Drake International

101 reviews

Drake International Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair treatment by management
Warehouse Worker, Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 4, 2016
Pros: none
Cons: Very unorganized, being treated unfairly and lied to.
Firstly, they false advertised for forklift position, they never even had the contract yet and I had to wait almost a month. The woman didn't know anything about the position. When I got there, the job was a material handler and not a general forklift position. The people at the job placement were very unhappy and were bullies to me until I finally walked out and quit because of verbal harassment. I told the woman at Drake that I walked out because of being harassed. 2 days later, the woman at Drake told me that the manager at my placement wanted me back but I refused. Then without her investigating the matter, a month later, I received a letter from Drake stating that I'm fired for walking off the job. By law, it is my right to walk off the job if being harassed or feel threatened. Drake doesn't back their employees, they just throw them out like garbage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with alot of potential.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONNovember 1, 2012
Working for Bell was an interesting position, i had learned so much and also enjoyed my job as a customer service representative, the only downfall to the job was that i was hired through a temp. agency so the job was only temporary. I had 4 full weeks of hands on training, learning about all of Bell's products, how to deal with customers, and also learning how to use all of the programs for the billing department of Bell home phone. The hardest part of the job was having to meet the sales requirements and also being evaluated on basically everything. The cow-workers and management staff were always great, they made the job more enjoyable. After getting laid off from Bell, i was satisfied with everything i had learned through the company and i planned to use all of my skills in my future employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically Demanding Job with an Excellent Management Team
Swamper (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 4, 2015
Pros: Flexible hours
Cons: No overtime, no room for advancement in the company
A typical day at work involves excessive amounts of physical labour such as heavy lifting, standing for extended periods of time and breaking down pallets as well as stacking and organizing skids. While working here, I acquired knowledge of how to use a pallet jack as well as time management skills to work quickly and efficiently. The management team is very accommodating with hours which is a bonus for people who need flexibility in their schedules. My co-workers are very hard working and are kind individuals. The hardest part of my day is doing the demanding physical labour, such as heavy lifting, but the most enjoyable part is being able to work with my friends on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
above most others as far as temp jobs firms are concerned
Temporary Acct Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 12, 2012
Pros: supportive, encouraging, good with testing and analyzing my office skills.
Cons: none that i was aware of.
This company was quite thorough in testing me, to ensure that I was qualified for the position they sent me to. I got all my paychecks on time, When there was a question at the customer about what tasks I was to be doing, someone from this firm advised the customer what I was capable of... and what I was not to be doing. I appreciated this firm's support in my first paying Canadian job.

The people at the customer's location were polite and proper, not terribly friendly but always correct.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced productive work environmemt
Pharmaceutical Order Picker (Former Employee), New Westminster, BCApril 12, 2015
Pros: Workplace and the team envolved
Cons: Warehouse closure
Pull up order sheets, set up work cart, then go through work orders in as accurate and timely fashion till end shift. How to use and operate an orderinfg device that would count down and reorder stock as it was being processed to keep enough stock on hand for followong day. Management was friendly and professional, but also fun to work with. The co-workers were always willing to help and keep you involved in the team environment, making the high paced day enjoyable. The warehouse closed due to a corporate business decision. The people and the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun And Stress-Free first job!
Sign Walker (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 3, 2012
Pros: stress-free environment, friendly co-workers.
Cons: the wind made it hard to hold onto the sign.
My usual day at work would include;

-Arriving a half hour early
-Talking with co-workers and supervisor about the day ahead
-Holding a sign/advertising for the company
-Taking a refreshing fifteen minute break

I had no quarrels with management, Or my Co-workers we all got along well.I would say the hardest part of the job would have been holding onto the sign to keep it from blowing away in the wind.I found this job enjoyable because it was stress-free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp jobs are great for networking and getting inside view of jobs that interest you.
Mulltiple Employment Services (Former Employee), BCAugust 28, 2015
Pros: various jobs
Cons: sometimes term is too short.
All Temporary services offer opportunity to learn various day to day
procedures with a view to inside employment. Management is great because they can guide you to where you want to be and what you need to get there. Co-workers offer you other views of various jobs
in your field. The hardest part of these jobs is leaving sometimes,
The best of Term work is always increasing your network of friends and employment opportunites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating
Talent Pool (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONMay 9, 2012
Pros: get paid every friday
Cons: no vacation, no paid time off, vacation pay is on every pay
I have been a Drake employee for going on 2 years, my placements were not consistent and mostly short term. I am currently in a long term placement that is driving me crazy. I am not eligible for vacation. I do not get any time off that is paid. I feel that they should hold the vacation pay in long term placements so that if a day off is needed you can get paid. There are no benefits at all other than you get paid every Friday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain new skills
Field Agent (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 12, 2013
Pros: great service, paid weekly, call in or they call you, can find possible fulltime
Cons: empty work periods
Drake international Company overall is a Great Temp Agency not only is it better than sitting around at another temp agency but the work load is better your paid weekly and its a great income suppliment id rate it 5 out 6 stars because some area's need work but overall if your starting out a great place to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, fantastic people
Full-time janitor position at Black and Decker (Former Employee), Decker, MBApril 25, 2013
Pros: treated very well, by everybody and respected
Cons: no cons
Drake International is a great organization to work for.
The office staff is second to none. After being directed by them to Black and Decker, it was a joy to work there. My co-workers were great the greatest part of the job was going to work in the morning. The hardest part was being laid off because the place was closing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacking in income security.
Labour (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 6, 2015
Pros: fantastic people, relaxed hours.
Cons: random jobs, job length, and pay rate. pay was usually low
I loved my coworkers, every one of them however with temporary positioning, you never knew where you'd be working next, for how long or for how much until the last moment. The majority of the work didn't pay much and was very physically demanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract position with intense training
Contract-Customer Service Specialist-Shade-O-Matic (Former Employee), Concord, ONJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: free coffee, new knowledge
Cons: i was commuting 4-5 hrs a day, due to york region bus strike
This was a contract position to tide me over until something permanent or closer to home came up. It provided me with an intense 4 week training program that was very detailed and professionally presented
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
feildstaff (Former Employee), kingston ontJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: they payed a minimum 4 hrs even if i only worked 2
Cons: short notice
Drake International is a easy fun going job that the employees in the office assigned me to a different work environment almost everyday the only thing I didn't like was the fact that I would get short notice to be at a jobsite so I was always in a rush
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, low work standards
General labour/ (Former Employee), lcbo warehouse.September 17, 2015
This is one of few agencies that I have worked for that has never made an effort to aid me in actually getting hired on. They do not interact with their employees almost ever, and often have issues with getting overtime pay paid out correctly.

Would not recommend to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad job/workplace environment
Senior Technical Recruiter (Former Employee), CalgaryJanuary 27, 2015
Pros: collegues
Cons: long hours, no freedom
I am a Senior Recruiter with over 8 years experience and I am a great Recruiter but they push to do sales if that is not what an individual likes to do. I know where my successes are but unfortunately Drake is more of a sweat shop than anything!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Recruiter with excellent customer service
Senior Technical Recuiter (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 30, 2015
Pros: work-life balance
Cons: long hours, sales
Drake is not only cheap but in disarray and I was trying to create my division in IT and Engineering and found that I was not given my chance to work as I wanted to. The hours were long and unnecessary if arrived to work early. Poor management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD WORKING ENVIRONMENT. FUN JOB.
EQAO SCORER (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: coffe and biscuits are served on linen covered tables. quiet environment.
Cons: short duration of assignment. seasonal.
VERY ORGANIZED FROM JOB INSTRUCTIONS TO PAYROLL. I LIKE READING AND WRITING SO I LIKED MY JOB AS A SCORER IN LONG AND SHORT ESSAYS. UNFORTUNATELY THIS JOB IS ONLY SEASONAL FROM 1 WEEK - 2 WEEK ASSIGNMENT,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a placement agency afterall.
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee), Picton, ONJune 10, 2013
Pros: easygoing
Cons: low pay
a typical day at work depends on where you are assigned.

overall, pay is low, but thats how these agenices work and thats how they get you jobs.

management is easy to get along with and will tailor the job search to your prefernces
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, but constant labour.
General Laborer (Former Employee), Kingston, ONMarch 3, 2013
Would get an email or call asking if i could work for a certain company to help with their projects. acquired some surveying experience from a job, but most jobs were not a high enough pay for the labour I was doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasted my time with them
Airplane Refueler (Former Employee), Toronto WeatJuly 10, 2012
Seem they keep posting the same job I have applied for and was told the position was filled and for the past year the keep posting this same postition for Aircraft Refueler at Toronto Island Airport for Porte Air Lines. Must be a tough job and cant keep employees (NOT)
Claimed Profile
Industry
    Links
    Drake International website