Find companies:
EARLS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

EARLS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not really a good place for male servers
Server (Former Employee), burnaby bcAugust 9, 2014
Pros: almost a cool place to be in
Cons: making no money
as i gave them 9 shifts avail. they only gave me 2 lunch short shifts?!!! if i am not a good server why hire me and if i am why only 2 shifts in the worst section of the room?!! anyway after 1 year i decided i had enough of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Server (Current Employee), Fort McMurray YMMAugust 2, 2014
I learned alot about how to manage a restaurant just by being a server at Earls.
The management is amazing and is always ready to help
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast workplace always dealing with customer service
Server (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABApril 5, 2014
Very high employee turnover. Not enough training or support from management which was the hardest part working there. The most enjoyable part of the job is dealing with customers and fulfilling their experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Earls
BARTENDER/ LOUNGE SERVER (Former Employee), Jasper, ABApril 5, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: seasonal town, hours very minimal in the fall/winter season.
My experience at Earl's was wonderful. Great people, wonderful food and craft cocktails. I fine tuned my bar tending skills during my time with Earls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work not a mature environment
Prep Coach (Former Employee), St. Albert, ABMarch 3, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: little breaks maybe one 30 min break
Typical day day would be getting their for 530 am, preping goods sauce bake goods, ect. i learned how to mange my level of staff as a leader their and how to manage my day effectively.

Management felt really poor. would change schedule without telling anyone and would not give them any notice often. Would ask opinions of many staff then ignore them – more... anyways.

Dealing with conflict was the hardest part of the job. i would have to meditate between to people and allmost all that would always that thing on the personal level not the professional level.

I really enjoy being their for people when they had problems.whether it was person or some about the jobs or just little life questions they had for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment and a place you can always grow from
Server, Manager (Former Employee), Langley, BCFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: relationships
Cons: short hours
A day to day shift at earls would include creating relationships with guests that last a lifetime, memories with coworkers that will stick with me forever, and experiences that you can take more out of than any other place that I have worked at. Work included tedious tasks, such as making sure all flatware was sparkling to more intricate detailing such – more... as constant feedback to coworkers and always knowing how profitable the day/night is. For me, the best part about my job was by far the relationships that I made with the wide array of people that came in week after week, day after day, to be served by the one person they have connected most with. I learned so much about so many people and will always remember their smiling faces whenever I fulfilled every one of their expressed an unexpressed wishes. The hardest part of my job was knowing that no matter how much effort you give and no matter how much you try, some people simply aren't happy with what you have to offer. Although not everyone leaves happy, you always make every experience, whether bad or good, a learning experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast- paced, but horrible management
Server (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: 50% off meals if you sat in the back of the kitchen
Cons: such a large staff, there's no room for anybody to move
I've dealt with a lot of management who hires a lot of minimum wage students, just to treat them horribly, but none quite like Earls, Bourbon Street. My management team was so vast, not one single person communicated with the other unless it was discuss drinking or smoking pot after work. Frequently I was yelled at for 'Not following dress code" even – more... though i had talked to parts of the higher management multiple times, who agreed i had. When I was being yelled at, it was by young supervisors who had just gotten promoted from within and thus treated me with the greatest lack of respect. I've never felt like less of a human being than when they would unnecessarily yell and embarrass me in front of the guests. I followed my job description impeccably (one of the few who really did) and was only scolded for what other coworkers didn't do. I highly recommend that you not work here unless you want to feel degraded and belittled. They also chose to spray us with sanitation bottles to avoid them (the managers with the bottles) from having to run food, regardless of how busy we were. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy yet entertaining work place. Time always flew by.
DISHWASHER/PORTIONING/APPETIZER COOK (Former Employee), Earls, Winnipeg, Manitoba.January 15, 2014
Pros: employees we're fun to work with and you got to learn about cooking as well as other kitchen skills.
Cons: in my opinion it was too heavy of a work load for one person, especially with the low salary.
A typical day at Earls usually consisted of coming in fully uniformed, getting the dishwasher station ready and upcoming for opening, making sure everything was organized and ready to go. I was always on the ball and made sure the area was as clear and organized as possible. I was also trained for appetizer cook and was usually asked to do that at the – more... same time as the dishwashing which did get a little overwhelming at time. They seemed to have low staff when I worked there and had problems with hours. Later on I heard of them getting closed down. Other than that I was always a perfectionist in everything that I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
claasy atmosphere
Waitress (Former Employee), White Rock, BCDecember 12, 2013
Pros: great customer base
Cons: snobby staff and unreliable
I enjoyed my work at the hilton, the staff were really clicky and they realized that I was a good employee but they didn't give me a chance because the hostess wanted my job they were steeling wine from my bar, I had no control of who came behind the bar.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best staff i have ever worked with except the bosses
Line Cook (Former Employee), Victoria, BCNovember 20, 2013
Pros: 50% off
Cons: 10 -12 hours days... no problem
my typical day at earls was to stock the line before the dinner rush. i learned how to cook food at aver high pace. the managers were hardly ever there. the coworkers were amazing very friendly. the hardest part of the job was re-preping in the middle of a dinner rush. the most amazing part about earls was the staff an how well they all got along
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
bar tender / server (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: good work experience
i loved the experience Earls gave me taught me a lot of things i still use in the workplace to date!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fun and fast paced
Server (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBAugust 29, 2012
Typical day:
- Dealing with new diverse customers each shift
- Constantly walking around (Which I found enjoyable rather than a con)
- Friendly staff
- Setting personal goals when dealing with customers

What I've learned:
- How to up-sell items on the menu
- How to guide people's taste in food into what they would like on the menu
- How to get intimate – more... with even the most shy customers
- How to gear mistakes into a positive result with customers

Co-Workers:
-Extremely friendly and outgoing

Hardest part of the job:
- Carrying very heavy trays (At first)

Most enjoyable part:
- Customers telling you they enjoyed their experience
- No monotony – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work and learned alot more about differnt types of food and how to cook them .
Line Cook (Former Employee), edmonton , albertaAugust 2, 2012
Pros: 50% discount on food
A typical day at work would be preping for the night rush and then cooking a varitey of differnt foods, people are very friendly and make you feel more at home, and like its a very safe place to be . This job was very enjoyable because i love to cook and be a perfectionist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, Good quality food, fun work enviorment.
Cook (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCMarch 10, 2012
It was a few years back when i worked there, but i do know that the company that is Earls will always move there staff forward and transfer them if the request is submitted. There wages are competitive with other restaurants of its caliber, and the benefits will get better the longer you are with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, great atmosphere, and hard work
Cook (Former Employee), Bellevue, WAJune 23, 2014
Pros: great food at a discount
Cons: not many benefits and strange hours
A great place to learn how to cook and perfect skills in cooking. Great coworkers to help and push cooking skills higher.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Earls Service Center
Auto body painter (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: pay has been messed up from old manangement
A typical day at work for me is to do bodywork on cars and do them as best as I can and get them done in time for customers. I have learned to use more different tools at this job than what I knew before. My manager that hired me recently lost his job at this place but he was a good man he never did me wrong in any way. The hardest part of this job – more... is when I really need to finish a car in order to get paid for it and just dont have enough time in a day to get it done like i hoped. And the most enjoyable part of my job is being able to do what I love everyday and having friendly coworkers to make the day happy – less

EARLS Photos