Find companies:
Dollarama
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
300 reviews

Dollarama Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollarama
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Grand Falls-Windsor, NLNovember 12, 2013
Great place to work, very nice people to work with. It's a very tidy place to work, and dollarama is a great store and makes a lot of customers happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a herd worker and a quick learner.
Manager (Current Employee), Carbonear, NLNovember 11, 2013
I am available at any time . I am use to early morning and late nights. I can manage a staff with great ease .I love a challenge. I love to learn new things and take great pride and joy in my end result. I love to leave at the end of my day and be proud at what I accomplished.I am a people person and can adopt to any environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollarama
Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCNovember 10, 2013
A typical day at work wasn't so bad but it wasn't good either. They expected me to know how to do things when I had told them that it was my first job and I had no experience. I learned how to handle customers, use the cash register and stock. The hardest part was dealing with the boss, only because I knew she didn't like me. The most enjoyable part – more... was getting to interact with the customers and my co-workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
cashier/stocker (Former Employee), Tillsonburg, ONOctober 25, 2013
I enjoyed just seeing the people who would walk into the store with a huge smile and asks how my day is going. I have also learned how to manage new tasks that come and also old ones with different ways on handling it . The hardest part was getting along with all my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Key Holder (Former Employee), Aurora, ONOctober 24, 2013
Working for Dollarama was a great experience. All my staff was fun and outgoing and very hard working. My manager was always there if needed and fully willing to lend a hand. The hardest part of my job was definitely unloading the skids. You need to be physically able to lift heavy boxes. The best part of my job was interacting with my staff and customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Keyholder (Current Employee), Richmond Hill, ONOctober 23, 2013
My co-workers are fun to work with. There is never a boring day. I get to interact with a lot of interesting customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Sales clerk / stock person (Current Employee), Truro, NSOctober 21, 2013
Pros: pros would have to be the great customers and staff.
Cons: cons would be not enough time .
We break down pallets , stock shelves. Its a fast pace job . Things to get done fast and organized.Not counting doing cash when called. We help customers find what they are looking for and give suggestions on some of the products we carry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy lifting should be assinged to a men employee.
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 21, 2013
Pros: no free
Cons: no holidays
Six to eight hours work for 5 week.
I was able to share my ideas on how to merchandise items and also gave me the opportunity learned on customer service.
The management has a changeable mind.
No comments on the co-workers, they do excellent job.
Lifting heavy boxes.
Merchandising the items is the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an Ideal place to work with
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 15, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: limited working hours with very high expectations
1. Start your day by receiving deliveries, reviewing all communications from top management. planning the work strategy for the day.
2. I learned new things on how to manage a store that is very diversified but limited working hours but high expectations.
3. Management is very challenging difficult to understand.
4. Uncooperative workers and undisciplined.
5. – more... To meet the monthly target and company standards with limited hours.
6. I have not experience anything enjoyable in Dollarama. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier (Former Employee), Mississauga,ONTOctober 13, 2013
Pros: long hours
Cons: seasonal job
A typical day at work would include stocking shelves on the sales floor , helping customers find what they are looking for. What I learned was proper customer service training. Management was well organized. My co-workers were very helpful on training me on the cash register. The hardest part of the job was fixing the sales floor when merchandise was – more... placed elsewhere. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning customer service and being trained as a cashier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an okay place to work at
Cashier/ Floor staff (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 11, 2013
I liked the job and it was overall fun.
Most of my coworkers ended up becoming friends
The hardest part of the job and the one I hated was putting things back in their right places
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible employer .....do not work there!!
clerk (Former Employee), lakeshore windsorOctober 9, 2013
Pros: there are no pros...slave labour
If you like to be treated like garbage then this is the place to work!!!
Managers have no management skills, staff are bullied by management. Manager spends more time outside in the front of the store taking smoke breaks than anything else. Does not display a good image.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Stocker/Inventory (Former Employee), Wallaceburg, ONOctober 9, 2013
I worked at dollarama to prepare for the grand opening. I stocked shelves and whatever else needed to be done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, clean, organized work place
Cashier (Former Employee), North Bay, ONOctober 2, 2013
Pros: everything was half off
Cons: did not have
A typical day at work would be stocking shelves, clean isles, maintain cash, work with customers that need assistance, sweep isles, mop isles, then count the tills at the end of shift. I didn't learn much from this workplace, was pretty strait forward. Management was good, I had a supervisor every shift and would work with management during the day. – more... My co-works were young and asked a lot of questions which i didn't mind. That job wasn't hard at all. I enjoyed everything there, was a great industry to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you work alot very hard for very little
Cashier/ Stock (Former Employee), London, ONSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, independent indoors work enviroment
Cons: very fast-paced, customer complaints, lack of security
I did not like Dollarama, it had terrible managers who were always busy and couldn't help with anything other than customer complaints, which you get constantly. Hours can be good depending how many people you work with. If you work with to many people hours can be split up a lot and you can go from full-time to part time very quickly. It was clean – more... and the staff was friendly for the most part, but you deal with so many customers on a daily basis you can't help but have a disgruntled one. This makes for an easy going work place for the most part and managers are their to help you in these situations but other than that it is a very independent work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and
Cashier (Former Employee), Markham, ONSeptember 20, 2013
Shelving and Cashier as needed during shift
Interacting with customers and helping them
Great co-workers
Flexible Hours
Not too much workload
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
that place was horrible
Cashier (Former Employee), kamloopsSeptember 19, 2013
did not like the manager, she was cunning and unfair and people were treated poorly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some fun
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), London, ONSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: no free luches
Cons: long hours
typical day at work is a bussy day usually and i learnd helping people is the highest level of joy and respect for me to life although managment was little loose in some places with their workers and some of co wokers but it doesnt matter i do my work anyway the best way i can and the hardest part of the job when you work hard and other workers dont – more... really work and most injoyable part of the job is when i accomplish what they asked to do to their level of satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Cashier and Merchandiser (Former Employee), burnaby, bcSeptember 15, 2013
learned how retail works, good people, both customers and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and enjoy free time that i had.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), White Rock, BCSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: had two breaks in a day at work.
Cons: sometime i had to take over for someone else.
my manager was really nice and there barely any hard time working with something tough.

About Dollarama

Dollarama is Canada’s leading national operator of dollar discount stores. Dollarama has grown to become a household name, – Read more

Dollarama Photos