Direct Energy

Direct Energy Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 70 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Head, IS Governance (Former Employee) –  TorontoSeptember 14, 2012
Do as I say not as i do is the management mantra. Too busy and leadership team is terrible. No integrity.
Pros
good compensation
Cons
no work life balance or understanding of technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at and get experiance
Call Centre Supervisor (Current Employee) –  hamilton, onMarch 23, 2015
arrive early and got through all the emails and all the updates for the day.

while co workers slowly arrive try to catch up with them and see how they are doing any new thoughts.

and start working see how many new complains do investigation on the file see what can be offered to the customer and what needs to be done who needs to be contacted and if any tech needs to go back-out.

call the customer after 9am offer your promo and apologizes for any issues it caused and tell them what I will do for them and offer them.

follow up with them few days later make sure everything went well and customer is happy.

\
the hardest is when you really try and do everything you can in your power and the customer is still not happy and starts screaming and yelling and swearing at you, but that's life and you are still nice and friendly to them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people were nice to work with. But the company is poorly managed
Director (Current Employee) –  North York, ONAugust 21, 2012
It was a nice pleace to work. the People are friendly and it is a good atmosphere. But the decisions made by management are very questionable to say the least. Compensation is also below industry standards.
Pros
the people and atmosphere
Cons
the management and salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing and poorly managed
Manager (Former Employee) –  CalgaryAugust 13, 2013
Senior management were non responsive to concerns of employees not receiving their pay, employee surveys, and concerns. Wages were good and benefits very good. Poor morale and attitude among workers.
Pros
benefits and wages
Cons
poor morale and management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenged but "can learn a lot" job
Chief Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCJuly 14, 2014
A typical day at work:
we will drop in designated customers by daily customer list. Usually, we will have to visit at least 40 customer located in different location in the same municipality. To do customer's retention or enroll new cutomers.
What I learned
Interpersonal skill, patince to listen, positioning product, convincing customer, fast spotting location, mapping, safe driving and delivering skill, job-related knowledge, paper work, etc
Management
including mapping for team member, customer-related documents organization, mentor and inspire entry level sale representative, control cost for daily work and road trip , monitor and struggle for sales target, etc
My co-worker
When we start daily work, we usually work independently, after a daily work, we will share our experince in dealing with different customers and different incidences etc. We also will encourage each other to achieve our monthly goal
The hardest part of the job
Is to explain our selling product's shortage.
The most enjoyable part of the job
is to make new friends and knowing different municipality every day.
Pros
commission based
Cons
no limit for the income
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Collector, Customer service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 20, 2013
no benefits.,
you have to work 12 hours sometimes without asking
not always available to help
they expect u to work hard and dont get paid for it
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD
Team Leader/Call Center Planning Analyst (Former Employee) –  North York, ONOctober 20, 2014
Good working environment
Excellent benefits
Good company to work for
Good Training
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cramped, dirty and dark work place
APAC Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 12, 2015
The cubicles were ripped apart, headsets we're stolen from employees, but the pay was wonderful! only left because of bugs.
Pros
Hourly pay + commission
Cons
Long shifts, unsanitary working condition
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Actual Working For Protocol on behalf of Direct Energy
Inbound Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  HamiltonMarch 9, 2015
Protocol is literally highschool with people of all ages - mostly early 20's. They are more about the social environment there than there work. As for the Managers they are completely unqualified for their jobs and achieved them by being the best out of a terribly trained bunch of individuals. If you would like to work at a place that makes sense, do not work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
virtual call center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSJune 2, 2014
This was a great work from home job, that I enjoyed alot for awhile. This is where I started to learn more about using computers. I met ( virtually) lots of nice people. The company changed its pay structure towards the end which paid less than what I had been earning. It was at this time that I did not renew my contract.
Pros
pick own schedule, work from home, earning potential
Cons
job security, lack of personal contact
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work and with excellent people and balancing work and personal life
Sr. Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  North YorkFebruary 28, 2013
Administration of payroll full cycle for about 900+ employees using Ceridian HPL
System administrator for Time Solution
submission of sales tax returns
Very friendly environment
Understanding higher management
Opportunities of learning system by in-house training team
Subsidized gym membership and parking
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Design, develop, implement and maintain software test cases and test plans to evaluate software functionality, performance and defects;
Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 27, 2012
• Perform requirements analysis to develop or modify moderately complex software applications. Document to standards the functional requirements, use cases and any other requirements
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an excellent place to work until 2010
Business Continuity Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 29, 2012
I really have nothing negative to write about the company from an employment perspective. My only grievance was how head office move/mass lay-off was handled by leadership.
Pros
excellent benefits and vacation time
Cons
poor leadership and low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
understaffed
Payroll Coordinator (Former Employee) –  TorontoApril 27, 2015
stressful, no lunch under staffed. Company now in Texas. Staff was not that personable. Manager change caused more stress. New Manager was not qualified.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
SharePoint Administrator Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 15, 2013
The individuals is what makes the culture in Direct Energy. Hence there great individuals to work with in an excellent environment.
Pros
close to the 401
Cons
very tight schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work most of the time
Sales Person (Former Employee) –  York, ONMay 30, 2012
it was ok i think door to door is not for me but i got to see alot of new places that i might not have see if not for this job a new place every day
Pros
free lunches or supper
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sr Analyst, Access Control (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 4, 2012
A great company to work for.
My peers are a trustworthy, knowledgeable and friendly set of people.
I would recommend working for them.
Pros
good salary and atmosphere
Cons
headquarters are being relocated from toronto to houston.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profesional
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  North York, ONFebruary 5, 2015
A very busy day and multitask is required to do your job to the best of you ability. I learned to use the companies system and my co-workers make me feel like a family. I enjoyed this job because I did not need supervision as I was well trained.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it a tough job as you have to go door to door
Customer sales representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 17, 2014
go in terms of gaining sales experience, makes you tough and improves marketing skills.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but great people
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ONSeptember 26, 2012
During plan, you can get in a 7am and leave at 10 at night or later.

Other times month end is okay, but a lot of ad hoc work.
Pros
great people
Cons
very long hours, but with great people you never notice the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 295 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture