Find companies:
Department of Veterans Affairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
738 reviews

Department of Veterans Affairs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for research
Researcher (Former Employee), Menlo Park, CAAugust 14, 2014
I worked in a diabetes study for two years. I learned a lot about the challenges that our Veterans go through. The VA at time was the leader in electronic medical record.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Contract Specialist (Former Employee), Leavenworth, KSAugust 13, 2014
Your work is appreciated and you have many opportunities to advance with the Department.

If you work hard and show dedication you will advance with no problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work here
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: benefits and worklife
Cons: too many unhappy and disgruntle employee
Employees do not have the best interest of veterans and often complaining about the people they were hired to serve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth
Security Analyst (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 12, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: management has favoritism
There isn't any growth with Department of Veterans Affairs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work; staff helpful
Clinical Applications Coordinator (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 12, 2014
Worked here for 26 years; cross trained across many departments to build experience base, while continuing education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work area with lots of support
Veterans Service Volunteer (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 11, 2014
Pros: easy to adjust, days go by quickly
Cons: not much interaction with others due to cubicles
Sort and file patient medical records. Properly destroy and dispose of outdated or deceased patient records. Assist veterans with navigating the hospital campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be pretty good
Medical Support Assistant (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMAugust 9, 2014
Pros: benefits, trying to make a difference
Cons: inept management
A lot of changes in light of all the media coverage. Managers were brought in that had never done the job or even worked in a hospital before. Now I am having to train my own supervisor! There is no understanding of our daily challenges or any applicable job knowledge. They are hiring new mid-level supervisors but aren't hiring experienced clerks from – more... within the existing ranks. More people I will have to train that make significantly more money than I do. Apparently no opportunity for advancement. They say it's all about the Vet but it's really just about the numbers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VA
Medical Support Assistant (Current Employee), Newington, CTAugust 6, 2014
Department of Veteran Affairs New England Health Care System, Newington, Connecticut
Proficient in communicating/working effectively with a diverse population of patients, staff and external providers to acquire, clarify or give facts to exchange general and medical information directly related to the work. Experienced in, processing patient transfers – more... to various internal and external departments and/or facilities.
Skilled in the preparation of all required tests, prescriptions, x-rays and follow-up appointments, including background material. Interact in the process of taking and testing of patient labs and transfusions. Provide preparation of medical equipment and maintenance.
Routinely provide administration and/or maintenance of medical record systems or records in a ward or other unit of the medical facility.
Advanced in receiving patients and visitors in person or telephonically; recording, relaying messages and redirecting calls.
Proven ability in the utilization of software to report patient movements, schedule appointments and required records or test results.
Regular participation in, special projects and preparation of special and recurring reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a little insight
Security clerk (Former Employee), Durham, NCAugust 6, 2014
Pros: a good start for advancement
Cons: i'm going to be the bigger person and let you find out for yourself
i'm strictly going to tell you about the job so you have a understanding what you're going to be responsible for. First make sure you don't have a criminal record. you're going to be responsible for running license plates, driver license inquiries and criminal history checks on different individuals so make sure that you have things in order. You're – more... going to have to be able to mutli task and handle doing multiple tasks at one time. They just put up a million dollar camera system which will take awhile to master since they are over 300 cameras in various areas of the hospital so you won't get it in a day it will take some time to master. Most likely since the midnight shift and day shift will be covered due to seniority most likely the new security clerk will be working the swing shift which covers 1530-2400 hrs. And you will be required to wear a uniform in which the service will provide for you which comprises of a gray shirt and blue pants or a long skirt (ladies) Another thing which changed up was being responsible for the main hospital and the CBOC's and the radio traffic for all. There are about 25-30 officers which cover all the areas i just stated and having a knowledge of the strengths and weaknesses of all the officers will benefit you in the long run. you will be responsible for a daily journal so being able to type efficiently will carry you a long way. Sometimes the phone will go off like crazy and sometimes you have some dead time so use your time wisely. Hopefully this will help the next clerk be sucessful. I knew my ex co workers for a long time and you will have your own opinions. There's a lot to it but hopefully the right ones will show you how to do the job the right way and everyone has their own approach to it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Resident Podiatrist (Current Employee), Miami, FLAugust 5, 2014
Great working environment with caring attending physicians, great patients, and good work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THIS COMPANY HAS ROOM FOR GROWTH.
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Hampton, VAAugust 3, 2014
THIS COMPANY HAS ROOM FOR GROWTH AND WILL HELP WITH EDUCATION.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job with a purpose
Police Officer (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 3, 2014
Pros: protecting our us veterans
Cons: dealing with the homeless sneaking into the facility
The job of a Police Officer with the US Department of Veterans is unique and unlike any other law enforcement agency. The primary purpose of a VA Police Officer is to protect those that have served and also the employees of the Department of Veterans Affairs. Must of your issues are resolved by using good communication skills, with very little arrests – more... being made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indifferent
NON-VA Care Coordination Licensed Vocational Nurse (Current Employee), Hines, ILAugust 1, 2014
There's good and bad with every job. I have nothing bad to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The VA is a typical government agency.
Data Analyst (Former Employee), Iowa City, IAJuly 30, 2014
It was a nice job to have because I could interact with my fellow veterans, but there was no room for advancement for someone such as I who didn't want to pursue a future as a clinical psychologist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Wheelchair escort (Former Employee), Hampton, VAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: helping residents to always be happy
My day was very rewarding transporting Elderly people to all different appointments in a great, safe and friendly manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
other (Current Employee), Hampton, VAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: a veteran helping other veterans - it's a wonderful feeling!
Cons: i am the only individual performing this job for 2000+ individuals.
A typical day at work would not be complete without an abundance of customer service and empathy. During my years here onboard I have learned that most individuals only want to voice their concerns/opinions, so giving them un-divided attention can be a cure all for any negative situation. Management is not all that great, but it's not terrible - in – more... fact it could be worse. My co-workers are very careful in communicating with me because of my position. We speak, and perform professional duties but nothing more. There is a perception that whenever I am out of my office I am looking for my next victim. The hardest part of the job is being non-bias. No matter the charge, you have to look at the WHOLE person and carry all additional considerations into the process - along with the mitigating factors. It was hard at first, but after successful training completion, I learned how to separate the two. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting every new employee. Regardless if there are questionable items or not, I get the opportunity to meet each and every one of our new hires. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
having office of my own
Claims Clerk (Former Employee), Toledo, OHJuly 27, 2014
Pros: didn't have to pay for parking
Cons: no place to get a hot lunch
7:00 am seeing veterans who wanted medical care or monetary benefits due to illness or injuries that occurred while they were in the military. My supervisor had little knowledge of the regulations for being eligible for benefits. My co-workers considered me to be the legal person on the job. So I was constantly asked questions even from the medical – more... physicians.

The hardest part of my job was having to tell some veterans they weren't eligible for dental care. Many of them wanted and needed it.

The most enjoyable was to tell some veterans they were eligible for benefits they thought they couldn't receive. Once a veteran walked into my office on 2 canes in 1982. He got so excited he left both canes. When I retired in 1996 those canes were still in my office lol. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people and great benefits
INVENTORY MANAGER (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJuly 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits and pay
Cons: long hours odd shifts
ordered supplies for the facility created purchase ordered ,reconciled receipts and forecasted quarterly budget needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Office Automation Assistant (Current Employee), Providence, RIJuly 25, 2014
Fun place to work, Good people. Work is interesting and challenging enjoy working ther very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and sense of fulfillment
Senior Client Contact Officer and On Base Advisor (Former Employee), Wollongong, NSWJuly 25, 2014
Working for DVA for 16 years has allowed me to meet an extraordinary client group.
Days are challenging as you deal with all sorts of people.
The best part of the day would be knowing you were able to assist someone and you have made their life a little better.
It was the kind of job where some clients truly touched your soul. These were the people – more... that made you want to go to work. – less

About Department of Veterans Affairs

The United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) is a government-run military veteran benefit system with Cabinet-level status. – Read more

Department of Veterans Affairs Photos