Edmonton International Airport Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A melting pot of personalities and emotions - always a surprise every day.
Checkpoint Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 August 2016
The airport has so many career possibilities. The environment can have non-stop action or flat line periods and that's what makes it attractive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independant, fun workplace with strong values
Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB16 June 2016
On a typical day at Budget car and truck rental I mostly just detailed the vehicles coming in. It was a fun work environment where we all had fun in our positions. I learned how to work independently and maintain focus and attention to detail. The most enjoyable part of the job would have been driving the vehicles to and from the airport kiosk, whereas the hardest part would be when an incredibly dirty vehicle came in just because it would take longer to clean.
Pros
Driving brand new vehicles; Bosses were very easy to get along with
Cons
Difficult to alwasy get a straight answer about somethig from a Boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perhaps job security for all would be nice
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 May 2016
Overall, it' s a fun job, where you would meet people from all walks of my life. I like working with people so this suited my personality. Working at the Airport gave me an opportunity to work in a very fast paced environment.
Pros
meeting people
Cons
odd hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The need to work om Work environment
SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 November 2015
This is a place where working os fun, and they have interesting projects on the go. But, if you are looking at growth, this is not te company you want to work for. No opportunities to promotion nor training. Only few preferred people get all the opportunities.
Pros
Many opportunities to learn cool stuff
Cons
Mistreatment and sometimes harrassment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Pre Board Screening Officer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 July 2015
Loved the airport
Great hours
Union was amazing
Wonderful people
Not a lot of movement
Wasn't a career choice
Great pay
Wonderful company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very good in organisation and vision
AR clerk HMS Host (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 July 2014
My job was fairly good when I started but it became slowly unstable resulting in the end an almost total dismissal of managers and office personnel.
I did like the flexible hour I had that made my day enjoyable.
The most enjoyable was the relationships I built with people in different areas of the airport.
Co-workers where ok.
The hardest part was seeing the company size down.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
customer service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton International Airport,Alberta9 January 2012
Working for HMS Host (Edmonton International Airport) is great because of the good benefits and free shuttle.But seriously,it's a bit stressful and there is descrimination sometimes.
Pros
good benefits, free shuttle and free meals.
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EIA expansion
Electrical Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton International Airport18 December 2012
The EIA is undergoing massive expansion and as a result is experiecing changes that it has not gone through before.

They are struggling with an inadequate workforce who are going to be hard tasked to keep up with an infrastructure that is soon to be 50% bigger than it was just a few years ago.

The results are major stress put on the existing work force who have not always bought into the process.

There will be major labour turn overs before things start to run smoothly again.
Pros
huge responsibilities.
Cons
on call 24 - 7 - 365
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work!
Check Point Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 November 2013
While at work, we get the opportunity to see passengers from various countries! The environment is fast-paced with quickfire decisions required on a constant basis.
Pros
Keeps you running actively every second!
Cons
Stressfull both on mind & body!
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work with multi cultural people
FOOD SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  edmoton26 February 2014
More secured, safe place to work, learn lots about the managerial skills, how to handle different kind of staffs and situations
Pros
Free Food
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manager
manger (Former Employee) –  was out of town10 February 2013
i love this company and would have loved to stay but other things came up
Pros
meet new people and learn new things every day
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to learn
sales associate for LS travel retail (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 October 2012
Meet lot of new people in airport , working with very good people.
Pros
good
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9

Edmonton International Airport Reviews by Location