Find companies:
Downer EDI
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Downer EDI Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but working hard on our safety culture
Haul Pack Operator & Water Cart Operator (Current Employee), Christmas Creek WASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: learning different things
Cons: 14/7 roster
Water cart operator is my main daily job, watering haul roads and every day clearing the work area of dust. I also drive dump truck and find the 789 is so much more comfortable

You are never to old to learn from the young or the old. As a Health and Safety Rep you are learning every day and I welcome the courses and guidance in this role. I have just – more... completed the two day ICAM course and found it very interesting.

Management at Downer are very approachable and they are not afraid to have a chat. They never have and issue if you need a moment of their time to discuss any issues.

My co-workers are a very close and we not only enjoy each other company but we socialise out side work. We work well together and are able to have a laugh together but can also tell each other if there is and issue.

The hardest part of the job is the 2/1 roster.

I enjoy most days but the best part of my job is, as a Heath and Safety Rep I am able to learn something most days. I get to be involved with a variety of issues – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruitment Agecies
labourer, driver (Former Employee), Christchurch, SMay 16, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: company
high staff turnover, management terrible, no communication, treat temps like dirt,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
top rate
OPERATOR, DOWNER EDI MINING (Current Employee), Coppabella, QLDApril 4, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: long hours
the company is great to work for. Good people and a fantastic work culture. the bosses keep us well informed about future events and strive to make it a happy work environment. look forward to going to work each day. a
Also there are training opportunities available for any who want to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would have stayed with Downer if work was available
Electrician Grade 5 QA + Commissioning (Former Employee), Newcastle, NSWFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: good mates
Cons: leaving downer
The day would begin with our pre start meeting and then get our tasks for the day.
I learnt from skilled Supervisors who did not hesitate to assist.
Management were motivated in job completion but NOT at the expense of safety for there employees.
Thoroughly enjoyed working with my workmates whom I am still in contact with after 9 years.
Hardest part – more... of the job would have to be leaving Downer as no work was on offer at the time of project completion.
Forming friendships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an equal opportunity employer
Concrete Foreman,Driver,Digger, Roller,Operator (Former Employee), New PlymouthJanuary 26, 2014
Worked for this company a few years back, enjoyed my time there , Reason for leaving got asked by another company to work for them. Left on good terms , taught alot of young guys the ropes.
Re applied to work for them again late last year for the same type of work, so was well qualified for the job. However was phoned by their HR and was told I was – more... too old as they don't employ anyone over 60 , got this email in reply
"We have reviewed your application and after considering your skills, qualifications, background and experience relevant to this particular position, we regret to inform you that we will not be progressing your application to the next stage.

We will continue to hold your application on file for any future opportunities that we think you would be more suited to"
Despite them advertising for similar positions have never heard from them again – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing.
Telco Provisioning (Current Employee), WellingtonJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: permanent roles, overtime rates, safety gear provided.
Cons: long hours, compulsory overtime, lack of essential resources, no support for real issues.
Empty promises, reactive management and token corporate gestures around health&safety (the focus is on a safe environment, they fail to consider the human element and the effect that ongoing workplace stresses have on an individual's ability to stay safe.)

They'll send you up a power pole, fully kitted out, with hard hat and safety harness... but turn – more... a blind eye to the fact that you've been working 10hours already, the light is fading and the only break you got a chance to take that day was interrupted by dispatch dumping more work on you. Praise is lumped on those who work 7days a week.

There is no structure or system to effectively use the pool of staff available. Attempts to raise issues and seek resolution = personal attacks and a generally squeeze being applied until the individual either leaves, or otherwise shuts up. They operate on a divide and conquer principle... every employee is an island. Very poor morale.

Depression is rife. The company uses an EAP programme, to provide counselling to staff, but you'll have to fight to take leave, to make an appointment. The support starts and ends there, you take your problems to EAP and fix them there, or don't come back. No interest in creating a workplace that works for frontline staff. Sadly this means the good people move on and the ones who remain get more and more bitter.

Best viewed as a stepping stone to somewhere else or an opportunity to work ALL OF THE HOURS and save some money.
Be warned tho, you wont get the option to scale back your hours as you age/ life changes. It's all or nothing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a lot better
Trades Assistant (Former Employee), Newcastle, NSWSeptember 25, 2013
Job changes with each job site & site Managers.
Rail procedures
Still in Training,
Good to work with.
Changes to all rules & Mind reading.
Varied work sites seeing different parts of the state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no reasonable adjustment or compassion or respect
operator (Former Employee), moranbahSeptember 20, 2013
Cons: no support just rubbish u behind your back, no matter the circumstances.
Management were very quick to judge persons on there own personal advancement criteria without gathering all the facts if you happened to unfortunately hurt yourself on the job, the assistance received varied to the end result of being permanently injured, without a care in the world from the company so reconsider before APPLYING as I will never be – more... the same physically at home or in a working capacity, its that simple, if u like being bullshitted to then this is a job for u. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Peggy (Former Employee), Newman, WASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: ability to get ahead because of good wages.
Cons: can't really think of any
Cleaning of all crib huts, toilets and offices, airport runs, tip runs and fuel run.
How to do fuel run and reverse trailer
Most in management positions were good,
Most were good
when it rains very hard to keep clean
sense of satisfaction of at the end of the day when you know youve done your best to do a good job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work.
Packing technician (Former Employee), Carrara,Gold CoastMay 3, 2013
Pros: did look after staff with a lunch shout now and again, xmas function
Start the day with a safety meeting.Then if trucks or containers need to be loading or unloaded I would start that.Then making and packing crates and securing items inside for overseas export.Making sure yard is clean and tidy.Co workers were all good mates.Being part of a reliable team that all pitch in together .Have experience with nailguns,also – more... electrical and air tools. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lousy
transport co-ordinator/purchasing officer (Current Employee), perthApril 9, 2013
Pros: there is none
Cons: long hours 6 days a week
would never recommend this company to anyone..have no respect for their workers even after being with them for 25 1/2 yrs...was told by a staff member of another department that workshop site was shutting down...management didn't even have the decency to come down and let workers know what was happening...to find out from another source in my books – more... is an absolute disgrace....turnover of workers for this company is colossal because of their pay and work conditions...company also has a cashflow problem so there is no guarantee you even get your pay on time...have lost count of the number of times i have not been paid on time......DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES WORK FOR THIS COMPANY, YOU WILL LIVE TO REGRET IT. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunities!
dispatch coordinator (Current Employee), moranbahApril 1, 2013
Pros: camp facilities, conditions
Cons: roster ( would love 7/7 eventually )
Have given me every opportunity to progress in the mining industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job
Zero Harm Advisor (Former Employee), MacedonFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: reasonably good pay.
Cons: just a job. don't expect to be happy with certain moral & ethical decisions.
Middle management good, work as a team.
Hardest part of the job is to ensure my butt is covered rather than ensuring team is safe.
Very reluctant to work for Downer again.
Question why managers dont read or reply to emails/ voicemails.
Limited / no support.
Some may question if moral compass works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Electricia (Current Employee), Karara WADecember 1, 2012
Pros: excellent team work
Cons: no access to shops
Enjoy working with my mates. I've learnt many new skills related to my job. My team members are very supportive and it's great to work with them. The hardest part of my job is separation from my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First rate attitude to safety
Crane Operator/Rigger (Former Employee), South Walker Creey CPP UpgradeNovember 27, 2012
Pros: good co workers
Cons: bus travel to site everyday
A typical day at work starts with a prestart meeting covering safety issues performance and job allocation's for the day.The jobs are then planned and completed in a timely safe manner.My co workers were very professional.The hardest part of the job when it was nessecary to work in full sun on the hottest days.The most enjoyable part of the job was – more... seeing the plant in operation . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could have a more on the after hours entertainment side
mechanical fitter (Former Employee), s w c cpp upgrade from 16/4/12 to 21/11/12November 25, 2012
Pros: free camp
Cons: to much travelling
Its construction work so its only as good as you are . A bit short on the fun side of things and morale can get low
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction
Instrument Technician (Current Employee), Construction LocationsNovember 17, 2012
Pros: excellent salary
Cons: construction work
One of the better companies for consistant work and conditions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good camp
AllarounderDowner (Current Employee), QldAugust 15, 2012
I can not folt downer hardest part of job is4/4 roster /top work mates good mob to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very friendly.
Trade assistant (Former Employee), Kalgoorlie,Brisbane and DampierAugust 1, 2012
Pros: good pay rates.
Cons: long hours but good rewards at the end of your pay week.
If i have to get a call from Downer Edi i will drop what i am doing and work for them where ever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good Co workers,
Drill Fitter (Current Employee), Christmas Creek, W.A.May 17, 2012
Pros: big company, great training, good experience
Cons: to much travel, high cost of travel straining on the family, too much time away, too far away, takes over 24 hours of travel each way.
121/2 hour days, meals supplied at camp, fixing drills and maintenance on some light vehicles, parts ordering. Have gained knowledge of diesel fitter and gained a few extra tickets with extended training by the company. Management is variable depending on the level. Young guys out of uni at top jobs does not always produce the best outcome, sometimes – more... experience just wins out over everything. Most co workers are great, language barriers in the mines can be challenging with so many Overseas people coming to work here with out much english or experience. The hours are long and sometimes talks with supervisors can be frustrating as there often seems to be bias opinions. I enjoy the trade I am in and thrive on working with my hands and learning news skills each day. My work has started as a small toen mechanic and progressed into a trade of may variables and challenges on the way. I am proud of my acchievments and progressions in my trade. – less

About Downer EDI

Downer EDI Limited (Downer) is a leading provider of engineering and infrastructure management services to customers operating – Read more