Durham School Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 536 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unprofessional
Bus Monitor (Former Employee) –  Pflugerville, TX23 May 2017
This is very unprofessional job they pay is bad and they are very ghetto. It is filthy dirty in there and people always leaves while on the clock. Everybody messes around with each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding but stressful at times/ good co-workers
Bus Driver/Monitor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, IA21 May 2017
A typical day at work for me is preparing to do my job the best way possible.

I learned to deal with a variety of people in the most courteous way.

management was outstanding and professional.

Workplace culture: there were definitely opportunity to grow within the co.

The hardest part of this job was having to leave it.

The most enjoyable part was the people I worked with.
Pros
food provided for meetings
Cons
long breaks between work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for retirees
School Bus Attendant (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WA21 May 2017
If you have another source of income (SS, SSI) this might be a good fit. Turnover is high. Morale could be better. Pay is low compared to other transport. Subpar benefits.
Pros
180 days / year workweek
Cons
Just about everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun!
Payroll Admin (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WI20 May 2017
I enjoyed working for Durham and would have continued employment had I not relocated to Texas. Although fast paced co workers found ways to make it enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for part-time almost full-time. Hard to make a living.
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TX20 May 2017
You learn how to drive a bus. You obtain a CDL. It is not a job you can really make a living. If you could make a living it would be a great job to have.
Pros
Obtain CDL, and nice co-workers
Cons
Not paid for training, almost a part-time job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I was still employed
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SC17 May 2017
Driving school buses was a bit different for me but by the time I reached my 6th month I noticed that I built so many different relationships with students, parents, and school officials. I wish I never left I regret every moment of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management!
Driver/Monitor (Former Employee) –  Minetto, NY17 May 2017
The general manager was over her head. They neglected to inform me that I had to be there almost 2 years before I got ANY benefits and the training was NONEXISTENT! I was also never informed that I had to watch 240 hours of videos BEFORE I could touch a bus, prior to my being hired! Plus I id not find that little ditty out until approx. 4 weeks of employment and constantly being refused to be trained!
Pros
My fellow workers were awesome people!
Cons
No training, management is incompetent!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The drivers made working there good.
Driver (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO17 May 2017
I would not refer anyone to work there. Thr buses are not in total working order. There is no advancing at this company. The routes are never correct.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
San bernardino
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CA16 May 2017
Very stressful place to work although the pay is great. Senior dispatcher is great. Other have bad attitude. Busses are nice and clean. GM is cool. Training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Durham School Services
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Stratford, CT16 May 2017
This is a great job if you want to supplement your normal job and/or you have a pension. The company teaches you how to drive a school bus and they will work with you to obtain your CDL school bus/passenger endorsement. However , the catch is you do this free of pay for an average of about 13 weeks. The pay off is you do get a CDL license that's worth its weight in gold.
The job is fairly easy and the pay for the hours you work is very fair. You MUST have patience with the young children you drive and realize that they are kids. You must also be aware that you are working in an environment of lower educated people. The kind who think work is General Hospital or Peyton Place. As long as you mind your own business and do your job , you should be ok. The job is rewarding because you've helped bring children home safely to their family and you may even get a thank you or two from the kids you drive home.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
not enough pay to live on
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Durham is a family oriented place
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Iowa City, IA16 May 2017
I loved working for Durham. It is a very family oriented place and environment. The managers are caring and takes care of their employees by being very understanding and helping in anyway they can to help you succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need patience
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WA13 May 2017
Driving school buses are fun, but you need a lot of patience to deal with all the students. You never know what mix you will get. Pay is the lowest of any school bus drivers in the area. You do get weekends and holidays off, which is a plus.
Pros
Weekends off, usually set hours.
Cons
Lower pay and little to no summer work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with my kids
Special Needs Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Milford, CT13 May 2017
The Bus company I work for is fair to there employees. We are compensated fairly. I drive autistic and wheel chair children. I am attached to them now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Various cities8 May 2017
A Great Company to work for. I highly recommend them to anyone. I was in Management with them for 20 years. They are all about the customer and the employees.
Pros
Positive work place
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work and still have free time to take care of business
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WI8 May 2017
This job really does require much but to make sure your on time and at each bus stop on time to pick up students and get them to school on time safety is key
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could have been better
Human Resources/Field Trip Coordinator (Current Employee) –  North Charleston, SC3 May 2017
Great job at time like working with people however the management was not that great. The pay is not what it seems. Turnovers is high. Management do whatever
Pros
Off on major holidays
Cons
pay not great for what you do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding at times
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CT3 May 2017
Company is a great company as long as you do your job. Best to just do your job and go about your business. At times can feel like you work with a bunch of high schoolers. Supervisors are nice as long as you do what you have to do.
Pros
flexible, summers off and eligible to collect unemployment
Cons
Can have some challenging students
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Operation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SC2 May 2017
Durham was very unorganized with poor management. I would not encourage working as a staff but the drivers are treated more than fair. Any one looking to driver I would encourage to work for Durham School Services.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GReat training program
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN28 April 2017
Helped me by teaching me how to drive a school bus teaching me the laws and rules of the road. extra training on how to handle the children and was paid every week
Pros
training
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work at!
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Lake Villa, IL27 April 2017
The pay is not what it seems. Turnovers is high. Bad management. NO room to grow. Buses are terrible. A lot of favoritism. Training not as good as it should be.
Pros
Kids and the drivers
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Durham School Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 536 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2