Edmonton Police Service Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Constable (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 July 2015
Patrol the city and respond to calls from dispatch. Working a lot of hours in the office typing reports and driving to and from calls
Pros
great job
Cons
no life outside work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management talks the talk but does not walk the walk
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 June 2015
management talks the talk but does not walk the walk. Talk about public safety and officer safety but there is not implimentation of thier proposals
Pros
security
Cons
neg work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment To Work
Fijian Cultural Association - Valued Member (Current Employee) –  EDM.AB5 December 2014
I had a day where we got shipped wrong item from China, and I shipped to customer without checking what was inside. After customer call back and told us about the product, I got in trouble but that was the first time I did so all our management and co-workers got together and solve the problems. The hardest part of my job is sometimes when things get busy and you u don't have extra hand and the enjoyable part of work is when your days are over.
Pros
Free beverages
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best Services to work for in Canada
CONSTABLE (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 October 2014
The city is great and very pro-Police. If you don't mind moving then it is going to provide you with the best gear and training.
Pros
Pay and Equipment
Cons
Hard to take work off
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment.
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 June 2014
Acquired many new skills, i.e. good variety of computer programs, supervisory skills, dealing with many levels of management.
Pros
Great people to work with, great benefits, i.e. pension plan, health.
Cons
Few opportunities for advancement unless you are a police officer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Staff Sergeant / Incident Commander (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 March 2014
Each day was different from the other and it was gratifying to be in a position to assist in securing the safety and assets of the area I was responsible for. Many great training opportunities which led to being elevated within the organization to more challenging positions and tasks.
Pros
Job satisfaction, Pension plan, benefits
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work there.
Customer Service Representative/Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 August 2013
Managers are terrible. Advancement only to friends or those who have been there 10+ years. Doesn't go by skill level.

Management have no idea how to manage and leave when they want but grill others if they don't finish lunch in time, lack of respect.
Pros
union gives decent pay grades, work is easy
Cons
boring as hell. See paragraph.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Request Desk
Clerk Two (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 February 2013
Handling all requests for information from files.
Taking Phone Calls from Members in regards to files
Filing Documents to the Files
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong enjoyable place to work
Recruit Constable (Former Employee) –  edmonton, AB3 September 2012
- train , learn , and discover what it takes to be a police officer
- great management
- helpful and dedicated co-workers
- training daily to survive as a police officer
- preparing to help people
Pros
amazing career each day different
Cons
dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6

Edmonton Police Service Reviews by Location