Dollarama Employee Reviews

Found 1,198 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect for new employees
Cashier and Sales Associate, and Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC21 June 2017
You will learn a lot if this is the first time you work. You will be trained through the practice. Every single day, you will deal with a new situation.
Pros
flexibility hours, and extra hours.
Cons
Min wages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail dynamique
Commis au service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  St.-Anne-des-Plaines, QC20 June 2017
Travail de plancher et service à la clientèle placer les commande dans les allées
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ça fait pour un travail étudiant
Caissière, service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Greenfield Park, QC19 June 2017
C'est correct comme travail étudiant. Facile et répétitif.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family like environment safe and productive
Associate (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC18 June 2017
It is a productive well liked work area and coworkers. A comfortable and safe environment were there is no tension or worries to have among each other. All are well liked and there are no one ups there.
Pros
Family like environment
Cons
Fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement du travail productif et agréable
Caissière (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 June 2017
Des conditions de travail relatif bonnes. Travailler debut c'est un peu fatiguant. Arranger les item a leur place, scanner les articles, faire les dépôts et le rapport. Faire le service a la clientèle (donner des informations aux clients et répondre le téléphone). Faire le ménage a la caisse.
Cons
assurance maladie, salaire
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Casselman, ON17 June 2017
I had a blast working there but under circumstances I had to leave cause I was always closing the store and my family needed me during the evening. The manager at the time refused my demands to start working during day and less evening when even the company said that the supervisor needed to at least closed 2-3 nights per week.
Pros
time flies when you work with good people
Cons
schedule wasn't fair to all employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience, Hard work low pay
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 June 2017
I worked at dollarama ten years ago. It was very hard work for little pay. I managed four stores in a year. the systems needed to be updated. They were focused on Safety and made sure I was sent for first aid and Osha training
Pros
Dms were supportive
Cons
Low base pay for manager position
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not organized. There's no security for the job.
Retail/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC16 June 2017
There's not enough hours to go around. There's to much work to be done in such a small time frame. It's also not safe work conditions.

The people I work with is great! The company not so much.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BC15 June 2017
When I worked at dollarama it was a great store to work at. My co workers were Happy, great and we all got along. At the time I loved the job. However, the new management its under would make this a sub par place to work now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Often understaffed, work becomes more stressful than necessary, coworkers and manager are good people.
Shipment Organizer / Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 June 2017
The store is often understaffed considering the amount of work required on the floor, which sometimes forces me to work faster than is possible at times. Co-workers and manager are nice and considerate and are always eager to help, and are easy to talk with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun!
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC13 June 2017
Everyone is so friendly. Hours are fair. Work is easy to remember. It's pretty easy to remember everything once you've done once or twice. It's just repetition. I liked working at Dollarama.
Pros
Fair Hours
Cons
Too busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Assistant Manager/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC12 June 2017
A lot of complications. A lot of new management in two yrs . good customers. Good coworkers. I worked 4 yrs . wanted to move from old environment to new environment. Did not receive last cheque had to take them to labour board.
Pros
No comment
Cons
No comment
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and safe.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 June 2017
Fun place to work at.
Friendly customers.
Pay was good.
Hours were good for me to manage and I had enough hours to cover my needs.
Managers were amazing and hard working people as well.
Pros
Fun good hours.
Cons
They couldn't give me enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 June 2017
This job was amazing and had fun with workers in this store. it was amazing and everyday i work very hard to do right. which is i accomplish..........
Pros
Very good job
Cons
it was amazing
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not like working there . too many racist people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK5 June 2017
Well when i didnt get the shifts with the racist workers it was alright,i had a great time working the till and serving customers. I enjoyed stocking shelves.
Pros
Weekends u opened store at 12
Cons
Had to work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of hours, poor pay, poorly managed
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB4 June 2017
i had long hours and a learning curve on how things are done. there was a lot of stock that had no place to put it if everything was on the shelf. poorly managed
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of proper management and security
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC1 June 2017
Management is very poor, nothing remains confidential, hours are not secure as one week you make have 30 and the following week you may have 10. There is a lack of employees therefore there is no space for replacements. Supervisor does not care for workers, simply transfers of fires employees when a problem arrises.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Merchandiser/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 June 2017
I really enjoy the job even though im new, I like my workmates we all enjoy the work, the only problem its in management ,Supposed to be more serious but i dont see nothing since i stard work ther.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON31 May 2017
Great job to work at need more hours to do everything that they are asking of. Otherwise very nice to work at. I loved working here nice staff and great customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollarama
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Selkirk, MB30 May 2017
I wanna work at Dollarama cause im a team player I can work night shift if u have night shift. I can be a fun person I can have lots of fun with others I wanna make new friends.
Pros
Locker
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,213 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

68%
362 ratings
Add your rating