Eastern Health System Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 34 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registered nurse
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLMay 8, 2016
Working as a charge nurse in a long term care facility. Very much involved in the nursing management of the unit. My daily work involves,resident management, staffing, making clinical judgement and decisions etc. Working along with multidisciplinary team for the best interest of the residents and their families.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and great experience.
PRIMARY CARE PARAMEDIC (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 16, 2016
A typical day for me is working with a variety of different partners due to my casual position and being kept busy with truck checks, variety of inter-facility transfers and emergency calls. Average call volume for a 12 hour shift is approximately 6. Working with PCP partners as well as ACP partners. Transferring patients in and out of a variety of fixed wing and rotary wing aircrafts. Working in a city environment but also responding to rural areas just outside of the city.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
RN (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 8, 2016
Very positive and rewarding experience. The emergency department was a continuous learning environment and education was provided on a regular bases. It is a very high energy area to work in and physical and psychological wellness is very important to your team members.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
Department layout
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to advance your skills
Registered Nurse - ICU (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 2, 2016
Great co-workers. The work is interesting and fulfilling. Days are busy. Management can be challenging at times. A good learning environment.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Management needs improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work to gain experience in chosen field.
Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLMarch 16, 2016
Change is a given within Eastern Health. It is an organization still developing. There are excellent programs available for those who have the time to take part, however, given the cut backs in health care in recent years and fewer staff and managers, it is difficult to take advantage of available opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there.
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLFebruary 15, 2016
MY days were only 3 hours long but were very busy. I learned the computer system and how to run to do blood draws fast as it was required.
I really liked my coworkers and got along very well and we enjoyed working together.
The management was stressful as they always wanted faster and more, not understanding that some patients could be difficult.
The hardest part of the job was walking into a room and the patient had passed away and having to go tell a nurse.
My most enjoyable part of the day was working in the clinic with the walk in patients.
Pros
good pay
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily life in Emerg
Nurse 1 (Current Employee) –  EmergOctober 12, 2015
Every day at Eastern Health HSC Emerg is different from the previous. It can be slow one minute and overflowing the next. Our department is team oriented and we all look out for each other
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Clerk Typist III (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLSeptember 21, 2015
Management staff in Community Supports Program superb. Some of the best managers I have ever worked for.

Supportive co-workers
Pros
Great environment to work in
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eastern Health Clerk
Staffing Clerk IV (Current Employee) –  65 Newfoundland DriveAugust 3, 2015
Work consists of 12 hour days, on shift work. Taking calls, sick, family, etc. replacing staff and and doing payroll. Ensuring staff have schedules, appropriate hours and following union guidelines.
Pros
Shift work
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Clerk/Typist II Diagnostic Imagining (Current Employee) –  Carbonear, NLFebruary 16, 2015
Work hours were fair and you get paid fairly for the amount of work you do. You come in at 8 and go home at 4 from Monday to Friday, a perfect work schedule. I learned how to use Meditech, how to book appointments, how to register patients for their appointments, and the importance of getting things done in a timely manner. Management is great, very understanding but at the same time, expectant. A great balance between compassion and expectation of you to get your best work done on a daily basis. The co-workers are very helpful and it is a very respectful and cohesive environment. The hardest part of the job would be waiting for hours. The most enjoyable part is feeling like you are important and do important work.
Pros
great hours, great people, great environment
Cons
not enough hours for call in casuals
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty routine stuff. Okay job not very challenging.
Domestic Health Care Worker (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLJanuary 26, 2015
Cleaning operating rooms or strip and waxing floors. I learned how to disinfect operating and patient rooms. Management were good to work with. Hardest part of the job was working basically all evenings or over nights. Not easy on the family when your wife works days and you evenings. Most enjoyable part of that job was my days off. It was a job out of necessity to be honest.
Pros
days off and health benifits.
Cons
working evenings or over night most of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Administrative Assistant,HTDM (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLOctober 19, 2014
Management and co-workers were pleasurable to work with.
Very busy work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer, good benefits ..... spousal relocation only reason for leaving
Staff Nurse (MSICU) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLSeptember 5, 2014
Excellent hospital with a very respectful working environment. Critical Care unit works well as a team. Self scheduling was an awesome bonus.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerk II
Clerk II (Current Employee) –  The Agnes Pratt HomeJuly 9, 2014
• Switchboard operations
• Admitting new residents into a system of daily recording keeping documents
• Ensuring all next of kin are entered into all mail merges and email distribution list
• Purging of deceased residents information
• Organizing all Orientation of New Hires
• Organization of Memorial Services
• Ensuring all daily record keeping documents are up to date with resident admissions, deaths and room changes
• Typing Memos/Letters for all Managers of Administration, Nursing, Support Services and Recreation Departments.
• Typing/creating any documents needed for all departments of the home, such as calendars, schedules, tables, charts, menus etc.
• Setting up all staff education and a complete running list of each employee’s education, ensuring all staff attended required education.
• Secretary for various committees, completing minutes, organizing meetings through Microsoft Outlook
• Organizing Fire Drill schedules to ensure monthly requirements are met by Eastern Health’s, Health Emergency Management Committee and The St. John’s Fire Regional Department
• Filing/Organizing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, where everyone helps everyone else.
Secretary (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLJune 5, 2014
My day starts off with checking my phone and computer messages, calling people back who have made inquiries into the Continuing Studies Programs. The people I work with are phenomenal. They are there when you need a helping hand or a listening ear. The hardest part of my job is the monotony. On any given day, I am still doing editing of documents that are years old. The most enjoyable is the accomplishment I feel when I finish my work, the praise I receive is a good thing as well.
Pros
loving the people you work with
Cons
monotony
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security check, sorting priorities, operating machinery and the skills needed to finish the job safely and punctually
Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 8, 2014
A warehouse health and safety scan for anything that could jeopardize myself or any employee within the warehouse. Working within all departments, I've learned how a warehouse operates, and what dangers draw attention. Working with people from different diversities gave me a positive attitude towards change and individual differences
The physical lifting when hand bombing items could sometimes be heavy and repetitious, and floors could sometimes become wet and slippery, causing machines to slide; extreme caution is needed at all times
The most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers, we became like a close family; which made any company function that much more enjoyable
Pros
benefits, paid holidays, hourly wage
Cons
heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eastern Health Clerk 2
Lab Office Clerk 2/Data Entry Operator (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLFebruary 15, 2014
Working for Eastern Health consists of very busy day doing Data Entry. Here in NL most of the lab work that is taken has to be frozen and sent to our main lab in our Capital City. When the blood work is received at the lab, as a clerk I spend most of my everyday entering any needs tests required for each patient so that their results may be completed. Also throughout the day I am required to company any needed orders for supplies for the office and send it to our stores department . Also the main line for the lab comes through my office so most times I just have to direct people in the right direction. Also if any doctors have questions concerning blood work they also contact myself or 3 of my other co workers in the same office. My job also consists of many other things like scanning, copying, mail and such forth.

Through out my years working for Eastern Health I have what meet what I would call a great circle of friends or what some others would call their work family. As for management it is like everywhere you work through out you life and that is you get some great and some bad. For the most part I have no complaints.

This current job I can honestly say there is nothing hard. I have a very busy day each and most days I don't even get to break but I really enjoy it. Its not something I mind at all.

The most enjoyable part of my job would be that I know after everyday I leave I know that I put 150% in my job and just because I put that little bit more into means I made it that much quicker for some sick person receiving any needed result to making them feel better.
Pros
pay
Cons
not appreciated, only considered a number
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff lack of resources and opporutinity
Registered Respiratory Therapist II (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLFebruary 13, 2014
High paced critical care environment. Much respect and autonomy on a typical working day. Lacking retention capabilities are areas of advancement.
Pros
people, team leads
Cons
advancement, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping People
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLJanuary 7, 2014
I enjoy this job both cafeteria and patient services.When you work with the public you can help them feel better and be there if they need anything like a ear to listen to them as some people don't have any family that they can call or lean on.

Working on the belt-line you get to make sure what you serve is appealing plus the patient client are able to eat
Pros
feel good able to get up and go to work every day
Cons
seeing people upset when they have lost a loved one
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work aspect is ok but I am not liking the shifting from three different places. I would rather be at one set place.
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLSeptember 2, 2013
The work is ok but each of the three places I work, are not close to each other. I would much rather be at one place permanently. The money is good at Eastern Health but right now there are a lot of changes taking place. Some departments are going under the private sector and we (employees) are being placed elsewhere in other facilities. My job is in question and I am concerned that my four and a half years of service, may not be enough to keep me stable in my position.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture