Find companies:
Department of Veterans Affairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
709 reviews

Department of Veterans Affairs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Resident Podiatrist (Current Employee), Miami, FLAugust 5, 2014
Great working environment with caring attending physicians, great patients, and good work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THIS COMPANY HAS ROOM FOR GROWTH.
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Hampton, VAAugust 3, 2014
THIS COMPANY HAS ROOM FOR GROWTH AND WILL HELP WITH EDUCATION.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job with a purpose
Police Officer (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 3, 2014
Pros: protecting our us veterans
Cons: dealing with the homeless sneaking into the facility
The job of a Police Officer with the US Department of Veterans is unique and unlike any other law enforcement agency. The primary purpose of a VA Police Officer is to protect those that have served and also the employees of the Department of Veterans Affairs. Must of your issues are resolved by using good communication skills, with very little arrests – more... being made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indifferent
NON-VA Care Coordination Licensed Vocational Nurse (Current Employee), Hines, ILAugust 1, 2014
There's good and bad with every job. I have nothing bad to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The VA is a typical government agency.
Data Analyst (Former Employee), Iowa City, IAJuly 30, 2014
It was a nice job to have because I could interact with my fellow veterans, but there was no room for advancement for someone such as I who didn't want to pursue a future as a clinical psychologist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Wheelchair escort (Former Employee), Hampton, VAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: helping residents to always be happy
My day was very rewarding transporting Elderly people to all different appointments in a great, safe and friendly manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
other (Current Employee), Hampton, VAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: a veteran helping other veterans - it's a wonderful feeling!
Cons: i am the only individual performing this job for 2000+ individuals.
A typical day at work would not be complete without an abundance of customer service and empathy. During my years here onboard I have learned that most individuals only want to voice their concerns/opinions, so giving them un-divided attention can be a cure all for any negative situation. Management is not all that great, but it's not terrible - in – more... fact it could be worse. My co-workers are very careful in communicating with me because of my position. We speak, and perform professional duties but nothing more. There is a perception that whenever I am out of my office I am looking for my next victim. The hardest part of the job is being non-bias. No matter the charge, you have to look at the WHOLE person and carry all additional considerations into the process - along with the mitigating factors. It was hard at first, but after successful training completion, I learned how to separate the two. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting every new employee. Regardless if there are questionable items or not, I get the opportunity to meet each and every one of our new hires. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
having office of my own
Claims Clerk (Former Employee), Toledo, OHJuly 27, 2014
Pros: didn't have to pay for parking
Cons: no place to get a hot lunch
7:00 am seeing veterans who wanted medical care or monetary benefits due to illness or injuries that occurred while they were in the military. My supervisor had little knowledge of the regulations for being eligible for benefits. My co-workers considered me to be the legal person on the job. So I was constantly asked questions even from the medical – more... physicians.

The hardest part of my job was having to tell some veterans they weren't eligible for dental care. Many of them wanted and needed it.

The most enjoyable was to tell some veterans they were eligible for benefits they thought they couldn't receive. Once a veteran walked into my office on 2 canes in 1982. He got so excited he left both canes. When I retired in 1996 those canes were still in my office lol. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people and great benefits
INVENTORY MANAGER (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJuly 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits and pay
Cons: long hours odd shifts
ordered supplies for the facility created purchase ordered ,reconciled receipts and forecasted quarterly budget needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Office Automation Assistant (Current Employee), Providence, RIJuly 25, 2014
Fun place to work, Good people. Work is interesting and challenging enjoy working ther very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and sense of fulfillment
Senior Client Contact Officer and On Base Advisor (Former Employee), Wollongong, NSWJuly 25, 2014
Working for DVA for 16 years has allowed me to meet an extraordinary client group.
Days are challenging as you deal with all sorts of people.
The best part of the day would be knowing you were able to assist someone and you have made their life a little better.
It was the kind of job where some clients truly touched your soul. These were the people – more... that made you want to go to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Job
LVN Hospice Care and Psy Tech (Former Employee), Fayetteville, ARJuly 24, 2014
Don't expect much and you will be more then satisfied with the lack luster opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Veterans Service Officer (Former Employee), San AntonioJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great people to meet
Cons: contract work
Daily Goal: Ensure Professional Care of Wounded Warriors
Achievements: Create an Easier Transition from Military Life to Civilian Life; Manage a Physical and Social reform with Warriors
Patients Required different caring and rehabilitation
Rewarding with a Successful Therapy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was full time and it offered a lot of benefits. I believed I should have been paid more since initially I was hired as a "clerk-typist" and..
Program Clerk GS-4 and Clerk Typist GS-4 (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CaliforniaJuly 22, 2014
Pros: full time work, good benefits, etc.
Cons: my job was terminated because my supervisors refused to pay me more money.
I asked to receive a supplemental salary at the VA because I was typing at work and initially I was hired to work as a "clerk-typist." My supervisors refused to pay me more and my job was terminated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment and staff
LVN (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXJuly 22, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: news
the best part is interacting with the patien and the stories they tell, coworkers are tolerable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Sr. Systems Engineer (Current Employee), Austin, TXJuly 21, 2014
Embrace telework / telecommute for part of the work hours.
Great co-workers.
Much technology to learn and enhance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Needs More Strategic Goals
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 20, 2014
Daily operations seem more reactive than proactive. Sometimes it feels like high school. There is no real sense of team and common goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care of Veterans
FRT- Program Support Assitant (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 20, 2014
Pros: working with veterans and employees who truely care about them.
Cons: working with employees who are bullies and harrsing.
I work for a consolidated patient care center called CPAC in the Omaha facility that is based out of Leavenworth, KS a branch of the Veterans Health System. A typical day of running reports for medical billing for our Veterans. I have learned rules and regulations of the government medical procedures, along with medical insurance and applying co-pays – more... and third party billing. Some management is very competent and some not so much. We have a set of co-workers that are bullying and harassing and a manager that helps with that. The hardest part of the job is convenience a manager with billing that can be done when he has never worked for a government agency. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with Veterans with issues they have with billing or anything that may arise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Procurement Analyst (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 18, 2014
Everyday has new challenges. Always learning new procedures and government policies as they are updated.Focused on streamlining the contracting process to better provide for the customer. Great team environment. The hardest part of the job is documenting accurately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, extemely busy.
Locksmith (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 18, 2014
Pros: nice area to work
Cons: constant changes
A typical day at work is completely busy with tons of jobs from the time you arrive until the time you leave. You should be fully skilled before you apply for any position here, otherwise you will fall behind quickly. The people are friendly, just a little stressed because of all the VA hype in the media, and the large work load from all the veterans – more... coming in and new facilities being built. – less

About Department of Veterans Affairs

The United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) is a government-run military veteran benefit system with Cabinet-level status. – Read more

Department of Veterans Affairs Photos