Eastern Health System Employee Reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and supportive work culture.
Social Worker I (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL23 July 2016
Team coworkers are your motivation at work. Lots of opportunity to learn internally within same department. Internal jobs are easily accessible for employees. Payroll is timely.
Pros
Lunch and learn opportunities
Cons
Monotonous
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PCA Position
Personal Care Attendant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL16 July 2016
- 5-6 resident patient load
- casual job position as nursing student
- welcoming work environment
- variety of shifts available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, supportive coworkers
Psychiatric Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL7 July 2016
Team approach work environment. Supportive group of coworkers, however often understaffed and under appreciated. Long hours but that is to be expected with any health care position.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eastern Health was great
Domestic Worker (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador4 July 2016
I liked working with Eastern Health. The pay was good and the people I worked with were awesome and very friendly. I got a lot of hours to work and the work I had to do was good. It was not too easy or too hard, it was just right. You could work at your own pace and still get everything finished by the time you got off.
Pros
positive vibes
Cons
Being on-call
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with good atmosphere
LPN (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 July 2016
Eastern Health is a good place with great coworkers, however there are not many opportunities to advance your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace & salary,good for summer job
Food Service Worker-on-call/part-time (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL28 June 2016
-The co-workers/managers/supervisors are nice,friendly & helpful.Labour cost cutting is evident lately,work hours are few(not until july-august)
Pros
Nice & friendly co-workers
Cons
few hours, short training period
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A first job.
Gift Shop Operator (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL19 May 2016
As a volunteer at the hospital gift shop, I was put into a friendly culture with regulars and others from the hospital who I felt made the experience so much better.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registered nurse
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL8 May 2016
Working as a charge nurse in a long term care facility. Very much involved in the nursing management of the unit. My daily work involves,resident management, staffing, making clinical judgement and decisions etc. Working along with multidisciplinary team for the best interest of the residents and their families.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and great experience.
PRIMARY CARE PARAMEDIC (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL16 April 2016
A typical day for me is working with a variety of different partners due to my casual position and being kept busy with truck checks, variety of inter-facility transfers and emergency calls. Average call volume for a 12 hour shift is approximately 6. Working with PCP partners as well as ACP partners. Transferring patients in and out of a variety of fixed wing and rotary wing aircrafts. Working in a city environment but also responding to rural areas just outside of the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
RN (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL8 April 2016
Very positive and rewarding experience. The emergency department was a continuous learning environment and education was provided on a regular bases. It is a very high energy area to work in and physical and psychological wellness is very important to your team members.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
Department layout
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to advance your skills
Registered Nurse - ICU (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 April 2016
Great co-workers. The work is interesting and fulfilling. Days are busy. Management can be challenging at times. A good learning environment.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Management needs improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work to gain experience in chosen field.
Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL16 March 2016
Change is a given within Eastern Health. It is an organization still developing. There are excellent programs available for those who have the time to take part, however, given the cut backs in health care in recent years and fewer staff and managers, it is difficult to take advantage of available opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there.
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL15 February 2016
MY days were only 3 hours long but were very busy. I learned the computer system and how to run to do blood draws fast as it was required.
I really liked my coworkers and got along very well and we enjoyed working together.
The management was stressful as they always wanted faster and more, not understanding that some patients could be difficult.
The hardest part of the job was walking into a room and the patient had passed away and having to go tell a nurse.
My most enjoyable part of the day was working in the clinic with the walk in patients.
Pros
good pay
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily life in Emerg
Nurse 1 (Current Employee) –  Emerg12 October 2015
Every day at Eastern Health HSC Emerg is different from the previous. It can be slow one minute and overflowing the next. Our department is team oriented and we all look out for each other
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Clerk Typist III (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL21 September 2015
Management staff in Community Supports Program superb. Some of the best managers I have ever worked for.

Supportive co-workers
Pros
Great environment to work in
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eastern Health Clerk
Staffing Clerk IV (Current Employee) –  65 Newfoundland Drive3 August 2015
Work consists of 12 hour days, on shift work. Taking calls, sick, family, etc. replacing staff and and doing payroll. Ensuring staff have schedules, appropriate hours and following union guidelines.
Pros
Shift work
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Clerk/Typist II Diagnostic Imagining (Current Employee) –  Carbonear, NL16 February 2015
Work hours were fair and you get paid fairly for the amount of work you do. You come in at 8 and go home at 4 from Monday to Friday, a perfect work schedule. I learned how to use Meditech, how to book appointments, how to register patients for their appointments, and the importance of getting things done in a timely manner. Management is great, very understanding but at the same time, expectant. A great balance between compassion and expectation of you to get your best work done on a daily basis. The co-workers are very helpful and it is a very respectful and cohesive environment. The hardest part of the job would be waiting for hours. The most enjoyable part is feeling like you are important and do important work.
Pros
Great hours, great people, great environment
Cons
Not enough hours for call in casuals
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty routine stuff. Okay job not very challenging.
Domestic Health Care Worker (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL26 January 2015
Cleaning operating rooms or strip and waxing floors. I learned how to disinfect operating and patient rooms. Management were good to work with. Hardest part of the job was working basically all evenings or over nights. Not easy on the family when your wife works days and you evenings. Most enjoyable part of that job was my days off. It was a job out of necessity to be honest.
Pros
Days off and health benifits.
Cons
Working evenings or over night most of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Administrative Assistant,HTDM (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL19 October 2014
Management and co-workers were pleasurable to work with.
Very busy work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer, good benefits ..... spousal relocation only reason for leaving
Staff Nurse (MSICU) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL5 September 2014
Excellent hospital with a very respectful working environment. Critical Care unit works well as a team. Self scheduling was an awesome bonus.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 53 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.2
Culture
3.8

Eastern Health System Reviews by Location