Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,698 reviews

Dollar General Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the Public
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Mount Zion, ILFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: public, weekly paychecks, indoor working, nice coworkers
Cons: i cannot list any cons for my job right now
I am always willing to learn new things to better myself. I always come into work 15 minutes early to "get in the groove". I would consider myself to be a people person and have yet to find a job/coworker I don't/didn't get along with. If there is something I find too difficult or something I don't understand, I am not afraid to ask for an opinion to – more... make sure I am doing my job to the fullest of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teamwork, enjoyable staff, low pay
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Miamisburg, OHSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: low pay
Cashier duties, product facing, stocking, customer relations, cash handling, planogram resets, seasonal displays, transaction logging, employee coaching, interview applicants, etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company i worked for
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 18, 2014
dollar general is a horrible unorganized company. constantly changing managers and district managers. so much theft that goes on in the store. no security to help while we put ourself at risk
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with people, flexable hours, etc
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Norman, OKSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: walking distance from home
Cons: pay rate was minimum wage
enjoyed going to work everyday, seen new people everyday. got along with coworkers, wanted to work more hours to make up the pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company was ok, management was not so great
Lead Sales Associate Manager (Former Employee), Hazlehurst, MSSeptember 18, 2014
opening and closing the store was awesome
co-workers were very easy to get along with
the store manager could really use some help
a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great paced work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Joplin, MOSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: a friendly place to work
Cons: i had to leave
I was only employed with Jody Zimmer at Dollar General for just under 2 months when I found out I was in a high risk pregnancy, then I started having problems with medical and had to relocate for better care.
I was one of the closers at this store and I believed that a pay check was a pay check and was thankful for the opritunity to earn one. Not everyone – more... gets an opritunity these days.
I got along with everyone there and miss them to this day. Recently I called to get the store number for a job application here and Jodie ask me why I didn't come back to work for her.
A typical day at Dollar General was a good one. I come to work and clocked in, counted my till to 100.00, then began my shift. Between customers I stocked shelfs or zoned items. At close I swept, mopped, zoned, gathered trash, and made sure the store was neat for the open of the next buisnes day. Never was there a dull moment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Cashier (Former Employee), Richmond Hill, GASeptember 17, 2014
Was my first job. it taught me how to run the cash register and abt inventory. nice place for teens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorginized
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Baker, LASeptember 16, 2014
Dollar General had a very horrible management team. The work schedule was supposed to be made at least a week in advance it would be made on the day of...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its busy and never boring
3rd key management position (Former Employee), Runnelstown, MSSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: the hours were flexible
Cons: .25 cent a year raise... really?????
A typical day@ work I was always busy in which I like to be. I learned how to multitask in which I think everyone needs to learn how to do in the day we live in. Management was definitely an experience I will never forget, I had the opportunity to step-up,and learn more about the jod and I did. My co-workers were great, we all got along and worked together. – more... The hardest part of the job was the lifting, pulling, and pushing of the freight we received every week. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking and meeting new people, I also loved counting money, and doing the paperwork. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORKPLACE
ASSISTANT MANAGER/ MANAGER (Former Employee), San Benito, TXSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: fun workplace
Cons: wages
PRIOR TO BEING ASSISTANT, I WAS A MANAGER BUT VOLUNTARILY DEMOTED MYSELF TO BE CLOSER TO HOME DUE TO MY DAUGHTER BEING ILL. I OPENED AND CLOSED THE STORE, MONETARY HANDLING, BANK DEPOSITS, WENT TO DIFFERENT STORES TO HELP THEM OPEN OR CLOSE THE STORES DOWN FOR REBUILDING, ALSO HELP IN INVENTORY. ALSO RANKED LOWEST SHRINKAGE PERCENTAGE IN MY INVENTORY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead-end job with no support from cooperate management
Manager (Current Employee), OklahomaSeptember 16, 2014
This job could be fun and more profitable for Dollar General if they really followed their corporate mission statement of "Serving Others".

The wages are low, corporate management plays no part in the day to day operations of a store, and the store managers are forced to milk employees for every bit of labor they can to meet the corporate quotas.

If – more... you need a temporary position while completing college or if you have a child that needs a prod to attend college then this job is right for you!

Expect your low earning customers to treat you like scum of the Earth and most welfare recipients will treat you as if it is necessary to treat them like royalty! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place. small but productive.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Clementon, NJSeptember 16, 2014
even though its a small place to work, the co workers are all so close. truly the best place i've worked so far. never boring, always fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a bad manager
Team Member (Former Employee), Pace, FLSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: not a hard job, great people to work with
Cons: i had a bad manager
I would have loved to stay but I had a bad manager. She is gone now but I put in a notice too so I may not be able to get my job back. That is ok.....this company is not bad to work for if you come in and do your job!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my work and my team
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 15, 2014
I really enjoyed this position, just needed more money. I really enjoyed help people and working with my employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company in a small town area.
Shipping Loader (Current Employee), Scottsville, KYSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: plenty of hours
Cons: quite a bit of turnover
Lots of tough work, but manageable, by those willing to put in the effort. Advancement availability also for those willing to put in the time and effort. You can get out of it, what you put into it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace for a first job
Cashier (Former Employee), Austell, GASeptember 15, 2014
Co-workers were like family to me. I was extremely comfortable working in Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work for
Key Holder/ Sales Associate Lead (Former Employee), Pinckney, MISeptember 15, 2014
I was a sales associate, basically a cashier. I was never allowed to get over time, I had to take longer breaks to avoid it. The general manager said they would be flexible with my schedule but never was. They played favorites with the other employees and was a bit sexist. And every time I asked for a day off in advance, I would be denied it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the work space
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), North Birmingham, ALSeptember 15, 2014
Being at this job I fell in love with people, this job was face to face costumer service action all day long. This job is physically demanding, stocking freight, changing plan-a-grams, sweeping, mopping, and lastly going all around you store for customers and security purposes. Threw out the day I would let the store employees on shift know what they – more... needed to do for the day and what the goals were for our day, receiving vendors, stocking, most importantly taking care of our customers as well as keeping ourselves safe in our environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and really busy enviroment.
Manager (Former Employee), Muscatine, IASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: alot of different people you would see and enjoyed it.
Cons: real long days sometimes and always real busy if something wasn't done i always had to do it.
I liked working at the store my employees were great and had a great team working for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful
Cashier/Customer (Current Employee), FortPierce, FlSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: helping the community
Cons: unecessary stressful conditions
You were always rushing to put away stock, so they didn't have high payroll for the rest of the week until the truck comes back.
They made you feel like you can stay or leave because there are so many people wanting a job. They really don't care about you at all. That is why the turn over is sooo high. They had 5 different managers come and go in the – more... almost 3 years that I am there. I did enjoy working there because of all the same customers I see everyday. They were so sweet. I miss them. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more