East Side Mario's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Food Prep/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ON18 August 2017
Some co-workers were pretty chill. No encouragement, motivation to be honest or feedback on how you're preforming(One of the reasons why I quit working there). Overall though its a okay place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culinary Skills
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON17 August 2017
I improved my culinary skills a lot when I worked there. I enjoyed the staff and environment of East Side's also. I learned a lot about kitchen safety, and team work also.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized kitchen, fast-paced environment
Dish-washer/Food preparation (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 August 2017
My experience with East-side Mario's was short, but my impression with my location wasn't positive.

While the staff were fun, down to earth and hardworking, the Kitchen Manager and General manager were often rude and condescending.

The scheduling was reliable, and I always knew when my shifts were, but my hours became increasingly shorter as new staff came in.
Pros
Free staff meals
Cons
rude management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always busy
Host (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 August 2017
interacting with customers
making customers feel welcome
making sure restaurant is clean and tidy environment at all times
Helping with whatever is needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Warden, ON14 August 2017
Very personalble staff. Great work environment. The food I got for half price. The food is also amazing. Overall a great work experience. The cooks are amazing
Pros
Staff
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dirty and stinky
Dishwasher, routinely cleaned work areas, bussed (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, ON9 August 2017
all i did at east sides was do dishes therefore i did alot of team work again and independent work, was very fast paste, and a lot of dirty involved from cleaning peoples food to cleaning grease traps
Pros
people
Cons
stinky, dirty, grease trap
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced restaurant
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON8 August 2017
In my time there I worked in many different positions, it was a fun atmosphere and had many good team members some of who I still am friends today. There could be some stressful times there as it was in a mall location and sometimes would get extremely busy.
Pros
discounted meals, events for staff
Cons
your cloths smell like a restaurant, sometimes late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work if you want a lot of hours
Server/Hostess (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ON1 August 2017
the people i worked with were very nice and the training was done very well given it was my first serving job... however i got "no started" a lot and would usually take an uber to work so i actually lost money on those days because you don't get paid for the hour you are waiting there to see if it's busy enough for them to need you on the floor... i thought that was ridiculous and i had not heard of that at any other restaurant
Pros
you got a free meal if you got "no started"
Cons
very short hours, one or two
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work, too much drama between employees poor managment.
Server and Hostess (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON25 July 2017
i didn't like management, some were immature and rude. i had problems with other employees, getting caught in the middle of silly drama and awkward situations.
Pros
free food on shift
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was so long ago
Server (Former Employee) –  London, ON20 July 2017
East side Mario's was the perfect job for students that want to work part time.

The culture was fun, a lot of young people.

Management was great. They were very flexible with my work schedule.
Pros
Movement
Cons
Hours of operation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Dishwasher/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Stouffville, ON10 July 2017
Working at east-side there was a multitude of duties needed to be done by the cooks. Sometimes we would wash dishes, other times we would do meal prep and other times were on line preparing meals for customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were fun, fast paced atmosphere
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON30 June 2017
usually fairly busy but had its moments, very fast paced if you like that as a server. Management could've handled some situations better than others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again...
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB26 June 2017
I met some great people and some of the management are really wonderful but as a whole this place is totally awful and poorly run, and their staff parties is the reason why their costumers lose respect for their fellow peers and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Coburg, NB25 June 2017
Everyone was great to work with. The employees were fun. I loved the customers, and the overall environment was a great place. However there was a lack of training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast environment
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ON15 June 2017
The management and staff make the place easy and fun to go to work. Management is very flexible and accommodating to my schedule and needs. Glad that there is never a dull moment and always something that needs to be done. Best place I've worked at so far!
Cons
No starts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture is great
Kitchen Helper/ Dish washer (Current Employee) –  London, ON12 June 2017
Every day at work is busy but the co-workers and manager is really healthful. They have provided me growing opportunities.I have started as a dishwasher and now I am doing kitchen help which includes pasta preparation and preparing salads.
Pros
co-workers are helpful and friendly
Cons
safety measures are less.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with.
HOST TAKEOUT EXPO (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON12 June 2017
A very fun place to work with, regardless of how serious they take everything, I manage to lighten the mood so everyone enjoys their time there and feels less stressed out.
Pros
Very good money
Cons
long hours that are extremely busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my most enjoyed jobs/ co op
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 June 2017
I started as a co op and the trainer norm was awsome then did a bit of work as a line cook on the fryers and ended there as a dishwasher and the manager eddie and joey treated me like family so u feel respected there so it felt worth working hard and i reccomend it to anyone
Pros
Free food tip out and discounts
Cons
Some days are dramatically fast but i can adapt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good job for any local
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON6 June 2017
lots of room to move in the company benefits many many things to do and other job to move up to ghood place to for a first job and a good place for a long term job
Pros
great employees
Cons
when the suits show up always say yes mame or sir
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are like one big family
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON6 June 2017
It was a very enjoyable work place. The hardest thing was keeping up with the rushes at peak hours of the day.

There is always going to be rough days in a workplace , at east sides we all worked together to work through those days.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at East Side Mario's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 351 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6