Find companies:
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my first job
Pay Clerk, Pay and Benefits (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 7, 2012
I was a pay and benefits clerk in Personnel and enjoyed it very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, hard working work place
Data Inputer (Former Employee), HastingsSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: lack of variety
Work involved typing up surveys into a computer database. From working here I learned how to organise the surveys as well as use databases and various computer shortcuts. The managers were helpful and clear in their instructions while my co-workers were friendly and fun people. The difficult part of the job was having to do the same thing for hours – more... on end, but I got used to rhythm soon enough. The best part of the job was being able to start and end when I choose, provided I did the required weekly hours and being able to choose when to take my lunch break. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am so productive
Intern (Current Employee), King Williams TownAugust 19, 2014
I am showing much commitment to my areas of responsibility, I understand my duties. Professionalism is what I always show. I am so eager to learn, I adapts easily to changes. I assisted Asset Management section on asset verification and stock count for 2013/14 financial year and I worked long hours and weekends as this is not an easy task. i showed – more... much commitment and dedication .I understands policies and procedures.

I have learned so much since my arrival in the department, how to be professional, how to interact with others. The theory I have studied at school my mantor made it practically for me, She made the working environment to comforting, and easy to adapt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
offers current relavent skills to socio economic environment
intern Human Resources Officer (Former Employee), Umtata, ECJuly 7, 2014
Pros: free workshops
Cons: lacks exposure
it is a vibrant and fun work place that is concerned about its employees well being and skills development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dedication to the job
SENIOR ADMIN CLERK (Current Employee), Durban, ZNJuly 3, 2014
Pros: fringe benefits
Cons: no scope for promotion
no scope for promotion,
Currently facing a lot of challenges such as shortage of staff,
the department is not filling posts.(moratorium)
there is also a challenge with regards to staff that have qualifications but cannot perform the duties.
Durban is the highest revenue generating registering authority and we have to function daily with minimum staff – more... and still deliver a service to the public.
the most difficult part of the job is dealing with irate customers and some staff that lack work ethics.
the most enjoyable part of the job is that i am experienced so every day is a challenge for me, I am able to resolve problems amicably. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
developmental
Assistant Director: Labour Relations (Current Employee), Kimberley, NCJuly 1, 2014
Pros: availability of budget to enhance labour relations' oprations.
Cons: the unnecessarily long meetings
meet with the Head of Department at a briefing session for the day.

to follow instructions from my principlas.

learned to do contribute effectively during strategic management meetings.

played a significant role in mentoring me on public service processes.

dismissal of the employee, especially if a person is the sole breadwinner.

engaging with – more... unions and employees during training and collective bargaining sessions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Internship (Former Employee), Mmabatho, NWMay 10, 2014
Pros: thank you gift for a job well done
Cons: 8 hours
Hardest Part: was to go out to issue bicycles in the villages

Enjoyable Part: Fullfill the objectives of the project

Co-workers: Fun to work with

Management: Very Organised
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and fufilling.
Senior Training officer (Current Employee), Pietermaritzburg, ZNMarch 5, 2014
PROS; it is very rewarding when you have trained an official and you can see the client has benefitted. when you read all the evaluation forms and all you read are compliments. I get to travel and meet with people from outside Pietermaritzburg and share good practice with them. Meeting with other departments within the province and again share the good – more... practie.I have learnt to accept people with their different attitudes towards training. The most difficult part of my job is when I have coordinated training and all the logistics that goes with it and officials do not turn up and do not even bother to report their absence from training.I have a vry good team of colleagues that I work with, they make my job ease.it is also very frustrating to try and perfrom your duties and only to be told by management that there are no funds available for that programme. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investigation
Occupational Health and Safety Officer (Current Employee), Oudtshoorn, WCMarch 4, 2014
A typical day at work when investigation needs to be done and no documents or medical report is available. Then you need to start from the lower face. But what I have learned is that it is better to start from the lower face, you will get a better picture of the incident. The support is there and labourers is playing a big part of this system by their – more... support. Working together with Co-workers and each time try to understand them day- by- day. The hardest part of the job is when you are without an assistant for your administration work, because OHS has many administration work then physical work that needs to be done. And most important is when there is fatalities or loss of limbs due to work, you became sad in away that cannot be describe. But still I enjou the investigation part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wellbeing Program provides work life balance options
OHS Consultant, WorkCover and Return to Work (Current Employee), Melbourne, VICJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: thanks for a job well done !
Cons: persistance in scheduling arrangeements
A standard day involves notifications via the occupational health and safety management system and email volume that averages approx. 100-150 all on OHS, WorkCover and Return to Work matters. On average 3 to 5 projects may be operating and I would be involved in OHS project management.
Consultation is an ongoing part of OHS, I spent time over the phone – more... with regional offices, at times l may be on site to support process in place and monitor any residual risks.
Communicate daily with business unit managers to improve process and implement resolution based outcomes.
Attend daily meetings and address case management issues.
Management have learned to approach OHS matters analytically and undertake appropriate risk management process, their state of knowledge will support minimising any potential conflicts.
There are difficulties in the job in trying to align time with all stakeholders, this can take time and planning.
The most enjoyable part of my job involves people understanding the benefit of OHS intervention, what can be gained and sustained in the long term. The knowledge and independence gained in implementing systems that consider all health and safety risks and implement appropriate process as part of responsible management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To provide access to transport for people of all abilities
Research Officer (Former Employee), MelbourneJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: management and staff were self motivated and experienced
Creating a new Public Transport Access Committee based on the review of 18 key principles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hectic,fun and challenging,stressing
administration clerk (Current Employee), Durban North, ZNDecember 29, 2013
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: long hours
meeting deadlines and finishing my work before I leave
I learned to take charger of my life and if I don't like something I must be able to say it at that time don't hold something
my co workers are friendly and committed
at the end of the month
Christmas time because it is the for giving
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a government office, so its very strict office
Office Assistant(procurement-Documentation) (Current Employee), Abu Dhabi, AZDecember 22, 2013
Pros: free lounches
Cons: 8 hours
friendly atmosphere, friendly approach to all, easy to learn all work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning curve
Intern: Administrative Clerk (Current Employee), Aliwal North, ECDecember 19, 2013
Pros: travelling and meeting new people and learning from them
i enjoyed working here because i have learnt a lot since i started my internship. i enjoy working with my colleagues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and vibrant workplace
Employee Health and Wellness Practitioner (Current Employee), Pretoria, GPNovember 22, 2013
Pros: a lot of travelling
Cons: no flexibility
A typical day at work included a lot of unplanned meetings, juggling of my schedule and finding ways to make the workload fit within the limited work hours. I enjoyed the challenged to manage me time effectively and learning how to priorities activities. Management is very people orientated and allow for innovation and autonomy in work performance which – more... makes working in such an environment very rewarding. Co-workers are the most challenging part of my job. I believe I have very good interpersonal skills but sometimes the office politics made it very hard to deal with the team but I eventually learned how to avoid such and got my team to see me as a neutral person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Tasks
Document Controller / Projects Coordinator (Current Employee), Abu DhabiNovember 4, 2013
• Register all correspondences (In-Out), documents and drawings.
• Preparing for Tender Stage ( Meeting , Documents , Sharing Folders, Scores Sheets, Officially Correspondences)
• Dealing with bidders bulletins (Questions) for department's projects.
• Ensure that all last approval drawings are kept and achieve.
• Use Access And Visual Basic to create – more... database for all information and sections in the department.
• Follow up the specific procedure in transferring the documents (IN,OUT)
• Ensure that we have backup (different types) for all documents and files.
• Prepare weekly and monthly reports requested by the management.
• Prepare presentations and all correspondence related to the department (IN-OUT)
• Arrange for external and internal meetings
• Attend the meetings and prepare minutes of meetings – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee), Pretoria, GPSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: nice place to work
Cons: money wasnt enough.
I enjoyed working with the Deputy Director, he was a nice person to work with.
Learned a lot about meetings, typing of speeches and drafts.
Management was good.
Co-workers was enjoyable people.
The money was not that much but the environment was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy on sports day playing netball
Recruitment & Selection Officer (Former Employee), Pretoria, GPJuly 31, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: i love to work overtime
I would like to grow and became role model to youth out there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ALWAYS STRIVING FOR EXCELLENT AND BEEN THE HEART BEAT OF SOUTH AFRICA'S ECONOMY, RANGING FROM ALL SPHERE OF INTERGRATED TRANSPORT SYSTEM( RAIL,AIR TRA
INTERN (Current Employee), Pretoria, GPJuly 30, 2013
ALWAYS STRIVING FOR EXCELLENT AND BEEN THE HEART BEAT OF SOUTH AFRICA'S ECONOMY, RANGING FROM ALL SPHERE OF INTERGRATED TRANSPORT SYSTEM( RAIL,AIR TRANSPORT,FREIGHT)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great enviorment
customer service supervisor (Former Employee), Abu Dhabi, AZJuly 4, 2013
Pros: nil
Cons: long hours
It was very highly challenged atmospher thats what i like the most worked to be innovative , deal with stafff consisting of 14 members contribute my time for the team and the tasks i do reconciling and auditing after the staff