industry during my two years here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electronic Arts
QA Tester/Contract work (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LaMarch 29, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: treats workers bad, contract
The discounts on EA games was the only thing worth this job.
All day on a computer, testing games, and keeping confidential information safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day of quality assurance testing
Quality Assurance Tester (Former Employee), Baton RougeMarch 18, 2014
Pros: 40 hours with over time, long breaks, great work environment and people
Cons: 7.50$
QA is an exellent job to start learning networking skills and the stages of development. Work as a team daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good palce to work at, but there would be no growth in the company
Delivery Associate (Current Employee), Hyderabad, APMarch 17, 2014
work can be managed well, learned how to meet the deadlines on/before time, time management,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experiance
Director of Marketing and Business Strategy (Former Employee), Redwood Shores, CAMarch 6, 2014
Enjoyed the people I worked with, it is a fast paced place with alot to learn.
The management was supportive and caring.

Hardest part of the job was trying to get stuff done amongst the constant re-orgs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment but stressful at deadlines
Senior Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTMarch 4, 2014
Pros: fun job, great team, fun environment, creative aspect, laid back environment
Cons: little job security, overtime expectations, stressful deadlines.
Working at Electronic Arts was a fun environment with a fun team that worked well together. There were a lot of fun perks such as Breakfast Fridays or a lot of Parties. The hardest part of the job was the stress of it, over-time was expected, there was less respect for the QA members from development, deadlines were always stressful and often had to – more... work until 3-4AM. The other difficult thing about working there is you never have job security, even when you become a regular full-time employee there is still the fear that your project can be canceled and you will get laid off. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to create something viewed worldwide and work in such a laid-back fun environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would have worked there longer if pay was better.
QA/Game Tester (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: video games and your co-workers.
Cons: advancement seems to be politically based rather than performance based.
I really enjoyed my time at EA. However, I could not support my family on minimum wage by working there. And advancing there is not as easy as the job description would lead you to believe. If I was still a student, or not supporting kids I would still be there. My star rating is what I will let speak for me concerning management. My experience with – more... one manager is what keeps it from being a 2 star rating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back, fun, challenging, and fulfilling work environment.
Developer (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits, discounted products, and fun environment.
Cons: location
Working at EA was a very fulfilling and exciting job. I was a part of a big team made up of great co workers. My typical work day consisted of collaborating with multiple team members and finishing my day to day tasks. I learned a lot about the inner workings of the video game industry and working with a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Challenge Everything" has turned into "Outsource Everything, Innovate Nothing"
Designer (Former Employee), Redwood City, CAFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: brilliant and talented engineers, artists and designers. on-site amenities. aaa game making experience
Cons: heavy reliance on outsourcing quotas, blind adherence to legacy practices, poor management, culture that rewards cya politics, lack of regular training opportunities especially for managers
While I worked remotely with other EA studios and partners on occasion throughout my tenure, this review is mainly about my nearly decade long experience with the Redwood City, CA HQ location.

The executive leadership is ham-fisted and the only training middle management seem to have is how to politic, finger point and backstab when the quality of – more... their products and processes are under strain. The company breeds horrible middle managers and supervisors. The true "leaders" who are interested in growth, opportunity, transparency, innovation and quality quickly find themselves at odds with the company culture due to heavy, cumbersome, legacy policies and clumsy executive meddling.

For many teams, their defacto problem solving tool is to keep adding managers, GM's, directors, executive whatevers - but never to try to work smarter or with more agility. I worked on a multi-year project that saw 2 reorgs, 3 GM's, 4 EP's, multiple redesigns - and yet when it's time to lay off people, it's always the talented ground level designers, engineers, producers or artists that have the best shot of making something great who are let go. The (extremely invested and well-trained) talent that they've let slip into the hands of competitors because of dart-board decisions and mismanagement is astounding. I've seen managers admit to accidentally laying off the wrong people and giving the wrong raises because they were oblivious to what their direct reports were doing! How there haven't been lawsuits over this, is sheer luck.

Finally, I know outsourcing is all the rage for international, publicly traded corporations with fiduciary responsibilities that need to demonstrate their efforts to tighten operational overhead. However, I've been witness to some of the outsourcing quota decisions that actually resulted in increased overall cost due to administrative and managerial overhead, lower quality and even opportunity loss due to scheduling and contract issues. If I were still a stock holder in EA (which I'm not anymore - it's like watching sausage be made), I would be very critical of HOW they report to save money because I can guarantee it's ALWAYS at the cost of quality, scheduling or human capital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College atmosphere social advancement of EA sports game titles
Internship (Former Employee), Champaign, ILFebruary 19, 2014
In a typical day you will talk to a lot of people and make a lot of connections. I learned how to effective plan and execute events. Management was very good. Made the internship program fun. Co-workers made the job easier with sharing ideas. The hardest part of the job was reaching out to every part of the campus. The most enjoyable part of the job – more... was people's reactions after they won prizes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work, the people are the best.
PC, Great Outdoors, FX, Technical Art Lead (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UtahFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: not many but sadly people get laid off fairly often.
Electronic Arts was a great place to work for 12 years. I loved every minute of what I did. The work is extremely challenging and rewarding. The people are some of the best I have ever known. I will really miss working with them. Sadly I was part of a mass layoff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay as long as you can.
Quality Assurance Specialist (DevTrack, DevTest) (Former Employee), Playa Vista, CAFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: free dinner with overtime, good amount of overtime
Cons: working contract means you have to leave.
As I was on contract I was not able to stay with this amazing company. Milestone deadlines were within grasp. Co-workers and upper management very easy to get along with, very friendly environment.

1 2 3 4 5

About Electronic Arts

EA Canada is a video game developer located in Burnaby, British Columbia. The development studio opened in January 1983 and is – Read more

Electronic Arts Photos