Find companies:
Department of Veterans Affairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
687 reviews

Department of Veterans Affairs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Saint John, NBApril 28, 2014
Time management, computer software, mail, medical reports, business letters
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, very relaxing,fun
Caregiver (Former Employee), Wainwright, ABOctober 28, 2013
Pros: doing what i enjoyed doing.
Cons: not enough of a clientele around the area to stay in that job.
Entering the Veterans home daily. A home tells me a lot about the client and their families.I worked alone so I had no co-workers doing this job.The job wasn't hard at all. And the most enjoyable part of the job was making my clients happy with what I did for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace From a Student Perspective
Student Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 26, 2013
Pros: stable hours, good pay incentives for students, work not too difficult
Cons: interchangeability of bosses, several methods for one problem
It was a fairly typical office work setting.
You'd show up, have nice co-workers, do your work and clock out. The people are what made it a great job, for the most part it was just regular office work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with and steady busy work flow
Hematology/Oncology Faculty (Former Employee), Augusta, GAAugust 20, 2014
Pros: opportunities to teach. no worrying about insurance issues
I enjoyed working at the VA Medical Center in Augusta, GA. I worked as a faculty in the hematology/oncology department. I enjoyed working with all the people there, participating in the tumor boards, and taking care of the patients. It was a very collaborative environment. I also worked as a teaching attending on a general internal medicine team, which – more... allowed me to indulge in my interest in teaching. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and well balanced company.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 19, 2014
Performed administrative clerical duties for one of many medical facilities. Assisting veterans. Helped in-home nurses and social workers organize current, former and new patient files, also combined numerous files and entered files onto spread sheets in Microsoft word and excel. Co-workers were helpful and extremly nice to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy days
Department Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: helping veterans
Cons: busy days.
As a manager I enjoyed working with many hard working, with a great deal of work responsibility. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping the veterans and their family members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked employees. No advancement opportunities.
Medical Support Assistant (Current Employee), Dallas, TexasAugust 16, 2014
Pros: free dart train passes
Cons: work thru your breaks, short lunches, no chance for advancement within the company
The VA used to be a really good place to work but has gone downhill in recent years. Employees are extremely overworked. When people retire or quit, no one is hired to replace them. The job duties are just distributed onto other people. It is very common for one employee to actually be performing the job duties of three people. And the answer from management – more... is "just do what you can." There is no way the veterans can receive good care in this environment. A lot of the management is just young kids coming straight out of school with Masters Degrees who have no empathy for veterans. They are just looking to fatten their resumes and move on. A lot of emphasis is put on meeting numbers in certain areas & not on what is best for the veterans. The system needs a total overhaul. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to say
Program Support Assistant (GS-06) (Current Employee), Honolulu, HIAugust 16, 2014
No much to say. Great fellow employees. Management was subpar. Pay was miniscule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for research
Researcher (Former Employee), Menlo Park, CAAugust 14, 2014
I worked in a diabetes study for two years. I learned a lot about the challenges that our Veterans go through. The VA at time was the leader in electronic medical record.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Contract Specialist (Former Employee), Leavenworth, KSAugust 13, 2014
Your work is appreciated and you have many opportunities to advance with the Department.

If you work hard and show dedication you will advance with no problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work here
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: benefits and worklife
Cons: too many unhappy and disgruntle employee
Employees do not have the best interest of veterans and often complaining about the people they were hired to serve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth
Security Analyst (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 12, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: management has favoritism
There isn't any growth with Department of Veterans Affairs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work; staff helpful
Clinical Applications Coordinator (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 12, 2014
Worked here for 26 years; cross trained across many departments to build experience base, while continuing education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work area with lots of support
Veterans Service Volunteer (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 11, 2014
Pros: easy to adjust, days go by quickly
Cons: not much interaction with others due to cubicles
Sort and file patient medical records. Properly destroy and dispose of outdated or deceased patient records. Assist veterans with navigating the hospital campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be pretty good
Medical Support Assistant (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMAugust 9, 2014
Pros: benefits, trying to make a difference
Cons: inept management
A lot of changes in light of all the media coverage. Managers were brought in that had never done the job or even worked in a hospital before. Now I am having to train my own supervisor! There is no understanding of our daily challenges or any applicable job knowledge. They are hiring new mid-level supervisors but aren't hiring experienced clerks from – more... within the existing ranks. More people I will have to train that make significantly more money than I do. Apparently no opportunity for advancement. They say it's all about the Vet but it's really just about the numbers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VA
Medical Support Assistant (Current Employee), Newington, CTAugust 6, 2014
Department of Veteran Affairs New England Health Care System, Newington, Connecticut
Proficient in communicating/working effectively with a diverse population of patients, staff and external providers to acquire, clarify or give facts to exchange general and medical information directly related to the work. Experienced in, processing patient transfers – more... to various internal and external departments and/or facilities.
Skilled in the preparation of all required tests, prescriptions, x-rays and follow-up appointments, including background material. Interact in the process of taking and testing of patient labs and transfusions. Provide preparation of medical equipment and maintenance.
Routinely provide administration and/or maintenance of medical record systems or records in a ward or other unit of the medical facility.
Advanced in receiving patients and visitors in person or telephonically; recording, relaying messages and redirecting calls.
Proven ability in the utilization of software to report patient movements, schedule appointments and required records or test results.
Regular participation in, special projects and preparation of special and recurring reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a little insight
Security clerk (Former Employee), Durham, NCAugust 6, 2014
Pros: a good start for advancement
Cons: i'm going to be the bigger person and let you find out for yourself
i'm strictly going to tell you about the job so you have a understanding what you're going to be responsible for. First make sure you don't have a criminal record. you're going to be responsible for running license plates, driver license inquiries and criminal history checks on different individuals so make sure that you have things in order. You're – more... going to have to be able to mutli task and handle doing multiple tasks at one time. They just put up a million dollar camera system which will take awhile to master since they are over 300 cameras in various areas of the hospital so you won't get it in a day it will take some time to master. Most likely since the midnight shift and day shift will be covered due to seniority most likely the new security clerk will be working the swing shift which covers 1530-2400 hrs. And you will be required to wear a uniform in which the service will provide for you which comprises of a gray shirt and blue pants or a long skirt (ladies) Another thing which changed up was being responsible for the main hospital and the CBOC's and the radio traffic for all. There are about 25-30 officers which cover all the areas i just stated and having a knowledge of the strengths and weaknesses of all the officers will benefit you in the long run. you will be responsible for a daily journal so being able to type efficiently will carry you a long way. Sometimes the phone will go off like crazy and sometimes you have some dead time so use your time wisely. Hopefully this will help the next clerk be sucessful. I knew my ex co workers for a long time and you will have your own opinions. There's a lot to it but hopefully the right ones will show you how to do the job the right way and everyone has their own approach to it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Resident Podiatrist (Current Employee), Miami, FLAugust 5, 2014
Great working environment with caring attending physicians, great patients, and good work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THIS COMPANY HAS ROOM FOR GROWTH.
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Hampton, VAAugust 3, 2014
THIS COMPANY HAS ROOM FOR GROWTH AND WILL HELP WITH EDUCATION.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job with a purpose
Police Officer (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 3, 2014
Pros: protecting our us veterans
Cons: dealing with the homeless sneaking into the facility
The job of a Police Officer with the US Department of Veterans is unique and unlike any other law enforcement agency. The primary purpose of a VA Police Officer is to protect those that have served and also the employees of the Department of Veterans Affairs. Must of your issues are resolved by using good communication skills, with very little arrests – more... being made. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Department of Veterans Affairs

The United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) is a government-run military veteran benefit system with Cabinet-level status. – Read more

Department of Veterans Affairs Photos