Direct Energy

265 reviews

Direct Energy Employee Reviews

Found 66 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very structured workplace
refrigeration technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 23, 2012
structured enviornment with management applying moral principles and values.

Overall a great place to work and they hold on to employees even during seasonal work shortages .
Pros
work life balance family suited excellent benefits
Cons
poor wages lower than standard
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an excellent place to work until 2010
Business Continuity Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 29, 2012
I really have nothing negative to write about the company from an employment perspective. My only grievance was how head office move/mass lay-off was handled by leadership.
Pros
excellent benefits and vacation time
Cons
poor leadership and low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Energy Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 13, 2014
It was mostly Outside sales, with not much office time. Attended meetings and took sales training courses. Went through a lot of managers in the time I was there.
I enjoyed working there and left on good terms.
Pros
freedom to do sales calls on my own schedule.
Cons
working saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing and poorly managed
Manager (Former Employee) –  CalgaryAugust 13, 2013
Senior management were non responsive to concerns of employees not receiving their pay, employee surveys, and concerns. Wages were good and benefits very good. Poor morale and attitude among workers.
Pros
benefits and wages
Cons
poor morale and management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profesional
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  North York, ONFebruary 5, 2015
A very busy day and multitask is required to do your job to the best of you ability. I learned to use the companies system and my co-workers make me feel like a family. I enjoyed this job because I did not need supervision as I was well trained.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sr Analyst, Access Control (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 4, 2012
A great company to work for.
My peers are a trustworthy, knowledgeable and friendly set of people.
I would recommend working for them.
Pros
good salary and atmosphere
Cons
headquarters are being relocated from toronto to houston.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of area for growth and advancement.
Change Control Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, OntarioNovember 6, 2012
Innovative passionate dedicated employees that strive to live by the Simple, Friendly Direct standards.
Pros
work\life balance, work from home, flexible hours
Cons
minimal or no coverage for vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work for
Front End Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 6, 2015
Every one I worked with was pretty cool and knew there stuff. Im sill in touch with some of my old coworkers too. Management was so-so but still ok to work with.
Pros
My staff was qualified
Cons
Management is aloof, but workable
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in and learn new things.
Internal Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 24, 2014
The company is part of the Centrica Group, one of the largest energy companies in the world. The work environment encourages creativity and originality. Good systems compliment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cramped, dirty and dark work place
APAC Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 12, 2015
The cubicles were ripped apart, headsets we're stolen from employees, but the pay was wonderful! only left because of bugs.
Pros
Hourly pay + commission
Cons
Long shifts, unsanitary working condition
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Want to know more about Direct Energy?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but great people
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ONSeptember 26, 2012
During plan, you can get in a 7am and leave at 10 at night or later.

Other times month end is okay, but a lot of ad hoc work.
Pros
great people
Cons
very long hours, but with great people you never notice the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect balance with life and work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Work from homeApril 11, 2013
Everyday, we get to interact with many people and each day is a learning experience. Great support team that made cleared of all the stress at work
Pros
work from home
Cons
laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
SharePoint Administrator Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 15, 2013
The individuals is what makes the culture in Direct Energy. Hence there great individuals to work with in an excellent environment.
Pros
close to the 401
Cons
very tight schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great incentives
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  missisauga, OnNovember 24, 2013
Walking door to door everyday is hard. I learned how to be confident on dealing with people, My co-workers are fun to work with, Hardest part of the job is walking for 8 hours rain or shine.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales door to door marketing
sales represenative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 28, 2012
sales was door to door direct enegry company marketing.it was commission based and i was hard worker and good in job and i am regular on my work and i was team leader.
Pros
lunch
Cons
long houres
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work most of the time
Sales Person (Former Employee) –  York, ONMay 30, 2012
it was ok i think door to door is not for me but i got to see alot of new places that i might not have see if not for this job a new place every day
Pros
free lunches or supper
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overrall Nice Place to Work
Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  Grove, ILSeptember 13, 2015
Handlings 35+ calls daily in a high volumed call center, maintaing a call score of 92% or better monthly, & ensuring that customers are satified with what our company offers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with a lot to learn
Sales representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AbJanuary 31, 2014
In direct energy you have to be driven for results. One need to fulfill the target given and sign up people. Hardest part of job was to get the targets for week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helper
instaler (Current Employee) –  oshawaDecember 29, 2014
helper for furnace instals and water heaters, instal the venting , some electric work, gas pipping, talk too customers and ask if they are OK with some of the places that venting could be available
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met many new friends
APAC Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONNovember 2, 2015
answered incoming calls from customers and was able to gain valuable insight about the different programs that this business has to offer
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 265 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture