Find companies:
EMC Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
315 reviews

EMC Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized, pull from one job to another
HVAC Technician second year apprentice (Former Employee), Charlottetown, PEJuly 23, 2014
Pros: health benefits, supplied work clothing.
Cons: over time hours paid the same as regular work hours
Co-workers were very friendly and worked as a team, but managment were not organized. More work then what workers could handle therefore lost contracts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center.
Customer Support Technician (Former Employee), Burlington, ONJune 2, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no job security or benefits.
Took voice initiated customer/internal calls.

Limited breaks and being monitored by multiple managers.
Hard to get feed back on tasks from management.

Good co-workers to work with.

Constant non-confidential surveys (said to be confidential). Managers presenting and asking who wrote each survey.

Job was easy and understood most of the time.

No raises – more... or benefits after 3 years. No job security.
Advance to another department/studying was done with long hours and commute concluding in a 5:30am - 7pm/8pm days, with no extra pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Less than promised
Customer Support Technician (CST) (Former Employee), Burlington, ONApril 17, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: retards your career development
Entry level positions, little opportunity to advance if you're in Canada, even if you get EMC's Proven Professional Certifications.
Management is inexperienced and sloppy, micromanaged from the United States by a "Leadership Team" that is based outside of Boston.
Everyone is a temp contractor, they promise to hire people on, but it takes years (7+ on – more... average).
No raises, health benefits, sick days, vacation is 4% calculated on each pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More than 4 years experience in EMC, and worked in many projects of full life cycle implementation. Owned strong experience of EMC products.
Customer Support Engineer, GCS North China (Former Employee), BeijingMarch 31, 2014
 Perform preventive and remedial maintenance of EMC maintained products at customer locations in different operating environments.

 Be able to work follow specific, outlined procedures as directed by management and adhere to administrative policies and escalation procedures.

 Mentor for the associate CE or CE to be successfully on task delivery

 – more... Represents EMC in a professional manner to customers, EMC Partners and other EMC personnel at all times. May be required to support and instruct less experienced co-workers, through classroom training sessions or on-the-job mentoring. Trains customer personnel when authorized by TS Management. May occasionally be called upon to act as a back up to the Project Manager or to provide team technical leadership on specific implementations.

 Installs or upgrades EMC software and hardware products in complex Open Systems environments. Installation functions include: technical planning, design review including providing feedback on solution, the creation of implementation configuration files, running/storing cables, defining and applying hardware/software settings and setting up remote support.

 Demonstrate system capabilities, review software operation and management tools, and provide information to customer concerning the operation and use of EMC products implemented.

 Maintains understanding of existing or potential customer software/hardware and machine situations. Troubleshoot problems that arise.

 Provides knowledge transfer throughout and at the completion of assigned projects.May support other activities as needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very pressurizing, and must have multitasking skill with good speed.
Officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 25, 2014
my day starts at 8am, I have to report 15 minutes before start time. it is extremly hectic in the morning hours, I have to monitor all the CCTV's and also help all the employee's with their access to campus by creating pass key for them. Meanwhile I also have to maintain contact with building operators and generate work orders for various contractors, – more... after that i have to flag all the work orders and access authorization with their respective orders. We also have celebrity escort very often, so I have to dispatch guards for them and also keep contact with them. In afternoon I start clearing pass keys and update all the employee information. In evening I have to do audits of NVR switches and CCTV routers and attach all the reports at the end of my shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place and very Integrated team
Senior Consultant (Current Employee), São Paulo, SPMarch 5, 2014
Pros: home office
Cons: lack of integration between employees from other countries and brazil
Good company to work, where is possible to exchange experience day by day, due to different profiles of customers.

Easy integration to Brazil employees in several areas.

There is no hard part of the jobs everything is a learning.

The most enjoyable of this job is to have contact with many different customers and technologies as Cloud and Big Data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Resource Manager (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAFebruary 18, 2014
It is good to work in EMC as I feel the work culture is very flexible
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Partner Solutions Lead (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 1, 2013
Lots of opportunities presented to increase skill set. I worked varkous roles at this company. EMC provides employees with the skills to deal with customers of all sizes and requirements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Business/Big Data Analytics Intern (Current Employee), Draper, UTJuly 24, 2014
As a growing organization they're constantly working on ways to improve the opportunities for it's account executives to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purchased infrastructure for International Office for EMC Corporation
Senior Buyer (Former Employee), Mountain View, CAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: freedom to organize and create own work space.
Cons: advancement within the organization.
Conservative company, hard to advance within the organization. However, I was thrilled with many appreciation and recognition from old executive management and engineering team from Legato (EMC purchased Legato System, Inc.) for my contribution. Learned new software application with Oracle but advancement within organization was limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very focused professionals driven by sales
Director Professional Services (Former Employee), McLean, VAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: exciting technology and very professional people
Cons: quarterly driven poor work life balance
Many opportunities exists due to the varied companies EMC has purchased. They continue to stress training and continuing to know the new technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company until was bought out
Payment Processor (Former Employee), Lewisville, TXJuly 21, 2014
was a good company to work for until Chase bought them. I loved working there and was there for 5 yrs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMC Summary
PROGRAM MANAGER (Current Employee), Hopkinton, MAJuly 12, 2014
Overall decent company to work at. Benefits are good. Products and Salaries not kept competitive (typical problems that come with working at a large company). Work Life Balance is good, long hours are expected but working from home can be arranged to offset this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience but not without its hearthaches
Senior Technical Program Manager (Current Employee), Pleasant Grove, UTJune 23, 2014
We work with the coolest technology in the world!

The hardest part of the job is a lack of clear direction. Employees work hard, but then find find out we are are working on the wrong thing or that the project had all together changed. This was discouraging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big co
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 21, 2014
Pros: big
Cons: big
Big co based in Mass. Some of their webpages are weak. Security is so tight - you're lucky if you can go to Google.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emc is a great place to work
Customer Engineer (Former Employee), Little Rock arkansasJune 18, 2014
Pros: training and working on new equipment as it comes online
Cons: some times the overtime can be overwhelming
Going from customer to site to site performing maintenance, preventive maintenance, and installations to customer specs. having management stand behind our decision is excellent. my cooworkers played a value part in making the customer happy. working on state of the art storage equipment is like a dream come true.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay and respect work/family balance
Logistical Material Planner (Former Employee), Hopkinton, MAJune 13, 2014
Pros: competitive pay
Cons: long hours/stressful
I enjoyed working for this company. The pay was very competitive and they are definitely changing with the times and giving the employees flexibility to balance both work and family life.
I worked for the company for many years and never had a bad manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would work at EMC again
Consultant Program Manager (Former Employee), HopkintonJune 12, 2014
Pros: ability to work remotely, good work culture and respect for life balance
Cons: no true bonus; included in salary which is bogus
Good work life balance.
Smart, good people to work with
I worked remotely, travelled back to HQ quarterly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and challenging place to work.
Sr. Manager (Current Employee), Durham, NCJune 10, 2014
Pros: flexibility with work/life balance, opportunities to learn, and use talent.
Work with cutting edge technologies
- Provide innovative ideas to solve product and infrastructure problems
- Management enables growth and opportunities to thrive. Timelines can be challenging, but very rewarding. I enjoy the creative aspect of using technology to create efficiencies that help EMC save money and reduce time to market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company driven with eye on future
HR BUSINESS OPERATIONS ANALYST (Former Employee), Hopkinton, MAJune 2, 2014
Pros: work was interesting and challenging
Cons: rely heavily on contract help with little opportunity to convert to permanent hire
I was a contractor at EMC for about 4 years. There were a lot of good people at this company and management is very agile constantly looking to the future. Company stays on top of new trends and technology.

1 2 3 4 5

About EMC Corporation

EMC has its head in the cloud. And rightly so for a company that's helping businesses build Web-based computing systems with its – Read more

EMC Corporation Photos