Eastern Health System Employee Reviews

Found 45 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers are excellent , a lot of help when you need it but poor management specifically from central staffing.
I am a casual worker with Environmental Service (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador9 March 2017
Co workers are amazing , a place where you can meet wonderful friends. Co workers help each others every well; however, the management is absolutely horrible , they act as if they don't care about you.

Central staffing, specifically, knows best how to complain when employee didn't answer call on time but does not care about what employee says

I suggest changes within the management or retraining of those managers.

I sometimes assume that most of those managers got these positions immediately when they graduated from Universities without going to gradual process of promotion. based on good performance.
Pros
1. Good place to work
Cons
1.Poor management system. 2. place to meet amazing cowkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great working environment
Licence Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Eastern Health St. John's NL12 December 2016
For a health organization they don't focus on a healthy work environment. Managers Pitt staff against each other. Managers do not treat staff well when it comes to scheduling and getting annual leave, family leave or sick leave.
Pros
Close relationships with co workers
Cons
Long hours, mandation, managers only care about the bottom line, leave units short staffed a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed time working with the ederly
Personal Care Attendant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL12 September 2016
Love working there spending time with residents and getting to know them and their families. Loved taking the extra time with a resident who had no family. I still visit some of the resident even though I no longer work there.
Pros
Loved my job
Cons
Long hours and child care issues
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, supportive coworkers
Psychiatric Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL7 July 2016
Team approach work environment. Supportive group of coworkers, however often understaffed and under appreciated. Long hours but that is to be expected with any health care position.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with good atmosphere
LPN (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 July 2016
Eastern Health is a good place with great coworkers, however there are not many opportunities to advance your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registered nurse
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL8 May 2016
Working as a charge nurse in a long term care facility. Very much involved in the nursing management of the unit. My daily work involves,resident management, staffing, making clinical judgement and decisions etc. Working along with multidisciplinary team for the best interest of the residents and their families.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there.
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL15 February 2016
MY days were only 3 hours long but were very busy. I learned the computer system and how to run to do blood draws fast as it was required.
I really liked my coworkers and got along very well and we enjoyed working together.
The management was stressful as they always wanted faster and more, not understanding that some patients could be difficult.
The hardest part of the job was walking into a room and the patient had passed away and having to go tell a nurse.
My most enjoyable part of the day was working in the clinic with the walk in patients.
Pros
good pay
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A first job.
Gift Shop Operator (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL19 May 2016
As a volunteer at the hospital gift shop, I was put into a friendly culture with regulars and others from the hospital who I felt made the experience so much better.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eastern Health was great
Domestic Worker (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador4 July 2016
I liked working with Eastern Health. The pay was good and the people I worked with were awesome and very friendly. I got a lot of hours to work and the work I had to do was good. It was not too easy or too hard, it was just right. You could work at your own pace and still get everything finished by the time you got off.
Pros
positive vibes
Cons
Being on-call
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and supportive work culture.
Social Worker I (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL23 July 2016
Team coworkers are your motivation at work. Lots of opportunity to learn internally within same department. Internal jobs are easily accessible for employees. Payroll is timely.
Pros
Lunch and learn opportunities
Cons
Monotonous
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to advance your skills
Registered Nurse - ICU (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 April 2016
Great co-workers. The work is interesting and fulfilling. Days are busy. Management can be challenging at times. A good learning environment.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Management needs improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace & salary,good for summer job
Food Service Worker-on-call/part-time (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL28 June 2016
-The co-workers/managers/supervisors are nice,friendly & helpful.Labour cost cutting is evident lately,work hours are few(not until july-august)
Pros
Nice & friendly co-workers
Cons
few hours, short training period
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, where everyone helps everyone else.
Secretary (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL5 June 2014
My day starts off with checking my phone and computer messages, calling people back who have made inquiries into the Continuing Studies Programs. The people I work with are phenomenal. They are there when you need a helping hand or a listening ear. The hardest part of my job is the monotony. On any given day, I am still doing editing of documents that are years old. The most enjoyable is the accomplishment I feel when I finish my work, the praise I receive is a good thing as well.
Pros
loving the people you work with
Cons
monotony
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and great experience.
PRIMARY CARE PARAMEDIC (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL16 April 2016
A typical day for me is working with a variety of different partners due to my casual position and being kept busy with truck checks, variety of inter-facility transfers and emergency calls. Average call volume for a 12 hour shift is approximately 6. Working with PCP partners as well as ACP partners. Transferring patients in and out of a variety of fixed wing and rotary wing aircrafts. Working in a city environment but also responding to rural areas just outside of the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PCA Position
Personal Care Attendant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL16 July 2016
- 5-6 resident patient load
- casual job position as nursing student
- welcoming work environment
- variety of shifts available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty routine stuff. Okay job not very challenging.
Domestic Health Care Worker (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL26 January 2015
Cleaning operating rooms or strip and waxing floors. I learned how to disinfect operating and patient rooms. Management were good to work with. Hardest part of the job was working basically all evenings or over nights. Not easy on the family when your wife works days and you evenings. Most enjoyable part of that job was my days off. It was a job out of necessity to be honest.
Pros
Days off and health benifits.
Cons
Working evenings or over night most of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cook (Current Employee) –  Burin, NL18 December 2012
Im am use to to fast pace work environment. I feel i have learned a great deal from working with eastern health. Management and my co- workers are great to work with. The hardest part of my job is that there is no room for advancement as cooks are currently not recoginized as a red seal trade. I enjoy my job as a cook overall and hope to find gainful employment elsewhere to challenge my skills and make me a better cook in general.
Pros
good work environment
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Clerk/Typist II Diagnostic Imagining (Current Employee) –  Carbonear, NL16 February 2015
Work hours were fair and you get paid fairly for the amount of work you do. You come in at 8 and go home at 4 from Monday to Friday, a perfect work schedule. I learned how to use Meditech, how to book appointments, how to register patients for their appointments, and the importance of getting things done in a timely manner. Management is great, very understanding but at the same time, expectant. A great balance between compassion and expectation of you to get your best work done on a daily basis. The co-workers are very helpful and it is a very respectful and cohesive environment. The hardest part of the job would be waiting for hours. The most enjoyable part is feeling like you are important and do important work.
Pros
Great hours, great people, great environment
Cons
Not enough hours for call in casuals
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience overall at Eastern Health is good
Clerk 1V (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL9 May 2013
Mostly my typical day at work is very hectic and fast paced. I start off by checking all telephone messages and cover all shifts needed for the LPN's/PCA's and Materials Management. I then check all emails and respond to managers requests. Daily I basically fill all the shifts from days, evenings, and nights. And I also pre-book whatever we have on the books. In between covering shifts I complete all payroll that is received by fax.
Once all daily work is complete then I start with completing schedules for each employee. I also respond to any requests or inquiry from management.
Pros
I work 12 hour shifts so it gives me days off during the week to get done what I need.
Cons
I start work at 6 in the morning and ends at 530 which makes for long day.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
RN (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL8 April 2016
Very positive and rewarding experience. The emergency department was a continuous learning environment and education was provided on a regular bases. It is a very high energy area to work in and physical and psychological wellness is very important to your team members.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
Department layout
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Eastern Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.8