Dollarama Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 883 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollarama
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ONJune 8, 2016
I've worked as a cashier and I also stocked merchandise and provided excellent costumer service, me and the co-workers worked good together, I liked how my job kept me busy and also organized. I had to leave because I didn't have enough hours.
Pros
Keeping myself busy and organzied
Cons
Less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work
Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ONJune 4, 2016
Enjoyed working with the other staff...but the district manager a total B........,she had her favourite s ,not enough hours,they didn't like following the health and safety laws,not labour laws.....pay sucked
Pros
My co-workers
Cons
Wages, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy location
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 4, 2016
I enjoyed my job at Dollarama from the beginning. Our Store Manager is very professional and supportive. Staff are great.
At present the District Manager is unprofessional and a bully which makes for a bad work environment. The morale at the store has been affected by the DM.
Pros
Great Store Manager and excellent staff
Cons
Unsupportive DIstrict Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment to work in
Cashier and Clerk floor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCJune 4, 2016
-Being a the cashier can be tiring, placing stocks is fun
-Learned how to work quickly and effectively. Learned products information.
-Co-workers are respectful and treat everyone equally.
-Hardest part of the job is staying in one spot for hours.
-Most enjoyable part is placing stocks and talking to co-workers
-Can't get enough hours
Pros
Can take things that have a ripped packaging, such as a bag of chips.
Cons
long hours staying in front of the cash-register
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
having fun with toys
Seasonal Worker (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLJune 2, 2016
Assisting customers with their needs.
Stocking shelves,doing sidepanels & re-arranging end caps.
Breaking down stock in warehouse then deliver it to the floor.
Pros
walking distance
Cons
rude people -shoppers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright job
Merchandiser and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QCJune 2, 2016
The actual work environment is quite dull and boring. You'll be spending most of the day stocking the floor with new items since the stores all seem to be understaffed.

The work itself is quite repetitive.

As a first job, it's alright.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned from Dollarama.
Stocker, Cashier and Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ONJune 1, 2016
I learned how to be a good public speaker in dollarama, and it also helped me to be a good team player. The people that i work with in my store helped me to be more extroverted and to try and engage people.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Doesn't give enough hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manageable
Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Brooks, ABMay 31, 2016
I enjoyed working there for the most part. The crew i worked with was awesome. After being there for almost 2 years, I feel like I just needed change.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Merchandiser & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONMay 30, 2016
Great company just not enough hours to be able to live off of. Great co-workers, management was great. DM was not pleasant to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coworkers and manegment were amazing people
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  New Liskeard, ONMay 29, 2016
Dollaram has become a home to me all of my co-workers were very nice and friendly we all got along and our customers were very nice and always left with a smile
Dollarama is somewhere we worked as a team and a family

Being a keylholder was hard at times with having so many task to take on but at times that was the best part always having a job to do and the feeling when you accomplished it
Pros
the co-workers
Cons
long hours when someone called in sick or didnt show
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hire today gone tomorrow
Store associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONMay 27, 2016
i worked at the eglinton location during store launch setting the store up for its grand opening i arrived early ,worked hard and left late many nights every day and they canned me and a few other workers the day before the opening (how cold is that ?) saying "we had to let a lot of people go because we can't afford to keep you all. strange how they hired totally new replacements tho. i call bullcrap on this, work there if you must but KEEP LOOKING for something better the term "a pat on the back is just a few inches away from a kick in the butt" is especially true with dollarama.
Pros
great co workers, cool vibe.
Cons
shifty, exploitive management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers made the job difficult
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCMay 27, 2016
Often, customers would come in and make big messes with no regard to the employees who would have to clean it up afterwards. It made working there quite annoying.
Pros
Staff was nice
Cons
Careless customers often made working there difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and friendly environment
cashier and merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 25, 2016
it was easy working with staff .very helpful owners. the owner always helped me in learning new experiences. very good job as my first job
Pros
flexibility
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stress free
Customer Service Representative and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 25, 2016
Its fun place to work there no stress, work environment is professional and management people are approachable even the hardest of work is easy when all are working together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job that was close to home and school.
Crew (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 25, 2016
I got this job from a friend in Highschool, I enjoyed it. Gave me the proper boost I needed for my experience in the workforce.
Pros
Down to Earth boss.
Cons
Late hours. (Home by 1am)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BCMay 23, 2016
i learned a lot about merchandising and good customer service. i become more productive and responsible. The management is very supportive and understanding. it is a fun and productive workplace. My co-workers are friendly and easy to be with, we have good teamwork.
Pros
good customer service
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Merchandising/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BCMay 23, 2016
good people, nice environment, lousy pay. This was a second job. Only worked part-time. Lots of logistical issues with this store
Pros
people
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review of Dollarama
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ONMay 19, 2016
Great place to work, unfortunately boss died and new manager has cut hours Have worked at this company for almost 16 years, no chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Decent Working Experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ONMay 19, 2016
From having to put out stock, to pack up, to set up to cashing out customers, working at Dollarama has helped me develop a variety of skills to become a better sales associate.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a nice place to work, nice managers and co workers.
Sales associate - Recent (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 18, 2016
I love arranging things to make it look better. i believe in Team work. Its a fun work place fr me. my only challenge is that its far from my house.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 893 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3