Dollarama Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work
Cashier & Stock (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 December 2017
I looked forward to going there because there were employees from all walks of life. I was kept busy. Management really sucked. I learned a lot. Different seasons provided learning opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unknown
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Betts Ave Saskatoon SK10 December 2017
Hired to help put store together for opening , store had a new store cake for all employees to enjoy , store had new scent back then , Store was clean
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement du travail est stressent
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC5 December 2017
esclavagisme moderne c est tout ce que j.ai a dire
Pros
rien
Cons
tout
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress during high traffic periods
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC4 December 2017
interacting with customers, putting items in grocery bags, putting products on appropriate shelves. Answering phones, and sweeping the floors behind counter.
Pros
meeting nice people
Cons
physical work of stocking shelves
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job sucked
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON4 December 2017
you deal with customers who are polite and rude there are always things to do the management stinks its nothing but stress there are very few good things about the job and the people there
Pros
nothing
Cons
the whole job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to much stock
Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE3 December 2017
rted on night stocking crew. good job to have than. I worked my way up to night shid=ft superviser but than they did away with the night shift.moved us to days and became sddociates. kik stock cash inventory daily. learned to do everything. helped to manage and run the store.
Pros
Met some good friends
Cons
Sent to much stock for store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Montreal, QC30 November 2017
I opened and closed the store and also managed the employees.....
It was a very nice place to work for and they all like me there but I have decided to move on and find myself a better job out there.

I enjoyed very much managing the employees and all the employees respected me...
Pros
Employees
Cons
Managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get to know about retail.
manager (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB29 November 2017
It's a good place to work. Very busy. Hectic. Can get overwhelming at times. Staff is good people. You can get behind on your job details when the store gets busy. All on hands on cash registers when needed.
Pros
Advancements quickly
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Encouraging work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dundas, ON29 November 2017
Dollarama was a very welcoming place to work. Both the staff and employers were kind and knowledgeable team members. I would recommend working here to anyone looking for work. Dollarama is a very friendly environment and the associates were willing to assist with any questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting hours employee have no value
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Woodbine mall29 November 2017
Dollar Rama make allot of money in cash and there is no way to cut employee hours and save money, I would also request Govt to investigate this matter and help us to get our hours back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail passable
commis caissière et responsable clė (Former Employee) –  joliette28 November 2017
Manque de compréhension envers les employés ..change souvent d'employés
Pros
assurance collective
Cons
Manque d'attention envers les employés
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un très bon lieu de travaille
Service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 November 2017
Travailler chez Dollarama te permet d'apprendre plusieurs manières de penser chez les êtres humains. J'ai enfin compris c'étais quoi avoir des gros rush et ne pas stresser pour rien maintenant j'adore aider la clientèle.
Pros
Très bonne équipe et très bonne gérante
Cons
l'augmentation de salaire très bas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Caissière (Current Employee) –  Alma, QC27 November 2017
Ma journée se résumait a aider les clients a trouver les produits qu'ils cherchaient. Je devais par la suite m'occuper de bien faire paraître le magasin , donc de faire le ménage et de replacer les objets.
Pros
Horaire
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON25 November 2017
They don't tell you when they cut your hours. They just say "well if you need more hours, find another job." I never went back. They also love to play the favourites game.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I took Pride in the work I do for Dollarama and the Customers
STORE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC23 November 2017
Responsible for cleaning
Responsible for organizing merchandise
Responsible for Customer Care
Cashier
Enjoyed working with Customers
Enjoyed the satisfaction of the work I did
Pros
Satisfying Customers
Cons
Low Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 November 2017
I had been Housekeeping for 15+yrs, and decided that I needed a change. I had NO experience or training in anything else.
I was sure I wouldnt get the job, to my amazement and joy, the day I applied at Dollarama, as soon as I walked into my house the phone rang and it was Dollarama, offering me a Fulltime position.
I was so happy and to this day, I DO NOT regret the experience and the great people I worked with and for.
Thank you, for giving me the chance and the wonderful learning experience.
Pros
Great working environment, Easy to learn instruction and tutoring.
Cons
Easy paced till you get to know the work, then VERY fast but a great experience for a quick learner.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High demand
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 November 2017
As a former manager working there from the bottom up it’s very hard to move up a lot of a** kissing to do there’s so many flaws working for this company there pay sucks there benefits suck there raises suck they push you like a labor worker and bark at you like a dog when somethings not done right and unless your the same colour as anther manager the others don’t help you out at all if needed they make u go to other store fix there mess up they cut hours all the time there’s no balance between work life and home life.thumbs down to this company
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another typical shelf job.
Commis de magasin (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 November 2017
Although, their demands from the top as a shelf worked were indeed high, the teamwork would always be as enthusiastic as unexpectedly possible. They valued teamwork and time efficiency.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON21 November 2017
Always busy and there was always lots of work to be done which made time fly buy and all employees were very respectful and cooperative and were always willing to lend a helping hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with.
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Sylvan Lake, AB19 November 2017
it was a great place to work and i loved the people i meet and worked with and how everyone worked as a team. i love how easy it was to do recovery and clean your department.
Pros
my co workers
Cons
really busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,411 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3