EECOL Electric Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best choice...
Person (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 January 2018
Not an overly difficult place to work but boring and not very fulfilling if you like to actually do things that progress your knowledge / experience. The sales route is the way to go if you are looking at EECOL Electric as a place to work.
Pros
Some benefits
Cons
You work for shareholder value..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
labourer
Assistant Supervisor / Parts Person (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 January 2018
Deffinately a mans world a girl / lady worked twice as hard as us guys she didnt smoke or take hardly any breaks got paid way less than us new guys in receiving and she was the one helping us learn i barely ever saw the managers
Pros
good free lunches at learning classes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 December 2017
EEcol was a great place to work, friendly management always there to help in troubled times. Advancements were available if you showed up for work on time and worked hard. The more you put into your work the more you would receive out of it.
Pros
Free lunches, friendly people, good training
Cons
not everyone would put out many drifters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of potential advancement available
Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 December 2017
EECOL Electric is a great place to work and get ahead if you have the desire and commitment to follow the companies rules and objectives. The management is first class, always willing to help out and give positive instruction.
Pros
Lots of training, free lunches, fun place to work
Cons
Can be very stressful sometimes, not having employees trained up in certain areas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect to work for free
Receiver (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB1 November 2017
The co-works expect you to stay overtime for free, unpaid, to get done everything that came in that day. But sorry a person can only do so much in 8 hours, and understaffing causes stress, is threating to your job security and I was told that I work 8 hours I get paid xxxx amount. I tidy up and usually leave 10-20 minutes after my time is up and that is still not good enough. No positive re-enforcement so I do not know when I am doing this right.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK3 October 2017
atmosphere of eecol is amazing from the co-workers to the customers. it made going to work easier.
As for management it could approve as they like to fire people with no known cause.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so long ago I don't remember
warehouse (wire room) (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 April 2017
im all for helping out the process but after having to review all 5 spots I just updated with no skip option and a crying kid I'm finding this is getting old fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over
Forklift driver (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC17 April 2017
This is an okay job if your starting out and you want to learn how a warehouse environment works but would not stay here long term management is not good and turn over rate is very high people usually work here only 6 months to 1 year.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
expectations
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Lower Mainland, BC15 April 2017
Eecol Electric is an awesome company to work for I wish that I had found this company earlier in my working career. I find that Eecol is very fair to those that come to work. Management spots and assists those areas that need Improvement with training.
If you like a friendly environment, an opportunity to create a long-lasting career with a balanced family life then this is a great opportunity.
Salaries offered meet national average.
Extended Medical is a great benefit.
Opportunities to better oneself is a another great benefit as Eecol offers platform for growth providing you come to work and not come to a social Gathering.
If you truly wish to better yourself then this company is the one that offers a window of opportunity, Work Safe,Smart and rewards exist. Stand around,loaf about, interfere chatting with co-workers continuously this is not the place.
Every employee is responsible for contributing to their own success which means smart hard work has its Rewards
Careers are not built overnight. takes time and effort to seek out a path that is right for oneself.
Eecol Electric offers an environment that is conducive to every person who wishes to put in the effort.
I welcome you to come and become one of my workmates but please remember, don't stand around chatting while you're on the job. It is no good for me and certainly no good for you.
EXPECTATIONS are that we come to work not socialize .
Pros
Great starting Salaries, great hours, Clean safe work environment. no tolerance for socialization while working.
Cons
no tolerance for socialization while working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 March 2017
Was a good place to work. Everyone had fun, and the foreman were approachable. Got along well with everyone, and had lots of fun. Good work dynamic among everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 December 2016
Always busy with work to do. It is of utmost importance to pay close attention to details. Management is very flexible. Co-workers are friendly. The most enjoyable part was the lack of stress in this environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fast passed
Shipping/receiving/CSR (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 December 2016
Wear comfortable shoes that won't stress your back. Stay light on your feet and greet all customers with up most respect. Don't forget to smile and assist all customers to fit their needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working conditions, with management
Driver, Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  NE store1 September 2016
As a driver, for me it was very busy. Leaving to make my first drop usually at 8 am and was busy all the way to closing. Learned how to operate both sit-down and stand-up forklifts. Learned how to load and unload material from other truck and trailers.
Pros
Had contests sometimes where I won both a TV and Video player
Cons
Trying to please the sales people who were sometimes very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out great, became awful...
Former EECOL employee (Former Employee) –  BC22 July 2016
The company used to have great morals, standards and ideas. After Wesco bought EECOL the company has gone down the drain. They don't adhere to the promises they make you any more. They keep trying to downsize via laying employees off, but expect the same amount if not more work done. Raises are barely enough to make any difference. Some supervisors and power hungry and cruel, some managers are just there to collect their large pay cheque.
Pros
Some people are great, pay is above minimum wage, regular hours, some opportunity for overtime
Cons
Overworked, not enough staff, some managers and employees don't want to do their work (which in turn affects your work), some people are extremely difficult to work with, they will hire from outside the company for higher positions instead of hiring from within.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eecol was a fun place to work for a while
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC23 May 2016
Eecol was a fun place to work for a while. Had great employs but had a lot of layoffs which caused problems with productivity. which in the end caused everyone to do things beyond there job description.
Pros
Environment
Cons
Mass layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Accounts Payable (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 February 2016
Working at EECOL was great. I met a lot of great people there. Always something to do and lots of opportunities to move up the ladder
Pros
free lunches great pay
Cons
hard to say pros and cons to EECOL
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eecol electric
utility inside sales specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary AB28 December 2015
Eecol was not bad to work for. I worked my way up the ranks pretty quickly. in a year and half I went from order picker to pick up counter to counter to inside sales. I thought I was on my way to a promising career until I was recently laid off...
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid off
Out of town shipping supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta24 September 2015
It is unfortunate that i was laid off. I was grateful to have given my time to this company. I thought there was room for growth & advancement, especially at the managorial level. Wait... is 'managorial' even a word?
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the team atosphere
Shipper & Receiver-Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB23 July 2015
Good place , excellent people , great company , I was mainly receiver , off loading trucks & checking in orders.I like the longevity & busy atmosphere.
Pros
great hours
Cons
pay was kind of low
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great people
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 June 2015
My day consisted of covering reception first thing in morning and then start to balance the cash sales from previous day. I also did freight and expediting. My day was usually pretty busy with things to do in between.
Pros
We had summer BBQ's
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at EECOL Electric. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2