Direct Energy Employee Reviews

Found 85 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Team Leader/Call Center Planning Analyst (Former Employee) –  North York, ON20 October 2014
Good working environment
Excellent benefits
Good company to work for
Good Training
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in and learn new things.
Internal Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2014
The company is part of the Centrica Group, one of the largest energy companies in the world. The work environment encourages creativity and originality. Good systems compliment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenged but "can learn a lot" job
Chief Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC14 July 2014
A typical day at work:
we will drop in designated customers by daily customer list. Usually, we will have to visit at least 40 customer located in different location in the same municipality. To do customer's retention or enroll new cutomers.
What I learned
Interpersonal skill, patince to listen, positioning product, convincing customer, fast spotting location, mapping, safe driving and delivering skill, job-related knowledge, paper work, etc
Management
including mapping for team member, customer-related documents organization, mentor and inspire entry level sale representative, control cost for daily work and road trip , monitor and struggle for sales target, etc
My co-worker
When we start daily work, we usually work independently, after a daily work, we will share our experince in dealing with different customers and different incidences etc. We also will encourage each other to achieve our monthly goal
The hardest part of the job
Is to explain our selling product's shortage.
The most enjoyable part of the job
is to make new friends and knowing different municipality every day.
Pros
commission based
Cons
no limit for the income
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company to work with. My supervisor gave me a lot of help to let me know the real trade.
Work Term (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS8 July 2014
I worked with my supervisor everyday in that month. We took phone calls and serviced. although it was really busy, i still love it. I learnt plenty of knowledge that i couldn't get from classroom. I feel i am ready to get into this trade now.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Planner\Billing Department (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON26 June 2014
Direct energy pays very well and is an exceptional company.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it a tough job as you have to go door to door
Customer sales representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 June 2014
go in terms of gaining sales experience, makes you tough and improves marketing skills.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok at times but alot of pressure
work experience (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC9 June 2014
just driving people from airport to their homes and homes to airport
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
virtual call center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS2 June 2014
This was a great work from home job, that I enjoyed alot for awhile. This is where I started to learn more about using computers. I met ( virtually) lots of nice people. The company changed its pay structure towards the end which paid less than what I had been earning. It was at this time that I did not renew my contract.
Pros
pick own schedule, work from home, earning potential
Cons
job security, lack of personal contact
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reactive, tactical and operationally short-term focused organization
Director, Customer Relationship Management (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON26 March 2014
Advice to Management:
Listen to your customers - they pay your salaries
Listen to your employees - they service and support your customers
Invest in fact-based insights, analytics and research
Leverage fact-based insights to make informed business decisions
Be more forthcoming, transparent and timely with top down communications
Pros
Good work environment, Good team oriented attitude, Good company benefits
Cons
Constant cyclical and ineffective change, Lack of thought leadership, vision, and strategy, Inadequate, infrequent and vague top down communications, Performance evaluation program lacks adequate time investment by management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with table tennis, coffee
Purchasing Manager/Agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 March 2014
A typical working day starts at 4:00 am, coffee, prepare for the day, then gone before 6:30. During my drive to work, I plan the order of my requirements to be completed. I have been known to stay until the midnight hour to ensure all customers expectations are met. Dedicated, hard working, my door always open. All is achievable, with the right attitude, and the right people.
Pros
Global exposure
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Energy Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 March 2014
It was mostly Outside sales, with not much office time. Attended meetings and took sales training courses. Went through a lot of managers in the time I was there.
I enjoyed working there and left on good terms.
Pros
Freedom to do sales calls on my own schedule.
Cons
Working Saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op student
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2014
was working with them as a co-op student. good opportunity to learn some of the major reports used in the office. helpful staff and management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with a lot to learn
Sales representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, Ab31 January 2014
In direct energy you have to be driven for results. One need to fulfill the target given and sign up people. Hardest part of job was to get the targets for week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work independantley
Sales Team Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 December 2013
liked training working alone, but company closed and moved to montreal, no stability great pay and hours
Pros
pay
Cons
layoff
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supervisor
Sales Team Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 November 2013
I supervise staff of 20 on a daily basis, door to door sales in a fast pase enviorment
Pros
training
Cons
layed off
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great incentives
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  missisauga, On24 November 2013
Walking door to door everyday is hard. I learned how to be confident on dealing with people, My co-workers are fun to work with, Hardest part of the job is walking for 8 hours rain or shine.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at Direct Energy
Operations Centre and Payroll Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON7 November 2013
I worked for 10 years with the same company and even though they closed our office I feel I big loss...My co-workers where my family outside of my home. I still have contact with a lot of them. My manager was a strong supporter with new task and made sure we had the training needed and was very approachable. The most enjoyable part of my job were the people, from all departments.
Pros
team rewards and community care activities during work hours.
Cons
Office closing
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  toronto ont4 November 2013
going door to door sale gas and hydro plans
the hardest part is getting people to sign up
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Direct Marketer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2013
help people
have fun
solve problems
save money
going door to door to help people
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing and poorly managed
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary13 August 2013
Senior management were non responsive to concerns of employees not receiving their pay, employee surveys, and concerns. Wages were good and benefits very good. Poor morale and attitude among workers.
Pros
Benefits and wages
Cons
Poor morale and management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Direct Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 383 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

76%
106 ratings
Add your rating