Find companies:
Dollar Tree
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,475 reviews

Dollar Tree Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and a relax place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), victoria bcOctober 10, 2014
fun staff to work with manger are really easy going and down to earth the hardest part of my job is that it start at 4 am but other then that a really fun place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cashier /Customer Service (Current Employee), Trenton, ONAugust 28, 2014
I love working here ive been here since it opened and we always have fun and learn new things most enjoyable part is meeting new people and working with my coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vollyball
Customer Service (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 6, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: new year
I enjoy working with all type of people and my job is my life, I take it serious. I don't mess around with my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a workplace
Kemptville - Cashier (Former Employee), Kemptville, OntarioJuly 25, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: no shifts
Dollar Tree is a great store but is not very good to it's employees. You are allowed only a 10 minute break in a 5 hour shift. You only get a 4.5 hour shift per week. Since it is a small store, the employees are quite mean to each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was the worst work experience I've ever had.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 18, 2014
Pros: non.
Cons: 4 hours a week!
The manager was very rude and always threatened her staff with the word "fire", she was never around when you needed her, she picked favourites, she never gives people shifts, if she did, they'll either be 4 hour shifts a week or 30 hour shifts a week, it just depends on whether she liked you or not. Her staff barely last a month because she either – more... fires them for the smallest reasons or they just quit because they cannot handle her management anymore. Working there has been the worst experience of my life! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced never bored
Store Manager (Current Employee), Red Deer, ABJuly 6, 2014
A typical day very busy either stocking or on cash or doing planning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Cashier (Current Employee), 4110 Thickson rd, Whitby, ON, L1R 2X3June 30, 2014
Very easy job, great people.
but you get no hours and thats a big issue
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in a days work
Front Cashier (Current Employee), Orillia ONJune 10, 2014
It is a great place to work at, staff is awesome...this is all I really feel comfortable talking about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My First paid job
Cashier (Current Employee), North vancouver , Park and tilfordMay 29, 2014
Pros: friendly co workers, nothing to demanding
Cons: random shedual changes, no benifits
I have worked for Dollar tree for 2 years now .

It is my first "real job" and I have to say it has been great .
Since we are a dollar store our perks of working there are slim to none .
We don't get raises or disscounts so it is just our income that we get from the store .
But since we have a small staff I was put to work on not just cashier but Shipment – more... orders , cleaning , stock management , cash depositing and other jobs that most minimum wage jobs do go over . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Work Place and Environment
Assistant Manager/Key Holder (Current Employee), Toronto, OntMay 29, 2014
Pros: great employees and environment. nice customers.
Cons: not enough hours and low pay wages.
Working at Dollar Tree Canada is great. In a typical day there is usually always plenty work to do, which is great. The co-workers are great people and easy to get along with. Because the store is located within a plaza, there is a large traffic flow of customer's which is great because it is nice to get to interact with different people. Management – more... is great within my specific store. The job is not very difficult so long as the employee understands their role. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama, Drama. Drama!!!!!!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, OntarioApril 23, 2014
Pros: nothing anymore
Cons: not worth the pay
Used to love working for Dollar Tree until the management started making changes. I used to get lots of encouragement and learned a lot. Grew with the company then hit a dead end. No one gets proper training and everyone is expected to know what to do due to the negative changes management is making. No one wants to work anymore cause there are no incentives – more... or encouragement from management anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Part-time Cashier/Stocking Clerk (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBApril 7, 2014
You are just given an "apple seed", it is were you're duties and task are written for that day that you are working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Kingston, ONApril 1, 2014
I enjoyed the customer service aspect of this job and making sure the store ran smoothly. My employees were top notch, and had no trouble following instructions.
My only complaint with the company was the lack of direction from senior management. We were given a booklet when hired that explained the rules and how the company was run. Senior management, – more... that came in once a month, was always changing the rules or saying that they were not important.
I followed the way the company wanted things done as this is how I was trained and to me, customer service was key.
I always made sure the customer was happy and the bottom line was followed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and Clean enivronment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 26, 2014
Great store, wonderful customers, and easy to work with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff
Cashier/Sales Associate,merchandiser (Former Employee), Barrie, ONMarch 12, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: not enough hours
Productive and friendly work atmosphere an overall busy store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar Tree is a good place to work.
Key Holder (Current Employee), London, ONMarch 12, 2014
A typical day at work is working cash, helping customers, stocking shelves, cleaning the store, depending on shift. My coworkers are friendly and helpful. The hardest part of the job is dealing with angry customers, but the most enjoyable part of the job is making angry customers happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful
assistant manager in charge of the following (Former Employee), ottawa on.March 11, 2014
I loved the store and found it very challenging but there was a lot of stress and head games there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management skills
Store manager (Former Employee), regina skMarch 10, 2014
Pros: building rapport
Cons: no holidays
I have learn how to be leader at certain point. Making strategic decisions and to remain top of the task.
maintaining store layout as per season
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Assistant Manager/ Cashier (Current Employee), Windsor, ONMarch 6, 2014
Very friendly place to work. Great people to work with. Opened and closed the store, did deposits, counted the safe, did cashier audits, put cashiers on tills and took them off at the beginning and end of shifts, did returns, did write offs ( markup/mark downs), managed the cashiers on duty,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment and fast paced
Bench Manager (Current Employee), Penticton, bcMarch 2, 2014
Pros: great industry
Cons: not many incentives
Overall great company advancement is quick and employee morale is high. Fast paced fun place to work always on the go and never a dull moment.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar Tree

Dollar Tree, headquartered in Chesapeake, VA, operates 4,351 stores across the 48 US states and 5 Canadian Provinces. Dollar – Read more