Find companies:
DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
166 reviews

DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving Children
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), LaMarque, TXApril 20, 2014
Picked up dropped off students to/from home then school. The children were bad, did not like this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The drivers are the worst I've ever seen!
Driver-Durham School Services (Former Employee), Burnsville, MNApril 2, 2014
Pros: wages are okay
Cons: corporate mangement is awful and the school district is incompetent
The drivers at the Burnsville, MN location are the most unpleasant and unprofessional people I've ever worked with. They have a sense of entitlement unlike any I've ever seen and they complain about everybody and everything, almost daily. Everything that happens is always "some other person's fault".

I would never work for this company again!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers like family
School bus driver (Current Employee), Grandview, MoApril 2, 2014
Good family oriented environment. People take care of each other
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mantaining DOT standards and student discipline.
Consultant-Hired as Recruiter/Special Projects (Former Employee), Charleston, SCMarch 28, 2014
Pros: diversity of work.
Cons: management conflicits.
While acting as a consultant during the RFP proposal phase and contract negotiations, company management was very professional.

Due to the diversity of student transportation, everyday was eventful. I learned to exercise extreme tolerance and a sense of humor. Managed the recruiting, hiring, background checks and DOT certification. Responsible for – more... all special projects and events. Office environment was a team oriented. I truly enjoyed interacting with the drivers to get feedback on any issues, concerns or accomplishments they were experiencing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily activities
Bus Monitor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 18, 2014
• Prepares patient for treatments
• Transports between treatment areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working in this office atmosphere...fast paced and never a dull moment
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Cumberland, RIMarch 15, 2014
Enjoy working in this office. There is little time for scheduled breaks, but they work themselves into the day as necessary. I prefer the fast paced atmosphere because the days go by so quickly. Each day is different depending on what is going on. That is another plus...no time to get bored. Multitasking ability is a necessity! Everyone works together – more... as a team and has to be able to jump in and help out when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hostile work enviroment
Bus Attendant (Former Employee), Salina, KSMarch 2, 2014
Pros: i was at work while my kids were in school and home most of the time when my kids were
Cons: being out in the extreme hot or extreme cold
every day both morning and afternoon you checked in with the dispatcher and waited in the break room until it was time for your bus to leave then when your driver went out to the bus you would go with them . I learned to be careful who you trust. Didn't talk to a lot of the other employees . The hardest part of the job would have to be the early mornings. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Grass Valley, CAFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: helping people
Drove high school and grade school students from home to school and back.
Drove special needs students to various destinations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding job position
Bus Driver/Class BCD CDL Airbrakes (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WisconsinFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: being outdoors and the weekly pay.
Cons: the position is part time.
I enjoy working in Customer Service and helping others. This has been a major part of my life from working with patients, to working with our youth. I am not only driving our kids to where they need to be, I can also relate to them, and they feel safe. We converse and communicate with each other and I KNOW them as human beings. I also enjoy having the – more... driving experience as well. I get along fine with my co-workers also. The hardest part os that it is only part time, but other than that things are fine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job if you like children
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Pace, FLFebruary 5, 2014
I loved being around the students and teachers. Some of the parents sometimes needed to work with their kids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a nice place to work
Student Transportation Specialist (Bus driver) (Current Employee), Mount Vernon, ILFebruary 4, 2014
I have enjoyed the last couple of years with this company. It is a very rewarding job, I have had the privilege of watching the children on my bus to grow up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Davenport, IAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: less pay
Cons: off for summer
drive kids to and from school
If you want part-time work only when school is in session, becoming a school bus driver may be the ideal job. To get a school bus driver's license in the US, you must obtain a commercial driver's license (CDL) in your state. You must also meet state eligibility requirements to get school bus (S) and passenger (P) endorsements
co-workers – more... are great to work with
and the hardest part of the day is dealing with other drivers
and the most enjoyable part of the day is the kids – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus Driver
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Hayward, CAFebruary 3, 2014
- Performed pre-trip vehicle inspections to assure safe operation.
- Drove on a school bus route - picking up and dropping off student passengers at assigned stops on route.
- Performed post-trip vehicle inspections to assure all passengers have left the bus.
- Assisted with wheel chair rout when needed
- Attended and took part in safety meetings to – more... learn and assist others in accomplish the highest professional driving -skill level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned how to drive large school bus.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNJanuary 26, 2014
At work by 5:45,am. first student pickup at 6:05 am., last pick for day at 4:15pm. Worked a split shift. Co-workers were nice. Hardest part of job not being able to get the proper discipline for student who were constant trouble makers. Most enjoyable parts field trips and driving with no students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loving customers
Bus Aide (Former Employee), Gardena, CAJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: the children
Cons: the long splits
A great experience, I would do it again. the most enjoyable part of the job was the children; no matter the differences
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working wih the people.
Bus Aide (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJanuary 23, 2014
I loved working there but I got scared do to an accident.the drivers didn't pay attention to where they was going and we would get into an accident.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like working with kids or driving this is a good way to start a career.
Bus Assistant (Former Employee), Ames, IAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: off in the summer and any snow day school has
Cons: shorts breaks
I like working with my kids . you do get attached to the kids because you see them everyday and they tell you about their day good or bad happy or sad...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJanuary 20, 2014
There is not enough room for advancement. It is only a part time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management with an understanding work force.
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Elizabethtown, PAJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: employee luncheons, christmas employee dinner
Cons: part-time
A typical day involves collecting my bus key, performing a pre-trip inspection with a ZONAR hand held, record all information, start m route, collect all students and deliver them to school safely. In the afternoon I again collect my key, perform another pre-trip inspection, and go to the school to wait for students to be dismissed to be taken home. – more... At the end of the day I perform a post-trip/child check inspection and return my key.

This job has helped me become a more patient person.

Our management is always there to listen to any and all concerns or questions that the drivers may have.

Co-workers are enjoyable to be around.

The hardest part of the job is driving in the snow and at night in the colder months.

The most enjoyable part is knowing I am helping students get to where they need to be safely, and also to hear their laughter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working
Bus Operator (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: not enough hours
Taking kids to and from school safe. Jobs pretty easy. The most enjoyable part is the kids.

1 2 3 4 5

About DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES

Wanna go for a ride? National Express has a seat. Specializing in passenger transportation, the company serves riders in North – Read more

DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES Photos