Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,026 reviews

Dollar General Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the Public
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Mount Zion, ILFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: public, weekly paychecks, indoor working, nice coworkers
Cons: i cannot list any cons for my job right now
I am always willing to learn new things to better myself. I always come into work 15 minutes early to "get in the groove". I would consider myself to be a people person and have yet to find a job/coworker I don't/didn't get along with. If there is something I find too difficult or something I don't understand, I am not afraid to ask for an opinion to – more... make sure I am doing my job to the fullest of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a big box store
department supervisor (Former Employee), reading, paNovember 24, 2014
There is no set schedule, it is a retail store but it is a lot of fun to work there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place with many responsibilities
Keyholder (Current Employee), White, GANovember 24, 2014
A typical day involves dealing with many customers, cleaning up a very busy store, and counting money in drawers and the deposit at the end of the night. Trying to find a balance of completing all the duties I have within the time I have is the hardest part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly busy work place.
Cashier (Former Employee), Springfield, MONovember 24, 2014
Pros: great co-workers and loved meeting new customers.
Cons: management
On a typical day, we'd be pretty busy. I'd be running the cash register and helping stock/recover the store. I've learned that it is alot of work to close down a dollar store. The management at the first store I worked at was awesome. But once I transferred, the management was more demanding and wanting what's best for the business rather than the employees. – more... My co-workeres were always great and I've made great friendships from there. The hardest part of my job was catching thieves. The most enjoyable part was meeting new people everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar General
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Goose Creek, SCNovember 24, 2014
Dollar General does not keep managers or employees due to upper management not being professional. This is not a hard Job you just have to be willing to be dedicated and put fourth effort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashiering, and stocking
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 24, 2014
cashiering, stocking, greeting customers, cleaning, doing truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making sure to provide team meetings and production trails to ensure company success.
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 24, 2014
Coordinated daily activities of workers engaged in handling, loading, unloading, trasporting stocking, selling and maintaining store levels for a higher performance; monitored company and customers needs to assure to timely matters with commitment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting new people
cashier and stocker (Former Employee), Waterloo, IANovember 24, 2014
Pros: great deals
Cons: management
the hardest thing at work was making sure all of ur customers were happy so that they would come back
make sure that everything is done the right way and not the wrong way. I enjoyed working for the company but the employees just didn't want to do anything that was to be done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have been better
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Spring Lake, NCNovember 24, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, gaining experience
Cons: unsafe work environments
I disliked working as a Sales Associate for Dollar General. I believe that it was mostly the area the store was located in. We were constantly being broken in to and people (including some employees) would steal on several occasions. Management was somewhat decent. I believe I had 4 managers in a 5 month time frame. The store had potential, but not – more... enough employees applied themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Come Ready to work
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), New Hartford, NYNovember 23, 2014
Pros: steady employment, teamwork, family atmosphere, and understanding.
Cons: nothing except a personal experience
Come into work and clock in. Make sure the floor is neat and all the aisles are clear of any blocking debris and start pulling forward all the products that may be tucked back that cant be seen by other customers. Cash out customers that need to be cashed out along with stocking shelves and make sure the from is nice and neat so it looks like the customers – more... are welcome to come and shop at the store.
I learned how to keep things neat and flowing without being behind on products or short of ways to assist the customers along with holding a place where its easy flowing and drama free. My manager was very nice and understood the way of trying hard and the frustration to get ahead along with training for future advancement opportunity's that may approach me. My co-workers were young but always made me laugh and yet kept me grounded at the same time because they had real issues that I had gone through regarding personal as well as occupational so the conversations always went two ways. The hardest part of the job was finding out that I was passed up from a position that I really had been working hard to obtain for 3years to be given to a younger guy that had only been working for the company for one month. I always enjoyed the interactions with customers and other associates I worked with and the deals we had in summer along with the cookouts on the sidewalk sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMH
Cashier/Key Holder (Former Employee), New London, OHNovember 22, 2014
Pros: none other than your not unemployeed.
Cons: pretty much everything
Started out great and then just went down hill. They will fire you for something they haven't trained you on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Sales associate (Former Employee), Frankenmuth, MINovember 22, 2014
I feel I was used by the management and she was let go a few months ago for the way she used people. My coworkers were nice and friendly and I loved meeting new people. The customers were the enjoyable part of the job. I learned that Iove being around people and help them with there things,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job, but it has it's issues
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), North GANovember 22, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: compensation and benefits are lacking
This company is a great place to work if you're a kid living at home with your parents and need a little extra money. I emphasize the word little. Employees start out at minimum wage and part time. Stores have a very small operating budget, so there aren't many hours to give to the cashiers. Store managers are salaried and that salary is abused. It – more... is not uncommon for a store manager to pull a 70-80 hour week (much of that time being in the store alone) just to keep their store in good shape.
There are a lot of forward momentum opportunities with the company. I was an assistant manager inside 5 months. So if you want to move forward and are good at your job, you can move up quite easily. This is because the store managers don't last long. Maybe it's just my district, but I'm not too impressed with the way the company does business or treats its employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company with management advancement.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), VANovember 21, 2014
Pros: many opportunities for promotion and long term employment.
Cons: long hours
I really enjoy working with all of my employees and working around their schedules to make my store schedule.

I also enjoy that no day is ever the same. One day I will be throwing freight, the next I may be running register, and the next I may be setting plan-o-grams. Never a dull moment there is always something to be done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work here
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Summit, MSNovember 21, 2014
At the time that I was employed I had an excellent manager but that is about all the good that I can say. The pay is horrible. Only work here if you can find nothing else or as a last resort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 21, 2014
Most customers are friendly.The company is growing at an impressive rate and has aggressive growth plans. Many opportunities for promotion and long term employment. They worked with me on my schedule pretty good after I had been there a while.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive interaction with people/customers
Cashier/Clerk; Stocker; team member (Former Employee), Atlanta, GeorgiaNovember 21, 2014
Pros: -i make my own lunch at home; i take an hour brake and then return to the surveys
Cons: i don't leave my house much during the week; i miss interacting with people face-to-face
-I work from my home
-I start doing computer surveys
-I will do computer games
-I receive telephone calls from venders and/or job applications
-The most enjoyable part of the job is the following:

A. I work in my own home environment
B. I am not going in several directions at once
C. In addition to the computer surveys, I enjoy the telephone
surveys – more... as well
D. I enjoy being interactive with customers; and I am happy
to be a resource to them
E. My schedule is flexible
F I save money on gas
G I find most people very easy to work with
H I do get some hang-ups with the telephone surveys; but that
does not happen often – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Claremont, NCNovember 21, 2014
I loved working there. Meet alot of people that are now my closest friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Lead Key Holder (Former Employee), Tenaha, TXNovember 20, 2014
Cleaning, Organizing. But all in all i fun oriented place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I want as a career.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALNovember 20, 2014
Pros: a job
Cons: working for them
The company has varied hours i work and the manager is never there.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more