Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,406 reviews

Dollar General Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the Public
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Mount Zion, ILFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: public, weekly paychecks, indoor working, nice coworkers
Cons: i cannot list any cons for my job right now
I am always willing to learn new things to better myself. I always come into work 15 minutes early to "get in the groove". I would consider myself to be a people person and have yet to find a job/coworker I don't/didn't get along with. If there is something I find too difficult or something I don't understand, I am not afraid to ask for an opinion to – more... make sure I am doing my job to the fullest of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work.
Manager (Former Employee), Jackson, MSDecember 10, 2012
Pros: working with the employees i had.
Cons: long hours.and people not doing their jobs so i could do mine.
My day at dollar general was awesome..I would start at 8 am and at times go till 7 pm,but loved doing the job. .learned so much..I learned to be patient and to listen better ..When i become manager I was not sure I could do it because there was so much to do ,but it was awesome..my co-workers were awesome.great people to work with and for..had awesome – more... district manager ..hardest part of the job was firing people but i knew I had to,was part of my job and knew that I needed people to be there on time and to do their jobs..the most enjoyable part of my job was working with customers.loved it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place and company to work for.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gallup, NMJuly 21, 2014
Typical customer servicing, cash out customers and stocked or restocked items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Third Key Manager and Cashier (Former Employee), Willcox, AZJuly 20, 2014
Pros: good environment, fun customers
Cons: high turn over.
A typical day at work was customer service, stocking, cleaning, and recovery. I learned payroll, cash management, ordering. The hardest part of the job was maintaining low loss preventions. Enjoyable part of the job was the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place with uncomfortable floors
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Butner, NCJuly 20, 2014
Cons: full-time hours as a part-time worker and minimal pay for a lot of work
Very busy store
Poor workers
The hardest part of the job is standing for 7 hours a day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the place to earn a "real living", but ok to shop
(FORMER) asst manager (Former Employee), West VirginaJuly 19, 2014
Pros: still thinking.....weekly pay!!
Cons: low wages, 8am - 11pm store hours, poor management, stores improperly staffed due to low payroll, etc
Worked for 2 months as an asst. manager then went to work one day and decided to quit after a few hours into my shift.....why, you might ask??.....the female store manager, who was married, was sleeping with the married district manager, I suspected the store manager was stealing money as evidenced by the bank deposits always having discrepancies except – more... for the week she went on vacation...hmmm! (I later learned she was eventually fired/forced to resign once a new district manager was on board...they should have listened to me). Nonetheless, I didn't want to be caught in the middle of drama for $9/hrs since it was a second job. I took my degree/knowledge elsewhere. Company seems to hire the locals with no more than high school diploma/GED or less and satisfied working for low wages to run stores which explains why most stores in Oak Hill/Beckley area look cluttered, poorly merchandised, have too many empty shelves, floors barely get swept/mopped, inventory left in the aisles...I could go on. At least we got paid every week!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to shop
Manager Assistant (Former Employee), Hillsborough, NCJuly 18, 2014
wonderful place to work and shop. well maintianed store and wonderful employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee), South Euclid, OHJuly 18, 2014
first placed i ever worked really enjoyed it. it really depends on which one you work at
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at Dollar General
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Leesville, LAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: paid weekly
Cons: no heart shown from district manager
Dollar General was not really a bad employer. I actually had a good time working with the people I worked with and the ones that worked for me. Besides the fact that the cooperate office wanted the work of 3-5 people done by one person and the district manager was not understanding of her workers needs in order to make life with the company run smoothly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review on Dollar General
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toledo, OHJuly 18, 2014
Pros: working with my co-workers, being able to pick up extra hours
Cons: not enough pay, unprofessional management, unorganized
A typical day at work consists of working the cash register, then stocking shelves during down time. Management was helpful sometimes, but very unfair. My co-workers were great people who happened to have big dreams like myself, which made it a joy working side by side with them. The hardest part of the job was unloading the truck. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was working side by side with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, New YorkJuly 17, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great management
Cons: we had very difficult customers
This was a great job with great management. I was the Assistant Manager. I loved working with the employees that also worked there. It was a very interesting job that kept me busy everyday. There was always stuff to do which made the day go by fast. I had a lot of responsibility which I loved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Cashier & Stocker & Cleaner (Former Employee), Maple Heights, OHJuly 17, 2014
Pros: friendly managers
Cons: n/a
The work was nothing. I like labor work. I like unloading the truck and stocking the shelves. The only thing I didn't like is that some of the customers were a piece of work but I don't let that get to me. Because wasn't nobody stopping me from getting money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no answer
Sales Associate (Current Employee), mineral ridge ohioJuly 17, 2014
the people are nice
i enjoy the workload
a growing company
the hardest part is nothing
its fine
why am i doing this
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging as far as they hiring process
Supervisor (Former Employee), Greeley, COJuly 17, 2014
This company makes it very hard to get hired. They need to make it a bit easier for the hiring process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job.
Third Key holder/Cashier (Former Employee), Granville, NYJuly 16, 2014
Pros: it was easy work.
Cons: not enough hours, they don't pay anywhere near what your worth and anyone can come in while your working.
It wasn't a hard job and I would have stayed but to many people can come in and harass you while your working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay not a lot of support
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Terrell, TXJuly 16, 2014
Company pays decent for retail management, however employees are very expendable. You will not feel like this place has your back through low times in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stock Person
Warehouse Clerk / Stock / Cashier (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 16, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: nothing
1.Frustrating Sometimes when manager is in a bad mood and that was almost every day.
2. I learned that making a mistake would was not allow in the manager eyes but no one is perfect.
3. Management was not very clear a but the procedures of the do's and don't s
4. The hardest part of the job was satisfying the manager and getting long with him he always – more... had a complaint.
5. I enjoyed working with the public with is customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Lead Associate (Former Employee), Saint Gabriel, LAJuly 16, 2014
I learned to have excellent customer service by greeting and helping customers daily. Learn to manage a store by receiving merchandise, collecting, counting, and depositing money, stocking and keeping a clean work and shopping environment. The hardest part of the job was being short staffed and a lot of work to be done. I worked well with my co-workers – more... and had a lot of fun doing so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage hired too may cashiers and hours were reduced.
Cashier (Former Employee), Hawkinsville GaJuly 16, 2014
Pros: good cashier and stocking experience.
Cons: not enough hours.
I was the last cashier hired under this manager and the first to be let go so the hours could be covered by other cashiers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7.00 per hr assistant manager
assistant manager (Former Employee), Tarkio,moJuly 15, 2014
Pros: toilet works
Cons: every thing
No pay no work NEVER WORK HERE.im a groid that starts with knee.they all smell like chicken bacauk bacauk

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more