Dollarama Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 886 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  sherbrooke ouest, montrealJuly 10, 2016
Busy work
Management learned in 2 years working time
friendly co-workers
I had to do different kind of task as an assistant manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nic and fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJuly 9, 2016
good and fast service.
Understanding Mangers.
friendly co-workers.
Stress free job
work environment made job enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABJuly 7, 2016
The co workers were great and we had very good customer service, never had a long line up so people were happy !
Pros
Good people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining
Key Holder & Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 6, 2016
This business is very fast paced, and the management is friendly. On a typical day the management and co-workers work alongside to ensure customer service and display merchandise for customer's buying habits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCJuly 4, 2016
Some days are very fast-paced. Co-workers are incredibly helpful and good to work with. Management is also very helpful and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worplace
ISle owner (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 4, 2016
was a very efficient company that provided a wonderful work place and gave a great balance between work and home life and provided us with a wonderful working environmant
Pros
great hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already done
Merchandiser/Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Midland, ONJuly 3, 2016
See previous review that I have provided regarding the company Dollarama. I have worked at 2 different stores 1 in Ottawa and 1 in Midland.
Pros
see other summary
Cons
see other summary
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment with helpful associates
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 3, 2016
- Hard-work

- Feel positive when I have helped a customer or settled a dispute regarding a store issue

- Friendly co-associates

- Learned numerous important skills and lessons - Problem solve
- Delegate/Manage
- Team player
- Responsibility
- Punctuality
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
Over-emotional Manger
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great part-time job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ONJune 30, 2016
Those who work at Dollarama have taught me so much, and the experience I have from working there will help me for years to come. The management at particular stores leaves much to be desired and sometimes made work unbearable, but a part-time job is necessary for a student to pay the bills. My co-workers always made it worth working there.
Pros
Learning patience and people skills.
Cons
The manager you get is either amazing or makes you want to quit.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first long term job
customer service (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ONJune 29, 2016
Great store to start my work history. I picked up many skills while working in Dollarama such as, helping customers find their products, sanitary maintenance, opening stores and learning to work with new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay work place
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Espanola, ONJune 28, 2016
Dollarama I find is a good place to work but lacks in areas where change is needed. Dollarama needs to focus on there Salary and benefits as well life balance
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer job during high school
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edson, ABJune 28, 2016
Typical high school job

Small town loyal and friendly customers

Management was great

Most of the staff were nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy but best job i ever had
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 27, 2016
A typical work day included pulling stock, stocking shelves, helping clean, helping close the store, and cleaning.

I learnt everything I know about working from working at the Dollarama. I was once told by my manager that I could go far in this company or in any retail company because my sale skills and how great I am with customers was really good.

management was a little on and off at this company. Stress played a big part in it and the supervisors weren't as patient or willing to teach like I thought they should be. I love almost everyone I worked with and made very good relationships with a lot of people.

The hardest part of this job was trying to get all your stuff done in one night. I was always very busy and never stopped moving until the end of my shift. The best part of this job was being able to stock my "aisle" and see that all my work that night paid off.
Pros
long hours, split shifts, decent pay at the time
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very lively environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 26, 2016
Being a cashier it's always an amazing experience to interact with so many customers everyday. It also helps me improve my communication and customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor store morale
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCJune 26, 2016
I worked at Terminal Park Plaza in Nanaimo BC. It was worse job I have ever had. The manager is very unprofessional running around all day like a chicken with her head cut off accomplishing nothing. Yet heaven forbid you did not accomplish your 5 carts in a 5 hour shift despite spending most of your day as back up cashier and breaking skids.
Pros
You get to see merchandise as it comes in.
Cons
No benefits, low paying, poor morale and not a team atmospere
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first job
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCJune 24, 2016
This job gives a basis on what are the daily tasks in customer service. You learn how to be a cashier, a clerk, how to place products, and constantly learn a different routine for the same tasks, as managers and staff often change.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Older job
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Islington, ONJune 23, 2016
Long days
Material handling
Management was okay
Hard part were the long days
Enjoyable part was going home
Co wokers were funny
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONJune 22, 2016
love staff and my job. its a pleasure working with coustmers and everything is very well put together . a typical day at work would be fun and enjoyable. I've learned to deal with problems and be polite. I've learned where everything is in the store to help costumers.
Pros
getting breaks
Cons
need more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Cashier an Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJune 21, 2016
Experience working at Dollarama was great. Met many different people from different backgrounds. Peak busy times were a bit challenging, but the team worked well together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
given a lot of work and scolded when it was not all finished
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  North York, ONJune 20, 2016
I am usually only given 2-3 5 hour shifts weekly, during that time on closing shifts we were expected to finish all the returns that were left during the day. which was usually 3-5 carts full (2-3 people were expected to finish this) and also to face up the whole store in a hour.
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 896 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3