Find companies:
Dollarama
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
353 reviews

Dollarama Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my review
cashier (Former Employee), prince albert saskJuly 29, 2014
Pros: fun people to work with
Cons: short hours
low pay, work place was good fast paced easy only thing was no room for raises or promotions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable job
Store Associate (Current Employee), Whitby, ONJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: not many shifts
A typical day in dollarama, I am working on cash, merchandising the stock, or cleaning the store for night duties.
I learned about merchandising as I have not worked with merchandise before. I also learned that I have worked the best way I possibly know, I am a strong worker, and learner. I like to take the lead with any job that is given to me.
I really – more... enjoy working with my co-workers.
There is no hard part of my job.
The best part of my job that I enjoy the most is being able to provide the best customer service to the customers, and the compliments that I recieve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good experience
setting up the store (Former Employee), terraceJuly 25, 2014
a typical working environment. i enjoyed my time working with dollarama. i also liked that i had a good time working with setting up the store. ````
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a smaller yet enjoyable work place
Floor worker (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 25, 2014
while working at Dollarama iv earned many new skills such as working cash putting away stock and breaking down skids, the work environment is very clean and well organized, my co-workers are very friendly and easy to get along with in any situation, the most enjoyable part of the job for me is breaking down skids because i like labor intensive work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always new products
Key Holder (Current Employee), Riverview, NBJuly 25, 2014
Cons: long days no discounts
its an alright place to work if you dont mind retail work hours. always new items and neat stuff coming in for a good price too,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Stocker/cashier (Current Employee), Stratford, ONJuly 24, 2014
Well I work two jobs currently in Stratford, ON, I'm moving down to Toronto,ON sept 1 and have been looking for work,I've been working at food basic for 2 years in sept 2014 and Dollarama for 1 year as of July 2014. What I do at dollarama is I stock my shelves and also am a cashier there, at food basic i'm just a cashier,I love both my jobs and the – more... people I work with i'm hoping to stay in retail in whatever company I can get myself into – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dollarama
Stock person (Former Employee), Brantford, ONJuly 23, 2014
I only worked there for a short time because I wasn't ready to have a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
PART-TIME CASHIER (Former Employee), Markham, OntarioJuly 21, 2014
Very simple job. would work as cashier and occasionally stock
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocking shelves and cashiering
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Milton, ONJuly 18, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: manager
putting away stock and cashiering - good - some boxes were heavy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and experience
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Heritage Meadow, Calgary, ABJuly 16, 2014
had good relationship with the management and fellow employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dollarama
CASHIER (Former Employee), Belleville, ONJuly 15, 2014
Pros: loved my co-workers
Cons: short breaks
I loved everyone i worked with and the management was amazing. I didnt get the hours i was looking for and i ended up pregnant so i left on maternty leave and did not return. I worked there for 5 years and i learned lots from working with their company. I learned customer service skills and working as a team. Overall, i loved the people and i loved – more... the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned...
Cashier/Merchandiser/Seasonal Setup (Former Employee), South Porcupine, ONJuly 14, 2014
Pros: friendly staff and customers
at this work place i learned how to tend to customers and greet everyone kindly.i became a health and safety representative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, busy workplace with friendly co workers,
Keyholder and Aisle Owner (Current Employee), Peterborough, ONJuly 11, 2014
Pros: a lot of hours
Cons: extended shifts, under staffed
Dollarama has been a part of my life for 2 years and i think now is the time to move on to something else, a new stepping stone, i learnt a lot when i was there and certainly learnt more about myself than i knew. I work hard and i'm willing to prove that to anyone.

My typical day at work would consist of paperwork, completing my counts and others if – more... absent from work, While maintaining cash flow up front assuring they have change, etc I would be stocking in my aisle as well making sure everything is up to par and maintaining that.

I gained a lot of experience with customers over these couple years, it was very eye opening and definitely allowed me to be more patient, understanding, and create better time management skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Burlington, OntarioJuly 7, 2014
would be in charge to do cash transactions on a daily basis, would have to greet customers and attend to their needs if they have any doubts. Would have to do a little stocking here and there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joyful employees
Cashier (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 5, 2014
Pros: fun people to work with.
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at work would be stocking items, making sure the aisles are clean, front faced and cashier backup. I learned how to handle cash and give the amount of change in a fast paced environment. Co-workers were joyful and honest. The hardest part of the job was making sure the aisles were all front faced after each customer picked up an item. – more... The most enjoyable part was the people I worked with were helpful and always there if needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Wasaga Beach, ONJuly 3, 2014
Cons: not enough hours
Working at Dollarama was a great learning experience. It taught me how to multi-task in a fast paced environment. Between serving costumers, handling money, and helping with their needs, I was required to stock shelves and handle inventory. This allowed me to learn how to keep focus on all duties I was required while still achieving my best work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Cashier (Former Employee), toronto, onJune 25, 2014
Pros: stability
Cons: lack of change=lack of growth
A friendly environment where I could be at my own. Came across many interesting people whose stories have offered insight into what life is about. I liked working here as it was near my home and allowed me to juggle the other aspects of my life with ease.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dollarstore
Cashier (Former Employee), Charlottetown, PEJune 19, 2014
a typical day included operating the cash handling money also putting unsold items back on the shelves, my co workers and management at the time were not very nice but they have since all been replaced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 19, 2014
This is a growing company opening lot of stores in GTA. New staffs are hired on an on-going basis. training of new staff may required to be upgraded. Very granular products. Overall good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Guelph, ONJune 18, 2014
Pros: communicating with customers
Cons: sometimes not enough time in a day
a typical day at work is executing merchandise on to the floor making sure that everything gets done
while assisting customers

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollarama

Dollarama is Canada’s leading national operator of dollar discount stores. Dollarama has grown to become a household name, – Read more

Dollarama Photos