DNV GL Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ask questions prior to accepting position
Project Manager (Former Employee), Katy, TXMarch 23, 2016
Pros: Co-workers, health benefits
Cons: Culture, management, pay
The typical workweek was long and arduous for salaried employees. Weekend and evening work was necessary to keep clients satisfied. Management drove US units hard and resources were thin. Was constantly telling clients they would have to wait. Co-workers were very intelligent and dedicated, which was the most pleasant part of position. Bonuses and raises were small and infrequent. Salary was well below national average for similar position in this sector. Health benefits were good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Overall Energy Company
Contract/ Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Katy, TXMarch 2, 2016
Pros: Orgnization and Management
Love environment and disciplines in company. Process oriented , and very driven environment. Management is ideal for work conditions .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Software Support and Implementation,SQL DBA (Current Employee), Kuala Lumpur,January 9, 2016
Friendly environment, work is managed in good manner, Group discussion to resolve complex problems. Daily scrum meetings to resolve individual issues with line managers. Project Documents are are properly managed. company's data is securely managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Consultant (Former Employee), Katy, TXOctober 23, 2015
Nice place to work with good benefit. Treating the employees well and professional. Learning new thing from colleagues through project work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Consultant - CFD and Safety Team (Current Employee), London BridgeOctober 14, 2015
Pros: Enjoyable working atmosphere. Appreciation of work/life balance
Cons: Industry struggling
I have thoroughly enjoyed working for DNV GL. It is a top company to work for that provides a good career path and possibility to progress. The working environment is very good and an extremely enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Project Manager & O&M Inspector Engineer (Current Employee), Lubbock, TXSeptember 22, 2015
Pros: Nice benefits
Cons: Far from family
great place to work, and travel a lot, but difficult to be closer with the family. Nice benefits and friendly with the coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work with
Inspection Engineer (Welding/Piping/Painting) (Current Employee), Abu Dhabi, AZJuly 16, 2015
Its an excellent company to work with. Lot of opportunity for learning and freedom to work. I have gained lot of knowledge whil working in this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Engineer (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 4, 2015
good place to work, flexible, salary is not high, but it is fair enough. People are friendly to each other. The location is close to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company if you want to work in Houston or Oslo, Norway
Legal Counsel (Current Employee), Burlington, MAJune 28, 2015
Pros: good benefits
Cons: management is just ok, poor communication
A nice company that's going through a lot of changes. Unfortunately, the European mentality (which can be great) is this company's biggest problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, workaholic and relaxed place
Technical assistant (Former Employee), Rio de Janeiro, BrazilMay 26, 2015
Pros: free lunches, airplane miles, reimbursement
Cons: bureaucracy
My typical days were traveling for others estates around the Brazil, almost every day and office when didn't had survey scheduled.
Because was my first job, I learn how i should act on field and I had the chance to practice all my knowledge from university.
The management direct above me was a good boss. He ever gave me all support that i need.
My co-workers were every receptive and friendly with me. We were a good survey team, working together all the time.
The most hardest part of the last job were the return of the travels. After spent almost 14 hours traveling and working for another country by airplane, view the traffic jam on Rio de Janeiro and go home was a challenge.
The most enjoyable part of the job were the opportunities that the companies gave for all employees.There were a lot of incentives and pampering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DNV GL Review
Engineer / Commissioning Agent (Current Employee), Oakland, CAApril 15, 2015
I work 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM and I've learned numerous skills. I've had the opportunity to work on global projects and interfacing with upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start off
Client Support Specialist/Planner (Operations) (Current Employee), Katy, TXApril 15, 2015
Cons: No room for growth
I have enjoyed my time with the DNV GL family. This company is very fast paced, co-workers are very close. The company sincerely cares about you and your family with flexibility towards it when needed to be there for your family. This company is great to start off as a first place to work in the corporate world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great upward mobility for high potentials
HR Manager - Energy Americas (Current Employee), Burlington, MAApril 5, 2015
Cons: Norwegian culture mindset does not work well in the US but they try to force it anyway.
Good place to work and just like all companies, there are some challenges. They have a heart and want to do the right thing but at times are constrained by having to make a business decisions that go against the employees. Overall, I recommend DNV GL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
international work culture,having the opportunity to work and gain knowledge in diversified field.very effective for career growth
Sr.Surveyor (Current Employee), Kakinada, APMarch 26, 2015
1.Present at office/field at 9 P.M.Overview the following.
2.Targets for the are fixed in line with the project schedule and previous day achievement in a meeting between client(if available), vendor/contractor and my people.jobs are identified for each supervisor.
3.Actions are taken for the cause of any shortfall in term of material,manpower and machinery.
4.execution of work including safety are being monitored as per the safety and quality procedure and records are being maintained in approved format. Non conformance report is generated in case of any short fall.
5.interaction with client,engineering,procurement is made to resolve the issues if any.
Learning- Working through procedures,time schedule for each action/activity produce high productivity tending to zero error.
Management-Improve result oriented management skill being open,conductive,in time action and decision with all participating agencies/persons in project or in office.
Co-worker- Excellent out put is obtained by understanding their knowledge,interest and responsibility allotted accordingly.for good work appreciation is given.
Hardest part of the job- when unforeseen situation arise may be due to technical reason like engineering,failed in testing,short supply of material,nonavailability of required skilled man power,strike and natural issue.
Enjoyable part- 1.Achieved the result without any fault,within time frame and a good team work.
2. Individual's innovative idea makes the project or any activity easy and successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultancy Services for Oil and Energy
Senior Risk and Safety Consultant (Current Employee), Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaMarch 17, 2015
Consultancy Services for Oil and Energy
Merged DNV and GL made as one DNVGL on 2013 end year.
It has over 17000 employee all over the world in 64 countries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is like a classroom experience
Network Engineer (Current Employee), Chalfont, PAFebruary 21, 2015
Pros: i get to work on alot of different things
Cons: help is few and far when needed
The company's take is you learn 80% of what you need to know on the job, 10% thru training materials, and 10% thru mentoring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global company with lots of interesting things to work on
Senior Lab Technician (Current Employee), Dublin, OHFebruary 14, 2015
Pros: global company with lots of interesting things to work on
Cons: many advanced degrees (phd). makes it difficult to stand out
-Large company benefits with a small company atmosphere
-Flex time
-friendly group of people to work with
- Great location in Dublin for lunch
- over 300 offices world wide
- multicultural work enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Rewarding Work
Materials and Corrosion Technology Center Intern (Former Employee), Dublin, OHDecember 26, 2014
Working as an intern for DNV GL involved a wide range of technical problem solving. There was a good balance of individual and team-based work. I gained a relevant understanding in corrosion science and enjoyed being able to directly apply my several years of engineering training for a useful purpose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in decline
consultant (Former Employee), Madison, WIOctober 12, 2014
Pros: good traditions
Cons: poor office management, lack of engineering professionalism, below average total compensation, declining moral.
The effect of two mergers coupled with poor mid-level management practices are having a marked effect on the company's professionalism. In particular, their energy-efficiency evaluations have seen too many examples of unprofessional practices, as noted by customers and utilities. Business development is in decline, resulting in a sharp decline in moral.

December 10, 2014

A close examination of the high attrition rate in the Nashville office will provide insight into the substandard management of the energy-efficiency evaluation team along with a poor professional working environment for engineers/analysts.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SALES, MARKETING, BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION
Executive - Business Development (Former Employee), BARODA, INDIAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: working hours
Cons: extensive travelling
EXCELLENT ORGANIZATION TO WORK WITH AND LEARNED A LOT SUCH AS SALES, MARKETING, BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION