Find companies:
Department of Veterans Affairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
712 reviews

Department of Veterans Affairs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care of Veterans
FRT- Program Support Assitant (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 20, 2014
Pros: working with veterans and employees who truely care about them.
Cons: working with employees who are bullies and harrsing.
I work for a consolidated patient care center called CPAC in the Omaha facility that is based out of Leavenworth, KS a branch of the Veterans Health System. A typical day of running reports for medical billing for our Veterans. I have learned rules and regulations of the government medical procedures, along with medical insurance and applying co-pays – more... and third party billing. Some management is very competent and some not so much. We have a set of co-workers that are bullying and harassing and a manager that helps with that. The hardest part of the job is convenience a manager with billing that can be done when he has never worked for a government agency. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with Veterans with issues they have with billing or anything that may arise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Procurement Analyst (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 18, 2014
Everyday has new challenges. Always learning new procedures and government policies as they are updated.Focused on streamlining the contracting process to better provide for the customer. Great team environment. The hardest part of the job is documenting accurately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, extemely busy.
Locksmith (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 18, 2014
Pros: nice area to work
Cons: constant changes
A typical day at work is completely busy with tons of jobs from the time you arrive until the time you leave. You should be fully skilled before you apply for any position here, otherwise you will fall behind quickly. The people are friendly, just a little stressed because of all the VA hype in the media, and the large work load from all the veterans – more... coming in and new facilities being built. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Medical Support Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 17, 2014
A great place to work with an excellent opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable environment to work
Emergency Management Coordinator (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJuly 17, 2014
Compensation is low when compared to civilian hospitals but the mission is much better and very stable place to work with little fear of job loss
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
Anesthesia Technician (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 16, 2014
Pros: professiomal co-workers
Cons: staffing
Team Work and excellence is our private motto.constructive work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every veteran had a story.ww11,Korea,Vietnam to the current.I enjoyed the conversations and gained so much knowledge of their lives and where i could
certified Peer Support Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 14, 2014
Pros: working in the mental health area was very rewarding
Cons: i would have liked to come in later and stay at work later to catch more working veterans
I enjoyed my time with the Dept of Veterans Affairs.The work started with talking to co-workers(most got to work early) and catching with each others previous day. I would check E-mails and prepared for the morning meeting where we would discuss individual veterans. The case management of veterans assigned to me was reviewed at the meeting and suggested – more... areas of concern were brought to my attention.I was blessed to have a good group of professionals to be able to work with. We tried to assist each other to make everything work smoothly for example making copies or ordering mass production of literature.This job was very enjoyable and the most enjoyable was seeing the change in the veterans as i spoke to them of recovery and hope. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see below
LPN (Current Employee), Charleston, SCJuly 14, 2014
Pros: very good benefits, excellent working hours
Cons: none that i could think of
a typical day at the VA begins AT 8am with logging on to the computer. printing the schedules for the day, unlocking exam room doors and making sure the rooms are clean, stocked and clean paper on the exam tables.
calling patients, getting their vital signs if needed and putting the patient into the exam room as needed
I enjoy working with my co-workers – more... we are a team and work together
the hardest part to me is when we lose one of our veterans
the most enjoyable part to me is seeing the veteran who was so sick when i first met him and then seeing his progress – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Student Nurse Technician (SNT) (Former Employee), Mountain Home, TNJuly 12, 2014
I worked here from July 2009 to December of 2010 as a Student Nurse Tech. Best atmosphere and patient population. It was an honor working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
RN terminated because I challenged their lie. (Former Employee), VANJHCSJuly 11, 2014
Cons: no time clock.managers favorites can come in any time they want without any consequences.
Very prejudiced place to work.Senior staff members think they own the place.They can make any lies to not to hire you or keep you.I am a victim.Because I challenged their lie.They made up more lies and fired me during probation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Health Aid (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJuly 11, 2014
I loved this job. Everything was great. The only reason I left was because it was co-op.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment.
Urology Department Student Intern (Former Employee), La Jolla, CAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: no pay
My internship consisted of shadowing surgeons during rounds and attending open surgeries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace with excellence chance of promotion
Claims Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: benefits, 401k
Cons: starting salary
Help veterans the best way possible.
I learned that patience is a very successful tool when dealing with clients and customers.
My co-workers were like family, most of us came from a military background.
The hardest part was not getting enough overtime.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the environment and benefit package.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Performace testing & capacity planning
Consultant (Former Employee), Washington , DCJuly 9, 2014
Complete performance testing life cycle - Work with product owner - scaling , Production support
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 9, 2014
Pros: continuing education, job security
Cons: less money than private sector
I really enjoyed the veteran population Esp. the WW1 and WW2 veterans. They had experiences they shared with me that told of unabided heroism and patriotism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Agency with the potential for advancement
LPN (Current Employee), Toledo, OHJuly 9, 2014
I am an LPN that advanced to a position as an opthy tech through on the job training and i am now working on getting my certification as an ophthy technician.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work
Rating Veteran Service Representative (Current Employee), MilwaukeeJuly 8, 2014
This is a great place to work, i am looking to adjunct in addition to this full time position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job. Nice people to work with.
Health Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 7, 2014
My tour begins at 8am and ends at 430pm. I have gained a tremendous amount of knowledge since I became employeed at the VA. One thing that I have learned, is how to deal with difficult patients. The training that I have received in this area, has prepared me for many situations dealing with difficult patients as well as with difficult employees. Since – more... I work with head and neck cancer patients, the hardest part of my job is losing my patients. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting new people. I have cared for and worked with people from all over the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse group, fun, family, friends,self-motivated compassionare care,
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Durham, NCJuly 5, 2014
Pros: just saying thanks!
Cons: break being not on time, short of staff
I love giving back to those who gave their lifes, for us to have a better life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you make it past probation
Psychiatric LPN (Former Employee), Dayton, OhioJuly 1, 2014
Pros: caring for veterans
Cons: job security, management, salary
I loved my job and felt very good caring for fellow veterans. I liked some of my co-workers. My biggest complaint was the fact that I was terminated one month before my probationary period was up. I had always received "excellent" in my attendance and performance reviews but if management or coworkers don't like you (for whatever reason) then they simply – more... use you for 11 months then dump you. LPN's are treated like disposable chucks and the work environment is completely unfair. My manager and some co-workers were incredibly 2-faced and judgmental in regards to my personal and home life. The VA prides itself on being LBGT friendly (as long as they don't find out), however my manager was extremely homophobic. I have no evidence but coworkers advised me she characterized me and pried into my personal life. I would never recommend the Dayton VA Medical Center to a prospective employee. I wanted to work for the VA ever since my clinical in nursing school. I was fired this past April and not yet been able to secure another job. – less

About Department of Veterans Affairs

The United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) is a government-run military veteran benefit system with Cabinet-level status. – Read more

Department of Veterans Affairs Photos