Direct Energy Employee Reviews

Found 83 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing and poorly managed
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary13 August 2013
Senior management were non responsive to concerns of employees not receiving their pay, employee surveys, and concerns. Wages were good and benefits very good. Poor morale and attitude among workers.
Pros
Benefits and wages
Cons
Poor morale and management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DE is a good place to work.
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  North York, ON10 September 2015
DE is a good place to work.
Co-workers are great and helpful.
Projects require coordination with multi location offices and third party integrators and clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profesional
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  North York, ON5 February 2015
A very busy day and multitask is required to do your job to the best of you ability. I learned to use the companies system and my co-workers make me feel like a family. I enjoyed this job because I did not need supervision as I was well trained.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive company environment.
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 October 2015
It was a great company to work at. They have been really helpful when i first started to assist me with fitting into the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cramped, dirty and dark work place
APAC Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 May 2015
The cubicles were ripped apart, headsets we're stolen from employees, but the pay was wonderful! only left because of bugs.
Pros
Hourly pay + commission
Cons
Long shifts, unsanitary working condition
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sr Analyst, Access Control (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 June 2012
A great company to work for.
My peers are a trustworthy, knowledgeable and friendly set of people.
I would recommend working for them.
Pros
good salary and atmosphere
Cons
headquarters are being relocated from toronto to houston.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not somewhere for long term
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTITIVE (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON8 June 2015
Personally, handling the management at this establishment was something I would never do again. Though I had so many great coworkers, we all had the same thing in common, the job was not fun and the managers didn't care about you at all.
We all know that call centres are hard to work in, and it probably wouldn't have been so bad if the managers had taken time to actually listen and direct us when we had trouble.
I would say the main thing I enjoyed is that it was an easy job minus the occasional jerk on the phone and the bad management. Sales were easy enough to come by if the person actually needed the services, and if you didn't push them, but all the management wanted you to do was push sales.
I get it, make money, but no I'm not going to pitch to a woman who just lost her husband or someone with a disability or language who doesn't understand what they're agreeing to.
I'm sorry if you enjoy your position or are looking to work here, but if your lucky, you might have good managers, but most likely, you will have the same type of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of area for growth and advancement.
Change Control Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario6 November 2012
Innovative passionate dedicated employees that strive to live by the Simple, Friendly Direct standards.
Pros
work\life balance, work from home, flexible hours
Cons
minimal or no coverage for vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in and learn new things.
Internal Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2014
The company is part of the Centrica Group, one of the largest energy companies in the world. The work environment encourages creativity and originality. Good systems compliment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but great people
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON26 September 2012
During plan, you can get in a 7am and leave at 10 at night or later.

Other times month end is okay, but a lot of ad hoc work.
Pros
great people
Cons
very long hours, but with great people you never notice the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
SharePoint Administrator Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2013
The individuals is what makes the culture in Direct Energy. Hence there great individuals to work with in an excellent environment.
Pros
close to the 401
Cons
very tight schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect balance with life and work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Work from home11 April 2013
Everyday, we get to interact with many people and each day is a learning experience. Great support team that made cleared of all the stress at work
Pros
work from home
Cons
laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great incentives
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  missisauga, On24 November 2013
Walking door to door everyday is hard. I learned how to be confident on dealing with people, My co-workers are fun to work with, Hardest part of the job is walking for 8 hours rain or shine.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales door to door marketing
sales represenative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 July 2012
sales was door to door direct enegry company marketing.it was commission based and i was hard worker and good in job and i am regular on my work and i was team leader.
Pros
lunch
Cons
long houres
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work most of the time
Sales Person (Former Employee) –  York, ON30 May 2012
it was ok i think door to door is not for me but i got to see alot of new places that i might not have see if not for this job a new place every day
Pros
free lunches or supper
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helper
instaler (Current Employee) –  oshawa29 December 2014
helper for furnace instals and water heaters, instal the venting , some electric work, gas pipping, talk too customers and ask if they are OK with some of the places that venting could be available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with a lot to learn
Sales representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, Ab31 January 2014
In direct energy you have to be driven for results. One need to fulfill the target given and sign up people. Hardest part of job was to get the targets for week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
understaffed
Payroll Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto27 April 2015
stressful, no lunch under staffed. Company now in Texas. Staff was not that personable. Manager change caused more stress. New Manager was not qualified.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Head, IS Governance (Former Employee) –  Toronto14 September 2012
Do as I say not as i do is the management mantra. Too busy and leadership team is terrible. No integrity.
Pros
good compensation
Cons
no work life balance or understanding of technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and culture
Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 June 2013
Flexible work hours and mostly great management. Unfortunately a lot of change has been occurring recently leading to poor business decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 359 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5
75%

CEO Approval

Based on 86 ratings
Add your rating