Discount Car and Truck Rentals Employee Reviews

Found 61 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great as a part-time job for students.
Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 April 2017
My job tasks as Service Attendant included preparing vehicles, opening/closing contracts, assisting customers with their rental, driving customers, and closing up shop. The management at my location was amazing (Jarvis St). They have a way of bringing the staff together and making everyone feel comfortable with each other.
Pros
Free lunches on Fridays
Cons
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but not promising
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 April 2017
Fun job at first but management was terrible. We never had enough cars to accommodate reservations. We had to clean cars in suits due to staff shortage. We also had to work as drivers and work 11 hour shifts.
Pros
driving nice cars
Cons
terrible pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome comapny
Assistant Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 February 2017
Great place to work just financially not supportive of its employees. chances of growth is limited. great group of people to work with.
Pros
Great job
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Driver/ Detailer (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB19 February 2017
Great people to work with, but the management isnt that great and it doesnt pay very well.
The job balances well with my home life, hours were good and there is always overtime if needed.
Pros
1 hour lunch, great people to work with
Cons
bad salary, 0 benefits for 6 months and lots of unorganization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stepping stone in your career
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON15 February 2017
This is a great company to work for if you are there a short period of time. The hours are not good for work/life balance and the pay does not compensate you for your time or efforts. There are a few fun things like a yearly hockey tournament or picnic to go to but not all staff is able to go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly stressful environment with long unforgiving hours
Senior Client Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON1 February 2017
Fleet department doesn't support the stores logically, sells off vehicles before replacing them. Management has a never-say-no approach in illogical situations when there is nothing left to give customers. Constantly forced to get new clients When we have nothing available for our current customers. Not team friendly although management preached about "one-team, one-goal"
Pros
get paid benefits, get to drive new cars frequently
Cons
understaffed so no vacation, schedule based on 40 hours but constantly forced overtime, nobody wants to work or stay at the job long
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lousy job with poor pay and management
Customer Servivce Represetative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 January 2017
Management doesn't care about their staff at all. As long as they keep costs down. Don't expect the big bonuses they promise. Raises are nonexistant as managers get bonuses to keep costs down so they don;t do reviews.There is never enough vehicles and you will get the blame.
Expect to wash cars in your good clothes and ruin them.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Client Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 January 2017
Company Is Strong And Good But Management Needs Improving. Wasn't The Best Job But the Employees Together Made Everything Roll Accurate
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discount
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2017
Manager had no respect, he was so arrogant. Once he disrespected me. I had to leave the company. And also they would switch my location everyday. The company is full of manipulators and liars
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting atmosphere,
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB5 January 2017
Typically every day started with picking up customers who needed a ride from the body shop to our office for a rental vehicle.
We would also call customers who had a rental vehicle reserved to confirm the time the vehicle was needed.
Everyday rentals needed to be maintain mechanically
Pros
Learned great details about marketing rental vehicles
Cons
The office was always cold in the winter
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Client Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 December 2016
its a great place to work, the pay could be better though with all the work being put in. running a location alone is quite challenging but I enjoy every bit of it
Pros
free lunches friday
Cons
so much hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
MIT (Manager in Training) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 October 2016
Poor pay.
Very bad customer service.
Over promises and under delivering to both employees and customers.

I had great Managers and colleagues but the business structure was flawed. They always over book cars and hen do not have vehicles for customers to rent to and since you are there, you get blamed for the reservation from head office...
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Customer Service Representitive- Made (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB29 September 2016
Easy job to do, some days are extremely busy but yet some days are quite slow and you don't have much to do. Great hours of work which makes family life easier.
Pros
Daily Overtime
Cons
Bonus plan not quite what I thought
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization - Canadian Owned and Operated
Assistant Manager, Fleet Department (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 September 2016
Great opportunity learned many facets of the business - customer service, franchise operations, fleet as well as day to day operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Days at work
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON16 September 2016
Id have to wash cars and clean them. Also pick up and drop off customers who have rented a car. Or are going to rent a car. Also the manager would switch my location every week so i was not able to keep switching. I was being moved around like a pawn on a chess board so I had to leave the company. Horrible Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace if management is right
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 September 2016
- Come into work every morning and do a lot check for vehicles
- check reservations for current day and upcoming days
- make sure vehicles needed for today was cleaned and ready
- deal with accounts receivables and payables on a daily basis
Pros
Got to drive so many cool cars
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Like Retail
Manager (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON5 September 2016
If you have a retail background like I do, be warned....this is NOT like working retail.

It's much much worse.

Every customer you deal with feels like they deserve special treatment.

Avoid this place...and probably rental car companies in general.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Assistant Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 August 2016
I truly Enjoyed my job here But There was no growth within the company for me. This job taught me a lot .delegating my staff working with different branch and affiliated companies.working under pressure and being organized.
Pros
Great boss
Cons
No growth within the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to wok
Client Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 August 2016
Poor management. Always overbook and no cars. And they expect you to magic a car to give to their customers. No breaks most of the time and does not pay you for it even you mentioned you weren't able to take break. It is better to work in fast-food chains than here.
Pros
get to test drive different cars if available
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Survival job
Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 August 2016
It is good company to work , I love working with discount but you cant choose it as your career as there is no career oriented approach by the
Management.

It is a survival job for everyone who is working here. They give good 40 hours to work in a week.

Salary wise they just pay little above the basic,

Benefits are not bad.

Most fun part of job is that you ride new cars each day.

You interact with new customers everyday which enhances your customer service skills
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Discount Car and Truck Rentals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 63 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
3.1

Discount Car and Truck Rentals Reviews by Location