Durham School Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 478 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Student Transport Specialist (Current Employee) –  Rochester Hills, MI21 February 2017
I truly enjoy the children and it is an honor and a privilege to transport students to and from school, to transport to field trips.
I work for a terrific staff. and I love my job.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
no snow days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great working environment
Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Mt. Pleasant, TX16 February 2017
Great place to work in! Great people to work with! Good environment, kind people and very helpful. Teamwork is what they do! Always ready to learn and work in what ever is necessary and needs to be done gets done in a timely manner!
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the hardest part of the job
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN15 February 2017
the hardest part of the job was people with school age children would have a hard time finding child care. And only 10 month work schedule no work in the summer months.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus driving
Driver (Current Employee) –  Taylorville, IL14 February 2017
I have no monitor. I do love the kids I work with and the hours. There is a chance to take trips out on long periods or short ones. You can work weekends. You work a school schedule and claim unemployment on off time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible and dont appreicate good help
Bus Aide (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN13 February 2017
They do and say a lot but don't do anything to make sure the drivers or monitors are okay. They fired people without doing it correctly. They are just not good people to work for. It start all the way from the top and works it way down.... I've had plenty of parents tell me horror stories about the co workers.
Pros
You dont work all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Easthampton, MA10 February 2017
Im a casual bus driver part time and it pays great and works around my full time job as a fire fighter. So happy that i got my cdl b and all the endorsements to do this job. Co workers are friendly and the kids are great. Couldnt be happier.
Pros
Works with my scheduel
Cons
Havent had found any yet
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teachers Assistant
Teacher's Aide/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham, NC10 February 2017
everything is great. teachers are treated well.students will bring a new experience everyday. work load is fair. fair treatment, good training and great experience.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, adventurous @ times,
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL10 February 2017
I loved my job there. The fact that I had elementary students that loved me made my job more exciting.

I was really happy with the fact that I had developed a great understanding and support factor from both my students and their parents. And during holidays & birthdays, my parents would allow me to reward my students with gifts, cards, etc. (Parental permission granted in writing)
Pros
Ensuring the safety, trust and respect of all we come in contact with.
Cons
Difficulty in advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Driver (Current Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MI5 February 2017
Nice place to work and learn. Nice people as well. Nice equipment to work with. Steady on time pay. They provide training if you do not have any experience.
Pros
Flexable
Cons
Need more working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Solid Job,Part Time
School Bus Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IA3 February 2017
Good job to have good company to work for with a good work environment. Compensation is good while driving for school pick ups and drop off's but could increase hourly pay for school functions and sporting events
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Racine, WI3 February 2017
Safety number 1
Training and/or retraining opportunities for refreshing
Works with your schedule
Bonuses
Charters/Field trips
Pros
Company parties
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Based on my previous experience with this company, I would be very willing to work for them again.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KS2 February 2017
I think working for this company is better than some other companies because they treat their employees better and with more respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal and fun work environment
Associate (Current Employee) –  Ankeny, IA29 January 2017
The magement always makes sure my opinions and concerns are taken care of. The kids are amazing and it is such a rewarding job!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School buses
Diesel Technician, Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SC28 January 2017
No help from upper management and received false promises. Stayed longer than I should have only because I did enjoy working there. Great holidays and vacations.
Pros
Great schedule, great people.
Cons
See above
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Regional Manager, 180 dedicated employees, contracts lost to lower bidder
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NY27 January 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed managing staff of 6 and 174 employees, 8 contracts. Employees were dedicated to the public school, alternative school, and special needs students they transported. School bus contract management requires a delicate balance due to limited funds from contracts while still meeting the needs of clients, customers and employees. Region Manager was extremely supportive while we worked hard to settle a new labor contract with Teamsters.
Pros
Regional support system, freedom to manage
Cons
Resolution of labor contract was long and arduous
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver Life
Driver (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL24 January 2017
Starting pay is low and don't offer years of service to drivers that have experience that have driven before. Dispatch is really pushy and don't speak to drivers with the professionalism that should be given.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job to have
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Greys Creek Arlington TN21 January 2017
Durham is a great place to work if you are looking for a part time job to fit around your schedule. The benefits are okay and also the work environment.
Pros
GREAT PART TIME
Cons
NO FOR SURE ROUTES
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contracted company
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Algonquin, IL17 January 2017
Maintain a CDL license with state endorsements.
Drive School Bus
Maintain communications between students, parents and teachers.
Transport students back and forth from homes and schools.
Pros
the children
Cons
management and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Company
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN17 January 2017
Over all good company. The only thing that is bad is when school is out, you don't get paid like the teachers do. Good buses, the children can be difficult to handle sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work.
Monitor (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, IL16 January 2017
Bus service is a very easy place to work.. The employees are over all very nice and understanding. Benefits are not so good. And raises are low. But yet very easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 478 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1