Direct Energy Employee Reviews

Found 83 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Collector, Customer service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2013
no benefits.,
you have to work 12 hours sometimes without asking
not always available to help
they expect u to work hard and dont get paid for it
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place, if you want to work all the time and ignore your family.
Energy Management Consultant (resi HVAC Sales) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa22 January 2013
Very demanding, greedy company. Even record sales figures were not good enough. Lying, conniving management, that would back stab to save their own skin. The only thing that matters to DE is the bottom line. Honesty, employee relations/ value, even customer satisfaction is secondary.
Pros
occasional free lunch, some decent co-workers
Cons
long hours, misguided management, lack of respect
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
SharePoint Administrator Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2013
The individuals is what makes the culture in Direct Energy. Hence there great individuals to work with in an excellent environment.
Pros
close to the 401
Cons
very tight schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Team Member made the day go by fast
Customer service/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 December 2012
Experience working with people of different ages and backgrounds
worked in a fun team environment got along with staff the hardest part is working with customers who did not like change and it took alot to convince, other than that it was enjoyable at the end of day knowing my team and myself met the daily expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of area for growth and advancement.
Change Control Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario6 November 2012
Innovative passionate dedicated employees that strive to live by the Simple, Friendly Direct standards.
Pros
work\life balance, work from home, flexible hours
Cons
minimal or no coverage for vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have it all !!!
Technicien (Former Employee) –  Montreal24 October 2012
The most exiting place to work. GOOGLE it you won't believe your eyes.
Pros
you can talk to the ceo over the phone or he will call you later not never.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and fun place
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 October 2012
I worked in the finance department and learned Peoplesoft. Management and co-workers were also good and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and fun place
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 October 2012
I learned a lot of the media industry, it was busy and fun. I was involved in events which enhanced my learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but great people
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON26 September 2012
During plan, you can get in a 7am and leave at 10 at night or later.

Other times month end is okay, but a lot of ad hoc work.
Pros
great people
Cons
very long hours, but with great people you never notice the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Head, IS Governance (Former Employee) –  Toronto14 September 2012
Do as I say not as i do is the management mantra. Too busy and leadership team is terrible. No integrity.
Pros
good compensation
Cons
no work life balance or understanding of technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an excellent place to work until 2010
Business Continuity Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 August 2012
I really have nothing negative to write about the company from an employment perspective. My only grievance was how head office move/mass lay-off was handled by leadership.
Pros
excellent benefits and vacation time
Cons
poor leadership and low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people were nice to work with. But the company is poorly managed
Director (Current Employee) –  North York, ON21 August 2012
It was a nice pleace to work. the People are friendly and it is a good atmosphere. But the decisions made by management are very questionable to say the least. Compensation is also below industry standards.
Pros
the people and atmosphere
Cons
the management and salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Donmills1 August 2012
Not the best place to work, but there is no Supervision so that works out.
Pros
no supervision
Cons
management not qualified
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales door to door marketing
sales represenative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 July 2012
sales was door to door direct enegry company marketing.it was commission based and i was hard worker and good in job and i am regular on my work and i was team leader.
Pros
lunch
Cons
long houres
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Design, develop, implement and maintain software test cases and test plans to evaluate software functionality, performance and defects;
Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 June 2012
• Perform requirements analysis to develop or modify moderately complex software applications. Document to standards the functional requirements, use cases and any other requirements
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Person, Customer service
Sales Person, Customer service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 June 2012
•Direct communication with customers
•Describing our services and promotions
•Being able to explain in grave detail if needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sr Analyst, Access Control (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 June 2012
A great company to work for.
My peers are a trustworthy, knowledgeable and friendly set of people.
I would recommend working for them.
Pros
good salary and atmosphere
Cons
headquarters are being relocated from toronto to houston.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work most of the time
Sales Person (Former Employee) –  York, ON30 May 2012
it was ok i think door to door is not for me but i got to see alot of new places that i might not have see if not for this job a new place every day
Pros
free lunches or supper
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very structured workplace
refrigeration technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 May 2012
structured enviornment with management applying moral principles and values.

Overall a great place to work and they hold on to employees even during seasonal work shortages .
Pros
work life balance family suited excellent benefits
Cons
poor wages lower than standard
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Financial Accountant (Intern) (Former Employee) –  North York10 April 2012
One of the best learning experiences. Showed me that i did really like dealing with numbers.
Pros
wage
Cons
tedious
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Direct Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 359 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5