Find companies:
DRS Technologies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
157 reviews

DRS Technologies Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very negative workplace
Accounts Receivables and Office Support Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 25, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: management, atmosphere
The workplace was very much a negative atmosphere. A lot of disgruntled co-workers, and a very forgetful boss. Found it hard to balance life with this job since your on call all the time with the boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Process driven typical of defense contractor.
Q.A. Engineer (Former Employee), Carleton Place OntarioNovember 1, 2012
Pros: cafeteria on-site
Cons: due to process requirements, it can take a long time to accomplish some tasks.
Very Process driven typical of defense contractor.

A typical day as a QA Engineer consists of root cause anaysis of non conforming product as well as performing process audits.

There is also the maintaning of all process manuals to comply with AS9100C standard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work
Customer Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 22, 2014
Views of the Company are very Professional

a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for. Caring management that recognizes hard work.
Satellite Systems / Network Analyst (Former Employee), Fort Monmouth, NJ; IraqJuly 19, 2014
Pros: salary, co-workers
Cons: isolated to small base in iraq
There typical work day was spent monitoring the network and responding accordingly. My co-workers were fantastic. Everyone was highly knowledgeable in their area of expertise willing to share that knowledge. We all taught one another each others jobs, satellite, networking and systems administration. Management was casual, open to suggestions, approachable, – more... not afraid to get their hands dirty and caring. The hardest part of the job was it was in Iraq. The most enjoyable part of the job were my co-workers and their willingness to teach me their jobs so we all could succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult
Client Service Engineer / Administrator (Former Employee), Rock Island, IowaJuly 17, 2014
Changes and implementation for new projects.
New project are always challenging and fulfilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun Place to work
Buyer (Former Employee), Oakland, NJJuly 10, 2014
Great co-workers
Excellent benefits
401k match
Opportunities for growth
Excellent place to work, I had two kids during my time at DRS, and they were so understanding and great about Maternity leave, FLMA and accommodations regarding coming back to work. They truly care about their employees and understand the value of keeping employees satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic benefits . badly managed
Test Technician II (Current Employee), Melbourne, FLJuly 9, 2014
Great pay and benefits, but badly managed with no advancement and constant layoffs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working with the Engineering Dept.
Senior Engineering Technician III (Former Employee), Merrimack, NHJuly 2, 2014
Building and testing all kinds of new products also I did some fine pitch soldering work under microscopes. I was responsilble for creating parts lists for new product and drawing block diagrams for the also using Microsoft Visio 2003
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace and makes sure you keep upgrading your skill sets
Senior Instructor (Current Employee), Kabul, KABJune 20, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
good place to meet new people. work environment is great. advancement for the nest level could be better
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Satcom/IT Information Systems (Current Employee), OverseasJune 19, 2014
Have a great time working with DRS have worked with some easy going and great coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this use to be the place where everyone wanted to work
Manufacturing Specialist II (Former Employee), Florence, KYJune 16, 2014
Pros: kigs island
Cons: great benefits .
i use to go to work not worried if i was going to have a job, but that all change when new management took over.
my co-workers were the best people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Implemented MRP
Production Planner (Former Employee), Johnstown PAJune 1, 2014
Worked for 6 months was laid off with my supervisor and 70 others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and challenging workplace
inspector (Former Employee), Palm Bay, FLMay 30, 2014
Pros: busy
Cons: busy
Busy and challenging workplace.
Busy and challenging workplace.
Busy and challenging workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freindly people
Assembler ll Specialist (Current Employee), Melbourne, FLMay 23, 2014
Pros: great work enviorment and team.
Cons: time clocks!
I use my time wisely pay attention to detail from my drawings to building prototypes for engineers.

I take what I've learned and apply it my everyday work needs.

I'm a team player and believe a happier work environment makes a more productive person.

The hardest part is when you can't get a product to work but when you do its very enjoyable knowing – more... you were part of developing a great product! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward thinking company with very good employee relations and efficent work management supervision.
Technician Electronic (Current Employee), Melbourne, FLMay 22, 2014
Pros: free coffee and paid lunches to celebrate sucessful achieved goals.
Cons: reduced perks.
Typical workdays are well regulated with thoughtful managers concerned about their work force employees. Coworkers are friendly and helpful and provide good assistance when needed. Hardest part of job is to remember assembly processes since workers are rotated around different jobs and locations to achieve broad skills sets work talents to maintain – more... a experienced work force, with high functional ability. Best part of job getting and building my skill levels. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
received many new skills that adds to my professional profile
Senior Logistics Engineer Specialist (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 21, 2014
DRS Technologies is a great place to work with people willing to help you succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an excellent place to work
Test Engineer thru Engineering manager (Former Employee), MelbourneMay 20, 2014
Results oriented company which rewards employees with excellent compensation and environment. However, the culture is that of excessive and often extreme hours.

Unfortunately top management placed far to much stock in un-awarded contracts which was the companies downfall.

I would certainly work there again given the oppertunity. My department was – more... more like a family rather than peers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Technology allows for usage of full-range engineering capabilities.
MECHANICAL ENGINEER II - Reconnaissance (Former Employee), Cypress, CAMay 19, 2014
Pros: commeted to continues improvement.
Cons: company runs lean of staff at times more than 40 hours required to meet schedule and budget.
90/ 80 work week allow for greater balance work/personal life.
Aerospace defense contractor usually are the highest paid engineering.
While not secure, no job is really, you can advance in the company with proper credentials
Management is fair and allows you to be a leader.
Turnover rate, employees come and go, but mostly go.
Ethical expectations established – more... by company communications and yearly reviews.
Challenging technologies includes optical sensor systems that are packaged in a stabilized gimbal payload, using a wide range of engineering capabilities; electrical, optical, system engineers, and mechanical engineering people working together on engineering design software, PRO/E CAD, to design and develop platforms that interface with major contractors’ space claims, envelopes, as well as through subcontractor and customer specifications, providing quality manufacture and prototype to proof achieve customer satisfaction and specifications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable one on one care
Pa/cna (Former Employee), Sorento, ILApril 27, 2014
Enjoyable 1 on 1 care. Flexible hours. The management is the person u work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Engineer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 23, 2014
Worked on environmental control systems for the armed forces; army space heaters, ground support equipment and chemical biological shelters. Lots of design opportunities.

1 2 3 4 5

About DRS Technologies

DRS Technologies has zeroed in on its target -- to be the fastest growing defense company in the world. It offers mission-critical – Read more

DRS Technologies Photos