Dollarama Employee Reviews

Found 1,031 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB18 January 2017
Busy, customer service, retail, cashier, be able to lift 50 pounds, management was understanding, great fun co-workers, shift work, weekend work, clean store
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
monotonous
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON16 January 2017
Not very mentally demanding but very repetitive. Very harsh when it comes to preserving their change in the cash registers, almost ridiculous.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love dollarama
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Carbonear, NL14 January 2017
I love working at dollarrama best job I've ever had I want to make this my career I love working with the people I love the kind of work we do I love the customers
Pros
Awesome people, love the job
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't what I had in mind but the experience was good to learn
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK13 January 2017
Every morning I'd start at 8 be there to open doors with co worker get the cash registers ready open doors at 9 certain hrs do my money drops and money count exchange money give change to cashier's check list off broken items in store make sure shelves were properly organized some co workers were awsome some had good days n bad days it was good experience.
Cons
8hr shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Cashier, Stock (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, AB12 January 2017
When I was employed at the Beaumont Dollarama, it was not a very fun experience. I learned how to use the cash register. The management wasn't very good. Some of my co-workers were a blast to work with, others not so much. The hardest part about this job was having to work with some of the other co-workers who made working there not so good. I did not enjoy working here.
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not enjoy working there
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 January 2017
not a nice place to work
rude costumers
messy environment
unreliable hours
your shift would get changed at any minute
no benefits
holiday time was horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for those who are starting out
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 January 2017
I learned cash
stocking shelves
seasonal associate, so mainly did Christmas and helping out in the Christmas isles
management was changing, but I'd say they are alright
hardest part of job... not always having a 15 minute break
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 January 2017
standing for several hours at a time could be very difficult. it was fast paced. customers weren't always understanding but it taught me essential customer service skills
Pros
experience
Cons
standing for several hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the job very much and the people
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC4 January 2017
There could be more hours given more suport for the people who need and steeper punishment for wrongly behaving in the work place and better training but other then that it was great
Pros
Friendly staff welcome place to work
Cons
A little to busy at times more multitasking then i would have liked
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB4 January 2017
Very busy tons of stock to do great people to work with lots of new product sells out fast so always have stock to do lots of locations available great Salary
Pros
great wage
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow but productive
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Malvern, ON3 January 2017
Was not a very busy location, days were slow but I was able to help keep the store organized and clean. Showed me to take my time and do the tasks in the best way possible "took pride of my work"
Pros
Multiple breaks/not busy
Cons
Very slow days
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Key Holder and Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Callingwood North, AB3 January 2017
*Good company that treats everyone fairly and with respect.
* Have learned good selling skills.
* Always have something to do.
* Learn new marketing skills
* Managers treat people with respect
* Keeping up with stocking
* Find new ways to display merchandise that is pleasing to the consumer
Pros
exciting
Cons
trying to get some co workers to accept changes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job as a cashier
Customer Service Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 January 2017
Wonderful work place, with great staff and management.
I learned how to manage my time for maximum productivity, and how to interact with the public in a professional environment.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON1 January 2017
This would be a really nice job for someone who is a student and wants to earn some pocket money on the side. The downside to the job is the lack of security depending on the area you work. The benefits are reasonable compared to the fact that a lot of retail stores do not offer these amenities. You get a Christmas bonus which is quite nice. Would not recommend this as a career but definitely a good part time gig.
Pros
benefits
Cons
lack of security, always on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was not a good pace
Head cashier (Former Employee) –  cbs1 January 2017
the job was grate but the manager didn't not look out for the workers safety or care about the way that some workers would talk about other that were either shopping of working there
Pros
none
Cons
hard manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 December 2016
Co-Workers are really busy stocking greeting customers and the most part is going to work everyday And I want i\ve learned that this kind of work makes you smart and to acheiev your goals
Pros
Lunch Breaks
Cons
Long Hours Druing Hoildays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy going job and work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 December 2016
I enjoyed my time at Dollarama. It was an easy going work place where everyone worked hard and did multiple jobs at once. I myself was a merchandiser as well as a cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work around. But not enough hours per a week.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 December 2016
Not enough hours. They only give me one shift per a week. I want a job that gives me more shifts per a week and more hours. Even if it's just a part-time job. The people their are nice to be around. I also work very hard everytime
Pros
Short hours
Cons
Not enough work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place friendly people. extreamly busy.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL27 December 2016
everyone was very friendly, staff and employees, but we were constantly busy, i would recommend working for dollarama.be prepared to be very on your toes. manager was very flexible with hours and very kind. the manager schedules breaks witch i thought was another nice thing as well. overall good experience.
Pros
very friendly people
Cons
always busy, ALWAYS
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great and challenging job. i learned many new things. this company gave me training to serve myself as a cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 December 2016
it is a great experience of working at dollarama. working environment was good. but the thing i do'nt like about that job was the management did not told me already that it is just a temporary job you can get lay off at any time.they hire us only because that store was going to open soon. they took hard work from us just for stocking for few days. and then they give lay off papers. because of that job i have to loose my previous job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,045 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3