Find companies:
Eaton
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
563 reviews

Eaton Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Service Representative, Alberta area
Field service (Former Employee), AlbertaAugust 24, 2014
Pros: fare benifits
Cons: the office didn't seem to have control of the people
A complicated machine of a company. High demand electrical product which the company doesn't seem to be able to deliver to its customers on time on or to the correct design spec.

Working in the field I had to continually smooth out customer problems due to short shipment, incorrect design or warranty work.

If only these fundamental problems would – more... be resolved the job could be very interesting. A lot of out town work but the company compensated you well for that. Due to the complexity of the business model the management is not quite got a full control of the departments. It seemed that there was always a lack of people and job positions open yet not being filled.

I didn't always think that the company/area office played as a team, there seem to be a lot of back biting and people trying to stab you in the back, lack of co-operation between departs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Mechanical Design Engineer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 10, 2014
Pros: enhance skill
Cons: loose old co workers
working last five years, looking for new challenges and opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improvement required
Engineer (Former Employee), CanadaMarch 10, 2014
Pros: friendly co-worker
Cons: an environment of distrust, backbiting and poor management all the way from the headoffice to the plant manager
Company not doing well, losing money. Products are not up to par, lots of customer complaints. Senior leaders of the organization are not present, don't hear from them and don't see them. They don't care for the employees. Cannot trust the managers at headoffice. This is a company that is very slow to react to problems. There is a culture of promoting – more... your terrible managers instead of addressing the problems. Very demotivating environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and interactive work environment
Clerk (Current Employee), Milton, ONFebruary 18, 2014
 Accurately entering data into Oracle to ensure proper account of inventory and timely delivery to appropriate warehouse locations
 Responding to inquiries from planners and management regarding the status of incoming shipments in a timely manner
 Communicating with receivers to prioritize the delivery of rush parts into inventory
 Efficiently navigating – more... Oracle to retrieve part locators, BOH quantities, dates of inventory delivery, and other order information as required
 Resolving any discrepancies between shipments received and corresponding information on packing slips
 Other ad-hoc duties as required (creating SRA forms, issuing miscellaneous receipts, investigating aged purchase orders/requisitions) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice
Any (Former Employee), CalgaryNovember 5, 2012
Think twice before considering this company.
Do a lot of research untill you are aware of everything you want
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace enhance and develop my skills and professions
Electrical Designer (Current Employee), Edmonton, AbSeptember 23, 2012
 Coordinated with COE, Mechanical designer, wiring coordinator and shop foreman.
 Using PDAS drawings, equipment list, vendor drawings and other documentation to produce detailed electrical design and drawings.
 Managed the production drawings based on the plant production schedule and coordinated with the drafting department in India (L&T) to provide – more... wiring diagram.
 Responsible for the timely and accurate delivery of assigned work.
 Prepare and modify drawings, using AutoCAD, for customer approval, manufacturing and as-built revisions for control and distribution assemblies from 120V to 25kV. Drawing types included front view, base plan, power flow, three line, control schematics, wiring diagrams, bill of materials and nameplates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it a fun and safe work place manegment was great
Assembly Line Worker (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBSeptember 2, 2012
Pros: team building
great crew members great management very flexible steady hours we also do team building were we all get together for lunch and also go for team building
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yeah not a fan
Assembler Technician (Current Employee), Arden, NCNovember 14, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: constant mandatory overtime, poor workers rights
Management tends toward thinking they own you, at least at my location. They operate on mandatory or no overtime, leaning heavy on the mandatory. Workers are treated like drones expected to accomplish unrealistic workloads with inadequate resources and when they don't they are forced to stay until they finish, under threat of termination. The time clock – more... uses a system of keeping track of time that takes away time if your not exactly on the 15 minute mark. But they pay better than most and the other workers are nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unless management improved, i wouldnt recommend no one going to that place.
Assembly Worker (Former Employee), Greenwood, SCNovember 12, 2014
Pros: work was easy and all the overtime you want. also they give you a little freedom.
Cons: how they downgrade temps. when something goes wrong, if its the permanent ppl, they cover for them by blaming temps.
A typical day at work for me is going in and getting myself set up for that days work. After that, the day normally goes smoothly. Ive learned as a temp employee, you would have to keep your nose clean. Follow instructions..as I did, and do what they tell you..as I did also. Management is all about their employees. Temps are treated as underlings for – more... the most part. I learned that on my last day there. My co-workers..the ones that haven't been there for long time were cool and willing to teach the ones that's willing to learn..the ones that been there for a long time, with the exception of a few, wasn't. There wasn't no hard part about the job to me. Everything came easy. The most enjoyable part was the overall experience for me. I met good people, but the management for the most part was not good. I understand temps are separated from fulltime ppl, but they don't show temps no respect in that place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Mediocre Department
Financial Analyst - Deductions (Current Employee), PittsburghNovember 12, 2014
Was very happy to take the position initially but after a few years found myself stuck without real ability to move within the department or company. Some solid managers but it looks like the company is currently moving away from hiring full time in Credit and leaning towards outsourcing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Laborer Operations (Former Employee), Lincoln, ILNovember 11, 2014
Pros: great pay. great people. strong company.
Cons: 50 to 55 plus work hours
Great company to work for. Pay their employees very well and they also have good benefits. Very good work environment and great people to work around. Eaton is a great company and is on the uphill battle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but closing Charlotte plant.
Shipping/Receiving Lead (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 11, 2014
Great place to work, but closing Charlotte plant. I enjoyed my time at Eaton.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At Eaton we learnt, we are in a family.Every one helped each other that may be professionally or that may be in pesonally.
Oracle HRMS Techno Functional Consultant (Current Employee), Cleveland,OHNovember 6, 2014
At Eaton we learnt, we are in a family.Every one helped each other that may be professionally or that may be in pesonally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Quality Quality
Training Manager/Marketing/Project Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 6, 2014
Pros: a once in a life experience
Cons: all good things eventually end
A chance to move into and direct International markets and build manufacturing plants on every continent
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer services (Former Employee), Greenwood, SCNovember 3, 2014
Pros: win pizes
Cons: long breaks
My typical day at work was training ppl and learning new jobs working with customers asst them with there order and I love working with other ppl the hardest thing about this job was making sure the right customer bill was right and to assit them on there bills if they needed adjustment I was to help them the hardest about my job was to turn a customer – more... down on helping with there bill what I enjoyed about the the job was been able to help the customer where needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Machinist (Current Employee), Toccoa, GAOctober 30, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: everything else
I will say that Eaton has good benefits, but it's a terrible place to work. At least the Toccoa plant. You work all kinds of hours weekends and some holidays. You have no support from management and especially the engineers. I'm a machinists and the engineers expect YOU to solve the problems and fix them and it is near to impossible be to get them to – more... come to the floor and help you. They start machinists out on close to bottom pay no matter what the experience you have. We have tried to give management ideas and if it isn't their idea they don't care what you have come up with. Not to mention the plant is over a million dollars in past dues and it keeps climbing. I don't understand their ideology and I hope one day it will turn around but as long as I have been here its has always been in the hole. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it seems
Machinist (Current Employee), Toccoa, GAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: gained great experience with this company
Cons: way too much overtime and offer only a .30 a year raise if they feel you are worth it.
I initially thought I was joining a great company to work with when I was going through the interview process, I was led to believe they were looking for career oriented individuals to work with and grow together. Instead, it seems as though they are more interested in disposable employees demanding 10+ hrs a day Mon-Sat and 6 on Sunday. They offer – more... no raises and have wildly high expectations for employees on such a low salary only stating "if you want more money, work more over-time". Management is like a rubber ball, so sporadic in their decisions and rarely ever communicate with employees. Its sad to say that I was really looking forward to joining this company only to be used as a stepping stone to help management achieve their on goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Boys Club, No Room For Advancement
Assembler (Current Employee), Beaver, PAOctober 28, 2014
Pros: tuition reimburement
Cons: everything
First of all, there is absolutely no communication or consistancey throughout the plant. They pick and choose which rules to enforce and to whom to enforce them on. There is absolutely no way to move up, unless you're related to a manager or someone's favorite hourly worker. They treat hourly workers like children. Mangement gossips just as much if – more... not more than the laborers. This only a job for peopl who don't believe they can ever do any better in life and just want a job to rot away in over the next 40 years until retirement. The plant manager is only concerned with fixing problems that makes himself look good. The benefits are sorry all around. There no sick days or ways to handle emergencies with being penalized and no vacation time to speak of for the first 7 yrs., – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
PPAP Technician (Former Employee), Van Wert, OHOctober 26, 2014
Liked it! Alot of clerical and certification. Learned processing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn.
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Wilsonville OregonOctober 23, 2014
Good place to work. Must be able to work across multiple groups within organization.

1 2 3 4 5

About Eaton

Eaton is a power management company with 2013 sales of $22.0 billion. Eaton provides energy-efficient solutions that help our – Read more