Dollarama Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 828 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place with good people
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCMarch 6, 2016
Typical merchandising.

best part of the work was with the old staff.

people always come and go. customers are already looking before the shop even opens.
Pros
good location (inside mall), good staff.
Cons
storage space before renovation
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun being on the set up team
Merchandiser / Stock (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMarch 6, 2016
learning new things about a work place. hardest part is getting used to all stores managers and packed collage buss's to work
Pros
breaking skids and unloading trucks
Cons
traveling store to store with no explanation to the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimum wage slave labour
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 4, 2016
This is a slave job. Climbing up and down stock shelves 3 stories high like a monkey is not what i consider a desirable job. Short un-even shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a busy growing company expnding to other countries now
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 2, 2016
affordable ppl like to shop there up on seasonal items very up to date you work hard in hours expected co workers to get along and 90% do always lots to do especially when closing end of day returns
Pros
have great breaks, gift cards at christmas
Cons
long hours. min wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, poorly run
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gananoque, ONFebruary 28, 2016
Learned a ton of information that I did not know
No hours available
Fired multiple staff after new store opened
Uses employees just to set up store
No notice in letting staff go
Do not trust their employees (bag checks, can't ring other people through, can't scan family or friends through etc)
Cons
No hours, no benefits, min wage, no bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very basic job with decent hours and no real benefits
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONFebruary 27, 2016
Co workers are great, management always seems to be shifting and there's no real global order it seems. You have to be very fast paced cause if not they have little tolerance. It was clean.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great while you're in school
Deuxième assistante-gérante (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCFebruary 25, 2016
Bad pay
Good co-workers
If you're a student this job is perfect for your. Great schedule.
Vacation paid during the summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONFebruary 25, 2016
love the people i work with love stocking the store and the cash is great to talk to people that come in the store everyday i like the hours that we have but sometimes we need more
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace working environment
Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ONFebruary 25, 2016
A typical day at work for me is to come in greet all my colleagues, sign in, place my things down and start work. Typically i am assigned an aisle to work in or pick up the slack in another aisle that needs attention. I learned how to deal with customers and any complaints they may have had with a product. When the manager or assistant manager left of the evening i was taking control of managing the store and organizing tasks to everyone. The hardest part of this job was the physical labour of lifting heavy boxes. The most enjoyable part of this job was working with amazing staff members and putting names to faces of regular customers.
Pros
free pizza, every couple of months
Cons
change of managers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  North Battleford, SKFebruary 21, 2016
working for this company was the worst. it got to the point where i had taking my issues up with the manager and they did not care. so i took it to the district manager and yet they still did not care. i took it one step further and took it to the provincial manager and nothing came out of it, so i wrote a letter to head office stating my problems and nothing happened so i stayed for another 2 months and left due to zero communication.
Pros
non
Cons
no comunication between management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's awesome, you get paid to be abused and called theives
Store Manager/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Kanata OntarioFebruary 19, 2016
Typical day, stock stock stock, quick quick as fast as you can. What do you mean you didn't finish all the tasks I piled on you to do in an hour!!! You must stay and work for free, my bonuses depend on it. That my friends I'd Dollarama in a nutshell.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is not the place to work
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 19, 2016
All of the managemet is racist, they chose favorites and even if you hurt yourself they will still make you work, they pay so poorly, and the customers steel they need to get cameras.
Pros
nothing
Cons
shoplifters, pay, management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollarama
Sales Associate/Instock Associate (Former Employee) –  markham and lawrenceFebruary 17, 2016
Working in Dollarama, I'd say was one of my best experience, reason being that the whole environment that you are in is really friendly and i liked working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work setting
Cashier/Store maintenance (Former Employee) –  Grand Falls, NBFebruary 17, 2016
Productive work days, always a project to be done, co-workers were great, management was faire and nice to all employees. Days went by extremely fast has we were always so busy and productive.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Chashier/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NBFebruary 11, 2016
great staff to work with .
hard work great rewards,
got to meet lots of entertaining people.
most of the management was great to work for most were easy to talk to
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and friendly working atmosphere
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ONFebruary 10, 2016
When first starting a day at work we would count our tills and break down skids. There was also merchandise counts that had to be done everyday. The rest of the day was spent putting away new and reoccurring merchandise. Working at Dollarama I learned all my retail skills as well as added to the customer skills I already had. I got along with all my coworkers and managers. The hardest part of the job would've been lifting the heavy boxes of merchandise. The best part of the job was interacting with customers and putting out new merchandise.
Pros
Free coffees
Cons
Breaking down skids
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to work for
Sales Associate, Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 7, 2016
Always busy stocking shelves and being at the cashier serve customers. Worked the evening shifts and closed store for the d ay. Was a key holder for my store location.
Pros
Engagement with customers
Cons
Not enough time to get everything done
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Conception Bay South, NLFebruary 6, 2016
its a great place to work, great environment, great people. only down fall is they only hire for part time and not full time.
Pros
positive enviorment
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy going
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBFebruary 3, 2016
i liked working as a cashier very easy and easy to learn the task that needed to be done on a daily bases. fun working with co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to work
Key holder (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBFebruary 1, 2016
For the first few months at Dollarama it was great hired as an assistant manager given A LOT of hours and nice cheques. After I finished training which I was not even given due to being transferred store to store for cleaning and pushing out stock I was sat down by my manager in our store office and given a choice. Either take a FORCED demotion or start the process of me being dismissed due to improper training I know have very little hours after giving them upwards of 60 hours a week when I first started. Poorly ran stores, terrible management and favourites is played ALL THE TIME.
Pros
Coworkers mostly nice and enjoyable to be around
Cons
Poor hours, terrible management including District managers and Store
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 837 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture