Find companies:
Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
122 reviews

Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Overall
Fleet Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 24, 2013
An outstanding company to work for.
Friendly environment
Fun environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 7, 2012
Pros: bonus programmes
Cons: hectic summer months
Exposure to differnt people everyday from all over the country. Ensure customer satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable place to work with new and interesting challenges
Agency Administrator (Former Employee), Toronto, On.September 4, 2012
Pros: great team spirit. new and interesting challenges.
Cons: long hours, uncertainity of job security
The company was the smallest of the primary rental companies in Canada. The industry had gone through major challenges due to the economy, and our company had to reduce the workforce and modify operating proceedures to remain competitive in the last few years.
As a result of the changes, we were a well organized operation. We worked extremely together – more... and the interdepartment separation did not exist. Though we had our established duties, each day could bring new issues that had to be addressed. We all did our duties and assisted each other to ensure we were able to meet the customer needs. The management was hands on and visible.
Through my function as internal auditor, I enjoyed reviewing activity and persuing the paper trail to verify my findings. Sadly, this also resulted in the hardest part of the job, when I had to report the misdeeds of my co-workers to upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced professional environment with great people
Franchise Operations Administrator (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 13, 2012
 Assist Director and Manager with the preparation of highly confidential (legal) Disclosure Documents, presentations and proposals; Maintain both paper and electronic files, including extremely sensitive legal files and information
 Assist with construction, compilation and proofing of required Appendices and updating and distributing Licensee ‘Bulletins’ – more... (communications) as required
 Organize, compile and distribute renewal agreements as due; includes preparation and execution of license and fleet agreements
 Maintain and update royalty fee schedules as due
 Preparation and distribution of monthly royalty invoices to franchisees
 Invoice and expense reconciliation (corporate card)
 Preparation and distribution of Director’s monthly reports
 Maintain and update both Corporate and Licensee master location databases and distribute as required
 Responsible for calendar management; including management of boardroom calendar
 Manage all assigned projects; Prepare internal and external correspondence, letters, reports and memos; handle day-to-day functions of the department, including ordering office supplies, franchise sales collateral and processing mail and courier materials
 Organize teleconferences and conference meetings and / or seminar arrangements as required
 Organization and scheduling of catering requirements for franchisee meetings as required
 Perform various administrative support tasks as required and / or requested by Directors or Senior Management team – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 6, 2014
Fantastic culture with upward communication availability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great start to my Transportation Career.
Courtesy Bus Driver (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 24, 2014
Great Tips$$$$ Difficult people and rotating schedules. Great opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Respectable environment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Vero Beach, FLJune 4, 2014
Pros: discount on rentals
Cons: breaks, and benefits
Waas always a good place to go to work, Good environment, good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced job
Rental Sales Agent (Former Employee), Windsor Locks, CTMay 29, 2014
duties included...renting cars, handling cash drawer, upgrading to larger vehicles, selling optional services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady job but nothing else
Counter Sales Representative (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 26, 2014
Pros: good hours, light/flexible work work
Cons: laughable "bonus" program, no promotions or raises, low pay and worst hours of the area.
There's virtually no promotions possible even though I was teased with one no less than three times in a year. Pay is low but it's typically full time hours. There are NO raises at this location, their excuse being the "bonus" program makes up for that. Except the bonus program is made in a way so that it rarely pays out. Example: Sell something and – more... it counts towards commission, if you fail to sell to the next customer in line, it not only means no commission on that sale, it cancels out your previous one (on paper anyway). I've made this location in excess of 3,000 in add-on sales in a month (without even trying to) and still received $0 in commission payout because of the way its structured. The franchise still makes money, they just don't share it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the car rental business was very fulfilling
car rental manager (Former Employee), Montrose, COMay 25, 2014
however, the owner was in bad health, and sold the business, the new owner's did not employee the current staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location Manager
Operations Manager (Former Employee), RDUMay 20, 2014
In my position I had 100% customer contact, as well as managing 20-50 employees at any given time. The work was rewarding but difficult without the proper tools which were out of my control. Upper management consistently called for higher sales and then lowered rates to almost nothing, a setup for failure. Customer service scores were a joke, we could – more... not do anything about 3-5 hour waits for vehicles and the vehicles were in terrible shape. The mechanics were only bale to pull them if they were mechanically unsound. There was no regular preventaive maintance on them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Service Agent (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLMay 17, 2014
Pros: do not have to clock out for breaks
Cons: breaks may frequently get interrupted
Great work nice employees and great management. A typical day at work would include driving cars and cleaning. Help customers constantly. Also may have to leave work location and drive rentals to different dealers or shops.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed what I did and got to meet people from all over the world
training manager (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARMay 7, 2014
I advanced from being a sales person to become their training manager in charge of training all new hires
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good days, bad days
Automobile Rental Clerk (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKApril 18, 2014
Working at a call center, I assisted customers with their concerns over car rentals over the phone. Sometimes, the calls were good. Other times the calls were bad. It could get frustrating at times and some of the other co-workers really didn't seem to know what they were doing or care much for the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and Productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cayce, SCApril 17, 2014
On a typical day at Thrifty call volume would be high. I learned how to work under pressure. Management was well organize, my co-workers there was very helpful and we worked together as a team. I would say there where a few challenges at the job, but nothing was hard. The most enjoyable part was that I had my own desk, and the environment was layed – more... back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed one of the most important assets for people: their automobiles
Valet Attendant (Former Employee), Revere, MAApril 15, 2014
Great meeting new individuals and handle their automobiles
Had to manage upset customers if cars were not ready on time
Great experience working in a team environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers with very wrong management skills
Rental Car Sales Agent (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 11, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: pay
unprofessional. People that work there work there to get large commissions & cut throat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a great deal about all vehicles
Manager (Former Employee), New Haven, CTApril 8, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: most of the day was spent in the weather
The Most Enjoyable part of this position was dealing with the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Inbound Help Desk Agent (Former Employee), Durant, OKMarch 19, 2014
Pros: laid back enviroment
Answering phones for the rental company Dollar and Thrifty Auto Group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rental Car Business
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee), 3127 W. Mockingbird Lane Dallas, Texas 75235February 26, 2014
Pros: recognitions, and honorary celebrations
Cons: dismissals
A typical day consist of prioritizing, and meeting with my boss the General Manager going over his agenda for the day, getting all paper work, invoices, reports, account payable issues handled working and interacting with the managers,and vendors solving issues at the location, planning events for employees, the funnest thing to me about the job was – more... when we recognized the employees for all their hard work,and we would give a small celebration honoring them. I enjoyed working my co-workers, the hardest thing is having to send in the termination papers when one of them had to be let go. The thing I enjoyed the most is knowing that if a customer came into the location in distress we did everything we could as a unit to make them happy. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc.

Thrifty drivers looking to get the most for a buck might try Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group (DTG), which rents cars under the – Read more