Find companies:
Ecolab
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
276 reviews

Ecolab Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Rep
Customer Service (Former Employee), South Beloit, ILDecember 4, 2013
Pros: busy all day long
Enter in orders via phone, fax or mail. Was the Customer Service Rep for the Water Care Divison of the company. Handled returns and notice of shipments
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exeptional company
Warehouse and Office Supervisor (Former Employee), Bayamón, PRDecember 4, 2013
Pros: lunch after 4 hours work
Cons: no short breaks
Hard work daily procediures, every day has a new experience, workers and management are very profesional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Territory Representative (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCDecember 2, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: extensive travel
Worked 3 states, every week. 10-12 hour work days. Good managers. Excellent co-workers. Travel. Seeing new cities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy enviornment with business as a goal to continue.
Executive Assistant to Vice Presidents (Former Employee), Naperville, ILNovember 22, 2013
Pros: hiring
Cons: hiring timeframe
Hard working enviornment on a day to day basis in which I have learned more infomation about the corporte world. I manage two Executives in which there schedules are a priority very well. My co-workers are fair and very nice. The hardest part of the job is getting to Naperville when living in Chicago and the most enjoyable part is working with so many – more... professional people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and service
Area Sales Manager (Former Employee), New Bedford, MANovember 17, 2013
Pros: excellent group of people to work with
Cons: working on old restaurant dish machines in a suit and tie.
Loved the sales end of the job. Traveled locally over 400 miles weekly. Education about professional cleaning systems and chemicals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Credit Specialist (Current Employee), EaganNovember 16, 2013
Assisting customers in a friendly manner making sure their issue is resolved is what we work on as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with good experience
Senior Field Service Engineer (Current Employee), Charlotte, North Carolina and Atlanta, GeorgiaNovember 14, 2013
Pros: company car, corporate credit card, gas card
Cons: the company ecolab bought
In my line of current work, I honestly do not have a typical day. One service trip I could be changing out RO membranes and the next trip I could be installing a 3DTrasar unit or troubleshooting a system or replacing parts. I learned that you have to be the subject-matter expert and versatile and be able to think and act quickly strategically when you're – more... in the field and the face to the customer. The management when it was just Ecolab was great but recently they acquired another company and their management style isn't fitting my personality. I'm the type of guy that knows what I need to get done and I go do it. An analogy I would use is like a sniper. I'm a team player, I don't need to be micro-managed and I get the job done. My co-workers are good people but most of the time I'm on-site by myself. There really isn't a hardest part of my job. I've been doing this for 13 years now so there really isn't a situation I run into or a project I get called on that I don't know how to do. The most enjoyable part of the job is the travel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working here
GIS Scheduler (Current Employee), Naperville, ILNovember 11, 2013
 Help my team/other teams with their project.
 Schedule other Restaurants food safety audits.
 Train new employee
 Phone coverage- cover font desk receptionist breaks
 Print all (250) specialist restaurant schedules.
 Scheduled BK playground safety audit.
 Entering/Removing data in BK database
 Create assignments for stores that are not in our – more... system.
 Email/ call 1000 and plus BK to confirm their scheduled date and time for playground inspection.
 Still handle all (below) McDonalds team job.

April 2013-June EcoSure Naperville, IL

McDonalds Team: Data Entry Specialist.
 Scheduled/Cancel McDonalds Play Place safety audit. This includes entering about 700 McDonald stores audit schedules manually in the system each month.
 Make phone calls to McDonald stores, to let them know the date and time of their audit.
 Email/ fax McDonalds their last evaluation.
 Remove any McDonald stores from the system that no longer has a Play Place.
 Update McDonalds Information in the system.
 Enter McDonald evaluation in the system, like their imperfection on their Play Place.
 Filing/finding McDonald’s evaluation in a filing cabinet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, varied role
Sales Support Administrator (Current Employee), SwindonNovember 7, 2013
Working with over 100 associates in the field doing all of their administration which includes Corporate / Global Account Managers, Senior Managers, District Sales Managers and Territory Managers.

Working as a team and helping others when needed.

Arranging training with the Training Manager.

Booking conference rooms internal and external

Covering – more... for the Personal Assistant / Team Leader during holidays and when not available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
08:00 - 23:00 every day
Sales Exec & Acc Manager - Pest Elimination (Former Employee), MidlandsNovember 6, 2013
Glad i got my life back, Sales manager was an active bully. The team was constantly abused verbally including members of the team who were in their 60's and grandparents which I found massively disrespectful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50/50
Sales Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 4, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: micro-management, no yearly bonus, no other language speaking allowed, poor compasation
Send out daily sales numbers to Area Mgr. Provide pricing to sales reps. Create proposals. Follow up with rep on corporate accounts incentives, problems result when rep has not completed the task on the requested due date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow income and learn sales and service
Hospitality Territory Manager KC East (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 31, 2013
Pros: great salery and benifits
Cons: takes lots of your family time
There is a lot that comes at you many challenges but if you are a good organizer and enjoy the fast pace style you will do well
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
PA / Secretary (Former Employee), Kempton Park, GPOctober 31, 2013
Pros: less working hours on friday's
Cons: poor salary and little to no recognitiion for outstanding performance
My colleagues were very friendly and easy to get along with. Management had an open door policy, which made bringing matters to their attention when necessary very easy. I learned about the food and beverage industry and what Ecolab has to offer the world. The hardest part of my job was sometimes having to say "No". I enjoyed booking travel and accommodation – more... and being able to train staff on a new system that was introduced. A project that was mine from the beginning of the introduction process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a "Service Excellence Plus" Environment
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 30, 2013
Pros: decent benefits package, large company with opportunities to relocate worldwide
Cons: unrealistic sales quotas, long hours and weekends required
Ecolab is turning away from their corporate culture in order to chase sales dollars. Senior management assumes the field associates are both properly trained, and conducting good service to existing customers. Both of these assumptions are not a reality.

Field managers are over worked and under trained themselves, often not knowing how to train field – more... associates for the service aspects of their jobs. Under-qualified associates are prematurely promoted into management roles, and do not understand or appreciate the traditions and culture which made Ecolab great. After seven years with the company, I had an understanding of the culture, and more experience than those who were trying to manage.

The singular focus is on new account sales growth. This has led to mass customer dissatisfaction. Fortunately for Ecolab, they hold a dominant market-share and product innovation advantage. Unfortunately, this leaves most restaurant owners frustrated because they have no other choices for their cleaning and sanitation programs.

As a sign of the changing times, Ecolab Senior Managers are also very narrowly focused on "What have you done for me lately?" One bad month or quarter has you under extreme scrutiny and an intense amount of pressure which makes you question the security of your career.

Overall, its a sad state of affairs in my opinion. Yes, I was terminated, but considered rehire-able. I've chosen not to pursue returning to Ecolab in a different market (I moved across country) because of the erosion of values stated above. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
line worker
Machine Operator/Line Production Worker (Former Employee), Leeds, ENGOctober 28, 2013
agency worker been made redundent worked there 1 year 9 been made redundent from nights closeing nights down
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O.K place to work
Switchboard (Former Employee), Naperville, ILOctober 24, 2013
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: lunches are to expensive
A work place where the employees can only contact other employees by calling the operator and asking the operator for their extension, if an employee needs maintenance, they have to call the operator and ask the operator to call them. I think that is rediculus that employees don't have direct numbers to each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job and Experience, Great for Self Starters
Territory Manager (Current Employee), Topeka, KSOctober 22, 2013
Pros: variety of tasks and environment, own scheduling
Cons: 24hr on call, out of pocket costs
-Day starts with email updates and organization for service. Monthly Service calls are made various small and large businesses. Service inspections of chemical dispensing equipment and proper application, training where necessary. Focus on procedures to ensure expected results. Areas of concentration include Warewashing, Laundry, Housekeeping, Floor – more... Care, Pool/Spa, and Equipment Repair and Safety Solutions – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Assembler (Former Employee), Rockton, ILOctober 10, 2013
I assembled all day small jobs I loved what I did. The co- workers were very understanding. if you need help with anything you could ask anyone in your area. I learned how to use tools and how to fix and put together a lot of different materials
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with a great 20th century vision
Territory Manager (Current Employee), Southern Finger Lakes areaSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: ecolab has a stellar reputation for quality products, globally recognized, places a very high value on ethical practices, strong comitment to environmentally sustainable practices.
Cons: many layers of management in place, mid-level managers tend to micro-manage weekly sales numbers instead of monthly, mid-level managers not very adept at teaching/coaching sales techniques
ECOLAB is a global leader in water treatment. This encompasses several divisions that services various industries. My experience has been in the Institutional division which services the hospitality industry (restaurants, schools, hospitals, hotels). ECOLAB offers cleaning and sanitation products which are utilized in commercial kitchens, laundries – more... and housekeeping applications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitality Industry position
Senior Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Norwood, MASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: great experiences with hotels and restaurants
Cons: hours extended into personal life more than i preferred.
Very busy position as it revolved around the "hospitality" industry. People in this world never sleep, or close their doors.

I performed the general day to day tasks as an executive assistant however worked on an on call basis after hours and weekends.

I enjoyed performing all of the tasks related to events and conferences as well as attending them. – more... I was able to hostess and provide client services in many nice restaurants and hotels. The people were fun and friendly to associate and work with.

Hardest part of the position was assisting the NE Manager with keeping track of district business and associates throughout New England as all office were remote and not everyone cooperated as would have been expected.

Enjoyed this position overall. Left because manager promoted to position in St. Paul, MN. – less

About Ecolab

A trusted partner at more than one million customer locations, Ecolab (ECL) is the global leader in water, hygiene and energy – Read more