Find companies:
Eastern Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Eastern Health System Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer, good benefits ..... spousal relocation only reason for leaving
Staff Nurse (MSICU) (Former Employee), St. John's, NLSeptember 5, 2014
Excellent hospital with a very respectful working environment. Critical Care unit works well as a team. Self scheduling was an awesome bonus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerk II
Clerk II (Current Employee), The Agnes Pratt HomeJuly 9, 2014
• Switchboard operations
• Admitting new residents into a system of daily recording keeping documents
• Ensuring all next of kin are entered into all mail merges and email distribution list
• Purging of deceased residents information
• Organizing all Orientation of New Hires
• Organization of Memorial Services
• Ensuring all daily record keeping documents – more... are up to date with resident admissions, deaths and room changes
• Typing Memos/Letters for all Managers of Administration, Nursing, Support Services and Recreation Departments.
• Typing/creating any documents needed for all departments of the home, such as calendars, schedules, tables, charts, menus etc.
• Setting up all staff education and a complete running list of each employee’s education, ensuring all staff attended required education.
• Secretary for various committees, completing minutes, organizing meetings through Microsoft Outlook
• Organizing Fire Drill schedules to ensure monthly requirements are met by Eastern Health’s, Health Emergency Management Committee and The St. John’s Fire Regional Department
• Filing/Organizing – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, where everyone helps everyone else.
Secretary (Current Employee), St. John's, NLJune 5, 2014
Pros: loving the people you work with
Cons: monotony
My day starts off with checking my phone and computer messages, calling people back who have made inquiries into the Continuing Studies Programs. The people I work with are phenomenal. They are there when you need a helping hand or a listening ear. The hardest part of my job is the monotony. On any given day, I am still doing editing of documents that – more... are years old. The most enjoyable is the accomplishment I feel when I finish my work, the praise I receive is a good thing as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security check, sorting priorities, operating machinery and the skills needed to finish the job safely and punctually
Administrative Support (Current Employee), St. John's, NLApril 8, 2014
Pros: benefits, paid holidays, hourly wage
Cons: heavy lifting
A warehouse health and safety scan for anything that could jeopardize myself or any employee within the warehouse. Working within all departments, I've learned how a warehouse operates, and what dangers draw attention. Working with people from different diversities gave me a positive attitude towards change and individual differences
The physical lifting – more... when hand bombing items could sometimes be heavy and repetitious, and floors could sometimes become wet and slippery, causing machines to slide; extreme caution is needed at all times
The most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers, we became like a close family; which made any company function that much more enjoyable – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eastern Health Clerk 2
Lab Office Clerk 2/Data Entry Operator (Current Employee), St. John's, NLFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: not appreciated, only considered a number
Working for Eastern Health consists of very busy day doing Data Entry. Here in NL most of the lab work that is taken has to be frozen and sent to our main lab in our Capital City. When the blood work is received at the lab, as a clerk I spend most of my everyday entering any needs tests required for each patient so that their results may be completed. – more... Also throughout the day I am required to company any needed orders for supplies for the office and send it to our stores department . Also the main line for the lab comes through my office so most times I just have to direct people in the right direction. Also if any doctors have questions concerning blood work they also contact myself or 3 of my other co workers in the same office. My job also consists of many other things like scanning, copying, mail and such forth.

Through out my years working for Eastern Health I have what meet what I would call a great circle of friends or what some others would call their work family. As for management it is like everywhere you work through out you life and that is you get some great and some bad. For the most part I have no complaints.

This current job I can honestly say there is nothing hard. I have a very busy day each and most days I don't even get to break but I really enjoy it. Its not something I mind at all.

The most enjoyable part of my job would be that I know after everyday I leave I know that I put 150% in my job and just because I put that little bit more into means I made it that much quicker for some sick person receiving any needed result to making them feel better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff lack of resources and opporutinity
Registered Respiratory Therapist II (Current Employee), St. John's, NLFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: people, team leads
Cons: advancement, pay
High paced critical care environment. Much respect and autonomy on a typical working day. Lacking retention capabilities are areas of advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping People
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee), St. John's, NLJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: feel good able to get up and go to work every day
Cons: seeing people upset when they have lost a loved one
I enjoy this job both cafeteria and patient services.When you work with the public you can help them feel better and be there if they need anything like a ear to listen to them as some people don't have any family that they can call or lean on.

Working on the belt-line you get to make sure what you serve is appealing plus the patient client are able – more... to eat – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work aspect is ok but I am not liking the shifting from three different places. I would rather be at one set place.
Food Service Worker (Current Employee), St. John's, NLSeptember 2, 2013
The work is ok but each of the three places I work, are not close to each other. I would much rather be at one place permanently. The money is good at Eastern Health but right now there are a lot of changes taking place. Some departments are going under the private sector and we (employees) are being placed elsewhere in other facilities. My job is in – more... question and I am concerned that my four and a half years of service, may not be enough to keep me stable in my position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review of my daily work day.
Mail Clerk (Current Employee), St. John's, NLJune 25, 2013
my day work start with waiting for the Canada post guy to come in with the mail for myself to sort. when I have that done get it ready for delivery in the hospital and other sites of eastern health. i learned how the mail operates works in the hospital.my manager is a tean player and work with the staff and let them give there own input on how to make – more... the department run better for the hospital.i work with a group of people and are all tean player as well.the harest part of my job was to remember where people are and what office they are is so I had to do u a floor plan that work for myself and the hospital.the most enjoyable part of my job id going to work and meeting a lot of good hearts people who go out of there way for other and getting to meet the staff and clinet of the floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe environment.
Support Services Worker (Current Employee), St. John's, NLJune 6, 2013
Pros: free safety uniform like shoes.
Cons: shared hours job.
I am so excited to go to work every time that I get shift because of the safe and happy environment and very supportive co-worker. I enjoy a lot every time my shift is in food service because I am dealing with the senior residence which is I love the most because they can tell you their story and I can learn a lot of things in their inspiring story. – more... But the sad part of the job is, I just getting few hours because of the on-call employment which is not enough to support my daily living. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience overall at Eastern Health is good
Clerk 1V (Current Employee), St. John's, NLMay 9, 2013
Pros: i work 12 hour shifts so it gives me days off during the week to get done what i need.
Cons: i start work at 6 in the morning and ends at 530 which makes for long day.
Mostly my typical day at work is very hectic and fast paced. I start off by checking all telephone messages and cover all shifts needed for the LPN's/PCA's and Materials Management. I then check all emails and respond to managers requests. Daily I basically fill all the shifts from days, evenings, and nights. And I also pre-book whatever we have on – more... the books. In between covering shifts I complete all payroll that is received by fax.
Once all daily work is complete then I start with completing schedules for each employee. I also respond to any requests or inquiry from management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Clerk II (Current Employee), St. John's, NLApril 2, 2013
Pros: pension plan
Cons: short staff which makes for a heavier work load.
I have learned to deal with many types of people and their concerns.
Patient care is very important as well as patient confidentiality. At times it can be very stressful. My co-workers for the most part are very patient and good to work with.
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping the patients and making them happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), St. John's, NLFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: i love working with people.
Work commenced at 8:30 am. I attended many meetings. I was responsible for organizing those meetings, When dates of meetings were set, I sent out emails to remind appropriate personnel of meeting and requested for agenda items. I completed agenda, minutes, and all necessary documentation, which was distributed at the meetings. I attended meetings as – more... recording secretary.

I enjoyed my job very much.

I have excellent communication skills, excellent time management skills and I am committed to punctuality. I have excellent listening skills, and excellent analystical and organizational skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management team were next to none
September 21, 2012 - Present Accounting Clerk 1 (Current Employee), Mount Pearl, NLFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: not enough different things to do throughout the day.
Inputting data into Eastern Health working system. Worked within the accounts payable division dealing with the processing of invoices for payments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, exceptionally busy
Hospital Admitting Clerk - Central Registry (Current Employee), Carbonear, NLJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: close to home, benefits, great wages
Cons: 12 hour night shifts are included in my schedule...
As a hospital admitted clerk in the Emergency Room at Carbonear General, you have to be able to work in a fast paced, demanding department. You need to be well organized, know your job, be resourseful, independent and grounded. The most challenging aspect of my job is dealing with the public; but with years of experience you learn how to handle many – more... personalities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cook (Current Employee), Burin, NLDecember 18, 2012
Pros: good work environment
Cons: no room for advancement
Im am use to to fast pace work environment. I feel i have learned a great deal from working with eastern health. Management and my co- workers are great to work with. The hardest part of my job is that there is no room for advancement as cooks are currently not recoginized as a red seal trade. I enjoy my job as a cook overall and hope to find gainful – more... employment elsewhere to challenge my skills and make me a better cook in general. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall experiences
Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee), Burin, NLDecember 3, 2012
Pros: autonomy
Cons: limited access to those co-workers in similar roles
A typical day includes review of diagnostic reports, assessing patients,ordering treatments,monitoring chronic conditions such as diabetes, collaborating with physicians in various specialities and arranging follow up care.
My manager works off-site but accessible by phone, or e-mail. I work well with my co-workers and respect all levels of professionalism. – more... The hardest part of my current job is discussing life-threating conditions and providing support as sometimes this can be quite stressful. The most enjoyable part of my position is seeing positive, acceptable results for the patients I assess and treat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun and productive place to work.
Ward Clerk (Former Employee), St. John's NLAugust 31, 2012
A typical day at Eastern Heatlh was answering phones, filling patient charts, making appointments, organizing and filing, meeting patients, and many more duties.

At Eastern Health, I have learned many different things. I've learned how to make appointments for patients both in the computer and by telephone. I've learned how to file and stock patient's – more... charts and also, how to enter a lab requistion into the computer system.etc.

The management and coworkers were great people.

The hardest part about this job is not working very much. I was a casual employee and sometimes would not get a call for a month. Therefore, I had to find employment elsewhere.

The most enjoyable part of this job was meeting new people and helping patient's from time to time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very inspiring and excellent to work with
Clerk Typist III (Current Employee), St. John's, NLJuly 30, 2012
Pros: public service week
Good communication within the organization among co-workers. I have learned new skills and information. No hard parts to my job and my job was very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace where you can go home at the end of every day and feel as if you have done your job and dd it well.
WPEO (Current Employee), Placentia, NLMay 30, 2012
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: not enough hours to get the work done, because of staffing issues
My work day starts at 7:30 and continues very quicky as my job is very busy and continuous throughout the day. I enjoy my co-workers as well the physicians that I work with and we have a family like relationship. The hardest part of my job is not having enough time to complete the work that I feel needs to get done because there is just too much work – more... for one person. The most enjoyable part of my day is when one of the residents or patients smiles and says thank you. Then you know that you are doing your job well. – less