Find companies:
Dollarama
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
375 reviews

Dollarama Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very outgoing place to work
Key Holder (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 7, 2014
Pros: always have something to do
Cons: poor management
I enjoy the fact that we work as a team at Dollarama, everyone tries to help everyone and go the extra mile to make the store look nice.
I feel the management could be a lot better. I love the co-workers I work with there and how they all work as a team because they feel that we are a family of workers. one of the hardest part of this job is trying – more... to get time off and the hours and how unfair management is and how they dont like to alternate the hours with everyone and make if a fun and fair enviroment to work in. The most enjoyable part of this job is working with the public and getting to know the people I work with and how they like to work as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Cashier (Former Employee), TorontoMay 5, 2014
Stocked products
Received daily shipments
Cashier duties
Dealt with customer comments and complaints
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for Improvement
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee), Dawson Creek, BCMay 4, 2014
Pros: good pay and hours to start
Cons: constant change in management, and not allowed to speak to other employees unless it was entirely work related.
Preparing the store for the grand opening gave the opportunity for a lot of hours, and working with great people. After the grand opening trying to find good managers and laying off staff, as well as sudden extreme cuts in hours made it difficult to stay for any length of time, as well as the constant change in management over my 2 months working for – more... this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and friendly company
Clerk (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 2, 2014
Nice people, one of the most functional groups I've seen. Pleasure to be around all the people there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and high paced
Cashier (Former Employee), London, ONMay 1, 2014
There is always something to do at dollarama. the employees are great and its a super fun job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy retail
Cashier/Sales (Former Employee), Kingston OntApril 29, 2014
Although I enjoyed working here was a temp position unknown to me was let go Dec due to lack of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with the emplyees and the local customers.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Windsor, ONApril 23, 2014
I see our local and regulars people. I enjoy talking to them. They seem like family because you see them all the time.
Its a high pace witch I love. The people I work with and for are kind and tell us we are doing a good job. Very positive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Cashier / Customer service (Former Employee), ajax, ONApril 22, 2014
A typical day at work was, facing lanes. and cashing people out.
i loved the people i worked with, we always worked as a team.
working there wasn't hard at all, i enjoyed every little bit of it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing comapny
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), mississaugaApril 20, 2014
steady schedules
very fast pace
great managers and team to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked
Manager (Current Employee), edmontonApril 10, 2014
Pros: decent wages
Cons: long hours
Competitive market, hard to maintain a proper work/ life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working in a past faced environment.
Cashier (Former Employee), WinnipegApril 4, 2014
Everyday is a busy day, since its business is retail. I've learned how to make use of POS terminal, assists customer in their needs. Enjoy working in a past faced environment and deals with a different kind of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee), Essa Road, Barrie, OnApril 1, 2014
Pros: excellent staff to work with
Cons: no break unless you work a five hour shift (15 min.), or eight hour (30 min.)
A day at work consists of a very busy shift. Excellent customer service is provided no matter how the day is going. I usually learn about one new item that the store has received. Management is very fun to work with as well as co-workers. The hardest part of the job is knowing every bar code and items that are located within the store as it has a very – more... large inventory. The most enjoyable part of the job is dealing with all of the friendly customers by making sure their shopping experience is a good one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and productive place to work
Key Holder (Former Employee), Quesnel, BCMarch 31, 2014
The most enjoyable part of any typical workday was interacting with customers and coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
CASHIER (Current Employee), London, ONMarch 28, 2014
working at this location at dollarama is an a funny experiences. everyone is so happy and nice and they will make you feel like your at home. training is very easy and very fast. management is very easy to talk to and get enough shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard
Keyholder/Merchandiser (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 21, 2014
Pros: people i work with
Cons: negative environment
I start at 6:30am and spend the first 2.5hrs merchandising. I also am a keyholder so I am responsible for cash handling, the safe etc... I help other staff with their needs as well. I get along with all I work with. It is a difficult job, but we the staff do our best to laugh and make the best of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace serving customers
Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 19, 2014
Pros: cheap stuffs and in-exhaustive number of items
Cons: inadequate number of hours
liked the job because it fitted my time schedule and it was my second longest job inCanada
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great people.
Merchandiser (Former Employee), ottawa ontarioMarch 17, 2014
Pros: getting to see what new products were out.
Cons: not getting enough hours, and the store closing.
Every morning I would punch in, go into the "warehouse" and grab a dolly of boxes to be put onto the shelves. I was taught how to "face" an isle. I was taught to work a cash register. And how to properly stock a shelf. The management team was great.
Hardest part of the job was only when I first started. Getting to know everything at once. Most enjoyable – more... part was working on the floor, dealing with customers and being first to see what new products were coming out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict
Cashier (Former Employee), winnipeg, mbMarch 13, 2014
Cons: long hours, horrible customers
our dollarama is one of the best in the city. our manager is very strict and gets mad at you for anything but runs the place well. I hate my supervisors except for one. the customers always complain and mess up the store so much that you sometimes have to clean two hours after close... the hours such and if youre a cashier youre standing your whole – more... shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Barrie, ONMarch 12, 2014
Pros: paid 15 minute breaks for every 4-5 hours worked
Cons: must take a lunch break
The staff there is very friendly and funny. The most enjoyable part of the day is being on cash. I learned what it feels like to put in a hard days work. My co-workers are amazing, everyone there is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice envirmonent, friendly staff, great store
Cashier, Stocker (Current) (Current Employee), Montreal, QuebecMarch 10, 2014
Pros: great enviroment, friendly staff
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at work is being at the cash for most of the time, I serve on 2 cashes at the same time, helping 2 customers at a time.
When customers are not around I stack up gums, lighters, batteries, lollipops, chocolate, replace bags, sweep, basically tasks around all 6 cashes.

About Dollarama

Dollarama is Canada’s leading national operator of dollar discount stores. Dollarama has grown to become a household name, – Read more

Dollarama Photos