EARLS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Bar porter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 September 2017
Earls is a fun atmosphere great learning experience great management and co workers. Lots of opportunities and different ways to learn. All around good establishment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce people
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC1 September 2017
Everyone is super nice there, hours are flexible, the pay is good, but you have to be willing to put in the work I worked there I found it hard so I left.
Pros
50% lunches
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work for a student
Cook (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON8 August 2017
Amazing staff, always a fun place to work at. Everyone gets along very easy. If you love cooking, earls is the place that you need to apply at. Always looked forward going into work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 July 2017
Very stressful, fast-paced. Management sometimes disregards employees well-being. I enjoyed connecting with servers, it opened a lot of opportunities for the future.
Pros
vacation pay
Cons
long hours, touchy-feely customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard easy way to be introduced into the industry
Bartender/leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 June 2017
Earls is just that, average. People are great, management is usually a hit or miss. Depends entirely on your location, bourbon street is very stressful so be careful of straying there
Pros
Specials
Cons
Location dependant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK14 June 2017
fun working at Earl's it's a good to wok there with lots of kitchen utilities to use and co workers are nice and kind and it gets really busy time to time thats a good thing to challenge your pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work.
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2017
1. Dust and windex all glass 2. Washroom checks every 15 mins 3. Communication constantly between employees and managers 4. Seating customers 5. Assigning reservations 6. Take To Go orders 7. Wiping menus consistently
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Recruit Job in Kitchen
Recruit (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON13 April 2017
Day consists of doing dished, maintaining a clean kitchen. Great environment to work with, hours aren't the greatest. Closing shifts expect to stay till about 3:00a.m., but you will definitely be around a fun crowd, its never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its alright
Line chef (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC10 April 2017
fun job but very stressful, I don't know the team is cool and making food is chill but like theres a lot of orders to make and then you get tired and unhappy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dope tennis table
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC9 March 2017
loved working there loved the people i worked with well most of them.. The only reason i left was because it was really far for me to have to travel not that it was outta the way its only 5 mins from Gilmore station, but it did take me about an hour and half and to get there so... also the pay wasn't good at all i feel Im in culinary arts school and have some experience and felt i should have made me more.
Pros
basically got a tab
Cons
late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be a fun workplace if you make it that way
Prep Cook and Line cook (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON7 March 2017
Great place to work when it comes to advancement as well as growing as an individual. but can sometimes take a toll on your body due to lack of staff.
Pros
good people
Cons
good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Server (Former Employee) –  West Edmonton, AB25 January 2017
management is never around when you need them. wearing heels all day was the hardest part. a typical day at work goes by fast cuz you are always busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you like bad pay and horrible hours.
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 December 2016
They constantly promised promotions and pay raises. Schedule is inconsistent. One week you will work 1-9pm and the next they will make you work till 3am.

They favor people who want a career in cooking. If they find out you don't they will treat you badly.
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
Long hours. Bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bartending part time was great for being a uni student.
Bartender and part time waitress (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 December 2016
I had a great managers who were able to work around my university schedule. I loved the clientele and a majority of the staff i worked with. It was a great job for being a student.
Pros
tips
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Lounge Server and Barista (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC29 September 2016
Earls was a great place for me to work. Unfortunately, I was being bullied by a manager so I felt that it was time to move on. Overall, I enjoyed working with Earls. Before the dilemma happened, I was appreciated and I created regulars who still go there today.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
The one manager who abused her power
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, sub-par management
Server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 September 2016
The environment at Earls in generally positive and fun. I have made great friends through the company and almost everyone that works there is very easy to get along with. Management seems to be quite unorganized most of the time and doesn't seem to prioritize what needs to be done. Rather, they just find ways to save money. But even so, the people in management are overall great people to be around. MOST of my experience is that they actually do care about you as a person (with exceptions). Hardest part of the job is dealing with unruly customers (which I'm sure you can find almost anywhere) but also not having set hours can be a bit of a bummer (working 1 hour sometimes and never know when you're going home on others).
Pros
Great people, great food
Cons
unreliable hours and money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great
Employé (Former Employee) –  London, ON20 July 2016
Some awesome people
Pretty unrewarding work experience
Demanding for a minimum wage job
Lots of room for future success at the cost of current sacrifice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was enjoyable
Cook, food preparation, dish washer, cleaning (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 July 2016
good friendly place to work just not enough money to be made there for a single father. they re willing to help you learn a lot about cooking which is great.
Pros
very friendly pace
Cons
dont always get off on time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive for my skill set, helped me grow in different areas
Floor Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC9 May 2016
- 9am-5pm, running the Day service and setting up the restaurant for success during the Night rush
- learned how to be hard but fair. Different People need different reactions and different areas to grow
- Management still has faith in my abilities and wishes me to move forward with the company; School comes first for me
- Having to hold people accountable when they do not see the issue
- Getting the chance to use my leadership skills and mold them to be the type of boss I want to be
Pros
Leadership improvement and opportunities
Cons
Sporadic intense moments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Server (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC24 April 2016
- A typical day includes changing into work attire, scanning out my section of tables, cleaning the glass and silverware on each table with a cloth and hot steam, engaging in conversation with customers, taking drink and food orders, serving drinks and food, always smiling and always putting customers first

- to better engage in random conversations with people I just met, to multi task under high pressure, to pay close attention to what is being ordered, to watch for allergies, to re-read and double check orders before punching them in, to always smile and always out customers first

- Management was not the greatest, they did favour certain people over others depending on how close of friends they were or how long they knew each other. They were nice people in general, but weren't fair at times with treating all employees equally.

- The hardest part was not being affected with seeing other people who did not work as hard get better treatment than the people who did work very hard. It was accepting that it was just the way things were.

- The most enjoyable part was meeting new customers and getting to know so many people who would just make my day!
Pros
discounted meals, tips
Cons
biased
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at EARLS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7