Eastern Health System Employee Reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there.
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLFebruary 15, 2016
MY days were only 3 hours long but were very busy. I learned the computer system and how to run to do blood draws fast as it was required.
I really liked my coworkers and got along very well and we enjoyed working together.
The management was stressful as they always wanted faster and more, not understanding that some patients could be difficult.
The hardest part of the job was walking into a room and the patient had passed away and having to go tell a nurse.
My most enjoyable part of the day was working in the clinic with the walk in patients.
Pros
good pay
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eastern Health was great
Domestic Worker (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and LabradorJuly 4, 2016
I liked working with Eastern Health. The pay was good and the people I worked with were awesome and very friendly. I got a lot of hours to work and the work I had to do was good. It was not too easy or too hard, it was just right. You could work at your own pace and still get everything finished by the time you got off.
Pros
positive vibes
Cons
Being on-call
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and great experience.
PRIMARY CARE PARAMEDIC (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 16, 2016
A typical day for me is working with a variety of different partners due to my casual position and being kept busy with truck checks, variety of inter-facility transfers and emergency calls. Average call volume for a 12 hour shift is approximately 6. Working with PCP partners as well as ACP partners. Transferring patients in and out of a variety of fixed wing and rotary wing aircrafts. Working in a city environment but also responding to rural areas just outside of the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and supportive work culture.
Social Worker I (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NLJuly 23, 2016
Team coworkers are your motivation at work. Lots of opportunity to learn internally within same department. Internal jobs are easily accessible for employees. Payroll is timely.
Pros
Lunch and learn opportunities
Cons
Monotonous
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, supportive coworkers
Psychiatric Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLJuly 7, 2016
Team approach work environment. Supportive group of coworkers, however often understaffed and under appreciated. Long hours but that is to be expected with any health care position.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace & salary,good for summer job
Food Service Worker-on-call/part-time (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLJune 28, 2016
-The co-workers/managers/supervisors are nice,friendly & helpful.Labour cost cutting is evident lately,work hours are few(not until july-august)
Pros
Nice & friendly co-workers
Cons
few hours, short training period
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registered nurse
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLMay 8, 2016
Working as a charge nurse in a long term care facility. Very much involved in the nursing management of the unit. My daily work involves,resident management, staffing, making clinical judgement and decisions etc. Working along with multidisciplinary team for the best interest of the residents and their families.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to advance your skills
Registered Nurse - ICU (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 2, 2016
Great co-workers. The work is interesting and fulfilling. Days are busy. Management can be challenging at times. A good learning environment.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Management needs improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PCA Position
Personal Care Attendant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLJuly 16, 2016
- 5-6 resident patient load
- casual job position as nursing student
- welcoming work environment
- variety of shifts available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with good atmosphere
LPN (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLJuly 4, 2016
Eastern Health is a good place with great coworkers, however there are not many opportunities to advance your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty routine stuff. Okay job not very challenging.
Domestic Health Care Worker (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLJanuary 26, 2015
Cleaning operating rooms or strip and waxing floors. I learned how to disinfect operating and patient rooms. Management were good to work with. Hardest part of the job was working basically all evenings or over nights. Not easy on the family when your wife works days and you evenings. Most enjoyable part of that job was my days off. It was a job out of necessity to be honest.
Pros
days off and health benifits.
Cons
working evenings or over night most of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work to gain experience in chosen field.
Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLMarch 16, 2016
Change is a given within Eastern Health. It is an organization still developing. There are excellent programs available for those who have the time to take part, however, given the cut backs in health care in recent years and fewer staff and managers, it is difficult to take advantage of available opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A first job.
Gift Shop Operator (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLMay 19, 2016
As a volunteer at the hospital gift shop, I was put into a friendly culture with regulars and others from the hospital who I felt made the experience so much better.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
RN (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 8, 2016
Very positive and rewarding experience. The emergency department was a continuous learning environment and education was provided on a regular bases. It is a very high energy area to work in and physical and psychological wellness is very important to your team members.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
Department layout
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security check, sorting priorities, operating machinery and the skills needed to finish the job safely and punctually
Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 8, 2014
A warehouse health and safety scan for anything that could jeopardize myself or any employee within the warehouse. Working within all departments, I've learned how a warehouse operates, and what dangers draw attention. Working with people from different diversities gave me a positive attitude towards change and individual differences
The physical lifting when hand bombing items could sometimes be heavy and repetitious, and floors could sometimes become wet and slippery, causing machines to slide; extreme caution is needed at all times
The most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers, we became like a close family; which made any company function that much more enjoyable
Pros
benefits, paid holidays, hourly wage
Cons
heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, where everyone helps everyone else.
Secretary (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLJune 5, 2014
My day starts off with checking my phone and computer messages, calling people back who have made inquiries into the Continuing Studies Programs. The people I work with are phenomenal. They are there when you need a helping hand or a listening ear. The hardest part of my job is the monotony. On any given day, I am still doing editing of documents that are years old. The most enjoyable is the accomplishment I feel when I finish my work, the praise I receive is a good thing as well.
Pros
loving the people you work with
Cons
monotony
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, exceptionally busy
Hospital Admitting Clerk - Central Registry (Current Employee) –  Carbonear, NLJanuary 22, 2013
As a hospital admitted clerk in the Emergency Room at Carbonear General, you have to be able to work in a fast paced, demanding department. You need to be well organized, know your job, be resourseful, independent and grounded. The most challenging aspect of my job is dealing with the public; but with years of experience you learn how to handle many personalities.
Pros
close to home, benefits, great wages
Cons
12 hour night shifts are included in my schedule...
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management team were next to none
September 21, 2012 - Present Accounting Clerk 1 (Current Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NLFebruary 1, 2013
Inputting data into Eastern Health working system. Worked within the accounts payable division dealing with the processing of invoices for payments.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
not enough different things to do throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Clerk Typist III (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLSeptember 21, 2015
Management staff in Community Supports Program superb. Some of the best managers I have ever worked for.

Supportive co-workers
Pros
Great environment to work in
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Clerk/Typist II Diagnostic Imagining (Current Employee) –  Carbonear, NLFebruary 16, 2015
Work hours were fair and you get paid fairly for the amount of work you do. You come in at 8 and go home at 4 from Monday to Friday, a perfect work schedule. I learned how to use Meditech, how to book appointments, how to register patients for their appointments, and the importance of getting things done in a timely manner. Management is great, very understanding but at the same time, expectant. A great balance between compassion and expectation of you to get your best work done on a daily basis. The co-workers are very helpful and it is a very respectful and cohesive environment. The hardest part of the job would be waiting for hours. The most enjoyable part is feeling like you are important and do important work.
Pros
great hours, great people, great environment
Cons
not enough hours for call in casuals
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 53 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.2
Culture
3.8