Direct Energy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Sales and Marketing (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 October 2017
Direct Energy was a very good place to work, as I love dealing with clients directly, I was door to door sales, explaining to clients about
the benefits of having a fix rate services for their gas and hydro
usages.
Pros
sales
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I got the expereince of sales
energy consultant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 September 2017
All i can truly say about about this job was that it was a door to door sales that i got sucked into at a young age. I also never got payed for my work still to this day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
ANALYST, DESKTOP OPERATIONS AND PLANNING (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2017
flexible work hours
career advancement programs in place
excellent work ethics
excellent management with clear goals
fun work environment but at the same time very productive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to work.
BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON10 September 2017
It is a great place to work with a lot focus on customers. The company gives full freedom to create your own strategies and develop plans to grow the business.
Pros
You can express your ideas
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Door to Door sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 September 2017
Don't really remember much about doing the door to door sales, it is what it is. MY team leaders were great. The only thing I didn't like about door to door sales were the hours, you started around 11am and finished roughly by 7-8pm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 July 2017
The work I did while working for direct energy was very tiring but was overall fun and economically fulfilling. The work environment was also overall positive.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went Downhill fast
Helper (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON7 July 2017
Management only cares about their bonus. If they only make their projected budget by a couple percent, expect a pay cut so they can make larger profits
Pros
None
Cons
Treated like dirt
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly and fun enviorment
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 June 2017
Worked as a door to door sales rep, with my main job responsibility to go door to door to different assigned neighborhoods with a team and offer potential customers, fixed price, electricity and gas plans. Mostly commissioned based where I had to meet a weekly sales target.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodoctive and fun place to work,
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON5 June 2017
Very good place iv learned a lot and educated myself a lot about selling and customer service. Clean environment and good people to be around , always welcoming and friendly .
Pros
clean envirment
Cons
angry costumers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 May 2017
Money was good. Worked from home, supervisor was nice, system is nice, calls are incoming, flexible schedule, good supervisor help, cool computer system.
Pros
Flexible Schedules
Cons
Being at home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very open and friendly work culture
Manager, Operational Risks (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 May 2017
Had the best two years of my career with Direct Energy with their simple and friendly values which were highly reflective in their work culture. Direct Energy has been a progressive company with high growth track with employees-friendly environment.
Pros
Friendly, open, great salary and benefits
Cons
Reduced focus and growrth in Canada
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Customer service/Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 April 2017
I learned a lot about customer service and how to deal with people over the phone. I learned how to create customer profiles and learned how to speak on new or existing products for the customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun And Exciting environment
Customer Care Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2017
Answering incoming and outgoing calls
Created accounts, established gas prices for customers, directed customers to alternate departments
managed to promptly responded to all incoming inquiries/requests for information

Management was very Helpful
Pros
incentives for sales
Cons
having product knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job to find a job
Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 March 2017
This is not a job for the thin skinned sales rep type. Pressure was always on to hit sales targets, and customers were very difficult to deal with because they would look and treat you almost like thief trying to get their money.
Pros
End of the day
Cons
Unruly clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not too bad
Independent Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 March 2017
It was ok, for those who want to do this kind of work.
although for me I didn't benefit much from it except some knowledge and some understanding, about gas and electricity.
Pros
for those who are interested in this kind of environment of commission based, the staff was nice.
Cons
It was tiring, door to door.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious work environment
Summer Student Helper / Staging Clerk assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON7 February 2017
Did jobs like ,Duct cleanings ,install helper ,staging clerk ,warehouse clean up etc. This was only temporary placement for the summer I was a student at the time .
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
8 hour days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cadre ideal pour etudiant
Administrative Assistant and Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 January 2017
Très pratique quand on est étudiant a la recherche d' expérience a temps partiel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work in
Technician (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON10 January 2017
This company was a great place to work. There equipment and work vehicle was up-to-date. The holidays and benefits were topnotch. The environment in the company was friendly and the training was ongoing. It was the best company that I worked for. Management was friendly and helpful but the company CEO's mismanaged the growth of the company therefore they had to close the department I worked in because of the losses every year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job.
Manager HSE for all of Canada operations (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 November 2016
People are fun to work with.
Hardest part of my job was trying to play catch-up on paperwork.
Learnt a lot about management systems.
Meeting people form different areas of the business.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Work piled up when you return
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Technical support (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC31 October 2016
it was a bad experience wife was pregnant and i got laid off one month before the baby was born which was a bummer but life moves on and i got a better job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Direct Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 432 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6