Dollarama Employee Reviews

Found 1,079 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keyholder/Supervisor
Key Holder/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 September 2016
Customers were fantastic and I could and would not work with a management team that

posted the schedule with less than 12 hours notice.
schedule changed day to day with no way of checking the schedule without going in.
Breaks were not given

when I tried to bring up these facts privately and also in a group I was reprimanded for causing drama!
Pros
Meeting and helping new customers
Cons
Managament was 100% unapproachable and unfair!
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job at Dollarama
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK28 January 2017
I always enjoyed what I was doing I liked the people I worked with and my employers. I liked that I got to meet old friends and new faces. I enjoyed that I was able to assist customers with finding what they were looking for or answer questions that they may have had.
Pros
Was always a positive work enviroment
Cons
Wages were not so good
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Efficient Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON5 October 2016
A good work environment, a typical day would consists of me fulfilling all the tasks required, never disappointed the manager. I learned many things about customer service, and how to provide the best service possible and create a welcoming environment. The store had poor management, but great co-workers. Hours were good, and over all a good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Key Holder and Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Callingwood North, AB3 January 2017
*Good company that treats everyone fairly and with respect.
* Have learned good selling skills.
* Always have something to do.
* Learn new marketing skills
* Managers treat people with respect
* Keeping up with stocking
* Find new ways to display merchandise that is pleasing to the consumer
Pros
exciting
Cons
trying to get some co workers to accept changes
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place friendly people. extreamly busy.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL27 December 2016
everyone was very friendly, staff and employees, but we were constantly busy, i would recommend working for dollarama.be prepared to be very on your toes. manager was very flexible with hours and very kind. the manager schedules breaks witch i thought was another nice thing as well. overall good experience.
Pros
very friendly people
Cons
always busy, ALWAYS
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful introduction to the working world
Key Holder/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON7 March 2017
My first job was with this company and I was with them for 8 years. This company taught a lot about myself and what hard work entails. I was able to work in all aspects for this company, from cashier, to stock to customer service, receiving and shipping and eventually Key Holder.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an okay job has its ups and downs
Key Holder/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 November 2016
A typical day of work consists of starting your day by breaking daily skids or arriving to work and having your buggy of merchandise ready to be put out for your aisle. Stock and arrange merchandise for your current aisle along with filling out daily count sheets. Assisting the cashier on the cash register when busy. Working evening shifts consist of stocking some boxes and cleaning the store up for the next day.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE28 October 2016
I would serve customers inside the restaurant and through the drive thru ( taking orders, packaging orders ect.) I would also close cashes and clean store when needed.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Split shifts (long hours)
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work!
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  St. Albert, AB28 February 2017
They don't give out very many hours. I got 3 days a week to start. After the busy season was over I was down to two days a week. Now I am down to one day. Not tat all what I was told when I started.
They don't care about there people. Poor company to work for!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB18 January 2017
Busy, customer service, retail, cashier, be able to lift 50 pounds, management was understanding, great fun co-workers, shift work, weekend work, clean store
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and alot of interacting with customer's and employee's
Stocks Boy (Current Employee) –  Stratford, ON6 February 2017
I have just recently started at Dollarama, and we have just opened a new store. There was alot of work to do with organizing and training as well.
Pros
Once the stores open's and everything's running smoothly, things will not be so overwhelming.
Cons
Part time for now until I can obtain more hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great selection of items, well organized and neat, easy to find what you are searching for
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Heartland5 October 2016
Dollarama provides many great things at a rock bottom price.The management is Very polite to listen of all problems and theco workersisfriendlynature.
Pros
all the great products we have, at such unbelievable prices
Cons
Dollarama store employees are paid minimum wage to start
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent work environment with some people who are great to talk to.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 August 2016
Typical day would be to help customers pay for their items while filling pop or snack s near the front of the store.
I learned how to work on a till and how to deal with the pressure of a busy day.
Management was okay, would take several breaks to smoke but was overall pretty good.
Most co-workers were easy to get along with.
Hardest part of the job was having to deal with shoplifters.
Most enjoyable part was my break.
Pros
Life Experience
Cons
No other pros
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst management ever
Associate (Former Employee) –  west Vancouver, BC23 November 2016
Management likes to choose favorites and if you're not one of them you will be treated poorly and with no respect and fire you, and given almost no hours regardless of your work ethic.
Pros
fun meeting new people
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facing,shelving and unpacking the box
Cashier and clerical work (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC31 March 2016
I work as dollarama for 5 years . I had an experience for shelving and facing. I like dollarama but it is very low salary . I was prepared to work very hard because I have great focus.
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked my co workers
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS26 March 2017
good place to work, nice people awesome co workers good products lots of hours job was not hard manger was very nice lots of work to do never a down time to stand around to do nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place with very little pressure
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON30 November 2016
It was a really nice experience, My manager was very kind and helping, never overload me with extra work. Always supportive and guiding. The store has proper kitchen for lunch and other meals. Co worker were also very kind and supportive.
Pros
Proper kitchen for dinning and breaks
Cons
Unlike many places we dont get any discount or free things from the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the job very much and the people
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC4 January 2017
There could be more hours given more suport for the people who need and steeper punishment for wrongly behaving in the work place and better training but other then that it was great
Pros
Friendly staff welcome place to work
Cons
A little to busy at times more multitasking then i would have liked
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible attitudes
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Lindsay, ON24 February 2017
i worked here for 2 months. staff were ignorant and completely disorganized. overall terrible negative place to work. after the first month of getting 4-6 shifts a week. they just stopped putting me on a schedule completely and didn't call or inform me of anything.
Cons
barely any shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Store Setup (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON16 February 2017
I worked at Dollarama as someone helping with the new store set-up. Most employees were very friendly and productive. Everyday was a busy day and I enjoyed helping stock the shelves. The hardest part of the job would be some heavy lifting, yet I managed very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,093 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3