Find companies:
Department of Veterans Affairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
564 reviews

Department of Veterans Affairs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at your own pace
FCCPAC as By Light Contractor (Current Employee), orlando, FLMarch 6, 2014
Pros: all holidays off
Cons: career growth
Good place to work as a contractor if career development is not a priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Federal Office Job
Veterans Claims Examiner - Term GS-09 (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 5, 2014
Pros: good compensation and benefits, meaningful work
Cons: job security
For the most part, working at the VA is your typical Federal office job. It's generally Monday to Friday during normal business hours, with overtime as needed depending on the workload. Breaks are well regimented. Efficiency is highly looked up as it is very production-oriented work. The lower management is very in-tune with its workers, but gets slowly – more... more disconnected the higher you get up the food chain. Most of the co-workers are older in age and many are veterans. Job stability for several employees has been very precarious in recent months due to lack of pending legislation to continue certain education benefits. However, the work is very meaningful, knowing you are helping veterans live better lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Carpenter/ Masonry (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 5, 2014
the management is excellent. coworkers help each other out. everyone takes are of each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Secretary (OA) (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALMarch 3, 2014
Pros: great benefits
I enjoyed working at the Dept of Veterans Affairs. My job consist of working with the Veterans on a daily basis and I enjoy providing customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee satisfaction of helping others.
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee), Salem, VAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: wonderful patients, and staff!
Cons: we have some heavy patients.
I enjoy my job very much. I work hare and get a lot of satisfaction in my daily interaction with the patients and my coworkers.
It can be a physically demanding job which I do well with.
I love it when a patient tells me he appreciates me and responds to my kindness towards him or her.
I love the Veterans I have contact with. And, truly appreciate their – more... service! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal Government
Medical Director VA Outpatient Center (Current Employee), Delray Beach, FLMarch 3, 2014
The VA treats Veterans from all branches of the military for a range of medical, psychiatric, and surgical problems. They provide comprehensive medical care for the country's veteran population.
We work with a large staff of paraprofessionals and our utmost concern is to provide the best medical care possible through West Palm Beach VA hospital and – more... specialty care network.

An essentially paperless medical record using CPRS, one of the most extensive EMRs. Patient aligned care team developement and privacy of information is very important and adhered to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job work / Life benefits are fantastic
Employee & Labor Relations Manager (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYMarch 2, 2014
Pros: pension
Cons: no advancement
I enjoy working there but it's about time to move on. It's a federal job so the Federal benfits are nice but the pay is low and there is no advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Veterans
Accountant Assistant (Former Employee), Madison, WIMarch 2, 2014
As a Veteran myself, I found this place to be an excellent place to work if you have the heart to work with Veterans. You meet a lot of new friends, and the work environment is one of a kind. Majorities of the works are Veterans, and we understand one another and give our respect towards one another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly motivated, hands on, flexible, hardworking, muti tasked, analytical, customer service oriented and dedicated in all task and mission assigned.
Budget Analyst, GS-11 (Former Employee), Reno, NevadaMarch 2, 2014
Pros: work during lunch break or after work to meet deadline
Cons: request only if an family emergency occurs
Always report to work indicated on schedule arrive early if needed. Work well with management. Work with customers to ensure excellent and quality work is provide. Work with customer complaints to the best of my knowledge before informing upper management of the situation.
Work well with co-workers. Work as group to ensure all duties and responsibilities – more... are performed with Quality and Excellent.
Jobs are not hard with research and working with others you will succeed in all I do,

Most enjoyable part of my job is accepting the challenges given and complete the task before the deadline date, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evilness Breeds at the V.A.
Technician (Former Employee), Seattle WaMarch 2, 2014
A typical day at the V.A. go to a getto that would be pleasent.
Co-workers will stab you in the back or front they do not care.
The hardest part of the job going there.
There was nothing enjoyable but leaving.
The management of this facility (if that's what it's called) is nonexsistant. This is why the goverment gets a bad reputation. The management – more... of this facility need to be removed. Maybe and only maybe then will the vets really get the care they deserve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, Excitement, Always keeps you busy.
Veterans Canteen Services (Former Employee), North Chicago, ILFebruary 27, 2014
Learned a lot at this job, always kept me busy management was fine, very responsive and was on the problem in a second.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
V.A. contract position
Biomedical Equipment Support Specialist (Former Employee), Denver, COFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: variety of work responsibilities
Cons: minimal training provided
Worked on biomedical and medical imaging equipment. Performed maintenance and PM's on Cardiac Cath. Labs, C.T., Endoscopy, M.R.I., Nuclear Medicine, Ultrasound, X-Ray imaging equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A secure career
Patient Relations Rep (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: retirement
Cons: red tape
there are so many opportunities at the VA and if you are willing to transfer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CLEAN
Medical Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Hot Springs, SDFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: ease
Cons: temp
Housekeeping is fun people great ,job is ease what can i say bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most difficult place I have ever worked in my entire work life.
Secretary, VA, OGC (Current Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: it's a job with a paycheck.
Cons: everything
The office I'm in has the worst management staff I have ever worked with in my entire 40 years of working. It's not what you know, it's who you know. There is favoritism being shown on a daily basis. The workload is tremendous, but there is no incentives from management, i.e., promotional considerations, awards, recognition, to do anything. Management – more... is belittling, nasty, ill-tempered and unthankful for the job the administrative staff does to keep the work moving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced workplace
Legislative Specialist (Current Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 19, 2014
As a Legislative Specialist under the Veterans Health Administration (VHA) Chief of Staff, I was charged daily with identifying, and initiating actions concerning legislative proposals affecting VHA. I routinely monitored legislative and congressional activities and interest that could affect the administration and provide weekly briefings to VHA leadership. – more... In addition to monitoring activity, I was held responsible for the coordination of inquiries and briefing requests to Congress and appropriate Congressional committees. To that end, I am charged with communicating with VHA subject matter experts through pre-briefings and pre-drafted communication documents, as well as providing logistical and technical support at the briefing. In responding to oversight congressional hearing requests, I directed the preparation of oral and written testimony for departmental officials, as well as developing hearing strategies to aide Veterans Affairs (VA) leadership in properly responding to Committee questioning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job, but not worth it.
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: savings plan, regular scheduled promotion
Cons: terrible managment, bad atmosphere
Working at the Department of Veterans affairs was great for only two reasons; veterans and my co-workers. Management at the VA ruins the entire experience of working for the VA, they create an atmosphere that will have your blood pressure through the roof and eventually will have you in counseling. You won't be able to tolerate how management views – more... veterans. Don't even think about advancement, the only advancement you will get is by regulation for the time you put in. Don't think about lateral movement either, you're not going anywhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed my job
Administrative/Clerical Support (Former Employee), Durham, NCFebruary 19, 2014
Enjoyed my employment at Veterans Affairs in the Human Resource Department. There is so much diversity which I love. They really take pride in taking care of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Pro Veteran (as they claim to be)
Voucher Examiner (Former Employee), Newington, CTFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: fair pay
Cons: too much work - overbearing management
Way to much work, not enough help that actually work. Management did not know how to handle non-performers, therefore those of us who did work hard were overburdened by the excess work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but very challenging to meet changing needs of our veterans
Management and Program Analyst (Current Employee), Washington DCFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: lots of work to keep everyone busy and engaged.
Cons: lots of work that challenges everyone to be knowledgeable and efficient
VA is making significant strides with the help of Congress in updating laws, regulations and technology to adapt to the changing needs of our clients. Only limited by time and money to achieve fully automated claims processing and to limit inconsistencies in the claims process for compensation, education and other benefits available to our claimants. – more... The future looks very promising. – less

Department of Veterans Affairs Photos