Dollarama Employee Reviews

Found 1,233 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dollarama
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK23 July 2017
dollarama was a great place, it was very multicultured had an awesome time with staff! i worked mostly in the cashier area open till close, there wasnt very challenges i faced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollaram
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON23 July 2017
Good place to work for students, easy going environment. Management usually offers a pretty flexible schedule. Hours always available if you need them.
Pros
Cash experience and customer service experience
Cons
Can be slow at times (depends on location)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service à la clientèle
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 July 2017
ranger le stock
servir les clients
effectuer les transactions à la caisse
Pros
les clients
Cons
aucun avantages sociaux
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Cashier and Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC20 July 2017
to work at dollarama a person should be multitasker and fast. because everything in the store is maximum of 4 dollars so this store is always busy. for a cashier the most important thing is to ensure that line ups at the counter should move as fast as possible.
Pros
good shifts and breaks
Cons
return policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Dollarama (Cashier) (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 July 2017
I enjoy working at Dollarama because the atmosphere is very welcoming. This job also gives flexible hours which is very beneficial since I do go to University. From working at Dollarama I learned how to work with various types of people and how to time manage myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Supervisor/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ON19 July 2017
Good place of employment... sometimes over worked because of budget extra hours are not given..full time is only 25 hours per week...hard to fill aisles and be management with 5-6 hour shifts...
Pros
Benefits ehen full time
Cons
Not enough hours given
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with very nice staff
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON19 July 2017
Everyone at Dollarama has a great attitude including the manager when I worked there. Everyone got along very well and was able to complete tasks that they were given. After working there for a year, the only reason I left was due to school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A second family.
Cashier / Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2017
With the right management , working here was a great experience. I learned the beginning of ensuring great customer service from here. Merchandising ensure the standards were kept and maintain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job work and Life balance
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 July 2017
The most enjoyable part of my job is the people I work with because they are friendly and we help each other in our daily activities. The customer we meet everyday and customer service we provided is something we always look forward to help each of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne place pour étudiant
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Chicoutimi, QC18 July 2017
J'ai travaillé chez Dollarama pendant près de 5 ans pendant mon parcours scolaire et j'ai adoré mon expérience. Très bonne place pour apprendre à travailler et le service client.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, continuous learning
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Listowel, ON17 July 2017
A good place to work. Great team environment. Continuous learning.
Dollarama being an evolving Corporation, always learning new techniques, implementing new policies and procedures.
Great watching the store grow, rising above their sales expectations.
Overall a good company.
Pros
having a great team environment, motivation to always succeed.
Cons
a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Ontario17 July 2017
This is a great job for students or retirees. I wouldn't recommend for anyone in between. Management puts a lot of pressure and blame on us little people. The pay is way too small for the amount of work that is required. Things are constantly changing which makes it next to impossible to catch up especially after returning from a day off.
Pros
Shift goes by fast
Cons
Terrible pay, long hours, impossible expectations, mixed signals from management, etc etc etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Bedford, NS16 July 2017
I learner how to merchandise
work 5 hrs a day, merchandising, and being on cash
Co-workers were nice to work with
Managers and supervisors wernt that well organized
most enjoyable part of the job was being around different people every day
Pros
N/a
Cons
Dont get paid enough for the type of work they expect from you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere but always scrambling
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 July 2017
The job atmosphere was great. Enjoyed most of the work. But was always scrambling for getting inventory out. Felt like we were always too short on manhours to get everything done on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers make it worth it
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON12 July 2017
Was working in the Peterborough area stores, as well after we were hired we were told those who didn't get assigned to the new store they opened would be moved to other stores as needed...

Instead of keeping heir end of the offer they terminated 20 of us from employment even though the other stores needed employee's, and the reason I know that is from other employee's who had been at these stores for a long time.

It was min wage, for 10 hours setting up a store to only find out that 20 of us were being fired instead of transferred to other stores, I would NOT recommend this company.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Broken promises to 20+ former employee's
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kept me very busy
customer service and cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 July 2017
days went by quickly, learned patience and time management in a very busy retail environment.
Stocked a 40 foot aisle on both sides, loaded and unloaded skids, inventory control, cash, safe counts, open/close the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON10 July 2017
Fun environment to work in respect all the employees and treat as family work as team help us to grow and because better people values there customer and make sure they leave with smile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 July 2017
I loved the people that I had a chance to work with, I moved around to help in many stores so had an opportunity to work with any on different levels and learned so much from each and every one .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON7 July 2017
work wasn't hard, great people and great management, the only thing would be not enough hours are given which is why I left. Good to have as a part time job.
Pros
great
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 July 2017
had a great time, met some really good people as well as made such great friends. Anyone would love to work there. i wish i hadnt moved and still worked there!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,250 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3