Dollarama Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 887 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and busy.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCAugust 28, 2016
Busy most days, staff is fairly rotated between cash and other chores. Organized but a bit messy in the backroom. Customers are tough around holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Cashier/Stock Person (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ONAugust 26, 2016
Management very poor, not loyal to employees. Large turn over rate due to employer.
Training staff poor, not giving people chances. Management talks down to people, rather than helping and teaching.

Many other workers have expressed the same concerns. Wish to find other work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONAugust 26, 2016
A typical work day is putting away stock, helping customers and working over stock. I learned new things about how to line in new stock , how to close and balance the tills.
Pros
Laid back dress code
Cons
To short traing peroids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in a productive and efficient manner
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 25, 2016
I work as a cashier for a majority of the time. Occasionally I will help my co-worker stock the shelves and clean the aisle at the end of my shift.
Pros
Helpful Team
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent work environment with some people who are great to talk to.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 23, 2016
Typical day would be to help customers pay for their items while filling pop or snack s near the front of the store.
I learned how to work on a till and how to deal with the pressure of a busy day.
Management was okay, would take several breaks to smoke but was overall pretty good.
Most co-workers were easy to get along with.
Hardest part of the job was having to deal with shoplifters.
Most enjoyable part was my break.
Pros
Life Experience
Cons
No other pros
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Manager/Supervisor-Key Holder/Merchandiser/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 22, 2016
Dollarama is a growing company with many stores across Canada that offers many entry-level job opportunities in the retail sector. It offers a very fun-filled and fast-paced environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONAugust 21, 2016
It was great experience.
Lovely workers and management.
Hours are responsible.
Pay was decent ,could have been better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what i expected
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONAugust 18, 2016
worked during busy christmas holidays and didnt get accepted to work there afterwards . i worked hard and the co workers were very rude and unkind. its not what i look for in a work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working staff in a fast paced envrionment
Assist management (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONAugust 18, 2016
Having the versatility of working the store front when needed, maintaining an aisle and doing the books made for a pleasant work day because things were kept interesting. Management at the time were great and very considerate of the employees.
Pros
understanding management staff and employees
Cons
working weekends and evenings away from my family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative Working Enviroment
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2016
Good place to work. Some of my co-workers are now some of my friends. A lot of heavy lifting and stocking which is typical in most retail jobs. This job gives you a lot of daily exercise as well as the opportunity to be creative in the way you stock product. Also most customers are friendly and polite.
Pros
Good excercise
Cons
Constant re-stocking
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be very busy at times, but also rewarding when you have helped an elderly person and they give you a hug
Cashier/Stock-Part-Time (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONAugust 9, 2016
A very good environment to work in. My co-workers and management were always willing to guide and help me. Not only did I learn how to use a cash register and balance the till, I found it easier to converse with the customers. They were a wonderful group of people to work with.
Pros
Bonus at Christmas
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the management that i have met while working there sucks
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BCAugust 8, 2016
I did not enjoy my time working at the dollarama. while I was working there management changed often and none of them made any positive changes, though i've only worked at branch 609 and can't speak of the others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving work environment, felt like home
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NSAugust 8, 2016
I loved working at Dollarama, it was probably the best first job id tell anyone to get. Got along well with the coworkers and manager, they made me work hard and made me work for what I want.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impossible goals
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCAugust 7, 2016
Terrible place to work. Extreme work loads, short shifts. No hours to run store. Very low pay. Multiple tasks given, like run a section. Still have to do cash and customer complaints. Cant get it all done. Get in trouble. Rinse and repeat
Pros
None
Cons
Insaine work load, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONAugust 4, 2016
Management was so rude and did not communicate well at all, they spoke to other employees about each other and yelled at employees on a regular basis
Pros
Easy work
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKAugust 3, 2016
counting money on the tills
learning new strategy how to make work job well done
co wokers are nice and giving respect
hardest part of job is closing the store
enjoyable new product to see
Pros
good breaktime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy retail job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Charlottetown, PEAugust 1, 2016
Working hard as much as possible to gain minimum wage . be so lucky to receive any appreciation. it is really hard to keep coworker, manager, customer, and yourself happy
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Port Alberni, BCJuly 30, 2016
I enjoyed working at dollarama, staff were amazing flexible hours, understanding, fast pace always had something to do was never standing around.
Pros
Love the staff, understanding, flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONJuly 28, 2016
Cashier
Customer service skills
Stocked merchandise
Worked through holidays
Generally had the same hours each shift
Management was professional and easy to work with
Co-workers where easy to work with
Pros
Good work schedule
Cons
Change in shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy and fast productive place to work
Front Cashier/ Floor worker (Current Employee) –  Grand Falls-Windsor, NLJuly 22, 2016
Dollarama is a fast paced place. no time to sit down only on your break, and they maybe 15 mins, or an hr. There is always something to be doing, and that can be either by working on the floor down in an isle by braking a cart apart, and that is by taking merchandise out of the boxes and putting it on the shelf and making sure it is properly blocked in and to make sure that there is no goats or pegs left lying around, making sure product is lined from top to bottom, and also taking count of products. When working on the cash, there is full time being up at the front and serving the customers. it is a face paced but to serve the customers is what is the best thing about being the cash. seeing the customers is what makes your day go faster and making them happy to find to what they are looking for. it will take time out of your schedule, but it will take and make your day so much more fulfilling.
Pros
Great team
Cons
No liquid beverage on the floor or on the cash
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 897 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3