Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,127 reviews

Dollar General Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the Public
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Mount Zion, ILFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: public, weekly paychecks, indoor working, nice coworkers
Cons: i cannot list any cons for my job right now
I am always willing to learn new things to better myself. I always come into work 15 minutes early to "get in the groove". I would consider myself to be a people person and have yet to find a job/coworker I don't/didn't get along with. If there is something I find too difficult or something I don't understand, I am not afraid to ask for an opinion to – more... make sure I am doing my job to the fullest of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Uniontown, ALDecember 23, 2014
Pros: good hours, working with general public, dibs on clearance and zeroed out merchandise
Cons: precise breaks, unloading before the birds wake up
Good hours. You may have to unload merchandise in the wee hours of the morning. Promotes internally. Pay is a bit more than minimum wage. It's only hard if coworkers aren't properly trained, in which case you have to do your job and re-do theirs. You are first in line for clearance and zeroed out merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnig as I go
Store Manager/District Manager (Current Employee), River Falls, WIDecember 22, 2014
I have enjoyed working for Dollar General and have learned a lot but I want to grow more weather that be with the company or not. I have worked there 3 years almost 4 and I haven't gone up. I am still young and learning what I want to do with my life. I want to do something that is more personnal hand-on with making a real difference with people in – more... need – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place during afternoons
Cashier (Former Employee), McDonough, GADecember 22, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of me running the cash register stocking the medicine wall. I've learned that hard working can really pay off and along the way you'll meet some friendly people. The management was very good but sometimes they could be slow at assisting with back up or taking something off the customers transition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun friendly place to work
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dumas, TXDecember 22, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, good pay for area, simple work assignments
Cons: managers were not trained and supported well by corporate
always busy, not usually enough help, management was extremely poor and unstable all the time, seemed to fill store manager position with criminals and was suprised when losses were high,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The customers made my job worth it
Cashier (Former Employee), Clarksville, TNDecember 22, 2014
It was always busy working for Dollar General. I've learned no matter if management wasn't the best to me, I made it the best for customers to have the best experience while I was at work. Lastly, the co-workers I worked with were nice while my time lasted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Richlands, NCDecember 22, 2014
Pros: busy
Cons: hours
Love working with customers and helping them find what they need. Also loved working as a team to accomplish daily goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 22, 2014
Pros: moving up quick
Cons: pay
Dollar general is a good job to build a good foundation for management. Easy ways to move up and better your position. If you are looking for a company who cares, supports different organazations, and supports college student then this is a good job for you,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company to work for
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), tulsa,okDecember 21, 2014
do not work here they don't have any core values in there customers just on making money the middle management is a joke.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ungrateful, cheapskate company.
Keyholder Manager (Former Employee), Newark, DEDecember 21, 2014
Pros: easy to get into lower management
Cons: almost everything
I started working here as a regular cashier/associate, then quickly worked my way up to a management position in less than 2 months. At first it seemed like I was really appreciated in the company, but soon after accepting my new position it was nothing but constant grief.

They over worked me up to 70 hours a week without asking me first, my supervisor – more... never came to work for more than 20 hours a week (Even though he was suppose to work a mandatory of 40 hours a weeks) I as only paid 1 more dollar an hour above minimum wage for management work. I constantly saw my supervisor verbally abuse my female co-workers just because they where female. All of the listed things are just a small scratch on all the wrongs in this company.

The worst part is, corporate and HR would do nothing about anything. My co-workers and myself would often call HR together or make in person complaints to our district rep. to make a complaint just to be told "Oh well". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and customer's.
Stock Man (Former Employee), Tampa Bay, FLDecember 21, 2014
A typical day at work is a day of re stocking and reorganizing the store. I learned how to accomplish goals set out per shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the customers
Asst.Mgr (Former Employee), Mount Airy, NCDecember 20, 2014
I would come in and open store and get everything started to begin the business day. My cashier would come in at 8 and we would get started helping the customers. I would get done what had to be down in the office then I would go to the sales floor and start to straight up the ales and then I would go to stock room and pull out what need to go out on – more... the floor that had holes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place bad area
Cashier (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 19, 2014
Pros: got good hours
Cons: did not work with me for school
To checkout guest in the store and clean work area before and after shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Retail Workplace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Columbia, IL and Dupo, ILDecember 19, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: health care, yearly raises
I currently manage at the Dollar General in Dupo IL and Dupo is a very small town and Dollar General is the only place to shop and get anything you need. Because of that we are extremely busy 24/7 and especially on weekends. Being busy requires constant fast pace movement and rushing around trying to get things done while maintaining customer satisfaction. – more... A typical day at work is trying to get a 1500 piece truck out on the sales floor before another truck comes the following week, because of payroll we don't have many people to work on it so it is like always playing catch up through out the week and then you have customers everywhere throughout the store as you are stocking. I believe that is the most difficult task of this job. Managing isn't difficult for me but its isn't exactly easy either. I have to make sure everything is running the way it should be, fix any problems including computer problems. money problems, sale problems, customer problems, and make sure my cashiers and crew members are doing their jobs.Last but not least the money. Because we are the only thing in Dupo, we make more money than any other Dollar General is our area, so saying that I constantly have to make sure the money is exact and make sure the deposits are never short. Also managing requires inventory count and ordering merchandise. My co-workers are all very nice and together we make a very good team, working together means everything and maintaining a good work ethic. My most enjoyment everyday is seeing our regulars come in and having a good work relationship with all my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Sucked.
Cashier / Key Holder (Former Employee), Sanford, FLDecember 19, 2014
Pros: meet lots of people
Cons: work with teenagers and theives
Drama between other employees all of the time, Changes in management happen suddenly and violently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
WMS Clerk (Former Employee), Indianola, MSDecember 19, 2014
Pros: great lunch break time.
Cons: a lot of print work.
I was a WMS Clerk responsible for the print outs for each department such as: non con and repack etc... I was also responsible for maintaining the (RF-Radio Frequencies) if a worker brought them to the window for help. Responsible for making sure that all RF are charged and ready for the next day. Responsible for making sure that the printer prints – more... out the labels and works smoothly. A DGC I also became the president of the safety committee. We posted signs to make sure people would be careful around the warehouse and came up with other safety agendas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
How I Feel
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Coshocton, OHDecember 19, 2014
This Job As Well I Was One Of The Best Employees Feel Free To Call And Ask :) I'm Very Good At What I Do. Not Easy Being Me !!! :)

I'm Very Well Skilled And Proud Of It Call It Cocky Call It Very Conceeded But I Call It Knowing What Needs To Be Done Setting My Mind To It And Accomplishing it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worth the experience
Lead Sales Associate PT (4th Key Lead) (Current Employee), txDecember 18, 2014
Pros: experience, customers, relationships made
Cons: unorganized, management, pay
management sucks, nothing gets done right. Ive transferred to 2 different stores and worked at 3, seems to be the problem at all the DG's ive worked at. I loved the experience and everything I learned. Shrink was high and pay was low but its great for starting off. The company itself is absolutely beautiful. Love the policies and idea of how DG works, – more... if there is any downfall its the management and the way they run their stores. Also, if you put in work you are likely to be recognized and recommended when there is promotions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dawsonville, GADecember 18, 2014
Pros: easy work
The work is easy to comprehend. The coworkers I worked with were nice and helped as much as they can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast, and hardworking.
Cashier (Current Employee), Summerville, SCDecember 18, 2014
Ringing customers out, cleaning up the store, and getting the truck out. Learn how to handle all types of situations with help from the managers who work well with schedule changes, emergencies, and call-outs; to co-workers who has your back with customers truck and cleaning the store. The hardest and easiest part is the customers they are what determines – more... the progress of the store. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more