Durham University Employee Reviews

Showing all 41 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun working environment as I worked with many different people
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stockton-On-Tees24 May 2017
i enjoyed working at Durham but that was more to do with the people I worked with than the actual job as I got along really well with everyone. The work itself ranged from easy to tough depending on how many customers turned up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun wokplace
Finance Assistant (Current Employee) –  Durham, Durham17 May 2017
Typically a 35 or 37.5 work week with flexible hours. My job was quite sedentary with sitting at my desk for most hours of the day. The workplace and management are quite relaxed but never the less, deadlines are always met by the department. The staff are very pleasant and are always willing to help.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Interesting & diverse work
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Various Campuse's12 April 2017
The work was very interesting. The Project Managers who ran the various Site's for The Universitie's were helpful & knowledgeable. I was sad when the project's came to an end as every day was different with fresh challenges to keep you on your toes
Pros
Interesting work
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University
PhD Research Student (Current Employee) –  Durham11 April 2017
Excellent University with a friendly and international community, where you can gain the best of knowledge from the top researchers in the United Kingdom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Durham24 February 2017
good company to work for, flexible hours, good office environment for all staff and facilities good.
use of the University gym and sporting facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World class research but bad departmental culture
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Durham, UK14 February 2017
As a postdoctoral researcher in a science department, I have found the research in Durham to be world class, but the working environment within the department is not good. The management of junior staff is almost non-existent and the leadership is dysfunctional.
Pros
Flexible work hours, good computational resources
Cons
Bad leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work.
Porter (Former Employee) –  Durham, Durham15 January 2017
varied work from day to day, made it interesting,
enjoyed meeting some interesting people.
management were ok.
learned a lot about maintenance.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university
French/German Tutor (Former Employee) –  Durham, Durham21 December 2016
An excellent academic experience and a beautiful city. Fantastic English department with supportive professors. A great choices of modules. The collegiate system helps you feel a part of the university.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised and a welcoming environment
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Durham18 November 2016
I loved working at St Chads that staff were easy to get on with the management was fantastic I love working formals and seeing all the students and I gain valuable people skills and I typically on a day to day basis would clear and re set the hall, prepare the food for the evening meal and the serve and clear. The hardest part was being on my feet constantly but I soon got used to it.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend this University based on my experience
Student (Former Employee) –  Durham12 November 2016
Unfortunately, there is not great academic support and an unfriendly 'culture' among students. Therefore, I would not recommend this University.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a fast paced environment.
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Durham27 September 2016
Cleaning and maintaining a clean work place to standard operation procedures.
My co workers were all very helpful and we worked together as a team.
It was a good working experience and something different to what i was used too.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Not enough contracted hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente relajado en el que se invita a la participación y toma de decisiones.
Prácticas universitarias (Former Employee) –  Durham19 August 2016
El ambiente relajado y las ganas de que todos los visitantes pudieran disfrutar de un dia divertido mientras aprendían caracterizaba el día a día en el learning team del museum de la uniersidad de Durham. El hecho de trabajar frente al público, mayormente niños con gran entusiasmo por ir de excursión al museo, emfatizaba la faceta acojedora y pro-activa de todos los miembros del equipo.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work
Volunteer History researcher (Current Employee) –  Palace Green Library12 August 2016
I access websites and library material to research the life of Durham University Alumni who have served in the 1st World War
Pros
interesting
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Student Job
Student Caller (Former Employee) –  Durham2 August 2016
I found out about "student caller" through my college mentor. This job is set up for Durham University students to gain work experience and earn actual salary.
A typical day (evening) at work involve making calls to alumni to update profiles, informing and inviting them to events in Durham. Finally, asking them for their support for the worthy causes.
It is mainly managed by students. It is flexible. The work atmosphere is friendly and supportive.
The hardest part of the job is to ask someone for monetary donations.
The most enjoyable part of the job is to be able to converse with alumni who are successful in life and work of whom are a few years ago in the same position as you are.
Pros
Typically set up for students
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Library Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees28 July 2016
I enjoyed my time as a library support assistant at Durham University because thats what I always wanted to do and it was an interesting experience helping students and at the same time being strict with them regarding university library policies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Durham University
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham, UK9 May 2016
Good environment to work in. Nice town with nice people. The staff always treats you with the utmost respect and kindness.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and Accomodating workplace
Telephone Fundraiser (Current Employee) –  Durham11 February 2016
As it is with all fundraising, there are very good days and other days but overall it has provided an opportunity for me to learn to be patient, to better manage conversations and improve my persuasion skills.
Supervisors and more experienced colleagues are always on-hand to guide and show me what to do and how best to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
engaging workplace
Admissions Officer (Current Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees4 February 2016
Variety of tasks
Friendly staff
Excellent catering
Career advancement through training opportunities
Engaging with other departments
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University
PhD student (Current Employee) –  Durham, ENG29 September 2015
Stimulating work place
High standard of research
People very friendly and always happy to interact and give suggestion
Pros
quality of research
Cons
small city
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Experience
Team Durham Employee (Former Employee) –  Durham, UK25 August 2015
Beneficial and enjoyable work place, while obtaining a masters. You are put in as part of the staff while still being a student, and given a position of management as you work on academics as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Durham University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1