Domtar Employee Reviews

Found 47 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop skills and experience!
Network Technician - Contractor (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ON18 June 2015
Good management and helpful co-workers
Very good place to gain hands-on experience
Sometime it can be stressful depending on the nature of project
Highly industrial production environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plan, control and direct the purchasing and inventory control activities
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON15 March 2015
negotiate and execute contracts, issue purchase orders, RFQs, Blanket Orders, etc. we worked as a team. Involved with accounts payable, receivable, oversee the stores operation. Schedule deliveries of raw materials and other products. Keep a close liason with the Traffic Department. Interview vendors, contact companies when invoices are not correct. Refuse truckload deliveries if product is not as outlined on the purchase orders. Review quality of goods received. Attend management round table meetings.

Working at this plant was a pleasure. We all worked as a team and helped each other. There is absolutely no negative feedback that I can give about this plant.

I have learned a lot about manufacturing and shipping products all over the world according to specifications and government regulations.
Pros
Team work, we were like a family rather than company & workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to Work
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Dryden Ontario5 January 2015
I love my job as a millwright I have been considering finding employment in the US for many years now and have decided to try now while I am still young. I feel that Domtar has a very competitive pay scale and are very fair to the workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunity
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario12 November 2014
Deliver different types of printing products to customers on a timely schedule.
Pros
Good working envrinment
Cons
Heavy Lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Asst. Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Red Rock, ON11 November 2014
Productive and fun workplace with caring co-workers, and
management.
Pros
Great work hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Aide aux procédés - dpt de préparation des pâtes (Former Employee) –  Hull, QC13 October 2014
Environnement de travail agréable, gratifiant

Belle collaboration entre les équipes dans les quarts, ainsi avec la gestion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Envirennement de travail agréable
commis de bureau (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 October 2014
- Doté d’un esprit d’équipe et possédez des habiletés à développer et à entretenir des relations positives et durables.
-Responsable, autonome et possédant un esprit d’analyse développé.
Pros
Repas gratuit
Cons
Pas d'avancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked part time in different departments and enjoyed meeting new people
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Quebec3 July 2014
replaced in different department and was able to learn the various operation of each department.
Pros
very stress free environment
Cons
I would have like to spend more time in the departments to get to know the people better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfaction.
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Espanola, ON24 March 2014
Great variety of work to utilize your skills.
Learned the use of laser alignment.
Management allows you to work independently.
Great team environment with co-workers.
Hardest part of the job is temperature extremes.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the challenges forcing you to think.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Prescott, ON19 March 2014
Work 3 shifts being able to run different machines and make good products
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good company to work for.
Production of fine papers as paper technician (Former Employee) –  St Catharines20 February 2014
Always learning.
Many good co-workers.
Management fair and asked for input.
Hardest part of the job was to produce rare and new grades of paper.
Enjoyable part trying to produce rare and new grades of paper.
Pros
Independent work
Cons
Hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mon meilleur emploi pendant 10 années
Adjointe administrative,Secrétariat du Conseil (Former Employee) –  Montréal11 February 2014
J'ai pu évoluer dans un environnement de haute direction ce qui m'a permis d'acquérir un très grande expérience.
Pros
la compagnie est très axée sur les employées
Cons
de longues heures - pas toujours pratique pour la vie de famille
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sentiment d'appartenance
Analyste sénior aux payables et au fichier maître (Former Employee) –  Montreal15 January 2014
Quand on travaille chez Domtar, on ressent un fort sentiment d'appartenance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good people, not much in salary though.
Inside Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 January 2014
A good company to work for but don't expect to make much in salary as it operates on very thin margin business, my wages after 10 yrs of employement actually went down as years passed, I was making less money after 10 yrs then 1st yr?? People were great, had a lot of fun. If it wasn't for low salary I'd still be there. I really enjoyed working with my manager, awesome guy...
Had to jump off the ship due to rising cost of living.
Pros
Enjoyed woking and learning from all.
Cons
Wages never rose, company rarely made profit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Domtar - Stable environment
Analyste technique (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 December 2013
A typical day of work is answering all calls from internal clients and replying to their request and incidents via email and resolving their issues as much as possible unless it needs to be transfered to second level.

The management is ok but too severe for its own good. Being strick is a good thing but abusing it can be harmful for your employee's moral.

The team I work with is amazing, we learn from each other allot.

Moving up the ladder in this enterprise is close to impossible, they are not an IT company and it shows.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company and IT environment
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 December 2013
ILM

ECM

SAP Archiving

Sharepoint

People working at Domtar are great!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 October 2013
Friendly co-workers who are always willing to lend a helping hand.
Learned SAP software and became more familiar with Excel spreadsheets. Learned about rebate preparation.
Cons
no flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strange and bizzare place to work
electrician (Former Employee) –  espanola ontario2 August 2013
I worked here as an electrician. They rotate you through different departments every 4 months before they put you on shift. I had no problems in the first dept and enjoyed working with the people and the bosses.
When I was sent to a new dept after about 4 weeks my boss went to all my previous coworkers to see if there were any faults in me and my work. Amazingly my coworkers who I thought were my friends were overflowing in there condemnations.
In my 25yr career I have never experienced such psychological warfare. I refused to sign a very restrictive contract for my employment, and because of this was fired.
Another bizarre aspect of the company is the fact that there is a
n a z i shrine in the basement.
If you have a heart of stone and are a chameleon then this is your company. I would recommend sticking to Sudbury Jobs.
Pros
occasional gift cards given good wage
Cons
schizophrenic management style.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary, very easy going job, great learning experience
Core manager, and General aid (Former Employee) –  Windsor, QC25 April 2013
Learned how to drive fork lifts, and learned the basics of team work. Co-workers are hard working people, and they expect you to be just as hard working, which is a good thing. Security is top notch, no one was hurt on the job while i was there. Cafeteria food was expensive, but its better to pack a lunch.
Pros
not very stressful, well paid.
Cons
long hours, very hot inside
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are great good place to work wish I could stay
Heavy duty mechanic (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC26 March 2013
Domtar is shutting down half of the kamlops operation and I'm getting laid off!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Domtar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 134 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7