Find companies:
Department of Veterans Affairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
744 reviews

Department of Veterans Affairs Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Saint John, NBApril 28, 2014
Time management, computer software, mail, medical reports, business letters
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, very relaxing,fun
Caregiver (Former Employee), Wainwright, ABOctober 28, 2013
Pros: doing what i enjoyed doing.
Cons: not enough of a clientele around the area to stay in that job.
Entering the Veterans home daily. A home tells me a lot about the client and their families.I worked alone so I had no co-workers doing this job.The job wasn't hard at all. And the most enjoyable part of the job was making my clients happy with what I did for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace From a Student Perspective
Student Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 26, 2013
Pros: stable hours, good pay incentives for students, work not too difficult
Cons: interchangeability of bosses, several methods for one problem
It was a fairly typical office work setting.
You'd show up, have nice co-workers, do your work and clock out. The people are what made it a great job, for the most part it was just regular office work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy and Client Focused Work Environment
Policy Intern (Current Employee), Care Management and Social Work ServicesMarch 9, 2013
Would work for the VA again.
Very focused on improving services for vets.
Individuals who work there care about the population they serve
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and stable to work in.
LVN (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAOctober 23, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping veterans recover and providing care.
Medical Administration, Check vital signs, report change of condition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Dental Assistant (Former Employee), Topeka, KSOctober 22, 2014
I enjoyed working for the veterans of America. This job was extremely rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place nice and friendly
Patient Access Intern (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHOctober 22, 2014
Awesome place to work and do internships there!! Everyone was friendly and a fast paced that job! Its impossible to get bored there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Registered Nurse/Preceptor Nurse (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 22, 2014
Pros: vets
Cons: busy
fast paced. Easy to advance. Always offering learning material. The managers treat you well, coworkers are great. No real hard part, just busy. The enjoyment is all the praise from the pt and family. They are great. Love this job, Takes a special type of person to do it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good place to work.
Social Work Intern (Former Employee), Northport, NYOctober 21, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Working for this organization was really rewarding even during times that the staff faced difficulty. The co-workers are very helpful and provide support to one another and aim to maintain a cohesive work environment. The hardest part of the job would be when there were issue that arise that took time to work through and making sure we all have the – more... patients' best interest in mind. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR in a Federal Government Agency
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee), Perry Point, MDOctober 21, 2014
Similar to HR in a private healthcare facility or hospital, but with all the bureaucracy that comes with being part of the Federal Government.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential to be a great experience.
Medical Supply Technician (Current Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 20, 2014
Pros: union
Cons: union
Union Workers at their "finest."
Management's intentions are valid.
Co-workers are union workers
Hardest part of job is internal conditions
The actual work is the most enjoyable part of the job.
If I were content, I wouldn't be looking for new opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attention to patients is one on one in most circumstances.
SPTA (Former Employee), Lake City, FLOctober 17, 2014
Pros: working with a friendly and knowledgeable pt team.
Cons: being a student.
I worked closely with the PT assisting in evaluations and initial treatments. A typical day included performing various special tests, instructing and implementing exercises and stretches with pts, using various modalities including estim, iontophoresis, US, and hydrotherapy. Once a week we performed evaluations through video in different cities. The – more... most enjoyable part of the job was working with a myriad of pts. The hardest part of the job was choosing what area of care I would work in that day: wounds, outpatient, inpatient, or via video. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
View
LPN (Current Employee), Northport, NYOctober 17, 2014
I enjoy working at the VA especially interacting with the staff/ patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low morale. Too much gossip that managers actually took as fact. Very poor communication between management and staff.
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee), Huntington, WVOctober 16, 2014
Pros: fellow co-workers were good, hard-working people.
Cons: management (or lack there of)
I was lucky enough to work at two different Regional Offices (ROs) for the Dept. of Veterans Affairs. It amazed me how drastically different one was from the other. At one RO, the atmosphere was very laid back. People actually enjoyed coming to work. They allowed "flex" time if you were running a few minutes late or wanted to take an extended lunch, – more... just make it up at the end of the day. At the other RO, however, you practically had to raise your hand and get permission to use the restroom. In my opinion, the RO with low morale was a direct reflection of the managers' attitudes toward workers and the need for control. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with SQAs and Developers on procedural documentation deliverables.
Technical Writer Subcontractor (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FL and TelecommuterOctober 15, 2014
Was a terrific learn curve, combining high-technology in a healthcare environment; very good combo!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vibrant and productive
Human Resource Intern/ Volunteer (Former Employee), Saint Albans, NYOctober 13, 2014
I enjoyed the hospitality and teamwork that was carried out in delievering the best services to our employees and veterans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personally and Professionally Challenging Yet Rewarding
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Central Point, OROctober 13, 2014
Cons: healthcare benefits, respite options
My position was home-based, as I lived with the veteran that required my assistance. Every day, I would ensure that the residence was well-kept, and the veteran had the required medications, clean clothes, and variety of options for meals. I would attempt intellectual stimulation and progression towards short-term and long-term goals. Being the go-between – more... for the veteran and specialists, organizing appointments and scheduling meetings, was challenging, depending on the mood of the veteran. The hardest part of the position was making time for myself, but I appreciated the quality time I was able to spend with my family. The most enjoyable part of the position was knowing that the veteran had an advocate, when so many veterans are over-looked and/or disbelieved. I learned how malformed a person can become from traumatic events, as well what most people take for granted every single day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for
Claims Assitant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 12, 2014
Best job i ever had wished it wasn't temporary great place. Excellent environment culture and opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Care
Medical Support Assistant (Former Employee), Asheville, NCOctober 10, 2014
Provided medical administrative support to one or more outpatient and is an integral member of the outpatient clinic team to effectively carry out day-to-day administrative operations of the clinic. Fully participated in the daily team huddles where patient care planning and management occur. Was responsible for accurate appointment management and the – more... coordination of all administrative information between the medical staff and the patients. Also responsible for updating and verifying demographic information, scheduling appointments, collecting insurance information, data entry, administratively managing consultation requests and the electronic waiting list, and notifying the patient of his/her scheduled appointment. Demonstrated technical competency in the use of the Veterans Health Information Systems and Technology Architecture (VistA) and the Computerized Patient Record System (CPRS) systems. Used VHA Directives and established business rules to schedule appointments for Veterans. This included clinic visits, consultations and entries into the Electronic Wait List (EWL) and VetLink. Complied with the mandatory training requirements for the outpatient scheduling process. Orients medical staff to basic administrative policies and procedures dealing with outpatient scheduling and other administrative topics. Provided administrative support to the Physicians, Nurses, Social Workers and other administrative and professional staff throughout the clinic area. Provided outpatient administrative scheduling and appointment coordination for diagnostic testing, and consultative appointments for many clinical services. Completes and adheres to necessary annual VHA training requirements. Performed a key role in the VHA network Performance Measures, Customer Service, Access to Care, and overall quality of healthcare delivery. Adhered to all JHACO (Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations). Completed all Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPPA) initial and annual training requirements – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transporting
Volunteer of America (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAOctober 10, 2014
Pros: working with the clients
Cons: seeing them fail
Talking with the veterans and helping with their needs, the hardest part about this job is trying to get the needs for my veterans.

1 2 3 4 5

About Department of Veterans Affairs

The United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) is a government-run military veteran benefit system with Cabinet-level status. – Read more

Department of Veterans Affairs Photos