Find companies:
Dollarama
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
381 reviews

Dollarama Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing company
Account payable clerk (Current Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCAugust 7, 2014
Step by step on job training
Fast past environment
Open type management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollarama Summary
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Dartmouth, NSAugust 6, 2014
Pros: fun, fast paced, time goes by quickly, regular customers add a personal touch to every day
Cons: inconsistent hours, sometimes stressful
A typical day at Dollarama consists mainly of one-on-one customer service experiences. Between ringing in purchases and assisting in finding the perfect product, I find myself pretty busy. I also am required to break down skids, stock aisle shelves, keep pop coolers filled, and ensure the store is tidy at all times.
My co-workers have all become very – more... close friends of mine as most of us have been there for a long time. My time at Dollarama has been so far almost 3 years. Work is always fun because I know I'll be with my friends and second family. I've never had any hard times getting along with new co-workers and I find that when I first started I was made to feel like family almost immediately.
The hardest part of my job is keeping those impossible to please customers happy. I believe everyone should walk out of an establishment feeling happy, rather than upset or angry, so I always take it as my personal duty to put my friendly smile on and do my best to please them.
My favorite part of my job is when my regular customers come in and greet me by name, talk about whatever. It really lightens up even the most brutal of days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was only there to set up the store
Store set up (Former Employee), Guelph, ONAugust 1, 2014
I was only there to set up the store and then they let me go. I learned how to set up the store and I always worked hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), BellevilleAugust 1, 2014
not much learning.
coworkers are great.
hardest part of the job is getting up to go to work.
most enjoyable part of the day is the end of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Key holder (Former Employee), Richmond HillJuly 31, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: some co workers.
I enjoyed management, opening and closing the store.
I had keys and codes to the safe and store. I was highly trusted by the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of work to be done at Dollarama
Cashier/Stock Person (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONJuly 31, 2014
Cons: alot of call ins that i took with no question
I would come to work punch in and either be on cash and serve customers to cash them out or be stocking/cleaning. I learned which products were a good score and which ones were cheap and a waste of money. I also learned how to stock the isles, take down a seasonal section and put up the new season of items. The management was fun and also meant business. – more... There were many different co-workers some were just nice and easy to get along with and some that just caused drama because they could. The hardest part of the job was keeping the entire store looking tidy. The most enjoyable part of the job was just the experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was taught basic skills and learned how to work in a stressful environment
Cashier, Stocker, and Key-Holder (Former Employee), Lacombe, ABJuly 29, 2014
I learned how to manage money and stock, and help customers. It was very basic - it was a good first job. I was promoted to key holder during my time there, so I had numerous responsibilities.
Overall, my experience was good. It was not an ideal job, but it was a good job to have while earning money for college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my review
cashier (Former Employee), prince albert saskJuly 29, 2014
Pros: fun people to work with
Cons: short hours
low pay, work place was good fast paced easy only thing was no room for raises or promotions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable job
Store Associate (Current Employee), Whitby, ONJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: not many shifts
A typical day in dollarama, I am working on cash, merchandising the stock, or cleaning the store for night duties.
I learned about merchandising as I have not worked with merchandise before. I also learned that I have worked the best way I possibly know, I am a strong worker, and learner. I like to take the lead with any job that is given to me.
I really – more... enjoy working with my co-workers.
There is no hard part of my job.
The best part of my job that I enjoy the most is being able to provide the best customer service to the customers, and the compliments that I recieve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good experience
setting up the store (Former Employee), terraceJuly 25, 2014
a typical working environment. i enjoyed my time working with dollarama. i also liked that i had a good time working with setting up the store. ````
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a smaller yet enjoyable work place
Floor worker (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 25, 2014
while working at Dollarama iv earned many new skills such as working cash putting away stock and breaking down skids, the work environment is very clean and well organized, my co-workers are very friendly and easy to get along with in any situation, the most enjoyable part of the job for me is breaking down skids because i like labor intensive work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always new products
Key Holder (Current Employee), Riverview, NBJuly 25, 2014
Cons: long days no discounts
its an alright place to work if you dont mind retail work hours. always new items and neat stuff coming in for a good price too,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Stocker/cashier (Current Employee), Stratford, ONJuly 24, 2014
Well I work two jobs currently in Stratford, ON, I'm moving down to Toronto,ON sept 1 and have been looking for work,I've been working at food basic for 2 years in sept 2014 and Dollarama for 1 year as of July 2014. What I do at dollarama is I stock my shelves and also am a cashier there, at food basic i'm just a cashier,I love both my jobs and the – more... people I work with i'm hoping to stay in retail in whatever company I can get myself into – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dollarama
Stock person (Former Employee), Brantford, ONJuly 23, 2014
I only worked there for a short time because I wasn't ready to have a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
PART-TIME CASHIER (Former Employee), Markham, OntarioJuly 21, 2014
Very simple job. would work as cashier and occasionally stock
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocking shelves and cashiering
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Milton, ONJuly 18, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: manager
putting away stock and cashiering - good - some boxes were heavy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and experience
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Heritage Meadow, Calgary, ABJuly 16, 2014
had good relationship with the management and fellow employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dollarama
CASHIER (Former Employee), Belleville, ONJuly 15, 2014
Pros: loved my co-workers
Cons: short breaks
I loved everyone i worked with and the management was amazing. I didnt get the hours i was looking for and i ended up pregnant so i left on maternty leave and did not return. I worked there for 5 years and i learned lots from working with their company. I learned customer service skills and working as a team. Overall, i loved the people and i loved – more... the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned...
Cashier/Merchandiser/Seasonal Setup (Former Employee), South Porcupine, ONJuly 14, 2014
Pros: friendly staff and customers
at this work place i learned how to tend to customers and greet everyone kindly.i became a health and safety representative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, busy workplace with friendly co workers,
Keyholder and Aisle Owner (Current Employee), Peterborough, ONJuly 11, 2014
Pros: a lot of hours
Cons: extended shifts, under staffed
Dollarama has been a part of my life for 2 years and i think now is the time to move on to something else, a new stepping stone, i learnt a lot when i was there and certainly learnt more about myself than i knew. I work hard and i'm willing to prove that to anyone.

My typical day at work would consist of paperwork, completing my counts and others if – more... absent from work, While maintaining cash flow up front assuring they have change, etc I would be stocking in my aisle as well making sure everything is up to par and maintaining that.

I gained a lot of experience with customers over these couple years, it was very eye opening and definitely allowed me to be more patient, understanding, and create better time management skills. – less

About Dollarama

Dollarama is Canada’s leading national operator of dollar discount stores. Dollarama has grown to become a household name, – Read more

Dollarama Photos