Find companies:
DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
210 reviews

DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
San Bernardino Durham School Services
First Student (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAOctober 3, 2014
Pros: monday - friday work schedule, great pay
Cons: management and co workers
I loved working with the students, and helping them out with homework, and questions they may have that was appropriate. There was very poor Management skills. Management, would never keep any personal or company issues private. The workers up there always gossiped when a driver/attendant would hang out with another driver/attendant. I did learn lots – more... of new driving skills to use on the road. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many disgruntled workers hostile environment
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: very flexible
Cons: poor morale
My manager was incredibly supportive and encouraging. Staff was very disgruntled
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Regional Recruiter (Current Employee), Justin, TXSeptember 24, 2014
This is a great company to work for, really enjoy working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and flexible job
BUS AIDE (Former Employee), Cumberland, RISeptember 23, 2014
Cons: always in a rush
I absolutely loved working at Durham School Services. Only downfall is the rate of pay, First Student pays alot more. Also the hours they give you are great but if you work extra you need to be on top of it or else you will never see that on your paycheck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY INDEPENDENT YET STRUCTURED ENVIRONMENT
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Elk Grove Village, ILSeptember 19, 2014
Cons: independence
A typical day at work would consist of pre-tripping my school bus & making sure that t is safe to drive. Informing dispatch that I have cleared the bus I proceed out in the field where I pick up children from their homes & safely take them to school. Later in the day I repeat the same routine then pick up the children and drop them off safely home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Davenport, IASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: great time with the kids.
Cons: difficult kids
Very helpful in training and always reviewing safety policies, keeping them fresh in everyone's minds.
Management tried to find ways to help solve any issues that might have come up in as equally beneficial manner to all parties involved.
Very friendly management and office staff.
While the children were the most fun part of the job, they were usually – more... also the most challenging part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was just okay place
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Southfield, MISeptember 16, 2014
Pros: you got to go on trips
Cons: the break in between i didn't like. i would like to come to work and when i am done, i am done until the next day.
I would come in on time singing a song I would punch in. Go into the break room where the Co- workers meet until it was time to leave for the route. I would go out to the bus to start it up and do my check of the bus. fill out check list. Pull out to go and pick up the students, drop them off at school. What I learned is that people can change with – more... the right people in their life. Management never had our backs, even thou I was loyal to them they wasn't loyal or even care to fight for my job even thou they knew that I was reporting the things that the customer was doing and saying to me. I like my Co-Workers some of them where really good people. The hardest part of the job was being on the bus and hitting all the holes in the road, The wear and tear that bumping up and down and pressure on your feet the brake padel causes. The most enjoyable part of the job was the students that did care to do what you told them to do. Some of them you got attached too. and in some way you made a different in their life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open to new ideas
Field Recruiter I (Current Employee), Cordova, TNSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: contract work
planning and excuting daily recruiting tasks. I learned to plan special events. Management is very cooperative and helps you to succeed. i have work with great people, we are like a small family. The hardest part of the job is getting applicants to stay connected with the company. I love being in the field meeting new people and networking. Helping – more... people gain employment in this uncertain time in society. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you learn a lot from the children and from coworkers
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Baldwin Park, CASeptember 11, 2014
good place to work schedule can be tailored to your convenience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the special needs children.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CASeptember 5, 2014
The day started at six A.M. and ended at five P.M. Monday through Friday. The hardest part of the job was the split shift. Management was always willing to help with the children. I learned how to handle many different personalities when you have 68 kids on one bus. The special needs kids always amazed me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Transportation (Current Employee), Rochester Hills, MIAugust 28, 2014
Pros: schedule
Cons: a lot of appts and paperwork to have to carry and get renewed often
I enjoy taking kids to and from school. I am not pleased with all being part time however, I take what I can get to have a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another accomplishment toward shaping our future.
Bus Driver/Food Service (Former Employee), Grandview, MOAugust 24, 2014
Pros: getting along with students.
Cons: misconduct of students.
Enjoyed sitting in my yellow rig with my favorite number feeling mighty tall! Being apart of nurture is rewarding in itself and working for this company was just a mountain waiting to be climbed. I liked being reminded of what it was like riding, as much as i did driving, the new age sponges, to soak up what knowledge they could, before I would load – more... them up and take them home. The hardest of the job is seniority to get the extra work because you didn't work 8 hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get commercial driving practice
Bus Operator (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: kids, breaks between shifts for appointments, friendly management
Cons: kids, inconsistent time off
Wake up at 4:50 am and prepare to transport zombie children to their least favorite place - - - school. Prepare to evade the morning traffic as everyone cuts you off and disrespects one of the largest and important intercity vehicle - - - the school bus. But fear not, your dispatch team will support you while off practicing the most premium work quality – more... safety you can muster. Your fellow drivers have your back on any specific questions/comments about routes or student management. It can be harrowing at times since your passengers are the other end of the safety fulcrum as they weigh in with any unsafe practice and distracting measures such as yelling and throwing objects. Be like water and flow around the insults with good humor, only then will you win them over for some the most fun children observation only a wild animal documentary could ever educate you on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example: Productive and fun workplIt is place where you can meet all people from all walk of life. You can be a mentor for somace with ping pong table
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALAugust 19, 2014
Pros: donuts for company meeting
Cons: had freedom to radio in to take care our physical needs.
A typical day at work will be a child trying to challenge your authority.

This job also help you to keep your cool and to think before you act.

Getting alone with a very unique kind of co-worker was and art developed, you do learn to be humble.

The hardest part of the job was working in all kind of weather no more what conditions.

The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was knowing that your presence in a child life will change that child life for the rest their life. Hoping that you will someday meet that child again and them telling you how because of me their life is good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with.
Safety Supervisor (Current Employee), Waterbury, CTAugust 16, 2014
Pros: great training. meet some amazing people. and learn something new daily.
Cons: insurance is not great.need more cost effective options.
Durham School Services provides great training to their employees.
I have learned much in my 8 years with them.

The most important realization: is that you have to be happy in your position and like doing what you are doing, if not call yourself miserable and I will not accompany you, in your misery!

I absolutely love doing what I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace with children
Bus Assistant (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALAugust 13, 2014
Working with the company was overly exciting to wake up every morning to see my kids get on and off the bus. I treated them as my own, and they looked up to me. Most enjoyable job I've ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
bus monitor (Former Employee), Aurora, ILAugust 12, 2014
Good place to experience bus monitoring. Bad management. Bad pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy company
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Southfield, MIAugust 5, 2014
Pros: lunch
Cons: short breaks
Starts off with pre-trip of my bus, picking up students dropping off at school.
I learned children are so honest.
Management was not always on the same page.
We all had the same objected in mind which was the children's, safety.
Listening to loud noise.
Seeing the smiles on some of the kids faces.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job if you are retired.
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Milton, FLAugust 1, 2014
You get hired on as a part time employee only with 25 hours guaranteed. Learning to operate a school bus was a lot easier than expected. Management has "open door policy", if they like you. Very political office environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money is too shallow,
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Hitchcock, TxJuly 29, 2014
Pros: it's a job
Cons: benefits are too high for the money one makes, took half my salery for the hrs. i was working.
It's good for part time but the Co. don't want to pay much for people attempting to mak a living, Hr. are always shallow.

1 2 3 4 5

About DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES

Wanna go for a ride? National Express has a seat. Specializing in┬ápassenger transportation, the company serves riders in North – Read more

DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES Photos