Find companies:
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always learning new things!
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Fredericton NBApril 15, 2013
Pros: great wages
Cons: no benefits
A typical day at work would have been, fast paced with several different tasks that needed to be completed in a timely manner which I enjoyed very much. With my job there I was always learning something new each day which would have been the most enjoyable part of my job because I knew with everything I learned would better my ability to do my job correctly! – more... My co workers were great, I was always able to ask for help or give my opinion on things! The hardest part about my job would have been the days where I was alone and had up to 25 customers at a time to tend to myself. But, I did the best I could and helped everyone to my best ability! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to work independently
Forest Technician (Former Employee), Bathurst, NBJanuary 19, 2013
Very good communication with supervisors.
Enjoy ability to work independently.
Enjoy large territory to cover.
Enjoy working in field, with some office work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a great job
Security Guard (Former Employee), Ponce, PRMarch 25, 2014
excellent

i learned more of nature

protected the habitat

good team worker

service people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was really good working there
Chemical Material Analyst Specialist (Former Employee), Norcross, GAJanuary 27, 2014
I've gained a lot of experience and the managements and staff are really helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just love it out in nature
PARK maintanence (Former Employee), Frederick, MDDecember 24, 2013
routine-varity / nice people / hardest part was it was contractual, low pay and having to quit for more money elsewhere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment and great co-workers.
Intern (Current Employee), Jackson, MIDecember 4, 2013
Great work environment. I learned a lot about remediation, landfills and the laws and codes of environmental safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding research experience, promoting hard work and individual growth.
Stream Habitat Program Intern (Former Employee), Fergus Falls, MNNovember 25, 2013
Pros: gained valuable research experience in a professional setting, helped identify areas where improvements can be made for native fish passage.
Cons: extreme weather conditions limited research some days, lots of travel required.
A typical day at work was either digitizing data in the office in Fergus Falls, MN, or traveling all over the state to survey culverts, dams and bridges in major watersheds. Some weeks were devoted to helping shock streams to sample fish at previously restored sites. I was given responsibilities from the very start and handled them well with the help – more... of my boss. The most challenging part of the position was knowing you had to wear waders all day, even if it was going to be over 100 degrees outside. The best part of working for the DNR was making real strides towards progress in the area of native fish habitat preservation and restoration. It felt like we were really making a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hurry up and wait
Engine Leader (Former Employee), Chehalis, WANovember 20, 2013
Pros: fighting fire, good people to work with
Cons: some management, finding stuff to do
Working as a wildland firefighter in Western Washington means a lot of down time compared to say Idaho or Montana. The people are good and the management is fine, but there is a lot of hurry up and get here, okay now wait for instructions or just keep yourself busy. The most enjoyable part is the firefighting but that only occurs every so often
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive plus
Crew Leader (Former Employee), Belfair, WANovember 10, 2013
learning and educational experience .advancement opportunity, family oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Wild firefighter (Former Employee), Airway Heights, WANovember 9, 2013
Pros: free lunches, expandable learning
Cons: sometimes u dont get a break
job tasks consist of fighting fires, thinning trees, running the chainsaws. Learned a lot, how fires can turn into uncontrollable ones, maintain the chainsaws, thin trees in the mountains. management was good, very friendly. co-workers made 16 hr days fun. hardest part was trying to work 16 hr days wit minimal rest. enjoyable parts was that job tasks – more... were different everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very informative
Eastern Box Turtle Survey Intern (Former Employee), Augusta, MINovember 1, 2013
Go out and search for turtles and process them to know all the information we need for the project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Paid Internship
Intern (Former Employee), Olympia, WAJuly 25, 2013
Pros: the northwest is the best
Cons: earthquake rattled the buiding causing crack in stairway one day
I was only putting in 20 hours a week and I liked my job. My manager gave me very specific direction on projects that eventually lead to a lasting impression on the agency as the work I did on protected areas is still to this day featured on the front page of the agencies website. This is something any intern could be proud of. I enjoyed my time here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detail Oriented Type of Environment
Accounts Payable Clerk and Data Entry (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAApril 9, 2013
Pros: health benefits, pay and hours
I would walk into office and enter every county with ATVs, boats and motorcycle licenses. I would follow the rules for entering the data. Sometimes filing was involved in the position.

Later I went into the Accounts Payable department. In this area I was responsible for the amounts that were on claims. I would pull files, copy claims and enter data. – more... I also opened and sorted incoming mail. Friendly and polite co-workers that would work with me – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working to extinguish wild land fires
Wild land fire crew (Former Employee), Spokane, WashingtonFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: excting, dangerous work
Cons: sometimes the heat and conditions get to you
Wild land fire fighting is difficult work, often performed in hot, dry and dangerous conditions; however, it is a job well worth the effort and does some real good in the communities you work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Outside was Hard but Fun
AmeriCorps Assistant (Former Employee), Ames, IAFebruary 10, 2013
Everyday was something different. Working outside was awesome even in 100 degree heat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great jobs, was able to be involved in all faucets of environmental and sustainability work
Sustainability Coordinator (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: working with the community to solve issues
Cons: budgets
Spent time visiting sites and consulting on sustainability options. Developed program for a department that hadn't thought about formalizing the process the rehabilitation of historic buildings. Educate internally and externally on sustainability concepts and processes. My co-workers were experts in their field in regards to tax incentives, historic – more... architecture and rehabilitation. Hardest part of job was trying to implement new processes because it took incentives to get processses going. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fan
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Social Circle, GAAugust 28, 2012
Pros: got off early
Cons: management attitudes
Worked at location in Social Circle, GA. Only worked here through a staffing agency. They were going through several changes at the time so the attitudes of the managers and staff were very tense. Supervisors didn't seem to want any part of working with the workers brought in through Randstad so duties were put on other regular employers to train and – more... supervise us. The attitudes of the management made this opportunity not worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at Natural Resources
Ag Prog. Coord./Agricultural Specialist (Current Employee), Belcourt, NDAugust 23, 2012
Pros: office is located next to a local lake.
Cons: long drive to work on gravel roads.
My day usually begins with routine office work such as; checking email, returning messages, and overview of the day's schedule. A majority of my day is spent in the office working on projects to advance the Agriculture Program. These projects include writing grants, writing reports and program reviews. Some days I do go out in the field to assist in – more... Herd Management of our Bison Herd or assist in developing the Sky Chief Park. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and strenuous for every work day.
CREWMAN (Former Employee), Naselle, WAMay 23, 2012
A typical day of work consisted of driving the off road path in to the forest to begin our day in one of the areas of the forest. Any one area or 'project' could last up to a week, or be as short as a few hours. Most projects consited of PCTing [Pre-Commercial Trimming] which was cutting any and every tree within an eight foot diameter of a vine maple. – more... Chain saws were the lead tool that we used in order to cut down these trees. Another activity that we performed was called Alder Slashing, and this comprised of cutting down every alder in a five foot line left of you, and right of you, while the other co-workers did the same all in a straight line. Starting from the bottom to the top. Overall the work was a great work out however very excesive with ten hours a day, and no room for growth, this was also a temporary place for me as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a life experience.
Forestry worker/Wild land firefighter (Former Employee), Yacolt, WAMarch 19, 2012
It was a good experience to be able to work with them being as i fought wildland fires and repaired bridges .