Find companies:
Durham University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Durham University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Bad management.
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee), St Cuthberts College, DurhamJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches. free uniform. hours.
Cons: management. favouritism.
The job was enjoyable basically working on the servery and cleaning aroung the dining area and using the industrial dishwasher. The supervisors were nice and some colleagues were great, although one or two were rather unpleasant. Decent pay at the time (you get more now) Although the manager wasnt nice to me at all, think maybe due to the fact that – more... I was 17 and thought she could get away with it, constantky blamed for stuff i didnt do too. Although I enjoyed working at the castle, although got blamed for dirty equipment when I just walked through the door! Decent job though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment which encourages excellence.
Research Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics (Current Employee), Durham, ENGNovember 30, 2013
Durham University, as a member of the Russell group, is a centre for world class research. I have greatly enjoyed my time there and have gained much from the experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place, but the administrative structures were difficult to work within...
KTP Associate in Parallel Engineering Simulation (Former Employee), Durham, ENGOctober 24, 2013
Pros: training budget, travel
Cons: poor administration
My job involved helping another company to implement a parallel version of their software. This included: providing detailed reports on performance at regular intervals; designing, implementing and testing a parallel solution; ensuring staff were properly trained on how to maintain and develop the solution; administrating the project time and budget; – more... and providing regular feedback to an oversight committee consisting of people from various subject areas.
Management within the company were friendly and easy to work with, as was immediate management within the university. However, Durham university administration often caused problems and a huge amount of frustration... Having to interact with the bureaucratic nightmare was often the most difficult part of the job, at times overshadowing the joys of helping a company to reach their utmost potential. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cafe Assistant (Current Employee), County DurhamOctober 18, 2013
I enjoy working for the university and to be part of a much appreciate team at the botanic gardens, you can get different range of customers and they like to come in and tell you different things, you can learn lots and different things up there really enjoy working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as a Food Service Assistant
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee), Durham, ENGJuly 4, 2013
Pros: free meals
Cons: not able to balance home and work life due to different shifts
working different shifts, I learned portion control and how to use a industrial dishwasher. Unfortunately the management did nothing to stop bullying from one of the supervisors so when they were on duty it was very hard to do your job without criticism. The rest of the team and other supervisor were great to work with. Home time was the best time of – more... the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Work place
Cleaner (Former Employee), St. Mary's CollegeMay 13, 2013
Very Friendly place to work, learned how to clean properly. worked as part of a productive team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management are pompous
porter (Former Employee), collegeMay 8, 2013
Pros: decent money, easy work
Cons: management are clueless, staff not valued
Generally would be a good place to work had it not been for the terrible management, its jobs for friends that get to be managers, then they generally are clueless and rely on the 'plebs' to make them look good. Pompous prats the majority of management. If you don't mind those kind of people looking down their nose at you then the job would be ok for – more... you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and welcoming colleagues; challenging but rewarding work
Managing Editor (Former Employee), DurhamJanuary 15, 2013
Although I was only there a short time, I was welcomed as part of the department.

Overall, I consider the Development and Alumni Relations Department to be an intelligent, stimulating and supportive environment in which to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to work for
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Catering (Retail)September 12, 2012
Pros: free tea and coffe and discounts from a lot of shops etc
Cons: long hours
I manager 6 cafes and the staff therein so no two days are the same
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee), DurhamJune 20, 2012
Pros: flexibility, interesting topic
Cons: salary, long term perspectives
Investigating eye movements in a gaze-contingent display on hemianopic dyslexics to study whether they benefit from the information presented in their blind field.
I learned how to use MATLAB and the eye tracker.

About Durham University

Durham University is a world-class university in two locations: in the city of Durham and at Queen's Campus in Stockton. – More from ZoomInfo »