Find companies:
DeVry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
487 reviews

DeVry Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Director of Admissions (Current Employee), Tampa, FLMay 18, 2014
Overall DeVry Education Group is a great organization. They work hard to provide quality education and customer service to students. However, process alignment is a big area of opportunity which has been the most difficult when managing multiple locations. A typical day consist of managing new student process, admissions training and development, support – more... Center Deans oversee Student Central, and finalize student complaints. I have had excellent leadership training and guidance by Center Deans at all locations. I love helping others perform at the expected level and watching students grow through learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work while attending classes
Academic Resource Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMay 16, 2014
Pros: educational environment
Cons: litte pay but adequate for what i did
I worked here while a student at DeVry and they worked very closely with me to make sure that I attended all classes and balanced my education, as well as being able to receive help while on the clock.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Illinois employer with quality benefits that tends to fall short in developing its talented workforce.
Enrollment Coordinator (Current Employee), Addison, ILMay 15, 2014
Pros: benefits, education, variety of experience
Cons: lack of advancement, hit or miss leadership, average to weak compensation
DeVry University is a major contributor to the local economy, and it employs a substantial number of Illinoisans with fair wages.

Structured and extensive training provides new employees with all of the tools they need to succeed, but there is a culture in place within Online Services that tends to equate good metrics with good leadership. Many of – more... DeVry's employees are gems with a great deal of talent and education, but they are rarely properly developed and advanced within the corporation.

It should not go unmentioned that DeVry offers education to its employees with waived tuition, and this is a major benefit to employment. However, for an institution that promotes and provides education as a source of empowerment to its consumers, it ironically fails entirely to reward employees who achieve higher education within it. It is not uncommon for many employees to achieve post-graduate degrees with no compensatory rewards.

Overall, DeVry is a good place to get a foothold in the professional world, it is a good corporate citizen, it is a great place to further one's education, but it is not usually a good option for long-term employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in helping students and faculty solve problems
Student Employee (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAMay 13, 2014
Pros: a greater sense of belonging to the institution.
Cons: low pay and low amount of hours a student could work.
A typical day at work included data input into student portal. I learned to look for problems with the system and then implemented solutions to close the gap and decrease lag in paperwork submission, filling and mailing. My co-workers consisted of deans, students and administrative personnel. The hardest part about my job was receiving the low salary – more... for the quality and amount of work performed. The most enjoyable part of my work was that I got to help students and faculty and I formed lasting relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job, a school
Full time student/Single parent (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 12, 2014
This is the university that I attended, not a job. I attained a BCIS from this university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutor / Faculty assistant
FACULTY ASSISTANT / TUTOR (Former Employee), North Brunswick, NJMay 9, 2014
•Provide academic support to faculty in classrooms and Academic Success Center environments
• Received positive feedback from both faculty and students
•Tutor students in Basic Math and algebra
•Mentor students in one –to- one sessions on homework and exam preparation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive place to work and have fun at the same time. Its a college.
Assistant Librarian/Help Desk associate (Former Employee), Fort Washington, PAMay 8, 2014
Pros: gain networking skills, positive environment, improvements in socialization
Cons: somewhat mundane
I was a student at DeVry from 2009 to 2014, but I didn't start working there (as a student worker obviously) until 2013. from my experience there, I can say that it is a productive, social, and fun place to work, like most colleges. But it has the negatives of most colleges too, like work becoming repetitive. But it being a scholarly environment gives – more... it's socialization some perks, as there are usually a lot of people about. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Employer Liaison (Current Employee), Decatur, GAMay 5, 2014
fun people, company has been thru decline. the staff was nice and students okay. just understaffed due to cuts in education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational
Registrar Student Worker (Current Employee), Fresno, CAMay 4, 2014
This was a position where everyone could get along with one and another and still work in a effective way. Fellow employees were great to work with and very helpful when in need of assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taught online classes for Nursing for Devry
Professor of Nursing (Current Employee), onlineMay 2, 2014
Enhanced student experiences through guided threaded discussions, graded assignments, counseled students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging place to work
Career Services Assistant (Former Employee), Fresno, CAApril 29, 2014
Sitting in front of a computer and looking for job leads to post on a bulletin board for students to check for companies that are hiring in the area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work.
IT Helpdesk Technical Support Specialist I (Former Employee), OrlandoApril 28, 2014
Pros: laid back work
Cons: management
Not a bad place to work, just wanted to grow outside of higher ed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Department
IT Technician (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, ColoradoApril 27, 2014
Helping other students to moping floors. What I learned from that job was to enjoy what ever you doing. The hardest part of the job was waiting for something to happen. The part I enjoyed the most fixing anything that happened.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Director of University Partnerships (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 24, 2014
Pros: benefits, work life balance
Cons: industry uncertainty, career ladders (growth)
I've learned so much in my tenure at this company. They really care about student success and outcomes. They do business in a compliant and ethical manner. I've been fortunate to work with great leaders who have taught me the difference between managing and leading a team. I have been encouraged to learn and grow personally and professionally and as – more... a result i have accomplished many wonderful things in this organization including being a 6 time PRIDE member for strong performance and leadership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
D.E.M. Call Representative (Former Employee), Naperville, ILApril 24, 2014
I loved Devry University and what they had to offer. There were no dislikes about this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gives you the ability to balance work and life
Career Counselor (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAApril 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no job stability
Working with the students at DeVry is very rewarding and I always look forward to meeting new students and assisting them with their educational and career needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work experience
Academic Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 17, 2014
Working with the Dean's in Academic Affairs was not a pleasant environment. Most of the Dean's commented on students who came to their office for help/issue. They acted like it was a bother. No wonder enrollment continues to decline. A horrible work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work enviornment
Library Assistant (Former Employee), Decatur, GAApril 15, 2014
Pros: use resorces for homework while working, academic holidays and breaks
Cons: limited hours, long shifts
I helped to catalog and code library books and equipment, checked materials in and out and maintain records, helped students and faculty in using all materials in the LRC, help maintain the visual presentation of the library, and provided tutorial services. I have learned how to maintain inventory and different research methods. Management and co-workers – more... are friendly and easy to talk to. The hardest part of the job was moving and changing entire sections of book and materials. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with patrons and co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job while in school
Testing Proctor (Former Employee), Addison, ILApril 15, 2014
Pros: able to do schoolwork while working
Cons: low pay
Great work while attending school. I could get homework done, while making money. I loved working with all the students, and faculty was amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help Desk Analyst
Helpdesk Analyst (Current Employee), Crystal City, VAApril 14, 2014
Pros: great learning environment
Cons: low pay
Help students Log on to the WIFI, add objects into domain, re-image machine,update software, install or unistall applications, paper run to each department, fix printer jams, replace toner, inventory

About DeVry

It isn't exactly Ivy League, but DeVry is in the big leagues of technical, health care, and business schools. The for-profit educational – Read more