Domtar Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Espanola Mill looks like a great place
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nairn16 June 2017
The Domtar I worked at no longer exists so I can't really rate them anymore. I would like to work at the Espanola Mill in the future so hopefully they hire me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
coordontaur (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Ouest, QC1 June 2017
Bonne entreprise, bien organisé. Excellente atmosphère d travail
Pros
Culture et ambiance
Cons
securité
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travaille intéressant
Analyste SAP BW, Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 April 2017
Relation interpersonnelle agréable et bonne ambiance de travail.
Pros
Esprit d'équipe
Cons
Pression des haut dirigants
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merge made management unconsistant
SALES ACCOUNTING AGENT (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 February 2017
I got there in the middle of a merge with Staple.
New credit office created for this reason with new management and not much communication.
Ambience was very cold and competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice enviroment to work
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 January 2017
Nice place , worked in a team, friendly management.
Office environment , Learned and used SAP everyday. Learned computer skills and involved in projects.
Pros
good benifits
Cons
jobs are being transfered to other head office in USA
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Directeur de commercialisation, province de Québec
Directeur de commercialisation, province de Québec (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 January 2017
Comme de nombreuses organisations du secteur des pâtes et papiers, Domtar traverse une étape de restructuration importante. En raison d’une réorganisation d’Entreprise Group récente, des fonctions ont été combinées. Cela s’est traduit par la suppression de plusieurs postes, y compris le mien. Je suis fier de mes contributions durant mes années là-bas dont avoir augmenté la pénétration dans le territoire par une gestion efficace, et je regarde cela comme une opportunité d’utiliser mes forces et mon expérience dans un nouveau cadre de travail…
Pros
environnement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dictatorship runs stromg
Licensed Red Seal Plumber (Current Employee) –  Espanola, ON6 December 2016
Absolutely the worst company I've ever worked for. Staff and management are extremely inexperienced and under qualified. Many human rights, employment standards act and occupational health and safety infractions have occurred by supervisors and the human resources department refuses to deal with the issues and the grievances they have caused. Should have never come to work here.
Pros
None
Cons
Falce accusations and unjust discipline run wild
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paper mill
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON17 November 2016
domtar is no longer in business in canada. but at the time the people i worked with were great but the union people were selfish and couldn't care less if you needed the job. if you werent union you shouldnt be working there
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company to work for however very little opportunities to advance.
Supervisor, Administrative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 September 2016
A typical day at Domtar as Supervisor was busy. Always problem solving since the nature of the department being service related. Mail miss delivered, parcels too heavy, receptionist calls in sick last minute, meeting room required NOW but no rooms available.

I learned a great deal about prioritizing problems and executing a top-notch service.

My coworkers were hardworking and we worked as a team backing each other up.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with an internal customer who claims he or she is right and having to defend your staff because you know they did their job. Nonetheless the client says otherwise so you have to explain calmly and try to resolve.

The best part of the job was when surveys were done every second year and the overall score was outstanding. It made me feel as though I had accomplished my job as a Supervisor.
Pros
Job security
Cons
no culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most negative workplace I've ever worked at in my entire life
Instrumentation Technician (Former Employee) –  Dryden, ON13 May 2016
If this was 1984, this mill would be state of the art, but since management refuses to put any money into upgrading anything and planning refuses to plan anything, it's a very frustrating atmosphere. Selfish Union always cutting back room deals for themselves and not sticking up for the younger people, and one of the most negative, unhelpful shops I've ever been a part of in my entire life.
Pros
Sometimes contractors bring doughnuts
Cons
Little to no OT, management doesn't spend for upgrades, negative atmosphere, selfish unhelpful union
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usine de Windsor
Aide opérateur Lessiveur (Former Employee) –  Windsor, QC13 April 2016
En période importante de retraite/embauche depuis 3 ans;
J'ai exercé plusieurs postes au sein de Domtar-Windsor, dont 4 ans aux Ressources Humaines de la Division.
Bon emploi, mais pression importante à gérer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non, prendre anciens employeurs
Superviseur, facturation et support technique (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 March 2016
Domtar demeure une bonne entreprise. Cependant, je préfère donner mes avis avec CST Canada Co.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment,carreer advancement
Electrical/Instrument Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON26 February 2016
working at Domtar had a family atmosphere ,we all worked as a team
training was available without any issues and they promoted within which was a plus for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Domtar is a decent company to work for...
Pulp mill worker (Current Employee) –  Dryden, ON16 February 2016
My typical day as an oiler is to be given numerous work orders that entail planning, routes, different types of oils or greases for each application, sometimes walking long distances or climbing many flights of stairs with loads, in-doors and outside. Management and all co-workes integrate into a good working relationship. As with almost any job, there are hard dirty area, also there are a number of easy chores, and all are handled in ways that makes the company profitable.
Pros
The company is heavly involved with safety programs and incentives
Cons
As always, better comunication would be a bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 January 2016
Very well organized environment, corporate, they have everything documented, processes, etc, doing your daily job is not a problem. Management is very aware about life/work balance.

The best place I've worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise avec de bonnes valeurs
Représentante service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 January 2016
Environnement convivial, acceuillant. Clients régulier ce qui rendait le travail plus agréable.

J'ai appris beaucoup sur le domaine du papier, la gestion de compte client, la négociation et la géographie canadienne.

Les manager avait une bonne technique avec leur employer, le respect était primordial.

Des collègues fort sympatique toujours prêt à aider.

Aspect difficile, d'avoir eu a quitté lorsque le département à due fermer ses portes.

Aspect agréable, l'environnement de travail.
Pros
Équipe de travail
Cons
Abolition de nos postes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work for
Material handler (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON12 January 2016
hard work, but well worth it at the end of a day. there was no real hard jobs, only if you made it that way. good co-workers make your job so much easier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agree with electrician
Staff (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ON12 November 2015
Some great people hourly and staff,

Good corporate entity and strategies- willing to invest in employee development.
Top notch CEO
Local management is inconsistent (understated!!)
Family connections take priority and matter.
Do your homework before committing.
Pros
great product lines
Cons
Working for current management group
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Technicien aux Comptes Payables (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 August 2015
Very busy, fast moving. People are friendly and work experience was great. No advancement, as the paper division is moving to the USA.
Pros
fun people
Cons
heavy workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
IT Projects Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  Montreal19 August 2015
I enjoy working at Domtar because of the people and because of the way employees are treated. There has always been room for advancement (which is important to me), and work/life balance is very respected.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Domtar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 151 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6