Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,900 reviews

Dollar General Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the Public
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Mount Zion, ILFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: public, weekly paychecks, indoor working, nice coworkers
Cons: i cannot list any cons for my job right now
I am always willing to learn new things to better myself. I always come into work 15 minutes early to "get in the groove". I would consider myself to be a people person and have yet to find a job/coworker I don't/didn't get along with. If there is something I find too difficult or something I don't understand, I am not afraid to ask for an opinion to – more... make sure I am doing my job to the fullest of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, but...
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee), Central OhioOctober 28, 2014
Pros: great place for someone to learn the retail industry!
Cons: over worked, under paid!
Overwhelming! The requirement of daily tasks can become hard to accomplish when hours are being cut in the region. Although hours were cut, the daily tasks remain the same (even though they were originally initiated with a certain amount of hours in mind).

The pay is very low considering the amount of responsibilities and tasks on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Dollar General Cashier (Former Employee), Jasper, ALOctober 28, 2014
Pros: job experience.
Cons: short breaks, thieves, and standing up all day.
-My day would consist of greeting customers, restocking merchandise, recovering merchandise, unloading trucks, and providing the best customer service that I could.
-I learned to help customers, control my emotions with unruly customers, and what it takes to be a hard worker.
-The management was amazing, the manager knew what they were doing and could – more... take control of a situation quickly.
-Most of my coworkers were easy to talk with and work with. We worked as a team and helped each other even when working individually.
-The hardest part of the job was being on my feet constantly, but it was a small sacrifice to pay.
-The best part of this Job was being able to see the smiles on a satisfied customers face to be honest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 stars
sales associate (Current Employee), mayodan NC Madison NCOctober 28, 2014
i was satisfied with the job that i had to do, it was a very easy job and did not take me long to pick up and be trained. however, the hours i recieved were not that of which i applied for. i had to drive between two stores, one being on one side of town and one being on the complete opposite. i was hired on for fulltime, and was only given one day – more... at one store, and one day at the other store. as far as the people i worked for and the training process, i throughly enjoyed it, and looked forward to the days when i would work. the companies computer system, or checkout system was fairly easy to learn, and i feel that i was an outstanding employee for this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Store Manager (Current Employee), Doniphan, MOOctober 28, 2014
Pros: it's a job.
Cons: pay, bonus, payscale for your hourly employees, payroll budget
The worst corporate culture that I have ever worked in. The district and regional managers didn't have a clue what the corporate office was doing or why.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very energetic work enviroment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Lawton, OKOctober 28, 2014
Pros: decent work hours weekends off once a month
Cons: pay was not as good as some other opportunities
It was a great experience all around. I moved up very easily and was asked to take a management position which I declined due to an offer from Frito Lay. I enjoyed the people and the work always kept me busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-like environment
Cashier/Stock Assistant (Former Employee), DeRidderOctober 27, 2014
Pros: understanding of my situation without my husband.
Cons: made me work nights sometimes, which was bad for my situation with my husband being gone.
They treated you like you were part of a family. I always went in ready to work and take on the day. My typical day at work included many things like stocking shelves, manning the cash register, and helping customers. I learned how to front merchandise and how to correctly put together merchandise on shelves. Management was always understanding of me – more... when I needed time off because of my step daughter. My co-workers were nice and helped me out when I had a problem I couldn't solve by myself. The hardest part of my job was carrying the heavy boxes and merchandise to put on shelves. The most enjoyable part was the people I worked with, they were so nice and friendly and always had a smile on their faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Aiken, SCOctober 27, 2014
Pros: nice people, great managment
Cons: short breaks, bad pay
i ran the register and stocked when i didn't have customers.
the hardest part of the job was trying to be two places at once.
my co-workers were ok just wish they would show up on time.
the most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Flint, MIOctober 27, 2014
Pros: worked with great people
Cons: was a lot of thefts and roberies
Daily duties and jobs can change daily and per season. The job is fun but rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job but I had other plans for my future
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), LebanonOctober 27, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: no opportunity to move up
Its a good business to work at the other employees were great and helpful when i first started. The management was great too they helped me gain alot of customer service skills needed for future jobs. I went into work in the morning and counted my cashier drawer then
i would take care of any customers at that point, The management would set me up to – more... work freight and merchandiseing
in my spare time. If i closed that dayI would start recovering the store an hour before close such as mop clean move product to correct loction , I would then count my till down and put it In the safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the people with whom you work.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Quinland, TXOctober 27, 2014
Pros: variety, quick pace, sense of accomplishment
Cons: corporate will never allow scheduling of enough personnel or hours to get job done efficiently.
Worked one store where the people were efficient, knowledgeable, and trustworthy. This store was a great experience. These people were a joy to coworkers and customers.
Worked one store where the personnel from the District Manager to the cashiers seemed more focused on causing problems than in working together.
Again... It all depends on the people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun customers bad everything else
Cashier (Current Employee), Alton, ILOctober 27, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: won't work around school schedule, mean spirits, uncleanly
Normally I show up talk with customers and get yelled at for my lines being to long because I'm trying to be polite. Management is awful. The hardest part of the job is doing everything at once.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Store
Manager (Former Employee), Montgomery, AlOctober 26, 2014
Assist Cashier with concerns. Opened and closed store. Made and dropped off deposits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love To Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Grambling LAOctober 26, 2014
I get along with my employee and customer. I catch on to the job fast. I'm always ready to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and sometimes uncomfortable work conditions
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 26, 2014
Pros: the hours of operation
Cons: budget never allowed enough man power to do a good job
As an assistant manager, you were sometimes required to work long hours and sometimes to work alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are flexible with my schedule.
Lead Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pottsville, PAOctober 25, 2014
The one thing I like about working here is they are flexible with my schedule which allows me to attend school at night. I also like the people I work with.
The hardest part of my job is dealing with the clientele that come into the store. They can be hard to deal with sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first or transitional job.
Cashier (Former Employee), Marietta, GAOctober 25, 2014
This was my 2nd job. i enjoyed working there meeting new people and making sure that there needs were met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work envrioment
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee), Ellenboro, NCOctober 24, 2014
Pros: flexiable schedule
Cons: it closed
loved the job and loved the people i hate the place closed i think i would still be with the company today
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good retail job.
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 24, 2014
Pros: competitive pay rate for retail.
Cons: none really.
Typical day at work consisted of being on the checkstand or stocking shelves with product. What I learned was the basics of retail and customer service as it was my first job. Management was decent, could be demanding at times but in retrospect was understandable considering the size of the store and how small the staff was. Co-workers were fantastic, – more... very friendly and helpful. Hardest part of the job for me on a personal level, I was let go but I was trying to get over a heart problem which I since recovered from, it took about 6 months but at that time it was just too much for my body at the time to handle, unloading the truck could be strenuous at times but was manageable. Most enjoyable part was learning how retail worked and about customer service and how it worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
CASHIER/ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Iota, LAOctober 24, 2014
I attained great experience with customer service working at Dollar General.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more