Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,966 reviews

Dollar General Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the Public
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Mount Zion, ILFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: public, weekly paychecks, indoor working, nice coworkers
Cons: i cannot list any cons for my job right now
I am always willing to learn new things to better myself. I always come into work 15 minutes early to "get in the groove". I would consider myself to be a people person and have yet to find a job/coworker I don't/didn't get along with. If there is something I find too difficult or something I don't understand, I am not afraid to ask for an opinion to – more... make sure I am doing my job to the fullest of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work.
Manager (Former Employee), Jackson, MSDecember 10, 2012
Pros: working with the employees i had.
Cons: long hours.and people not doing their jobs so i could do mine.
My day at dollar general was awesome..I would start at 8 am and at times go till 7 pm,but loved doing the job. .learned so much..I learned to be patient and to listen better ..When i become manager I was not sure I could do it because there was so much to do ,but it was awesome..my co-workers were awesome.great people to work with and for..had awesome – more... district manager ..hardest part of the job was firing people but i knew I had to,was part of my job and knew that I needed people to be there on time and to do their jobs..the most enjoyable part of my job was working with customers.loved it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Sales Associate (Current Employee), Austin, TxApril 17, 2014
Pros: great boss
Cons: part time and pay
My time at dollar general has been great they are flexible with your schedule and if you like to move up in the company you can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place of work
Assistant Manager/Stocker (Former Employee), Dayton, OHApril 17, 2014
good job and hard working postion. Putting products on sales floors and unloading food and others things off truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Again
Store Manager (Former Employee), ARApril 17, 2014
Pros: associates
Cons: hours, pay, corporate
It's an ok job unless you go into management. Part time people are lucky to get any hours every week. Managers are expected to work all the hours the company won't give the hourly associates. Even though salary is based on 40 hours a week, company requires a minimum of 48 for store managers, but never gives enough hours for the hourly associates so – more... store managers end up working 60+ hours a week. Managers are supposed to have 1 full and 1 1/2 day off, which almost never happens. I worked 31 days straight with too many doubles to count before I quit. Too high of expectations for to little pay and no help. Corporate really needs to learn how to better run an efficient store or the store won't be around much longer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A new experience everyday
Key Holder/Assistant Manager in Training (Former Employee), Fyffe, ALApril 16, 2014
Pros: flexible with work schedule. lots of opportunities to move up.
Cons: usually never the same work schedule week to week.
If you love helping people this is the place for you. You get to know your coworkers well. They have good job advancement. There is always something new and something to do. I love how many new experiences you get and how many people you get to meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier/Stovker
Merchandising (Former Employee), Riverdale, GaApril 16, 2014
Pros: fast pace
Cons: low pay
-fast pace
-Ability to move around between jobs
-used POS systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Customer Service (Former Employee), Akron, OHApril 16, 2014
Fun work environment, love working with others. Typical day at work consisted of making sales, helping others. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company to work for. You can grow within the company. I also have wonderful co-workers that I work with.
front end key holder (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYApril 16, 2014
My day consists of dealing with the customers who patrons the store. I cash out my customers with their items they have purchased. I empty rolltainers to put various products merchandise onto the sales floor.I do store reports, deal with various vendors who put the products in our store.I love working with my co-workers. They are hands on like myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service, stocking, managing
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Tullahoma, TNApril 15, 2014
some days were good and others were not but with that said I liked the overall job. There is one exception with this job and that is working weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume store.
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee), Washington, NCApril 15, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: pay was poor
I very much enjoyed working at Dollar General. A typical day at work consisted of high volume clientel. If you are not a "people" person I do not recommend working here. It is very fast paced. I learned a great deal of patience. I absolutely loved all of the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Cashier (Former Employee), Pikeside, WVApril 15, 2014
Run cash register, stock shelves, unload shipments, did same thing everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Workplace with excellent opportunities
Store Manager (Current Employee), Dayton, OHApril 15, 2014
Pros: working with people
Cons: turnover
Actively managing store operations and corporate initiatives to achieve sales goals. Top award in Expenses and Inventory accuracy for 2012 earning 2nd and 1st overall respectively. Acquiring personnel and coordinating customer relations to heighten business standards and increase results. Interpreting financial data to influence business decisions and – more... profitability. Earned promotion after increasing store ranking to the top 8% of company MTD as of January of 2013, and held top 20% YTD as of January 2013. After relocating to a bottom 10% store increased store ranking to top 45% of company to 4600 up from 9800 of 11200 stores nationwide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dollar general
Cashier (Former Employee), Ahoskie, NCApril 15, 2014
Well the job consist of balancing cash drawer, making sure that i give back the correct change and issue the customers there receipt. I also clean and did stock when needed or necessary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
sales associate (Current Employee), chattanooga, tnApril 15, 2014
Pros: manager
Cons: pay, no breaks, heavy lifting
A typical day at work is running the register and putting out a lot of heavy stock. Cleaning and organizing the store. My manager is the best and is always understanding of situations. The pay is TERRIBLE. Who can live off of $7.50 hour? No body unless you work 24/7.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Culture
Regional Human Resources Manager (Current Employee), Goodlettesville, TNApril 14, 2014
Pros: culture, good people
Cons: workload, work life balance
Dollar General has a great culture. The career opportunities are definitely there. The only issue is the large workload expected for one person and you are not compensated for the work you do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Store Manager (Former Employee), Monroe, LAApril 13, 2014
Being in retail for 10 years previous to DG, I was highly disappointed after I joined the Dg family. I expected much more support from a company that had such a solid base yet did not get it. We constantly had to make due with what we had instead of getting what we needed. I was injured on the job and shortly thereafter was terminated for a bogus reason.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two Faced Upper Management / Awful company
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee), Barstow, CAApril 13, 2014
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: incomitant upper management, no loyalty, awful company, no support from dms or hr, all around worst job ever
Typical day consists of picking up your upper managements' slack. All the responsibility was placed upon 3rd keys. In working there, you learn quickly that your upper management will turn everything around on everyone else, you cant trust anyone, and that is job isn't worth the awful pay. My coworkers were the only thing positive about my experience – more... there. They do not respect work- life balance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales clerk
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Welch, WVApril 12, 2014
Pros: bought my own lunch.
Cons: short breaks
running cashier an stocking the floors until I have a customer at the register....then back to putting up merchandise on the shelves or clothing which ever. then my lunch break an right back to work... cleaning an recovery at closing an trash as well. management was okay til she found out I was pregnant an my husband was black an my other child was – more... biracial. I got along with all other employees very well. an customers were very friendly an nice as well had no problems at all. I enjoyed my work. the manager made my job the hardest for me.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmoshere meeting many different people.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Plant City, FLApril 12, 2014
Great place to work, had many opportunities to assist customers to help find what they wanted and added more suggestions as well.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more