Dollarama Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with variety of customers
Key Holder and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON21 September 2017
Dollarama is a good place to work, fun environment and good employees too. It is good to see variety of customers and different situations. It would be better if the training for management employees will be professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keyholder
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Bedford, NS20 September 2017
working as a keyholder was good but felt I could not move up in the company. I had good coworkers but the upper management was difficult at times. Also wished for more hours.
Pros
Near my home
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hit-and-miss hours and questionable staffing
Part-Time Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 September 2017
Hours ranged from 1 4-hour shift a regular week, to nearly 40+ during a renovation. Overall, a good place to work, however hiring choices were sometimes questionable (ie. hiring lazy and apathetic individuals who do the bare minimum required of them).
Cons
Widely varied hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy work quite enjoyable
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Pierrefonds, QC18 September 2017
I am a cashier currently at Dollarama. Its very easy work I enjoy the flexible hours of work and I can easily balance school and work. The staff is young I and I get along with them easily.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, NB18 September 2017
I really enjoyed the friendly environment and the interaction with the public. I learned organisational skills. Always busy, which made for a good day
Pros
A lot of public interaction
Cons
Not as many hours as I would have liked
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON13 September 2017
On the job training.
A good place to work, and progress in the corporate structure.
Support from everyone to motivate you to do your best.
The learning curve is short, and you have to put in the best of yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some workers are great to work with
Cashier and Stock (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK11 September 2017
It's a good place overall but the communication is not good at all. When someone has changed a shift the manager doesn't notify other workers/supervisors so the supervisors are running around trying to figure things out last minute.

With this being my first job I've learned a lot about working as a team and time management. The supervisors are very good to work with and communicate with. I've learned about organization as well.
Pros
People are friendly(customers) some staff are easy to work with
Cons
workers are messy, hard to get ahold of manager, very hard to get a requested day off
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's ok
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Dollard-Des Ormeaux, QC9 September 2017
good for teenagers to start up a job. not a job to stay forever tho.
nth much to say it was a seasonal job during christmas. nice people, safe place, was a proximity of public transportation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a wanderful.place to work at
caissiere (Current Employee) –  Dollarama alexis nion9 September 2017
I loved working there . It's like a fammily to you . You just have to be patient with clients . But with time everything gets better and better . I am happy to work there
Pros
Experience
Cons
Messy clients
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Merchandising (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 September 2017
management is okay, when its busy its really busy, some customers are very ignorant and rude while others are very nice. Merchandising is a very easy job though nd recommend it to people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and never a dull moment
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON7 September 2017
always busy- good corporate management
extremely successful.
I have enjoyed working for the company. I was recruited for a new store opening, and have never had a supervisor that i did not get along with. They have been very supportive in the management of our workloads.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great merchandising store
Cashier and Sales (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 September 2017
This is a great starting job to really get you task focused. You learn so much about merchandising and the product that needs to DAILY be worked out onto the floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going and fun
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 September 2017
Dollarama is a fun place to work and really good for part time the people that work there are energetic and there is always something to do the worst part was counting the money
Pros
Lots of breaks
Cons
Counting money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace workplace
Associate - (PART TIME) (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 September 2017
A very friendly and helpful co worker. Associate must be flexible and know how to use time wisely. Able to provide customer service. The Management is good and very approachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid job with solid hours and easy going staff
Key Holder & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON31 August 2017
Dollarama was a solid job for me - they had a set schedule and set expectations from the beginning to the end of your shift. Breaks were included and staff and management were fairly nice. I worked this job for 4 years throughout my university life and they were always considerate when I needed time off for exams
Pros
good staff and management, nice head office reps, good hours, breaks
Cons
lifting heavy boxes, climbing high ladders
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice a Productive
Commis plancher (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC31 August 2017
Dollarama nice work place .. The Cowerks we're very helpful .. the Manager the too .. They make sure you understand everything .. the task were easy to do ..
Pros
Christmas Parties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier, Associate
Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC27 August 2017
There I get a chance to work as a cashier and as an associate, also I used to help customers in finding things clearing there doubts. All in all I got a good experience of customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No benefits
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Glace Bay, NS25 August 2017
No benefits. Management was not in control at anytime. Lots of work and little pay. Store was always messy and never organized. Other employees did not like job either.
Pros
None
Cons
Pay was bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON24 August 2017
Enjoyed it very much. Love the store in general,. Was awesome working with great people. I learned alot working there. would definitely go back. Also loved the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace and fun
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Tantallon, NS24 August 2017
Very fast pace, heavy lifting, always doing stock, recovery and cash. there's always something to do never boring. Can be quite draining physically and mentally.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,390 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3