Domtar Employee Reviews

Found 45 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfaction.
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Espanola, ON24 March 2014
Great variety of work to utilize your skills.
Learned the use of laser alignment.
Management allows you to work independently.
Great team environment with co-workers.
Hardest part of the job is temperature extremes.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the challenges forcing you to think.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Technicien aux Comptes Payables (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 August 2015
Very busy, fast moving. People are friendly and work experience was great. No advancement, as the paper division is moving to the USA.
Pros
fun people
Cons
heavy workload
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked part time in different departments and enjoyed meeting new people
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Quebec3 July 2014
replaced in different department and was able to learn the various operation of each department.
Pros
very stress free environment
Cons
I would have like to spend more time in the departments to get to know the people better
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good company to work for.
Production of fine papers as paper technician (Former Employee) –  St Catharines20 February 2014
Always learning.
Many good co-workers.
Management fair and asked for input.
Hardest part of the job was to produce rare and new grades of paper.
Enjoyable part trying to produce rare and new grades of paper.
Pros
Independent work
Cons
Hot
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to Work
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Dryden Ontario5 January 2015
I love my job as a millwright I have been considering finding employment in the US for many years now and have decided to try now while I am still young. I feel that Domtar has a very competitive pay scale and are very fair to the workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 October 2013
Friendly co-workers who are always willing to lend a helping hand.
Learned SAP software and became more familiar with Excel spreadsheets. Learned about rebate preparation.
Cons
no flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work before the new mill "manager" arrived.
Power Engineer - 4th Class (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC22 January 2013
I've been given many opportunities to learn new skills and train on new jobs. I like my supervisors and coworkers and feel like part of a team.

Sometimes, some of the jobs can be dirty or exhausting but they are not always like that. The pay is good and the company offers education incentives to anyone who wants them. There is plenty of overtime available for those who want to earn extra money but there is also plenty of time off so its fairly easy to strike a balance.

Its a unionized plant but the union and the company get along quite well so there doesn't seem to be much friction. There's lots of willingness to cooperate and overall, we enjoy a positive working environment. At least that was the case up to about a year ago when the new manager took over the mill. Now, the relationship isn't very good at all.
Pros
excellent wages, opportunities for advancement, lots of learning opportunities, positive work environment (used to be)
Cons
recent management decisions have resulted in my unemployment.
Was this review helpful?Yes13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful and Reliable
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, Ontario21 December 2011
The facility I was employed with has since closed. When open it was a good place to work. It employed several of my family members and alot of my community.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunity
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario12 November 2014
Deliver different types of printing products to customers on a timely schedule.
Pros
Good working envrinment
Cons
Heavy Lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are great good place to work wish I could stay
Heavy duty mechanic (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC26 March 2013
Domtar is shutting down half of the kamlops operation and I'm getting laid off!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Asst. Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Red Rock, ON11 November 2014
Productive and fun workplace with caring co-workers, and
management.
Pros
Great work hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company and IT environment
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 December 2013
ILM

ECM

SAP Archiving

Sharepoint

People working at Domtar are great!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Prescott, ON19 March 2014
Work 3 shifts being able to run different machines and make good products
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Directeur de commercialisation, province de Québec
Directeur de commercialisation, province de Québec (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 January 2017
Comme de nombreuses organisations du secteur des pâtes et papiers, Domtar traverse une étape de restructuration importante. En raison d’une réorganisation d’Entreprise Group récente, des fonctions ont été combinées. Cela s’est traduit par la suppression de plusieurs postes, y compris le mien. Je suis fier de mes contributions durant mes années là-bas dont avoir augmenté la pénétration dans le territoire par une gestion efficace, et je regarde cela comme une opportunité d’utiliser mes forces et mon expérience dans un nouveau cadre de travail…
Pros
environnement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise avec de bonnes valeurs
Représentante service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 January 2016
Environnement convivial, acceuillant. Clients régulier ce qui rendait le travail plus agréable.

J'ai appris beaucoup sur le domaine du papier, la gestion de compte client, la négociation et la géographie canadienne.

Les manager avait une bonne technique avec leur employer, le respect était primordial.

Des collègues fort sympatique toujours prêt à aider.

Aspect difficile, d'avoir eu a quitté lorsque le département à due fermer ses portes.

Aspect agréable, l'environnement de travail.
Pros
Équipe de travail
Cons
Abolition de nos postes
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usine de Windsor
Aide opérateur Lessiveur (Former Employee) –  Windsor, QC13 April 2016
En période importante de retraite/embauche depuis 3 ans;
J'ai exercé plusieurs postes au sein de Domtar-Windsor, dont 4 ans aux Ressources Humaines de la Division.
Bon emploi, mais pression importante à gérer.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non, prendre anciens employeurs
Superviseur, facturation et support technique (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 March 2016
Domtar demeure une bonne entreprise. Cependant, je préfère donner mes avis avec CST Canada Co.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable et stimulant
Agente de sûreté (Former Employee) –  Windsor, QC1 July 2015
Les possibilitsé de développement
Les mandats de santé et sécurité au travail
La rédaction des plans d'urgence
Les formations que je donnais aux personnels en sécurité incendie et le port des appareils autonomes respiratoires
Les formations que je donnais aux entrepreneurs de la construction et la surveillance des chantiers de construction
L'inspection des équipements de protection incendie
Pros
Beaucoup de possibilité de formation et de simulation en situations d'urgence
Cons
Possibilité de progression hiérarchique limité en 1999
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mon meilleur emploi pendant 10 années
Adjointe administrative,Secrétariat du Conseil (Former Employee) –  Montréal11 February 2014
J'ai pu évoluer dans un environnement de haute direction ce qui m'a permis d'acquérir un très grande expérience.
Pros
la compagnie est très axée sur les employées
Cons
de longues heures - pas toujours pratique pour la vie de famille
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Envirennement de travail agréable
commis de bureau (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 October 2014
- Doté d’un esprit d’équipe et possédez des habiletés à développer et à entretenir des relations positives et durables.
-Responsable, autonome et possédant un esprit d’analyse développé.
Pros
Repas gratuit
Cons
Pas d'avancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 126 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6