Domtar Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company to work for however very little opportunities to advance.
Supervisor, Administrative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCSeptember 3, 2016
A typical day at Domtar as Supervisor was busy. Always problem solving since the nature of the department being service related. Mail miss delivered, parcels too heavy, receptionist calls in sick last minute, meeting room required NOW but no rooms available.

I learned a great deal about prioritizing problems and executing a top-notch service.

My coworkers were hardworking and we worked as a team backing each other up.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with an internal customer who claims he or she is right and having to defend your staff because you know they did their job. Nonetheless the client says otherwise so you have to explain calmly and try to resolve.

The best part of the job was when surveys were done every second year and the overall score was outstanding. It made me feel as though I had accomplished my job as a Supervisor.
Pros
Job security
Cons
no culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bussy but sometime funny place
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCMay 17, 2016
It was a good opportunity for me to work and get experience here for several years but looks like are too many changes lately in a short period of time.
Pros
Team activities
Cons
Pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most negative workplace I've ever worked at in my entire life
Instrumentation Technician (Former Employee) –  Dryden, ONMay 13, 2016
If this was 1984, this mill would be state of the art, but since management refuses to put any money into upgrading anything and planning refuses to plan anything, it's a very frustrating atmosphere. Selfish Union always cutting back room deals for themselves and not sticking up for the younger people, and one of the most negative, unhelpful shops I've ever been a part of in my entire life.
Pros
Sometimes contractors bring doughnuts
Cons
Little to no OT, management doesn't spend for upgrades, negative atmosphere, selfish unhelpful union
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment,carreer advancement
Electrical/Instrument Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ONFebruary 26, 2016
working at Domtar had a family atmosphere ,we all worked as a team
training was available without any issues and they promoted within which was a plus for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Domtar is a decent company to work for...
Pulp mill worker (Current Employee) –  Dryden, ONFebruary 16, 2016
My typical day as an oiler is to be given numerous work orders that entail planning, routes, different types of oils or greases for each application, sometimes walking long distances or climbing many flights of stairs with loads, in-doors and outside. Management and all co-workes integrate into a good working relationship. As with almost any job, there are hard dirty area, also there are a number of easy chores, and all are handled in ways that makes the company profitable.
Pros
The company is heavly involved with safety programs and incentives
Cons
As always, better comunication would be a bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJanuary 15, 2016
Very well organized environment, corporate, they have everything documented, processes, etc, doing your daily job is not a problem. Management is very aware about life/work balance.

The best place I've worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work for
Material handler (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ONJanuary 12, 2016
hard work, but well worth it at the end of a day. there was no real hard jobs, only if you made it that way. good co-workers make your job so much easier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agree with electrician
Staff (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ONNovember 12, 2015
Some great people hourly and staff,

Good corporate entity and strategies- willing to invest in employee development.
Top notch CEO
Local management is inconsistent (understated!!)
Family connections take priority and matter.
Do your homework before committing.
Pros
great product lines
Cons
Working for current management group
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Technicien aux Comptes Payables (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCAugust 30, 2015
Very busy, fast moving. People are friendly and work experience was great. No advancement, as the paper division is moving to the USA.
Pros
fun people
Cons
heavy workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
IT Projects Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  MontrealAugust 19, 2015
I enjoy working at Domtar because of the people and because of the way employees are treated. There has always been room for advancement (which is important to me), and work/life balance is very respected.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop skills and experience!
Network Technician - Contractor (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ONJune 18, 2015
Good management and helpful co-workers
Very good place to gain hands-on experience
Sometime it can be stressful depending on the nature of project
Highly industrial production environment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plan, control and direct the purchasing and inventory control activities
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ONMarch 15, 2015
negotiate and execute contracts, issue purchase orders, RFQs, Blanket Orders, etc. we worked as a team. Involved with accounts payable, receivable, oversee the stores operation. Schedule deliveries of raw materials and other products. Keep a close liason with the Traffic Department. Interview vendors, contact companies when invoices are not correct. Refuse truckload deliveries if product is not as outlined on the purchase orders. Review quality of goods received. Attend management round table meetings.

Working at this plant was a pleasure. We all worked as a team and helped each other. There is absolutely no negative feedback that I can give about this plant.

I have learned a lot about manufacturing and shipping products all over the world according to specifications and government regulations.
Pros
team work, we were like a family rather than company & workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to Work
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Dryden OntarioJanuary 5, 2015
I love my job as a millwright I have been considering finding employment in the US for many years now and have decided to try now while I am still young. I feel that Domtar has a very competitive pay scale and are very fair to the workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunity
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, OntarioNovember 12, 2014
Deliver different types of printing products to customers on a timely schedule.
Pros
good working envrinment
Cons
heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Asst. Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Red Rock, ONNovember 11, 2014
Productive and fun workplace with caring co-workers, and
management.
Pros
great work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked part time in different departments and enjoyed meeting new people
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montreal, QuebecJuly 3, 2014
replaced in different department and was able to learn the various operation of each department.
Pros
very stress free environment
Cons
i would have like to spend more time in the departments to get to know the people better
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfaction.
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Espanola, ONMarch 24, 2014
Great variety of work to utilize your skills.
Learned the use of laser alignment.
Management allows you to work independently.
Great team environment with co-workers.
Hardest part of the job is temperature extremes.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the challenges forcing you to think.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Prescott, ONMarch 19, 2014
Work 3 shifts being able to run different machines and make good products
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good company to work for.
Production of fine papers as paper technician (Former Employee) –  St CatharinesFebruary 20, 2014
Always learning.
Many good co-workers.
Management fair and asked for input.
Hardest part of the job was to produce rare and new grades of paper.
Enjoyable part trying to produce rare and new grades of paper.
Pros
independent work
Cons
hot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good people, not much in salary though.
Inside Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJanuary 11, 2014
A good company to work for but don't expect to make much in salary as it operates on very thin margin business, my wages after 10 yrs of employement actually went down as years passed, I was making less money after 10 yrs then 1st yr?? People were great, had a lot of fun. If it wasn't for low salary I'd still be there. I really enjoyed working with my manager, awesome guy...
Had to jump off the ship due to rising cost of living.
Pros
enjoyed woking and learning from all.
Cons
wages never rose, company rarely made profit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 107 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7