DOMTAR Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJanuary 15, 2016
Very well organized environment, corporate, they have everything documented, processes, etc, doing your daily job is not a problem. Management is very aware about life/work balance.

The best place I've worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agree with electrician
Staff (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ONNovember 12, 2015
Some great people hourly and staff,

Good corporate entity and strategies- willing to invest in employee development.
Top notch CEO
Local management is inconsistent (understated!!)
Family connections take priority and matter.
Do your homework before committing.
Pros
great product lines
Cons
Working for current management group
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
IT Projects Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  MontrealAugust 19, 2015
I enjoy working at Domtar because of the people and because of the way employees are treated. There has always been room for advancement (which is important to me), and work/life balance is very respected.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop skills and experience!
Network Technician - Contractor (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ONJune 18, 2015
Good management and helpful co-workers
Very good place to gain hands-on experience
Sometime it can be stressful depending on the nature of project
Highly industrial production environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to Work
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Dryden OntarioJanuary 5, 2015
I love my job as a millwright I have been considering finding employment in the US for many years now and have decided to try now while I am still young. I feel that Domtar has a very competitive pay scale and are very fair to the workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Prescott, ONMarch 19, 2014
Work 3 shifts being able to run different machines and make good products
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Domtar - Stable environment
Analyste technique (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCDecember 26, 2013
A typical day of work is answering all calls from internal clients and replying to their request and incidents via email and resolving their issues as much as possible unless it needs to be transfered to second level.

The management is ok but too severe for its own good. Being strick is a good thing but abusing it can be harmful for your employee's moral.

The team I work with is amazing, we learn from each other allot.

Moving up the ladder in this enterprise is close to impossible, they are not an IT company and it shows.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company and IT environment
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCDecember 9, 2013
ILM

ECM

SAP Archiving

Sharepoint

People working at Domtar are great!
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary, very easy going job, great learning experience
Core manager, and General aid (Former Employee) –  Windsor, QCApril 25, 2013
Learned how to drive fork lifts, and learned the basics of team work. Co-workers are hard working people, and they expect you to be just as hard working, which is a good thing. Security is top notch, no one was hurt on the job while i was there. Cafeteria food was expensive, but its better to pack a lunch.
Pros
not very stressful, well paid.
Cons
long hours, very hot inside
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great co-workers, reliable managemnet
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BCFebruary 25, 2013
I very much enjoyed working at Domtar in Kamloops BC.
The hours were long and I spent most of my days outdoors under the hot BC sun, however my co-workers were very easy going and fun people to spend my days with.
The management was amazing. They made sure all their employees were happy and looked after. Every morning, we started our day with a brief discussion about how we all felt about the job, if there were any area's we could, as a team, improve on and what, if any, idea's we had that could benefit our working conditions.
Over all, one of the best job's I've had thus far.
Cons
long hours in the hot bc sun
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work before the new mill "manager" arrived.
Power Engineer - 4th Class (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BCJanuary 22, 2013
I've been given many opportunities to learn new skills and train on new jobs. I like my supervisors and coworkers and feel like part of a team.

Sometimes, some of the jobs can be dirty or exhausting but they are not always like that. The pay is good and the company offers education incentives to anyone who wants them. There is plenty of overtime available for those who want to earn extra money but there is also plenty of time off so its fairly easy to strike a balance.

Its a unionized plant but the union and the company get along quite well so there doesn't seem to be much friction. There's lots of willingness to cooperate and overall, we enjoy a positive working environment. At least that was the case up to about a year ago when the new manager took over the mill. Now, the relationship isn't very good at all.
Pros
excellent wages, opportunities for advancement, lots of learning opportunities, positive work environment (used to be)
Cons
recent management decisions have resulted in my unemployment.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful and Reliable
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, OntarioDecember 21, 2011
The facility I was employed with has since closed. When open it was a good place to work. It employed several of my family members and alot of my community.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usine de Windsor
Aide opérateur Lessiveur (Former Employee) –  Windsor, QCApril 13, 2016
En période importante de retraite/embauche depuis 3 ans;
J'ai exercé plusieurs postes au sein de Domtar-Windsor, dont 4 ans aux Ressources Humaines de la Division.
Bon emploi, mais pression importante à gérer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non, prendre anciens employeurs
Superviseur, facturation et support technique (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCMarch 26, 2016
Domtar demeure une bonne entreprise. Cependant, je préfère donner mes avis avec CST Canada Co.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise avec de bonnes valeurs
Représentante service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJanuary 14, 2016
Environnement convivial, acceuillant. Clients régulier ce qui rendait le travail plus agréable.

J'ai appris beaucoup sur le domaine du papier, la gestion de compte client, la négociation et la géographie canadienne.

Les manager avait une bonne technique avec leur employer, le respect était primordial.

Des collègues fort sympatique toujours prêt à aider.

Aspect difficile, d'avoir eu a quitté lorsque le département à due fermer ses portes.

Aspect agréable, l'environnement de travail.
Pros
Équipe de travail
Cons
Abolition de nos postes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable et stimulant
Agente de sûreté (Former Employee) –  Windsor, QCJuly 1, 2015
Les possibilitsé de développement
Les mandats de santé et sécurité au travail
La rédaction des plans d'urgence
Les formations que je donnais aux personnels en sécurité incendie et le port des appareils autonomes respiratoires
Les formations que je donnais aux entrepreneurs de la construction et la surveillance des chantiers de construction
L'inspection des équipements de protection incendie
Pros
Beaucoup de possibilité de formation et de simulation en situations d'urgence
Cons
Possibilité de progression hiérarchique limité en 1999
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Aide aux procédés - dpt de préparation des pâtes (Former Employee) –  Hull, QCOctober 13, 2014
Environnement de travail agréable, gratifiant

Belle collaboration entre les équipes dans les quarts, ainsi avec la gestion.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sentiment d'appartenance
Analyste sénior aux payables et au fichier maître (Former Employee) –  MontrealJanuary 15, 2014
Quand on travaille chez Domtar, on ressent un fort sentiment d'appartenance.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MON EMPLOI PRÉFÉRÉ
Représentant des ventes (Former Employee) –  MONTRÉALDecember 13, 2012
EXCELLENTE ENVIRONNEMENT DE TRAVAIL ET LE TRAVAIL D ÉQUIPE IMPECCAPLE.
Pros
travail d équipe
Cons
fusion avec cascade (norampac)
Was this review helpful?YesNo8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement agréable, lieux stressant
Opérateur de machineries lourdes (Former Employee) –  windsor qcNovember 13, 2012
DONNER UN SERVICE, TRANSPORTER DES MATIERES DANGEREUSES AVEC UN CAMION À BENNE DANS LE SITE D'ENFOUISSEMENT.
Pros
avantage sociaux
Cons
produit dangereux
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 52 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture