Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,566 reviews

Dollar General Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the Public
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Mount Zion, ILFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: public, weekly paychecks, indoor working, nice coworkers
Cons: i cannot list any cons for my job right now
I am always willing to learn new things to better myself. I always come into work 15 minutes early to "get in the groove". I would consider myself to be a people person and have yet to find a job/coworker I don't/didn't get along with. If there is something I find too difficult or something I don't understand, I am not afraid to ask for an opinion to – more... make sure I am doing my job to the fullest of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Los Banos, CAAugust 19, 2014
I loved working overnights. Stocking the food department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant manager (Current Employee), Covington gaAugust 19, 2014
Pros: that it is easy to move into a higher position.
Cons: they can't keep a store manager
I come in and count the safe to make sure it is the correct amount before the other manager leave for the day and i count down my employee till down to switch to the next shift. Make sure that the line stays down to 3 people and if four or more gets in line i go and check out the next customer. Closing i have to make sure that the store is recovered – more... properly and if i open i have to get on conference call work what they call start by putting out labels or whatever items are in sale for that week. Make sure that my cashiers have totes to work on and i have to work on the endcaps or do a planogram. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back but serious when needed workplace
cashier/ Asst. Manger (Former Employee), texas city, tx 77590August 19, 2014
Pros: made up our own breaks that worked around how busy the store got
Cons: not enough people worked at once, always short handed
open or close the store. do the daily cleanings of the store before customers come in the in the mornings. also clean the store at night before we left. keep inventory full throughout the day. make sure the back room inventory stay at clean and the right spots for easy grab incase we needed to refill selves. count the money in the cash box every night – more... and every morning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New Iberia, LAAugust 19, 2014
A typical day includes a lot of customer interaction. I learned how to multitask and also be friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all is a good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Moss Point, MSAugust 19, 2014
U come in to work about 8 o'clock in the morning get you draw from your manger on duty. normanly you would have to clean up after the night shift so we would get started on that . Then start stocking the beens helping customers any way posable . i love it ther just did not get enofe houres.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment To Work Fast Paced and Management Friendly.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lehigh Acres, FLAugust 18, 2014
Pros: tolerable management.
Cons: brief breaks excluding designated lunch break.
A typical day at work duties include cashing out customers promptly with a courteous and friendly demeanor. Assisting customers location items of interest.Stock shelves neatly. Learn how to manage your time between the registers and keeping the store in kosher condition by front and recovering items. Learn how to appropriately price items using price-gun. – more... Management is very friendly and has a strong knowledge of the inventory. Co-workers are very cooperative, we work in unison to achieve the duties posted.The most challenging part of this job can be multitasking when a team-member is absent to play their part of a task. The most enjoyable part of this job being Sale Associate is greeting and briefly interacting with different people of diverse locations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great atmosphere
Cashier (Former Employee), Jimmison, AlabamaAugust 18, 2014
A lot of hard work and a good company to work for. Enjoyed working there and the managers were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Customer Service (Former Employee), Nicholasville, KYAugust 18, 2014
DG was a good job, you got paid every week, work with great people who cares about your improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dollar general was a good place to work for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Dalhart, TXAugust 18, 2014
Pros: makeing sure the store was cleaned and product stock
Cons: healthcare
i left dollar general to work for united supermarkets-my career was always a office job like accounting-so when united supermarket offered me a job as a bookkeeper-i left dollar general
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
......
Cashier (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXAugust 17, 2014
it was a good job for a first timer, managers are very freindly and understanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Cashier (Former Employee), Mexia, TXAugust 17, 2014
Enjoyed working there while I was there. I was very busy most of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, somewhat demanding job but with bad management and overall lack of care as a company.
Sales Associate Part-time (Former Employee), Ellisville, MSAugust 16, 2014
Pros: great working schedule, easy core job itself
Cons: literally everything else
I would come into work usually early mornings say 5 or 6 am. We would start by either stocking straight off the truck or just start pulling from the back. When I first started there was a time frame but no one was really timed. The store I was at is very high volume which means lots of product goes out so a lot comes right back in through trucks. The – more... stock literally is busting out of this stores backroom onto the floor. The whole store needed to be recovered bad and was very messy. We rushed ourselves to our best to stock but at the end of the day we barely put a dent in it. This was due to the lack of employees since this job has a high turnover (quit, fire, etc.) and the store DIDN'T EVEN HAVE A STORE MANAGER. One assistant manager in general was very sexist and power hungry, she took charge over everyone and I believe is the core problem with that store. By the time I started and quit 6 people had done the same, some started slightly before and some slightly after me. Soon I heard an additional 3 people quit by the next month. Also the company decided we had to right our times down on a sheet and to meet the requirements for each type of stock, RIDICULOUS expectations for some of the types and I was one of the faster stockers. They also started taking up our cell phones which actually ended up slowing down our times vs. speeding them up since we were able to listen to music while we worked which soon turned in to a school/prison type environment. So overall it depends if the store looks good and if the management is good because the job was cake. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and work - life bakance
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Rowlett, TXAugust 16, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: driving. locations way too far apart
Working at Metro is fun. Work is flexible with inside and outside work each day. Flexible schedules and great district manager in Dallas. Good pay and work independently with little supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with fellow cashiers.
Asst. Manager (Former Employee), 15th street, TuscaloosaAugust 16, 2014
Pros: customers and other employees
Cons: manager
Enjoyed working with all employees except my last manager. She didn't seem to care that I had a disability and help me. She also called me names.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Buckhannon, WVAugust 16, 2014
Cons: short breaks, healthcare, 401k match nonexistent
This company does not offer much in the way of pay or a chance for advancement. Every year you work there you get an extra quarter on the hour, but the kick is once you reach a certain number you cannot make more than that amount an hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Retail Job
Store Manager (Former Employee), Tioga, LAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: own store
Cons: pay
Average Retail Job. Hours are okay. Management is okay. Pay is poor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family owned company
District Manager (Former Employee), Warsaw, INAugust 16, 2014
Great place to work and begin a career. It is a terrific atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get ready to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Holly Springs, MSAugust 16, 2014
Pros: fast paced and can be a place you can go far dedication is the key.
Cons: can be alot of hours for salary employees
Benefits are good. No place to play. Put talents and skills to work and you may go far.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pizza hut
Cashier (Former Employee), Belton, TXAugust 16, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: fired wrongly
good place to work for the most part. fun team members and customers.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more