Dominion Enterprises Employee Reviews

Showing all 105 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for Homes.com
Sales Coordinator for Mortgage Sales Department (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VA21 February 2017
I have worked for Homes.com for over 10 years and can't say enough good words to describe my job, environment and management. They are the greatest!!!
I have learned from my managers and have taught my skills to my managers.
The company is the best!!! Dominion Enterprises offers so much for their employees!
Hardest part of the job is traveling on highway 264 from Virginia Beach to Norfolk...that highway can get scary some days.
Pros
Great company with fantastic benefits!
Cons
Driving back and forth to work on Highway 264.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant closed
Printing Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Columbia, TN22 January 2017
It was a pretty good place to work. A lot of shift changing. Overall a pretty good place to work. Just sucked they shut us down when there were lots of people that needed the job.
Pros
Three work days.
Cons
Plant closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay no benefits
Driver (Former Employee) –  Richland, MS3 January 2017
I liked the job because it was never a dull moment on my route.They did not pay like they should and we did not get benefits.They lay off when there is no work so that makes this job unstable for a family man
Pros
decent pay just to get by, you get one paid vacation
Cons
no benefits, no paid holidays, salary, long hours without overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Billing Representative (Current Employee) –  Bothell, WA15 December 2016
Dominion Enterprises dba ForRent is a fantastic company to work for. Great people, additional training available and goof benefits. Would work for them again at anytime.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team.
Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  West Springfield, MA21 November 2016
Great for entry-level employee. A place with enough work to help a beginner but not place to work and support a family on without the need for part time employment.
Pros
People are great medium sized company with warm small business vibe
Cons
Pay not competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MS4 November 2016
some of the best people i have ever met, great work environment, pay and benefits are far superior to what i was expecting
Pros
hours, responsibilities, freedom
Cons
you have to be self motivated, but really not a con
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall
Regional Sales Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MO6 October 2016
Good overall
Good work environment
small company
overstaffed sales team
Relaxed work atmosphere
fair compensation packages
enjoyable work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent community
Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VA2 October 2016
I have found Dominion Enterprises to be a very welcoming company with obvious appreciation for employees. I am on a productive Agile development team with dedicated and skilled teammates. There are many opportunities to learn and we get a training budget. There have been several themed parties/competitions (tailgate party themed competition between floors, March Madness, May 4th/Star Wars party with various contests, etc.). We recently had a United Way kick-off lunch and participated in the United Way Day of Caring. There are volunteer opportunities posted throughout the year.

The worst thing about the job is parking, and it's not that bad unless the weather is bad. Spaces are limited in the building so DE offers employees parking in a nearby garage or a pass for public transportation.

It does seem like some of the businesses in the DE umbrella are more pleasant environments than others. Trader Online and Commercial Web Services have been good in my experience.
Pros
Welcoming environment, celebrations, community involvement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boiler Room
Account Executive/Sales (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VA6 July 2016
Boiler room environment with strong emphasis on consistently reaching a minimum goal. The Average rep consistently falls below goal and there's a high turnover rate. Not a place to make a permanent career. This is a great stepping stone, and they are consistently getting better.
Pros
Great spiffs and bonuses
Cons
High pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mixed bag
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Missouri5 July 2016
Good benefits, good products. Inept management, NO training or support. Sales goals are unattainable for newer employees. Read the fine print, they are a transition job at best. The lack of leadership will be their demise
Pros
Benefits, work/life balance
Cons
Lack of leadershipo, management, horrible training.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being your own boss
Associate (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VA16 June 2016
A typical day at work was enjoyable. I learned alot about the marketing and advertising business. For the most management was friendly and professional. The less favorable part of working with Dominion Enterprises is that change is constant which could result in loss of employment.. The most enjoyable part of the job was the location of DE in the heart of downtown Norfolk. Compensation and benefits competitive along with great employee appreciation and perks.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Position elimination
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Project/Audit Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VA25 May 2016
Good Company - Good work life balance

I've been here many years and seen many changes over time.
It is a good place for people to begin a career in the technology industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VA16 May 2016
The co-workers were great and the supervisor cares for his employees. The company is beginning to pick up cliental and the atmosphere is relaxing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for.
Payroll Supervisor/Payroll Manager (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VA14 April 2016
I learned a tremendous amount pertaining to my profession when at Cox Communications.

I also obtained both my FPC and CPP Certifications while employed at Cox.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money to be made if you work hard
Marketing Leads Specialist (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VA29 March 2016
Majority of pay is commission based, so is not for everyone. Benefits are sub-par. Money can go either way (good or bad). Timeshare industry is very corrupt.
Pros
Money to be made.
Cons
None to be made if you're not motivated.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Online Advertising Solutions
Internet Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VA24 March 2016
Measurable results for online advertisers. Daily effort and initiative toward acquiring new business opportunities for marine dealers including web site platforms; SEO; banner and classified advertising campaigns. The office environment was exciting and energetic, while focused on development and success exceeding sales goals. Management was anxious to assist and serve the team environment with group and one-on-one meetings and training. Coordinating sales presentations with the understanding that every "No" answer gets you closer to your next "Yes" was sometimes troubling. Yet with such a quality product and support, the "Yes" answer was that much more desirable.
Pros
Tremendous benefits package and an exciting work environment
Cons
Charge backs were poorly handled by management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
General Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VA26 February 2016
No complaints, overall good company, growth opportunities for those that work hard, average pay, vacation took one year before could use timeoff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Assisting customers (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FL28 January 2016
My time working at Dominion has been nothing but enjoyable. I have been able to learn and adapt new computer based and customer service training in a hands on and fast paced working environment. Coworkers and management are genuinely friendly, and dedicated to the success of the clients as well as surrounding employees. Everyone here is consistently friendly, compassionate and willing to help whenever needed. Not at all the typical office environment.
Pros
Free Food, Kind Coworkers, Customer Service Appreciation Week
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 hour days
Sr. Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VA25 January 2016
20 hour days are the norm when working within the ForRent company. There is absolutely NO compensation, not even a thank you for all the overtime worked, but you are expected at your desk for your 8 hour shift.
Managers and Supervisors have their favorites that are able to call their own hours and are left alone accordingly. Manager offer no direction for the employees, only ridicule.
The "open door" policy that HR recommends is only the fast track to get an employee fired.
This company does not recognize their employees hard work and going above and beyond.
The only time you see the CEO is when he wants the employee to donate to United Way.
Pros
Casual attire, paid parking
Cons
Poor managment, non-existent CEO, long work hours, no appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improving Their Culture
Ad Operations and Technology (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VA2 January 2016
Overall, Dominion Enterprises is improving and innovating at an amazing rate when you consider who thrifty and budget-conscience the culture has been. Due to how many subsidiaries the company has, to rate DE would be unfair as each one operates as its own entity.

One of their particular subsidiaries is either one of their biggest revenue earners or possibly the biggest revenue earner. They have been close to being profitable as a subsidiary many times. Considering the high turnover rates in some of their smaller departments, the amount of resources used for on-boarding, background checks, salaries, vacations, and miscellaneous, they are constantly plagued with perpetuating new hires.

DE has been improving its company culture after a poor review from a former employee and it's evident in that the company slowly moving away from its conservative views to a semi-liberal view. This is not saying that the individuals themselves have transitioned, but the overall company culture has been now made aware that they are moving to a more liberal company.

Overall, my time at this department provided some technical work but not nearly as much as I have been accustomed in previous experiences. With that being said, I neither have bad or good feelings toward DE as a whole.
Pros
Some holidays off
Cons
Heavy workload with little room for promotions due to the small department
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 105 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4