Find companies:
Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
128 reviews

Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Overall
Fleet Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 24, 2013
An outstanding company to work for.
Friendly environment
Fun environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 7, 2012
Pros: bonus programmes
Cons: hectic summer months
Exposure to differnt people everyday from all over the country. Ensure customer satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable place to work with new and interesting challenges
Agency Administrator (Former Employee), Toronto, On.September 4, 2012
Pros: great team spirit. new and interesting challenges.
Cons: long hours, uncertainity of job security
The company was the smallest of the primary rental companies in Canada. The industry had gone through major challenges due to the economy, and our company had to reduce the workforce and modify operating proceedures to remain competitive in the last few years.
As a result of the changes, we were a well organized operation. We worked extremely together – more... and the interdepartment separation did not exist. Though we had our established duties, each day could bring new issues that had to be addressed. We all did our duties and assisted each other to ensure we were able to meet the customer needs. The management was hands on and visible.
Through my function as internal auditor, I enjoyed reviewing activity and persuing the paper trail to verify my findings. Sadly, this also resulted in the hardest part of the job, when I had to report the misdeeds of my co-workers to upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced professional environment with great people
Franchise Operations Administrator (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 13, 2012
 Assist Director and Manager with the preparation of highly confidential (legal) Disclosure Documents, presentations and proposals; Maintain both paper and electronic files, including extremely sensitive legal files and information
 Assist with construction, compilation and proofing of required Appendices and updating and distributing Licensee ‘Bulletins’ – more... (communications) as required
 Organize, compile and distribute renewal agreements as due; includes preparation and execution of license and fleet agreements
 Maintain and update royalty fee schedules as due
 Preparation and distribution of monthly royalty invoices to franchisees
 Invoice and expense reconciliation (corporate card)
 Preparation and distribution of Director’s monthly reports
 Maintain and update both Corporate and Licensee master location databases and distribute as required
 Responsible for calendar management; including management of boardroom calendar
 Manage all assigned projects; Prepare internal and external correspondence, letters, reports and memos; handle day-to-day functions of the department, including ordering office supplies, franchise sales collateral and processing mail and courier materials
 Organize teleconferences and conference meetings and / or seminar arrangements as required
 Organization and scheduling of catering requirements for franchisee meetings as required
 Perform various administrative support tasks as required and / or requested by Directors or Senior Management team – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Rental Sales Officer (Former Employee), Penrith NSWSeptember 13, 2014
I can say much about this job everyday was the same thing. nothing new to learn or anything
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Car Rental Agent (Former Employee), 2030 w holcombeAugust 30, 2014
good place to work. gained customer service skills. Requires multitasking
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy and productive day
Location Supervisor (Former Employee), Revere, Mass.August 28, 2014
Pros: free gas with having a company car
Cons: shortage of rental cars made it difficult to increase revenue
I enjoyed working for this company as it gave me the ability to showcase my superior customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place...
Fleet Manager (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIAugust 20, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: no structure, no fairness, lazy co workers
I worked here many years ago and was a franchise with an owner who I think was bi polar. A typical day would be me taking stock of the fleet, then pulled to work the counter since the scheduler would routinely not staff the place properly. The owner generally came in cranky and would yell- yes, literally yell at us and then go to his office. Later , – more... he would come down and act like nothing happened and then went to the bakery and would come back with food. Most of my day was spent in automobiles, driving them to the auto auctions once the lease was up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing work environment with management wasting of dedicated people
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Tulsa OklahomaJuly 30, 2014
Chaotic following Hertz acquisition, leaderless, direction less, CEO to busy building his house in Florida to bother running the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Owners..
Fleet Manager (Former Employee), Gulfport, MSJuly 17, 2014
Pros: great hours
I learned a lot of new skills. Wonderful company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 6, 2014
Fantastic culture with upward communication availability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great start to my Transportation Career.
Courtesy Bus Driver (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 24, 2014
Great Tips$$$$ Difficult people and rotating schedules. Great opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Respectable environment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Vero Beach, FLJune 4, 2014
Pros: discount on rentals
Cons: breaks, and benefits
Waas always a good place to go to work, Good environment, good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced job
Rental Sales Agent (Former Employee), Windsor Locks, CTMay 29, 2014
duties included...renting cars, handling cash drawer, upgrading to larger vehicles, selling optional services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady job but nothing else
Counter Sales Representative (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 26, 2014
Pros: good hours, light/flexible work work
Cons: laughable "bonus" program, no promotions or raises, low pay and worst hours of the area.
There's virtually no promotions possible even though I was teased with one no less than three times in a year. Pay is low but it's typically full time hours. There are NO raises at this location, their excuse being the "bonus" program makes up for that. Except the bonus program is made in a way so that it rarely pays out. Example: Sell something and – more... it counts towards commission, if you fail to sell to the next customer in line, it not only means no commission on that sale, it cancels out your previous one (on paper anyway). I've made this location in excess of 3,000 in add-on sales in a month (without even trying to) and still received $0 in commission payout because of the way its structured. The franchise still makes money, they just don't share it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the car rental business was very fulfilling
car rental manager (Former Employee), Montrose, COMay 25, 2014
however, the owner was in bad health, and sold the business, the new owner's did not employee the current staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location Manager
Operations Manager (Former Employee), RDUMay 20, 2014
In my position I had 100% customer contact, as well as managing 20-50 employees at any given time. The work was rewarding but difficult without the proper tools which were out of my control. Upper management consistently called for higher sales and then lowered rates to almost nothing, a setup for failure. Customer service scores were a joke, we could – more... not do anything about 3-5 hour waits for vehicles and the vehicles were in terrible shape. The mechanics were only bale to pull them if they were mechanically unsound. There was no regular preventaive maintance on them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Service Agent (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLMay 17, 2014
Pros: do not have to clock out for breaks
Cons: breaks may frequently get interrupted
Great work nice employees and great management. A typical day at work would include driving cars and cleaning. Help customers constantly. Also may have to leave work location and drive rentals to different dealers or shops.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed what I did and got to meet people from all over the world
training manager (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARMay 7, 2014
I advanced from being a sales person to become their training manager in charge of training all new hires
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good days, bad days
Automobile Rental Clerk (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKApril 18, 2014
Working at a call center, I assisted customers with their concerns over car rentals over the phone. Sometimes, the calls were good. Other times the calls were bad. It could get frustrating at times and some of the other co-workers really didn't seem to know what they were doing or care much for the customers.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc.

Thrifty drivers looking to get the most for a buck might try Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group (DTG), which rents cars under the – Read more