Find companies:
Ecolab
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
266 reviews

Ecolab Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50/50
Sales Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 4, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: micro-management, no yearly bonus, no other language speaking allowed, poor compasation
Send out daily sales numbers to Area Mgr. Provide pricing to sales reps. Create proposals. Follow up with rep on corporate accounts incentives, problems result when rep has not completed the task on the requested due date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow income and learn sales and service
Hospitality Territory Manager KC East (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 31, 2013
Pros: great salery and benifits
Cons: takes lots of your family time
There is a lot that comes at you many challenges but if you are a good organizer and enjoy the fast pace style you will do well
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
PA / Secretary (Former Employee), Kempton Park, GPOctober 31, 2013
Pros: less working hours on friday's
Cons: poor salary and little to no recognitiion for outstanding performance
My colleagues were very friendly and easy to get along with. Management had an open door policy, which made bringing matters to their attention when necessary very easy. I learned about the food and beverage industry and what Ecolab has to offer the world. The hardest part of my job was sometimes having to say "No". I enjoyed booking travel and accommodation – more... and being able to train staff on a new system that was introduced. A project that was mine from the beginning of the introduction process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a "Service Excellence Plus" Environment
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 30, 2013
Pros: decent benefits package, large company with opportunities to relocate worldwide
Cons: unrealistic sales quotas, long hours and weekends required
Ecolab is turning away from their corporate culture in order to chase sales dollars. Senior management assumes the field associates are both properly trained, and conducting good service to existing customers. Both of these assumptions are not a reality.

Field managers are over worked and under trained themselves, often not knowing how to train field – more... associates for the service aspects of their jobs. Under-qualified associates are prematurely promoted into management roles, and do not understand or appreciate the traditions and culture which made Ecolab great. After seven years with the company, I had an understanding of the culture, and more experience than those who were trying to manage.

The singular focus is on new account sales growth. This has led to mass customer dissatisfaction. Fortunately for Ecolab, they hold a dominant market-share and product innovation advantage. Unfortunately, this leaves most restaurant owners frustrated because they have no other choices for their cleaning and sanitation programs.

As a sign of the changing times, Ecolab Senior Managers are also very narrowly focused on "What have you done for me lately?" One bad month or quarter has you under extreme scrutiny and an intense amount of pressure which makes you question the security of your career.

Overall, its a sad state of affairs in my opinion. Yes, I was terminated, but considered rehire-able. I've chosen not to pursue returning to Ecolab in a different market (I moved across country) because of the erosion of values stated above. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
line worker
Machine Operator/Line Production Worker (Former Employee), Leeds, ENGOctober 28, 2013
agency worker been made redundent worked there 1 year 9 been made redundent from nights closeing nights down
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O.K place to work
Switchboard (Former Employee), Naperville, ILOctober 24, 2013
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: lunches are to expensive
A work place where the employees can only contact other employees by calling the operator and asking the operator for their extension, if an employee needs maintenance, they have to call the operator and ask the operator to call them. I think that is rediculus that employees don't have direct numbers to each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job and Experience, Great for Self Starters
Territory Manager (Current Employee), Topeka, KSOctober 22, 2013
Pros: variety of tasks and environment, own scheduling
Cons: 24hr on call, out of pocket costs
-Day starts with email updates and organization for service. Monthly Service calls are made various small and large businesses. Service inspections of chemical dispensing equipment and proper application, training where necessary. Focus on procedures to ensure expected results. Areas of concentration include Warewashing, Laundry, Housekeeping, Floor – more... Care, Pool/Spa, and Equipment Repair and Safety Solutions – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Assembler (Former Employee), Rockton, ILOctober 10, 2013
I assembled all day small jobs I loved what I did. The co- workers were very understanding. if you need help with anything you could ask anyone in your area. I learned how to use tools and how to fix and put together a lot of different materials
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with a great 20th century vision
Territory Manager (Current Employee), Southern Finger Lakes areaSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: ecolab has a stellar reputation for quality products, globally recognized, places a very high value on ethical practices, strong comitment to environmentally sustainable practices.
Cons: many layers of management in place, mid-level managers tend to micro-manage weekly sales numbers instead of monthly, mid-level managers not very adept at teaching/coaching sales techniques
ECOLAB is a global leader in water treatment. This encompasses several divisions that services various industries. My experience has been in the Institutional division which services the hospitality industry (restaurants, schools, hospitals, hotels). ECOLAB offers cleaning and sanitation products which are utilized in commercial kitchens, laundries – more... and housekeeping applications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitality Industry position
Senior Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Norwood, MASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: great experiences with hotels and restaurants
Cons: hours extended into personal life more than i preferred.
Very busy position as it revolved around the "hospitality" industry. People in this world never sleep, or close their doors.

I performed the general day to day tasks as an executive assistant however worked on an on call basis after hours and weekends.

I enjoyed performing all of the tasks related to events and conferences as well as attending them. – more... I was able to hostess and provide client services in many nice restaurants and hotels. The people were fun and friendly to associate and work with.

Hardest part of the position was assisting the NE Manager with keeping track of district business and associates throughout New England as all office were remote and not everyone cooperated as would have been expected.

Enjoyed this position overall. Left because manager promoted to position in St. Paul, MN. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and high energy work place
Manager Sales and Service (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 18, 2013
High stress job with lots of benefits and work. Long hours and a lot of driving and face to face meetings with customers. Great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong, stable company.
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXSeptember 8, 2013
Good company to work for. Some positions make work/life balance difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and collaborative workplace
Analytical Lab Technician (Former Employee), Eagan, MNSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: caffeteria in the office, free parking nearby the building
Cons: healthcare
I enjoyed working for Ecolab on multiple projects geared towards generating different cleaning agents. I worked mainly in assay development and there was a lot of collaboration between the different groups since one assay could be used to test multiple products for different situations. I enjoyed being involved with the different groups running tests – more... for their various cleaners and taking ideas generated in some group projects to improve the assay methods for others. The hardest part of the job for me was juggling the completely different projects i worked on, as some of the assays take quite a bit of time to set up and generate data and some had to be tested at timed intervals. Having 3 assays fall on the same day was quite the challenge but it was worth it as i learned to organize myself very well and work hard to ensure everything was correctly done. The work environment was very friendly and my co-workers and i often helped each other on our different projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
acceptional company
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Frederick, MDSeptember 3, 2013
Ecolab is a great company inside and out. However, I did not feel like the postion was in was the right fit for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast pace company
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Fisher, InSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: the volume is fast pace
Cons: not family orientated
A day within this company call center is fast pace with a lot of assistance from co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top priority is customer satisfaction.
Service Specialist (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 27, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: stressful when dealing with needy customers.
A good opportunity to network with people in the food industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales-driven organization, striving to create a safety culture across the organization
Global SH&E Program Manager, Ergonomics (Current Employee), Naperville, ILAugust 26, 2013
Pros: good work environment, telented people
Cons: sales-driven, trying to get funding of she initiatives, lack of it integration
Challenging culture, solid company financially. Nalco side of the business (recent merger) is safety-oriented, Ecolab side trying to catch up. Ergonomics is being received cautiously, lot of training and educating of the sales force. Businesses are spread out across the globe so training is challenging but they are receptive. Slow but steady progress – more... on changing the mindset about MSDs and strain/sprain injuries, early reporting, and early intervention. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Sales Driven Culture with a lot of pressure to produce regardless of circumstances.
Route Sales Manager (Current Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 24, 2013
Ecolab is an excellent company in many ways, such as stock options, as well as a company vehicle, and even a pension after 5 years.

Some of the downside is that in any role, whether you are a service tech or a sales guy, you have a sales target that you are expected to meet monthly. Additionally, for the service team, there is very little work-life – more... balance. This creates alot of stress at home, making all the above benefits seem worthless, because you're so exhausted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INTERSTING
LAB TECH (Former Employee), Cheadle, ENGAugust 23, 2013
Pros: health care
Cons: smell of bleach
WORK WAS ALWAYS INTERSTING DIFFERENT EVERY DAY I LEARNT HOW TO TEST CHEMCAILS. MANGER WERE FINE CO WORKERS MUCH THE SAME AS EVERY WHERE ELSE GOOD ONES AND BAD ONES HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WAS WHEN TANKS BLEW UP THE CLEAN UP AFTER THEM ENJOYED BEING OUTSIDE .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality work environment
Senior Chemist (Former Employee), Eagan, MNAugust 21, 2013
Good work life balance, nice working facility, ability to see a wide variety of the business.

About Ecolab

A trusted partner at more than one million customer locations, Ecolab (ECL) is the global leader in water, hygiene and energy – Read more