Direct Energy Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 71 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but great people
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ONSeptember 26, 2012
During plan, you can get in a 7am and leave at 10 at night or later.

Other times month end is okay, but a lot of ad hoc work.
Pros
great people
Cons
very long hours, but with great people you never notice the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect balance with life and work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Work from homeApril 11, 2013
Everyday, we get to interact with many people and each day is a learning experience. Great support team that made cleared of all the stress at work
Pros
work from home
Cons
laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
SharePoint Administrator Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 15, 2013
The individuals is what makes the culture in Direct Energy. Hence there great individuals to work with in an excellent environment.
Pros
close to the 401
Cons
very tight schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great incentives
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  missisauga, OnNovember 24, 2013
Walking door to door everyday is hard. I learned how to be confident on dealing with people, My co-workers are fun to work with, Hardest part of the job is walking for 8 hours rain or shine.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales door to door marketing
sales represenative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 28, 2012
sales was door to door direct enegry company marketing.it was commission based and i was hard worker and good in job and i am regular on my work and i was team leader.
Pros
lunch
Cons
long houres
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work most of the time
Sales Person (Former Employee) –  York, ONMay 30, 2012
it was ok i think door to door is not for me but i got to see alot of new places that i might not have see if not for this job a new place every day
Pros
free lunches or supper
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with a lot to learn
Sales representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AbJanuary 31, 2014
In direct energy you have to be driven for results. One need to fulfill the target given and sign up people. Hardest part of job was to get the targets for week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work - Direct Energy
Contract Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 3, 2015
The staff, contractor's and leadership were a pleasure to work with.

My typical work day was managing the finances and reporting on DE's largest capital project ever undertaken.

I worked closely with a team primarily out of the Houston office. When I started my role was to gather project costs from 4 different companies and several different cost centres and set up the project under one business unit, create the budget and forecasting models, work closely with the PM to design the monthly reporting package.

The role developed into ensuring milestone schedules and payments were cleared for payment, working closely with purchasing setting up and managing purchase orders, staffing and contractor costs and ensuring costs were properly managed.

A large part of the role was ensuring all monthly accruals were accounted for, drawn up by me, posted and monthly and inception to date variances explained.

Finally there was project close out and capitalization. The entire team had moved on, leaving me to work with fixed assets and management ensuring capitalization was successful.

Hardest part was the gathering of costs into one company as it was up to me alone to locate and ensure all costs were accounted for.

Cow-workers were fabulous to work with, had excellent rapport and were very supportive.

Most enjoyable part of the role was training and mentoring financial analysts from the Houston office, seeing them learn and grow. Project close out was also a great yet rewarding experience.

I learned my experience with multiple personalties proved invaluable, particularly
  more... working the the PM and having to train basic project accounting and various listening and communication styles to more junior people.  less
Pros
People
Cons
Project team turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Head, IS Governance (Former Employee) –  TorontoSeptember 14, 2012
Do as I say not as i do is the management mantra. Too busy and leadership team is terrible. No integrity.
Pros
good compensation
Cons
no work life balance or understanding of technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team morale
Sales and Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, OnNovember 20, 2014
Excited to advance in the company as growth and success are constantly promoted.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it a tough job as you have to go door to door
Customer sales representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 17, 2014
go in terms of gaining sales experience, makes you tough and improves marketing skills.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and culture
Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 5, 2013
Flexible work hours and mostly great management. Unfortunately a lot of change has been occurring recently leading to poor business decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Collector, Customer service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 20, 2013
no benefits.,
you have to work 12 hours sometimes without asking
not always available to help
they expect u to work hard and dont get paid for it
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Person, Customer service
Sales Person, Customer service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 24, 2012
•Direct communication with customers
•Describing our services and promotions
•Being able to explain in grave detail if needed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CO-OP STUDENT
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 20, 2014
was working with them as a co-op student. good opportunity to learn some of the major reports used in the office. helpful staff and management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD
Team Leader/Call Center Planning Analyst (Former Employee) –  North York, ONOctober 20, 2014
Good working environment
Excellent benefits
Good company to work for
Good Training
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have it all !!!
Technicien (Former Employee) –  MontrealOctober 24, 2012
The most exiting place to work. GOOGLE it you won't believe your eyes.
Pros
you can talk to the ceo over the phone or he will call you later not never.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work independantley
Sales Team Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONDecember 2, 2013
liked training working alone, but company closed and moved to montreal, no stability great pay and hours
Pros
pay
Cons
layoff
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and fun place
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 18, 2012
I worked in the finance department and learned Peoplesoft. Management and co-workers were also good and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Financial Accountant (Intern) (Former Employee) –  North YorkApril 10, 2012
One of the best learning experiences. Showed me that i did really like dealing with numbers.
Pros
wage
Cons
tedious
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 302 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5